Approved the Spa Logic Inc. transaction covering 20310 - 107 Avenue, Edmonton with the chattels and equipment in Schedule "C" to the September 27, 2021 sale agreement.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order 687772 Alberta Ltd. October 21 2021
Schendel Mechanical Contracting Ltd., Schendel Management Ltd. and 687772 Alberta Ltd. have been under court-appointed receivership since July 19, 2019, when the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta pronounced an order appointing PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., LIT as receiver and manager of the three companies. The appointment was made on the application of ATB Financial under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, and is carried under Court File No. 24-2489860. The receivership remains active before what is now the Court of King's Bench of Alberta.
Approved the Spa Logic Inc. transaction covering 20310 - 107 Avenue, Edmonton with the chattels and equipment in Schedule "C" to the September 27, 2021 sale agreement.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order 687772 Alberta Ltd. October 21 2021
Approved the Receiver's sale to Spa Logic Inc. of the lands at 20204 - 107 Avenue, Edmonton (Plan 8121417 Block 9 Lot 9), vesting on delivery of the Closing Certificate.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order Schendel Management October 21 2021
Fifth Report sought approval of the sale of the Head Office, the last unsold property, and a fifth interim distribution to ATB of up to $1.5 million; Mechanical receipts to October 1, 2021 were $7,594,252.80.
Approved the sale of the Red Deer commercial condominium, Bay 6, 6540 71 Street (Condominium Plan 0321121 Unit 3), to 553986 Alberta Corp. under a September 29, 2020 agreement.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - Red Deer Condo - October 27 2020
The officer filed report no. Fourth Report. The Receiver is liquidating the Companies' real estate; most properties have been sold, the head office properties remain listed, and approval is sought to sell the Red Deer condo for $210,000 and make a further interim distribution of up to $275,000 to ATB.
The officer filed report no. Third Report. The receivership is winding down real estate holdings: three Grande Prairie residences and the Edmonton storage yard have sold, while the Fort McMurray Galt residence is under a court-approval sale and the head office and Red Deer condo remain listed with no offers.
Approved the sale of 10636 76 Avenue, Grande Prairie (Plan 9622491 Block 13 Lot 47) to Eric Cao under a November 25, 2019 agreement, with a vesting order.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - 76 Ave Property - January 13 2020
The officer filed report no. Second Report. The companies are in receivership with Mechanical's operations ceased. The Receiver is collecting accounts receivable, pursuing the Grande Prairie Regional Hospital Public Works Act and bond claims, and selling real estate and equipment (McDougall auction planned for around January 15, 2020). It is also seeking approval of the 76 Ave residential sale and further interim distributions to ATB of up to $1.0 million (Mechanical) and $2.75 million (Management).
Authorized the Receiver to complete the October 24, 2019 agreement for the 67 Avenue lands, appended to the First Report as Confidential Appendix "W".
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - 105 Street Property - November 7 2019
Approved the Auction Proposal with McDougall Auctions Ltd. covering the vehicles, equipment, trailers, inventory, tools, small equipment and parts listed in Schedule "A".
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - 67 Ave Property - November 7 2019
Approved the sale of 12717 105 Street, Grande Prairie (Plan 0824259 Block 7 Lot 5) to Alonzo Greene and Michelle Greene, or their nominee.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - Auction Proposal - November 7 2019
Set vesting in the auction purchasers on McDougall paying the net sale proceeds to the Receiver with an accounting and delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate; Auction Proposal sealed as Confidential Appendix "T".
Source: Approval and Vesting Order - Storage Yard - November 7 2019
Approved the Receiver's sale of 9725, 67 Avenue, Grande Prairie (Plan 0323781 Block 63 Lot 4) to Devin Krewsuik, vesting title on delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate.
Approved the sale of the storage yard at 20304 113 Ave NW, Edmonton (Plan 7822069 Block 1 Lot 6) to GFL Environmental Inc.
Source: Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (105 Street, Grande Prairie)
Authorized the Receiver to execute the October 22, 2019 agreement for the 105 Street property, the price held in a confidential appendix, with title vesting on delivery of the Closing Certificate.
