Proceedings.

Northvolt Batteries North America Inc. et al.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
CCAAArticles 11, 11.02, et 36 de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies, L.R.C. [1985], c. C-36
Court
Superior Court of Québec · Commercial Division
File
500-11-066155-256
Filings held29
Last activity2 Nov 2026
On the record426 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Northvolt Batteries North America Inc., with 9500—9551 Québec inc. and Société en nom collectif MCMSB, has been under CCAA protection in the Superior Court of Québec (Commercial Division) at Montréal since September 5, 2025, under the supervision of Raymond Chabot inc. as monitor. The debtors have had no employees since September 4, 2025 and no directors since September 5, 2025. The monitor has carried out conservatory measures at the site — water management, environmental compliance and remediation, asset inventory and sales — and has reported cash on hand of as much as $23,787,000 and cumulative professional fees of as much as $1,971,000. The Court approved a claims process on October 3, 2025, with claims due December 3, 2025, and on December 5, 2025 authorized a sale and investment solicitation process whose Phase 1 deadline was April 15, 2026 at 5:00 p.m. A further order was issued May 26, 2026.

Claims processIf you are owed money

The claims bar date has passed — claims were due by

ContactRaymond Chabot Inc. · Mathis Fontaine · Fontaine.Mathis@rcgt.com · +1 (514) 878-2692 ext. 8920

Per the Notice of a claims procedure order and instructions to the creditors dated 8 October 2025.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates30 dated entries
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to La Compagnie Américaine de Fer & Métaux inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Le Certificat du Contrôleur sera délivré lorsque l'Acte de vente sera signé et conclu, que le Prix d'achat aura été payé et que toutes les conditions de clôture auront été remplies. Sealed: Convention d'achat (Pièce R-1) et Annexes A et B du Rapport (Pièce R-3).

Source: 2026-03-11 Approval and Vesting Order (in French)

#Order

Northvolt Batteries North America Inc. et al. — CCAA filed, Québec.

Parties

Debtor

Northvolt Batteries North America Inc. et al.

Applicant

Investissement Québec

Monitor

Raymond Chabot

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice JanetmichelinSuperior Court of Québec10 orders, Sep 2025 – May 202612 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorRaymond ChabotBlake, Cassels & Graydon LLP5 Sep 2025Order · 5 Dec 2025
ApplicantInvestissement QuébecMcCarthy Tétrault LLP22 May 2026Service list · 22 May 2026
CreditorAckordscentralen StockholmDavies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP2 Nov 2026Service list · 2 Nov 2026
CreditorEntreprises Michaudville incGrandpré Chait22 May 2026Service list · 22 May 2026
CreditorLynten, IncStikeman Elliott LLP22 May 2026Service list · 22 May 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredInvestissement Québec · in 105 casesAmount Declared; Amount Filed $0.00, Amount Admitted $0.00; claim status Not Proven (N) — debtor: Batteries Northvolt Nord-Amérique inc. · as of 11 May 2025$63MNorthvolt - Creditors' List (amended)
4Secured
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)
7Preferred (BIA s. 136)
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

125 more claims in 3 classes The stack holds Secured, Preferred (BIA s. 136) and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 4 closed · 1 proposed — La P hase 1 du PSIV donne lieu à la réception de dix soumissions, parmi lesquelles le Contrôleur juge que huit soumissionnaires sont admissibles à participer à la P hase 22026-05-26 Grounds for the issuance of an Order (in French) · 19 May 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Nouveau Monde Graphitelot 2 (Équipements et outillage) et lot 3 (mobilier de bureau situé au terrain) · asset saleSubscribersClosed24 Nov 20252025-12-02 Third Report of the Monitor (in…
Wan Solutionslot 4 (mobilier de bureau situé au bureau de Montréal) · asset saleSubscribersClosed20 Nov 20252025-12-02 Third Report of the Monitor (in…
Compagnie Américaine De Fer Et Métaux inc.L'offre vise l'intégralité de l'acier · asset saleSubscribersProposed2026-03-05 Fourth Report of the Monitor (in…
La Compagnie Américaine de Fer & Métaux inc.environ 14 492,64 tonnes métriques d'acier de construction · asset salenot statedClosed2026-03-11 Approval and Vesting Order (in…
acheteur du stock d'acier, non nomméla vente du stock d'acier · asset salenot statedClosed13 Mar 20262026-05-13 Fifth Report of the Monitor (in…
AdvisorsRaymond Chabot Inc. (sale agent)2026-05-13 Fifth Report of the Monitor (in French)
Closing termsLe Certificat du Contrôleur sera délivré lorsque l'Acte de vente sera signé et conclu, que le Prix d'achat aura été payé et que toutes les conditions de clôture auront été remplies2026-03-11 Approval and Vesting Order (in French)
Sealed materialsConvention d'achat (Pièce R-1) et Annexes A et B du Rapport (Pièce R-3); Annexes A et B du rapport du Contrôleur2026-03-11 Approval and Vesting Order (in French)
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

Cumulative receipts

$18.3M

As at 13 May 20262026-05-13 Fifth Report of the Monitor (in French)

