Beta View Homes Ltd. and Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership
Follow- Proceeding
- CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36
- File
- S-250121
Beta View Homes Ltd., together with Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership, Lumina Eclipse GP Ltd. and D-Thind Development Beta Ltd., has been under CCAA protection in the Supreme Court of British Columbia, Vancouver Registry, since January 8, 2025. The proceedings have been directed at completing the Eclipse Project, with construction advanced by Brasfield in consultation with the Monitor and KingSett and funded by interim financing borrowings of $18,661,750 as at the Monitor's Seventh Report. Sale process orders were granted on April 16 and October 17, 2025, and an approval and vesting order followed on April 8, 2026. Unit Transactions began closing on April 27, 2026; 66 pre-sale units had closed as of May 1, 2026, with a further 123 scheduled to close by May 11, 2026. The case remains active.
The officer filed report no. Ninth Report. The Monitor continues to oversee completion of the Lumina Eclipse development and closing of remaining pre-sale units, with KingSett funding operations via an interim financing facility while facing an anticipated shortfall on its debt.
Eighth Report reported receipts and disbursements to July 21, 2026, presented the Fifth Cash Flow Forecast to January 31, 2027, and recommended a stay extension to that date.
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated July 21, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Applicants Book of Authorities (Federal Paramountcy) dated June 15, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Application Response of the Attorney General of British Columbia dated June 8 2026 — Application / notice of application
Seventh Report recorded $18,661,750 borrowed under the interim financing facility, closings commencing April 27, 2026, 66 pre-sale units closed and 123 further transactions set for May 11, 2026.
Application Response of KingSett Mortgage Corporation dated May 4, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Application Response of Westmount Services Inc. dated May 4, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Notice of Application of Purchasers of Units in Lumina Eclipse dated April 24, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Notice of Application of Purchasers of Units in Lumina Eclipse (SL74, SL111, and SL246) dated April 22, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Approval and vesting order granted at a Vancouver hearing, following the relief recommended in the Sixth Report.
Application Response C. Wong, L. Ding & W. Wong dated April 7, 2026 — Application / notice of application
Sixth Report reported interim receipts and disbursements for January 8, 2025 to March 30, 2026 and recommended the approval and vesting order and distribution order relief the Monitor was seeking.
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated March 30, 2026 — Application / notice of application
The stay of proceedings was extended to 2026-07-31.
Source: Third Amended and Restated Initial Order dated December 19, 2025
Companion interim order granted the same day.
Source: Lien Regularization and Claims Review Orderd ated December 19, 2025
Application Response of The Owners, Strata Plan EPS 9599 dated December 12, 2025 — Application / notice of application
Application Response of the Attorney General of Canada dated December 12, 2025 — Application / notice of application
Notice of Application (Beta Ave - Judgment) filed December 9, 2025 — Application / notice of application
Fifth Report placed construction in its final stages and put final occupancy and pre-sale purchaser turnover at end of January or early February 2026, subject to the Fire Alarm Tie-in.
Source: Fifth Report of of the Monitor dated December 8, 2025
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated December 8, 2025 — Application / notice of application
Fourth Report described continued progress by Brasfield on building systems, suite interiors, common areas, amenities and exterior work, holding to December 2025 substantial completion; no Monitor or counsel fees had been paid.
Source: Fourth Report of the Monitor dated September 30, 2025
The stay of proceedings was extended to 2025-07-18.
Source: Second Amended and Restated Initial Order dated April 16, 2025
Amended and restated initial order granted the same day, extending the stay of proceedings sought in the Second Report.
Supplement to the Second Report filed ahead of the April 16 hearing.
Source: Supplement to the Second Report of the Monitor dated April 15, 2025
Second Report set out the cash flow forecast for April 7 to July 20, 2025 and recommended the sale process order, a second amended and restated initial order extending the stay, and a sealing order.
Response to Petition of Westmount West Services dated January 15, 2025 — Application / notice of application
First Report recorded the Monitor securing the Debtors' bank accounts, notifying pre-sale purchasers and creditors, filing CCAA forms, publishing notice, and reviewing KingSett's comeback application materials.