Source: Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (67 Avenue, Grande Prairie)
Vested the Storage Yard Property in GFL Environmental Inc. under the October 23, 2019 agreement held in Confidential Appendix "V" to the First Report, on delivery of the Closing Certificate.
Source: Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (Storage Yard, Edmonton)
Receivership order under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, in Court File No. 24-2489860, conferring receiver and manager powers on PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., LIT.
Order pronounced on ATB Financial's application placed the three Schendel entities in receivership, appointing PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., LIT as receiver and manager.
Source: Receivership Order July 19, 2019
Endorsement of the Honourable Mr. Justice M. J. Lema - Dated July 19, 2019 — Endorsement / reasons
Debtor
Schendel Mechanical Contracting Ltd., Schendel Management Ltd. and 687772 Alberta Ltd. (Receivership)
Receiver
PwC
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Lema | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 12 orders, Nov 2010 – Oct 2021 | 41 cases on record |
| Justice Mah | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Aug 2019 – Jan 2020 | 73 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | ATB Financial · in 60 casesas of commencement of the NOI Proceedings (March 22, 2019) — Described as the Companies' major secured lender. Amount is a floor: the Receiver understands from ATB's material that ATB was 'owed in excess of $21.6 million' at the NOI commencement date. Per Mechanical's internal draft balance sheet at May 31, 2019, indebtedness to ATB comprised bank indebtedness $10,618,534, operating loan $14,031,385 and term bank loan $4,000,000 (components not stated by the document as ATB's total; not summed). Security opinion/registrations not described on these pages. — debtor: Schendel Mechanical Contract | $21.6M | Receiver's First Report to the Court |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
9 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
$9 today, then $99 a month from day 8. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans15 transactions · 8 closed · 6 approved · 1 proposed — Court approved the sale transaction between the Receiver and Spa Logic Inc. and vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing CertificateApproval and Vesting Order Schendel Management October 21 2021 · 21 Oct 2021
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 553986 Alberta Corp.the Debtor's right, title and interest in the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets'), being Condominium Plan 0321121 Unit 3 and 1180 undivided one ten thousandth shares in the common property, Bay 6, 6540 71 Street, Red Deer, Alberta · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee, or any party as directed by legal counsel for the Receiver · agreement 29 Sep 2020 | Subscribers | Approved7 Nov 2019 | Filed Approval and Vesting Order Auction… |
| Alonzo Greene and Michelle Greenethe Debtor's right, title and interest in the real property at 12717 105 Street, Grande Prairie, AB (Plan 0824259 Block 7 Lot 5) described as the Purchased Assets · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee (unnamed) · agreement 22 Oct 2019 | Subscribers | Approved7 Nov 2019 | Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real… |
| Devin KrewsuikDebtor's right, title and interest in the lands municipally described as 9725, 67 Avenue, Grande Prairie, AB (Plan 0323781 Block 63 Lot 4), the Purchased Assets · real property · agreement 24 Oct 2019 | Subscribers | Approved7 Nov 2019 | Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real… |
| GFL Environmental Inc.the Debtor's right, title and interest in the Purchased Assets, being the storage yard lands municipally described as 20304 113 Ave NW, Edmonton (Plan 7822069 Block 1 Lot 6) · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee (unnamed) · agreement 23 Oct 2019 | Subscribers | Approved7 Nov 2019 | Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real… |
| Eric Caothe Debtor's right, title and interest in the real property at 10636 76 Avenue, Grande Prairie, AB (Plan 9622491 Block 13 Lot 47) · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee (unnamed) · agreement 25 Nov 2019 | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Third Report to the Court |
| purchaser not named67 Avenue residential property (Grande Prairie) · real property | Subscribers | Closed | Receiver's Third Report to the Court |
| purchaser not named105 Street residential property (Grande Prairie) · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Second Report to the Court |
| purchaser of the Storage Yard not namedStorage Yard (20304 113 Ave NW, Edmonton) · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Third Report to the Court |
| purchaser not named67 Avenue residential property (Grande Prairie) · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Second Report to the Court |
| Jamie Malbeuf and Thomas Ayerthe Debtor's right, title and interest in the Galt Property, 162 Galt Place, Fort McMurray, Alberta (Plan 0123353 Block 3 Lot 94, excepting thereout all mines and minerals) · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee, or any party as directed by legal counsel for the Receiver · agreement 4 Mar 2020 | not stated | Approved8 Apr 2020 | Approval and Vesting Order - Galt Property -… |
| 553986 Alberta Corp.the commercial condominium owned by Mechanical located in Red Deer, Alberta (the 'Red Deer Condo') · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court |