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures, and the 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
29 filings
DateDocumentFile
2026-11-02 Liste de distribution - Service List
  • Counsel Grandpré Chait s.e.n.c.r.l.
PDF · Subscribers
2026-05-26 Grounds for the issuance of an Order (in French)
  • Bid deadline 30 September 2026
  • Commencement date 5 September 2025
  • Court Cour supérieure, Chambre commerciale, District de Montréal, Québec, Canada
  • Debtor names Batteries Northvolt Nord-Amérique inc.; 9500—9551 Québec inc.; Société en nom collectif MCMSB
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2026-05-22 Service list
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliot s.e.n.c.r.l.
PDF · Subscribers
2026-05-19 Order - Extension of stay and Interim Distribution (in French)
  • Bid deadline 30 September 2026
  • Phase1 deadline 15 April 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Stay extended to 30 November 2026
PDF · Subscribers
2026-05-13 Fifth Report of the Monitor (in French)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 13 Mar 2026
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 10 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2026-05-13 Motion - Extension of stay and Interim Distribution (in French)PDF · Subscribers
2026-03-11 Approval and Vesting Order (in French)
  • Closing terms Le Certificat du Contrôleur sera délivré lorsque l'Acte de vente sera signé et conclu, que le Prix d'achat aura été payé et que toutes les conditions de clôture auront été remplies
  • Order date 11 March 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Purchaser La Compagnie Américaine de Fer & Métaux inc. · les actifs décrits dans la Convention d'achat et à l'Annexe B de la présente ordonnance (les « Actifs achetés ») · asset sale · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2026-03-05 Application - Approval and Vesting Order (Steel) (in French)
  • Counsel Blake, Cassels & Graydon s.e.n.c.r.l.
PDF · Subscribers
2026-03-05 Fourth Report of the Monitor (in French)
  • Operational summary The Controller continued conservatory measures and asset management for the Debtors, including completion of ditch erosion/reprofiling works, installation of a steel plate to block a problematic outlet, sale and removal of movable assets (trailers, concrete barriers, construction equipment), rationalization of site security, submission of required environmental reports to MELCCFP, coordination meetings with the environmental consultant and water treatment subcontractor, termination of the McGill Street office lease, continued efforts to obtain Lyten's books and records, and continued analysis of claims received under the claims process.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Northvolt - Procedures relating to the SISP
  • Bid deadline 15 April 2026
  • Phase1 deadline 15 April 2026
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — SISP procedures approving implementation of a sale and investment solicitation process
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
2025-12-05 Order authorizing the SISP (in French)
  • Bid deadline 15 April 2026
  • Order date 5 December 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2025-12-05 Order extending the Stay of proceedings (in French)
  • Counsel Blake, Cassels & Graydon s.e.n.c.r.l.
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Stay extended to 19 May 2026
PDF · Subscribers
Proof of claimPDF · Subscribers
2025-12-02 Third Report of the Monitor (in French)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 24 Nov 2025 · Nouveau Monde Graphite; Closed · 20 Nov 2025 · Wan Solutions
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of a claims procedure order and instructions to the creditors
  • Claims bar date 3 December 2025
  • Claims contact Firm: Raymond Chabot Inc. · Email: Fontaine.Mathis@rcgt.com · Phone: +1 (514) 878-2692 ext. 8920 · Address: 600 de La Gauchetière Street West, Suite 2000, Montreal (Quebec) H3B 4L8 · Attention: Mathis Fontaine
  • Order date 3 October 2025
PDF · Subscribers
2025-10-03 - Order extending the stay period and amending the Initial Order (in french only)
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Stay extended to 5 December 2025
PDF · Subscribers
2025-10-03 - Order regarding the claim process
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
PDF · Subscribers
Guide on how to complete the proof of claim formPDF · Subscribers
2025-10-01 Second report of the Monitor (in French)
  • Operational summary The Controller has taken conservatory measures including retaining former employees for IT and environmental monitoring, managing environmental compliance (water treatment, contaminated soil, security, fencing) on the site, inventorying and preserving movable assets (with SIS Services inc.), negotiating with Groupe Canam regarding stored steel, communicating with stakeholders (secured creditor, Northvolt AB trustee, suppliers, potential buyers, Kahnawà:ke Council, MELCCFP), and taking control of bank accounts, opening a trust account, and issuing payment guarantees to certain suppliers due to delayed access to the debtors' network and accounting records.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-12 Creditors' List
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-11 Amended and Restated Initial Order (in French)
  • Counsel How: operator-correction · Firm: Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP · Corrects: firm · For role: monitor · For text: Raymond Chabot inc · Firm party id: a2d6e666-0718-46f9-aa39-c9403c1e2f46 · Folded into role: 810d306f-6808-498e-a4d4-85291b8760b8 · Was firm party id: fdc66457-5fb7-4f22-9e19-ae3c983153d2
  • Order date 11 September 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
  • Stay expiry 10 October 2025
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-11 Minutes of the hearing (in French)
  • Presiding officer Justice Janet Michelin
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-10 First report of the Monitor (in French)
  • Operational summary Les Débitrices sont sans employés depuis le 4 septembre 2025 et sans administrateur depuis le 5 septembre 2025.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Northvolt - Notice to creditors
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-05 Initial Order (in French)
  • Applicant INVESTISSEMENT QUEBEC
  • Appointee Raymond Chabot Inc.
  • Appointee role Contrôleur
  • Commencement date 5 September 2025
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-02 Application for the issuance of an Initial Order (in French)
  • Applicant INVESTISSEMENT QUÉBEC
  • Appointee Raymond Chabot inc.
  • Appointee role contrôleur
  • Court COUR SUPÉRIEURE
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
2025-09-02 Report of the Proposed Monitor (in French)
PDF · Subscribers
Northvolt - Creditors' List (amended)
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Northvolt - Executive Summary
  • Phase1 deadline 2026-04-15T17:00:00-05:00
  • Break fee · Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Northvolt Batteries North America Inc. et al.” (CCAA), Superior Court of Québec · Commercial Division. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/northvolt-batteries-north-america-inc-et-al

Sources last checked · summary updated 5 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/northvolt-batteries-north-america-inc-et-al

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.