Arctic Canadian Diamond Company Ltd. and Burgundy Diamonds (Canada) Limited were placed in court-appointed receivership in Alberta on July 14, 2026, under section 243 of the BIA and provincial Judicature Act authority. The receivership follows CCAA proceedings with a filing date of May 1, 2026, in which Canada Enterprise Emergency Funding Corporation, the first-ranking secured lender, also served as DIP lender. As of May 8, 2026, CEEFC was owed CAD $175,000,000 as lender, administrative agent and Australian security trustee under term loan facilities governed by an amended and restated agreement dated March 4, 2026. Second-ranking debt of USD $78,000,000 as of March 31, 2026 is owed to the 2L lenders under a second lien credit agreement dated February 3, 2021, as amended four times, with Alter Domus (US) LLC as administrative and collateral agent. Arctic is the borrower on both facilities, guaranteed by Burgundy Diamonds (Canada) Limited and Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd. The proceeding is active.
Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
The officer filed report no. First Report. ACDC continues to operate the Ekati Mine while pursuing a sale and investment solicitation process (SISP) to identify a purchaser or investor, supported by interim financing to fund ongoing mine operations and restructuring costs.
Ekati's CCAA ran on a $60-million facility from the Canada Enterprise Emergency Funding Corporation, of which $10 million was drawn. When the sale process produced no qualified bid, the second tranche stopped being expected — and the Northwest Territories asked for a receiver whose mandate is reclamation, not sale.
Parties
Debtor
Arctic Canadian Diamond Company Ltd. and Burgundy Diamonds (Canada) Limited
Receiver
PwC
Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record
No acceptable bid — No LOIs were received that satisfied the criteria to be considered Qualified LOIs, and the Applicants terminated the SISPSecond Report of the Monitor · 13 Jul 2026
As at 31 Dec 2025 · per book value · Burgundy Group (consolidated - parent Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd. and all subsidiaries, including ACDC and BDC) — Total liabilities comprised of current liabilities ~US$98 million and non-current liabilities ~US$384 million (book value); total assets not stated in the document
Fee scheduleEngagements: Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Lisa Hiebert; Kibben Jackson; Glen Nesbitt; Suzanne Volkow; Fees: 84075.5 · Hours: 95.7 · Quote: TOTAL | TOTAL | 95.70 | $84,075.50 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: TOTAL · Money: Tax: $10.1K · Label: taxes · Quote: taxes in the amount of $10,115.99 · Fees: $84.1K · Quote: Fasken invoiced fees amounting to $84,075.50 · Total: $94.7K · Quote: for a total of $94,722.94 ('Fasken's Fees') · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $118 · Quote: incurred and invoiced for disbursements in the amount of $117.50 · Period: End: 2026-07-15 · Kind: cumulative · Quote: As detailed in Fasken's Invoices, from April 28 to July 15, 2026, Fasken invoiced fees amounting to $84,075.50 · Start: 2026-04-28 · Approval: Quote: I make this affidavit in support of FTI's application for approval of the Monitor's fees and disbursements and the fees and disbursements of Fasken incurred in connection with the CCA A Proceedings. · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD $ 39,435.71 · Invoices: Tax: 627 · Date: 2026-05-27 · Fees: 5210 · Quote: A | 2282529 | May 27, 2026 | $5,210.00 | $36.00 | $627.00 | $5,873.00 · Total: 5873 · Disbursements: 36; Tax: 4201.76 · Date: 2026-06-10 · Fees: 34863 · Quote: B | 2290078 | June 10,2026 | $34,863.00 | $370.95 | $4,201.76 | $39,435.71 · Total: 39435.71 · Disbursements: 370.95; Tax: 2657.92 · Date: 2026-07-03 · Fees: 22146 · Quote: C | 2299236 | July 3, 2026 | $22,146.00 | $8.00 | $2,657.92 | $24,811.92 · Total: 24811.92 · Disbursements: 8; Tax: 2628.31 · Date: 2026-07-17 · Fees: 21856.5 · Quote: D | 2300166 | July 17, 2026 | $21,856.50 | $117.50 | $2,628.31 | $24,602.31 · Total: 24602.31 · Disbursements: 117.5 · Firm text: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Firm quote: I am a partner at Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP ('Fasken'), counsel for FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI') in its capacity as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings · Hours total: Quote: TOTAL | TOTAL | 95.70 | $84,075.50 · Value: 95.7 · Context quote: counsel for FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI') in its capacity as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings · Comparability quote: the hourly rates reflected on Fasken's Invoices and below are commensurate with those charged by other law firms for work of a similar nature and complexity in British Columbia.; Form: time_summary · Rows: Lisa C. Hiebert; Kibben M. Jackson; Suzanne Volkow; Fees: 34863 · Hours: 40 · Quote: Total | 40.00 | CAD $ 34,863.00 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Total · Money: Tax: $4.2K · Label: Total Taxes · Quote: Total Taxes | 4,201.76 · Fees: $34.9K · Quote: Total Fees | $ 34,863.00 · Total: $39.4K · Quote: Total Fees, Disbursements and Taxes | ________ 39,435,71 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $371 · Quote: Total Disbursements | 370.95 · Period: End: 2026-05-31 · Kind: invoice · Quote: For Professional Services rendered through May 31, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum. · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD $39,435.71 · Invoices: · Firm text: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Firm quote: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Hours total: Quote: Total | 40.00 | CAD $ 34,863.00 · Value: 40 · Context quote: For Professional Services rendered through May 31, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum.; Form: time_summary · Rows: Lisa C. Hiebert; Kibben M. Jackson; Suzanne Volkow; Fees: 22146 · Hours: 24.9 · Quote: Total | 24.90 | CAD $ 22,146.00 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Total · Money: Tax: $2.66K · Label: Total Taxes · Quote: Total Taxes | 2,657.92 · Fees: $22.1K · Quote: Total Fees | $ 22,146.00 · Total: $24.8K · Quote: Total Fees, Disbursements and Taxes | 24 811.92 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $8 · Quote: Total Taxable Disbursements | 8 00 · Period: End: 2026-07-02 · Kind: invoice · Quote: For Professional Services rendered through July 02, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum. · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD $ 24 811.92 · Invoices: · Firm text: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Firm quote: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Hours total: Quote: Total | 24.90 | CAD $ 22,146.00 · Value: 24.9 · Context quote: For Professional Services rendered through July 02, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum.; Form: time_summary · Rows: Lisa C. Hiebert; Kibben M. Jackson; Glen Nesbitt; Suzanne Volkow; Fees: 21856.5 · Hours: 25.3 · Quote: Total | 25.30 | CAD $ 21,856.50 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Total · Money: Tax: $2.63K · Label: Total Taxes · Quote: Total Taxes | 2,628.31 · Fees: $21.9K · Quote: Total Fees | $ 21,856.50 · Total: $24.6K · Quote: Total Fees, Disbursements and Taxes | 24,602.31 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $118 · Quote: Total Disbursements | 117.50 · Period: End: 2026-07-15 · Kind: invoice · Quote: For Professional Services rendered through July 15, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum. · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD $ 24,602.31 · Invoices: · Firm text: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Firm quote: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP · Hours total: Quote: Total | 25.30 | CAD $ 21,856.50 · Value: 25.3 · Context quote: For Professional Services rendered through July 15, 2026 as described in the attached memorandum.