The stay of proceedings was extended to 2025-04-04.
Source: Amended and Restated Initial Order dated January 16, 2025
Case update
Lumina Eclipse: the 39 presale contracts a CCAA stay could not revive
On August 25, 2026, Justice Masuhara held that 39 presale agreements in a Burnaby condominium tower, about $30.5 million in purchase prices, had become unenforceable under s. 23 of REDMA before KingSett's CCAA filing, and that the stay orders could not make them enforceable again. On September 3 he stripped the priority from approximately $2.5 million in unpaid pre-filing sales commissions that KingSett says it had already funded.
Debtor
Beta View Homes Ltd. and Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership
Applicant
KingSett Mortage Corporation
Monitor
KSV
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Masuhara | Supreme Court of British Columbia | 8 orders, Apr 2025 – Jul 2026 | 15 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| MonitorKSV | Bennett Jones LLP | 21 Jul 2026 | Application · 21 Jul 2026 |
| CreditorA & B Tool Rentals Ltd | B Tool Rentals Ltd. Sportschuetz & Company Law Corporation | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorAlixPartners Restructuring, Inc | Bennett Jones LLP | 21 Jul 2026 | Service list · 21 Jul 2026 |
| Creditorapplication (s) | ATAC Law Corporation | 7 Apr 2026 | Application · 7 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorAVI Masonry Ltd | AVI Masonry Ltd. Raj Dhillon Law Corporation | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorClearbrook Iron Works Ltd | Baker Newby LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorD-Thind Development Beta Ltd | McQuarrie Hunter LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorGovernment of British Columbia – Ministry of Finance Receivables Management Office | Lawson Lundell LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorMidland Appliance Ltd | Borden Ladner Gervais LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorOwners of Strata Plan EPS6882 | Bleay Both Uppal LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorPetition Bryan Gibbons | Lawson Lundell LLP | 15 Jan 2025 | Application · 15 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorRight Touch Construction Ltd. PO Box 2569 STN A Abbotsford, BC V2T 6R3 Attention: Kewal Singh Gill | Lawson Lundell LLP | 21 Jul 2026 | Service list · 21 Jul 2026 |
| CreditorWestmount Guarantee Services Inc | Lawson Lundell LLP | 22 Apr 2026 | Application · 22 Apr 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | Deemed trusts (CRA and other) | Canada Revenue Agency · in 926 casesJudgment registered against the Real Property (all 14 parcels) — Judgment obtained June 30, 2023; registered against title on/about December 16, 2024; Respondents did not disclose the judgment to KingSett prior to registration — debtor: Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership and Beta View Homes Ltd. (Respondents) · as of 30 Jun 2023 | $12M | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | KingSett Mortgage Corporation · in 28 casesFirst Mortgage (LTO CA9151198/CA9151199, principal $95,000,000) and Second Mortgage (LTO CA9151200, principal $62,500,000) against Brentwood Tower C, plus First GSA and Second GSA over Nominee's personal property; comprised of First Mortgage Loan $126,932,331.66, Second Mortgage Loan facility 1 $53,031,004.54, Second Mortgage Loan facility 2 $9,232,702.01 — Total stated by document; interest continuing to accrue at $53,862.90/day combined; demand for payment made December 27, 2024 — debtor: Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership and Beta View Homes Ltd. (the Respondents) · as of 27 Dec 2024 | $189M | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Clearbrook Iron Works Ltd.Claim of Builders Lien CB1690183 against Brentwood Tower C — Indebtedness related to miscellaneous metal work for construction project — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | $91K | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Shezmin Kurshid Alam KhanClaim of Builders Lien HB9235 against Brentwood Tower C — Indebtedness related to recruitment services in connection with the construction project — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | $69K | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Mega Cranes Ltd. · in 5 casesClaim of Builders Lien BB1552360 against Brentwood Tower C — Indebtedness related to crane services for construction project — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | $6.45K | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Super Save Fence Rentals IncClaim of Builders Lien CB1730476 against Brentwood Tower C — Indebtedness related to temporary fencing services for construction project — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | $2.87K | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | The Owners of Strata Plan EPS6882 (Strata Corporation)Strata Property Act liens against individual Strata Lots: CB1598449 (Lot 281) $2,590.24; CB1598442 (Lot 282) $3,900.59; CB1674335 (Lot 287) $12,162.64; CB1598391 (Lot 290) $3,626.35; CB1598383 (Lot 291) $3,687.29; CB1598380 (Lot 293) $3,687.29; CB1598363 (Lot 296) $3,687.28; CB1598329 (Lot 503) $3,717.74; CB1598044 (Lot 505) $3,534.93; CB1598204 (Lot 506) $3,626.35; CB1598207 (Lot 508) $4,631.96; CB1598206 (Lot 509) $3,534.93; CB1598452 (Lot 510) $4,113.91 — Amounts owing pursuant to Strata Property Act; per-lot liens not summed by document — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | — | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Coast Capital Savings Federal Credit Union · in 3 casesMortgage and Assignment of Rents CA8924790/CA8924791 against the Strata Lots - stated as 'all debts of the Nominee due and owing to Coast' — Coast is senior secured creditor with respect to the Strata Lots — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | — | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | Westmount West Services Inc. · in 3 casesMortgage and Assignment of Rents CB9317/CB9318, principal amount $50,000 - mortgage on land (Brentwood Tower C) — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | — | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
| 4 | Secured | KingSett Mortgage Corporation · in 28 casesKingSett Strata Mortgage dated March 14, 2024 registered against the Strata Lots, registered principal amount $176,500,000 — Collateral security for Nominee's guarantee of 6511 Sussex Heights Development Ltd.'s obligations to KingSett; 6511 Sussex Heights (related party) placed into receivership December 13, 2024 on KingSett's application; principal amount, not a stated balance — debtor: Beta View Homes Ltd. (Nominee) | — | Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025 |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
Liquidation in progress — Remaining 68 Pre-Sale Contracts continue to represent a significant source of value; completing the Development and facilitating closing of the Pre-Sale Contracts remain critical objectives.Ninth Report of the Monitor dated August 18, 2026 · 18 Aug 2026
Unsecured creditors: no recovery. KingSett short.EstimatedNinth Report of the Monitor · 18 Aug 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | KingSett | — | shortfall | Estimatedper the monitor | Ninth Report of the Monitor · 18 Aug 2026 |
| Unsecured | pre-filing unsecured claims of Pre-Filing Agents (unpaid Execution Commissions) | — | no recovery | Estimatedper the monitor | Ninth Report of the Monitor · 18 Aug 2026 |
| Unsecured | subordinate claims, including claims secured by the Collateral Mortgages and lien claims | — | no recoveryconditional | Estimatedper the monitor | Application Response of the Monitor · 4 May 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
Cumulative receipts
$137M
As at 23 Jul 2026Eighth Report of the Monitor dated July 23, 2026
Cash on hand
$10.8M
As at 23 Jul 2026Eighth Report of the Monitor dated July 23, 2026
Professional fees to date
$1.7M
As at 23 Jul 2026Eighth Report of the Monitor dated July 23, 2026
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Service List as at September 16, 2026
| ||
| Order Varying Distribution Order dated September 3, 2026 | ||
Reasons for Judgement of Justice Morishita dated August 25, 2026
| ||
Ninth Report of the Monitor dated August 18, 2026
| ||
Notice of Application dated August 18, 2026
| ||
| Affidavit No. 3 of Daniel Pollack sworn August 17, 2026 | ||
| Application Response dated July 27, 2026 | ||
Stay Extension Order dated July 27, 2026
| ||
| Application Response of AGBC dated July 24, 2026 | ||
Eighth Report of the Monitor dated July 23, 2026
| ||
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated July 21, 2026
| ||
Service List as at July 21, 2026
| ||
| Applicants Book of Authorities (Federal Paramountcy) dated June 15, 2026 | ||
| Applicants Book of Authorities dated June 15, 2026 | ||