| Colliers76 Ave Property, 10637 76 Avenue, Grande Prairie (residential) · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court |
| buyer of the Galt Property not namedthe Galt Property (162A Galt Place, Fort McMurray), the last remaining residential property owned by Management · real property | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court |
| Receiver refers only to 'the Head Office Purchaser'; the purchaser is not namedthe Company's head office, located in Edmonton's Winterburn Industrial Area (two adjacent parcels, Plan 8121417 Block 9 Lots 8 and 9) · real property | Subscribers | Proposed | Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court |
| Spa Logic Inc.the Debtor's right, title and interest in the assets described in the Sale Agreement, including the lands at 20310 - 107 Avenue, Edmonton and chattels and equipment set out in Schedule 'C' of the Sale Agreement · assets and shares · nominee/assignee: its nominee, or any party as directed by legal counsel for the Receiver · agreement 27 Sep 2021 | Subscribers | Approved21 Oct 2021 | Approval and Vesting Order 687772 Alberta Ltd.… |
Canada Revenue Agency: paid in full.FinalReceiver's Fifth Report to the Court · 7 Oct 2021
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deemed trust | Canada Revenue Agency | — | paid in full | Finalper the receiver | Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court · 7 Oct 2021 |
| Secured | ATB | — | interimconditional | Final | Filed Application for November 7, 2019 Hearing |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
2 blurred figures above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
$9 today, then $99 a month from day 8. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$7.59M
As at 7 Oct 2021Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the 2 totals the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
$9 today, then $99 a month from day 8. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Approval and Vesting Order 687772 Alberta Ltd. October 21 2021
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order Schendel Management October 21 2021
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Interim Distribution Order October 21 2021
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Restricted Access Order October 21 2021
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Fifth Report to the Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - Red Deer Condo - October 27 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Fourth Report to the Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - Galt Property - April 8 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Third Report to the Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - 76 Ave Property - January 13 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Approving the Receiver's Activities - January 13 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sealing Order - January 13 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Application for January 13 2020 Hearing
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Second Report Confidential Appendices
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Second Report to the Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - 105 Street Property - November 7 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - 67 Ave Property - November 7 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - Auction Proposal - November 7 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - Storage Yard - November 7 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Approval and Vesting Order Auction Proposal
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (105 Street, Grande Prairie)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (67 Avenue, Grande Prairie)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Approval and Vesting Order of Real Property (Storage Yard, Edmonton)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Order Approving Receiver's Activities, Interim Distribution, and Other Relief
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Sealing Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Letter to Service List Serving Orders | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sealing Order - November 7 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Supplemental Report to First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to Mr. Justice Lema Providing Report
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Filed Brief of Law | PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's First Report to the Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Amending Order to the Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of the Honourable Mr. Justice M. J. Lema - Dated July 19, 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order July 19, 2019
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Approving Receiver Activities, Interim Distribution, Other Relief - November 7 2010
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filed Application for November 7, 2019 Hearing
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Schendel Mechanical Contracting Ltd., Schendel Management Ltd. and 687772 Alberta Ltd. (Receivership)” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 16 October 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/schendel-mechanical-contracting-ltd-schendel-management-ltd-and-687772-alberta-l
Sources last checked · summary updated 1 October 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/schendel-mechanical-contracting-ltd-schendel-management-ltd-and-687772-alberta-l
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.