Fee scheduleEngagements: Form: time_summary · Rows: Deryck Helkaa; Thomas Powell; Mike Clark; Craig Munro; Longmai Yan; Tessa Chiricosta; Jennifer Ye · Money: Tax: $25.2K · Label: taxes · Quote: taxes in the amount of $25,225.41 · Fees: $503K · Quote: FTI invoiced fees amounting to $503,039.50 · Total: $530K · Quote: for a total of $529,733.43 (the 'Monitor's Fees') · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $1.47K · Quote: incurred and invoiced for disbursements in the amount of $1,468.52 · Period: End: 2026-07-12 · Kind: cumulative · Quote: for the period from April 24, 2026 to July 12, 2026 · Start: 2026-04-24 · Approval: Quote: FTI's application for approval of the Monitor's fees and disbursements · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: Amount CAD · Invoices: Tax: 11864.48 · Date: 2026-06-04 · Fees: 237289.5 · Quote: A | 102900003748 | June 4, 2026 | $237,289.50 | $0.00 | $11,864.48 | $249,153.98 · Total: 249153.98 · Disbursements: 0; Tax: 9419.48 · Date: 2026-07-03 · Fees: 188389.5 · Quote: B | 102900003849 | July 3, 2026 | $188,389.50 | $0.00 | $9,419.48 | $197,808.98 · Total: 197808.98 · Disbursements: 0; Tax: 3941.45 · Date: 2026-07-13 · Fees: 77360.5 · Quote: C | 102900003911 | July 13,2026 | $77,360.50 | $1,468.52 | $3,941.45 | $82,770.47 · Total: 82770.47 · Disbursements: 1468.52 · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Senior Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI'). · Hours total: Quote: TOTALS | 617.8 | $503,039.50 · Value: 617.8 · Context quote: FTI acted as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings (in such capacity, the 'Monitor').; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Deryck Helkaa; Thomas Powell; Craig Munro; Michael Clark; Longmai Yan; Tessa Chiricosta · Money: Tax: $11.9K · Label: GST (5%) · Quote: GST (5%) | $237,289.50 $11,864.48 · Fees: $237K · Quote: Total Professional Services Total Professional Services | | 299.10 | $237,289.50 · Total: $249K · Quote: Total Due | $249,153.98 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2026-05-31 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Current Invoice Period: Charges posted through May 31, 2026 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: Amount CAD · Invoices: · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Senior Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI'). · Hours total: Quote: Total Professional Services Total Professional Services | | 299.10 | $237,289.50 · Value: 299.1 · Context quote: FTI acted as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings (in such capacity, the 'Monitor').; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Deryck Helkaa; Tom Powell; Mike Clark; Longmai Yan; Tessa Chiricosta · Money: Tax: $9.42K · Label: GST (5%) · Quote: GST (5%) | $188,389.50 $9,419.48 · Fees: $188K · Quote: Total Professional Services | | | 228.80 | $188,389.50 · Total: $198K · Quote: Total Due __ | __________________________________________________________$197,808.98 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2026-06-30 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Current Invoice Period: Charges posted through June 30, 2026 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: Amount CAD · Invoices: · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Senior Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI'). · Hours total: Quote: Total Professional Services | | | 228.80 | $188,389.50 · Value: 228.8 · Context quote: FTI acted as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings (in such capacity, the 'Monitor').; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Deryck Helkaa; Tom Powell; Longmai Yan; Tessa Chiricosta; Jennifer Ye · Money: Tax: $3.94K · Label: GST (5%) · Quote: GST (5%) | $78,829.02 $3,941.45 · Fees: $77.4K · Quote: Total Professional Services | Total Professional Services | Total Professional Services | 89.90 | $77,360.50 · Total: $82.8K · Quote: Total Due | $82,770.47 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $1.47K · Quote: Total Expenses | Total Expenses | Total Expenses | Total Expenses | $1,468.52 · Period: End: 2026-07-12 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Current Invoice Period: Charges posted through July 12, 2026 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: Amount CAD · Invoices: · Firm text: FTI Consulting Canada Inc. · Firm quote: I am a Senior Managing Director of FTI Consulting Canada Inc. ('FTI'). · Hours total: Quote: Total Professional Services | Total Professional Services | Total Professional Services | 89.90 | $77,360.50 · Value: 89.9 · Context quote: FTI acted as the Court-appointed monitor of the Debtors in these proceedings (in such capacity, the 'Monitor').; Form: prose · Rows: · Money: Approximate: false · Period: Kind: unstated · Approval: Quote: FTI's application for approval of the Monitor's fees and disbursements and the fees and disbursements of Fasken · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Fasken · Firm quote: the fees, disbursements, and rates charged by Fasken · Context quote: and the fees and disbursements of Fasken incurred in connection with the CCAA Proceedings. · Comparability quote: I verily believe that the fees, disbursements, and rates charged by Fasken and reflected in Fasken's Invoices are consistent with those charged by other law firms for work of a similar nature and complexity in British Columbia.