| Application Response of the Attorney General of British Columbia dated June 8 2026 | ||
| Notice of Constitutional Question filed May 15, 2026 | ||
Application Response of KingSett Mortgage Corporation dated May 4, 2026
| ||
| Application Response of Westmount Services Inc. dated May 4, 2026 | ||
Application Response of the Monitor dated May 4, 2026
| ||
Seventh Report of the Monitor dated May 4, 2026
| ||
| Affidavit No. 2 of Liping Ding affirmed April 30, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit of Karen Buquet sworn April 28, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit No. 1 of Masaki (Kevin) Matsumoto sworn April 24, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit No. 1 of Mohammed Nadali sworn April 24, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit No. 1 of Nazila Ghorbani sworn April 24, 2026 | ||
| Notice of Application of Purchasers of Units in Lumina Eclipse dated April 24, 2026 | ||
Notice of Application of Purchasers of Units in Lumina Eclipse (SL74, SL111, and SL246) dated April 22, 2026
| ||
Approval and Vesting Order dated April 8, 2026
| ||
Distribution Order dated April 8, 2026
| ||
| Affidavit of C. Wong affirmed April 7, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit of L. Ding affirmed April 7, 2026 | ||
| Affidavit of W. Wong affirmed April 7, 2026 | ||
Application Response C. Wong, L. Ding & W. Wong dated April 7, 2026
| ||
| Notice to Lumina Eclipse Purchasers dated March 31, 2026 | ||
| Notice of Application of the Monitor dated March 30, 2026 | ||
Sixth Report of the Monitor dated March 30, 2026
| ||
Ancillary Order dated December 19, 2025
| ||
Holdback Release Order dated December 19, 2025
| ||
Judgment Order dated December 19, 2025
| ||
Lien Regularization and Claims Review Orderd ated December 19, 2025
| ||
Third Amended and Restated Initial Order dated December 19, 2025
| ||
| Application Response of The Owners, Strata Plan EPS 9599 dated December 12, 2025 | ||
| Application Response of the Attorney General of Canada dated December 12, 2025 | ||
| Affidavit #2 of Daniel Pollack filed December 9, 2025 | ||
| Notice of Application (Beta Ave - Judgment) filed December 9, 2025 | ||
Fifth Report of of the Monitor dated December 8, 2025
| ||
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated December 8, 2025
| ||
| Notice to Lumina Eclipse Purchasers dated November 24, 2025 | ||
Amended Sale Process Order dated October 17, 2025
| ||
| Requisition Resetting Application Hearing to October 17, 2025 | ||
Fourth Report of the Monitor dated September 30, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Application dated September 30, 2025 | ||
| Notice to Lumina Eclipse Purchasers dated September 18, 2025 | ||
Stay Extension Order dated July 15, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Application dated July 9, 2025 | ||
Third Report of the Monitor dated July 9, 2025
| ||
| Notice to Lumina Eclipse Purchasers dated June 9, 2025 | ||
| Notice to Creditors dated April 23, 2025 | ||
| Creditor Listing as at April 16, 2025 | ||
Sale Process Order dated April 16, 2025
| ||
Sealing Order dated April 16, 2025
| ||
Second Amended and Restated Initial Order dated April 16, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Application dated April 15, 2025 | ||
Supplement to the Second Report of the Monitor dated April 15, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Application dated April 8, 2025 | ||
Second Report of the Monitor dated April 8, 2025
| ||
Amended and Restated Initial Order dated January 16, 2025
| ||
| Affidavit #1 of Tom Reeves made January 15, 2025 | ||
Response to Petition of Westmount West Services dated January 15, 2025
| ||
First Report of the Monitor dated January 14, 2025
| ||
| Notice to Creditors dated January 14, 2025 | ||
| Notice of Application dated January 13, 2025 | ||
| Notice to Brentwood Tower C Purchasers dated January 11, 2025 | ||
| Creditor Listing as at January 8, 2025 | ||
Initial Order dated January 8, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Hearing dated January 7, 2025 | ||
Petition to the Court dated January 7, 2025
| ||
Report of the Proposed Monitor dated January 7, 2025
| ||
Affidavit #1 of Daniel Pollack sworn January 6, 2025
| ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Beta View Homes Ltd. and Lumina Eclipse Limited Partnership” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/beta-view-homes-ltd-and-lumina-eclipse-limited-partnership