Secured creditors$175M · Note: Pre-Filing Report of the Monitor separately describes this debt as 'approximately $175,000,000 owed... under first-ranking security' as of the CCAA Filing Date (May 1, 2026). CEEFC subsequently also became the CCAA DIP lender in these proceedings (a distinct, post-filing capacity). · Page: 115 · As of: 2026-05-08 · Debtor: Arctic Canadian Diamond Company Ltd. (Borrower), guaranteed by Burgundy Diamonds (Canada) Limited and Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd. · Creditor: Canada Enterprise Emergency Funding Corporation (CEEFC), as lender, and as administrative agent and Australian security trustee · Security: First-ranking security under amended and restated agreement dated March 4, 2026 (term loan facilities) - 'Existing CEEFC Debt'
Process results140 solicited · 3 NDAs · 0 LOIs · 0 qualified bids · 0 bids · as of 10 Jul 2026
Sale advisorFTI Consulting Canada Inc. (sale agent)
Sale outcomeNo acceptable bid — No LOIs were received that satisfied the criteria to be considered Qualified LOIs, and the Applicants terminated the SISP
Sale advisorFTI Consulting Canada Inc. (sale agent)
Sale outcomeSale process approved — sale and investment solicitation process seeking interest in all or substantially all the assets, undertakings and properties of ACDC
Operational summaryACDC continues to operate the Ekati Mine while pursuing a sale and investment solicitation process (SISP) to identify a purchaser or investor, supported by interim financing to fund ongoing mine operations and restructuring costs.
Professional fees$3.8M · Note: This is a forecast figure from the Second Cash Flow Statement, not an amount for fees already incurred. · Party: Applicants' legal counsel, the Monitor, the Monitor's legal counsel, the Interim Lender's counsel and the Interim Lender's financial advisor · Period: first two months of the CCAA Proceedings
Financial positionAssets $440M USD · Liabilities $482M USD · as at 31 Dec 2025 · per book value (per Burgundy's preliminary unaudited financial report for year ended Dec 31, 2025) · Burgundy Group (consolidated, including ACDC and BDC) — Total assets = current assets (~US$141M) + non-current assets (~US$298M); total liabilities = current liabilities (~US$98M) + non-current liabilities (~US$384M). Figures as stated in affidavit, not independently summed by extractor except as document itself presents component totals.
Secured creditors$10M · Note: CDN $6.75 million of the ATB LCs were called on in Nov 2025 (transferred to bond provider); remainder moved to Servus Credit Union and fully cash collateralized, limiting residual credit exposure. · Page: 29 · Debtor: ACDC · Creditor: ATB Financial / Servus Credit Union · Security: Letters of credit issued to secure Point Lake Bond and certain permitting obligations to the Receiver General of Canada (Fisheries and Oceans)
Financial positionLiabilities $482M USD · as at 31 Dec 2025 · per book value · Burgundy Group (consolidated - parent Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd. and all subsidiaries, including ACDC and BDC) — Total liabilities comprised of current liabilities ~US$98 million and non-current liabilities ~US$384 million (book value); total assets not stated in the document
Secured creditors$184M · Note: Approximate bond value; Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd. is indemnitor of the Primary Bond (related party guarantee) · Page: 10 · Debtor: Arctic Canadian Diamond Company Ltd. (ACDC) · Creditor: Surety Bond Providers (Primary Bond) - Zurich Insurance Company Ltd., Aviva Insurance Company of Canada, Argonaut Insurance Company · Security: Primary Bond posted with GNWT securing Reclamation Obligations
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Arctic Canadian Diamond Company Ltd. and Burgundy Diamonds (Canada) Limited” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/arctic-canadian-diamond-company-ltd-and-burgundy-diamonds-canada-limited
Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/arctic-canadian-diamond-company-ltd-and-burgundy-diamonds-canada-limited
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.