Proceedings.

Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Ltd.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
CCAAsection 49 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
2024 01G 3466
Industry
Real estate
Filings held134
Last activity14 Apr 2026
On the record262 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Ltd. are before the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador under the CCAA, and the proceedings remain active. A creditor list with payables sets out the obligations of Gregg Construction Limited. Bank of Montreal is the largest entry, at $3,425,123. Equipment and vehicle financiers include CWB National Leasing at $191,696, Mitsubishi HC Capital Canada Leasing Inc. at $172,274.90, RCAP Leasing at $155,211.20, Brandt Tractor Ltd. at $78,431, John Deere Financial at $67,030 and Ford Credit Canada at $11,392.78. On the unsecured side, Carmichael Engineering Ltd. is listed at $61,364.06, the Town of Paradise at $49,336.30 in municipal taxes, the Canada Revenue Agency at $32,647.56, RBC Royal Bank at $20,000 and Roger Coombs at $14,260, alongside smaller trade and utility accounts.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Per the Claims Procedure Order dated December 23, 2025 dated 23 December 2025.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates129 dated entries · 5 undated
#Report

The officer filed report no. Sixteenth Report. The GCL Transaction closed and operations transitioned to the purchaser, KEI's Amended Plan was implemented and distributions made to creditors, and the Monitor is now completing final wind-up activities (fee approvals, residual fund distribution, HST filings) before seeking termination of the CCAA proceedings.

Source: Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026

#Report

The officer filed report no. Preliminary Report. Residual Co. was a newly incorporated entity used solely to close the CCAA sale transaction; it has no directors, officers, or employees, did not operate, has no remaining assets, and is not carrying on any business.

Source: Trustee Preliminary Report dated February 20, 2026

Undated filings5 — no date appears on the document · show
—
Report

CCAA- Frequently Asked Questions.pdf — Court officer report filed

PDF · Subscribers

—
Claims

Gregg Construction Ltd. - List of Creditors.pdf — Claims process approved

PDF · Subscribers

Parties

Debtor

Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Ltd.

Monitor

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice BrowneSupreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador9 orders, Jun 2024 – Jan 20261 case on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorDoane Grant ThorntonReconstruct LLP17 Dec 2025Application · 17 Dec 2025
ApplicantKarwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Ltd.O'Keefe & Sullivan13 Jun 2024Application · 13 Jun 2024
CreditorBank of MontrealCox & Palmer13 Jun 2024Application · 13 Jun 2024
CreditorBUSINESS DEVELOPMENT BANK OF CANADA Attn: Special LoansCox & Palmer13 Jun 2024Application · 13 Jun 2024
CreditorGlen McKay, CAD Services IncBudden & Associates18 Dec 2025Application · 18 Dec 2025
CreditorMoskowitz Capital Mortgage Fund II IncStewart McKelvey18 Dec 2025Application · 18 Dec 2025
CreditorNewfoundland And Labrador Credit Union LimitedCox & Palmer6 Jan 2025Application · 6 Jan 2025
CreditorRichard GosseBennett Law18 Dec 2025Application · 18 Dec 2025
Creditorthis CCAA proceedingO'Keefe & Sullivan1 Oct 2025Affidavit · 1 Oct 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredBank of Montreal · in 297 casesListed on creditor list with payables; security status not specified on this page, but likely primary secured lender — debtor: Gregg Construction Limited$3.43MGregg Construction Ltd. - List of Creditors.pdf
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

17 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 4 closed · 1 proposed — The Transaction closed on February 5, 2026Trustee Preliminary Report dated February 20, 2026 · 20 Feb 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
98536 Newfoundland & Labrador Inc.sale of GCL's shares · share salenot statedClosed5 Feb 2026Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026
unnamedKEI Amended Plannot statedClosed5 Feb 2026Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026
Moskowitz Capital Mortgage Fund II Inc.Credit bidthe Moskowitz Parcels · asset sale · agreement 17 Nov 2025SubscribersProposedSupplement to Fourteenth Report dated January…
98536 Newfoundland and Labrador Inc.the Purchased Shares · share subscription · ResidualCo: 99573 Newfoundland & Labrador Ltd. · agreement 13 Nov 2025SubscribersClosed5 Feb 2026Trustee Preliminary Report dated February 20,…
98536 Newfoundland and Labrador Inc.various of the real property held by KEI, including the Moskowitz Parcels · asset sale · agreement 20 Nov 2025not statedClosedTrustee Preliminary Report dated February 20,…
AdvisorsColliers (listing broker)Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026
Closing termsClosing occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Closing Certificate, at which time a sequence of transaction steps (vesting of Excluded Assets in ResidualCo, cancellation of existing Equity Interests, issuance of Purchased Shares to the Purchaser, etc.) is deemed to occur.Approval and Reverse Vesting Order- Gregg Construction Ltd.
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: no recovery. CRA paid in full · BMO paid in full · Moskowitz Capital Fund II LLC a distribution.FinalMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Court chargescharges ordered by the Court (GCL)—paid in fullFinalper the monitorMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026
Deemed trustCRA—paid in fullUnder the planvote pendingper the monitorMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026
Securedoutstanding property taxes (GCL)—paid in fullFinalper the monitorMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026
SecuredBMO—paid in fullFinalper the monitorMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026
SecuredMoskowitz (57 Silverbirch Crescent)Moskowitz Capital Fund II LLC—conditionalper the monitorMonitor's Tenth Report dated October 2, 2025. · 2 Oct 2025
SecuredMoskowitz Capital Mortgage Fund II Inc.—interimFinalper the monitorSupplement to Fourteenth Report · 8 Jan 2026
SecuredNLCU (1107-1119 Kenmount Road)Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union—conditionalper the monitorMonitor's Tenth Report dated October 2, 2025. · 2 Oct 2025
Unsecuredcreditors with subordinated claims to BMO—no recoveryFinalper the monitorMonitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

3 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Grant Thornton Limited, to 31 Oct 2025Monitor's Twelfth Report dated November 10, 2025.pdf · 10 Nov 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Grant Thornton LimitedMonitorperiod 1 of 2to 31 Oct 2025—Monitor's Twelfth Report dated November 10, 2025.pdf · 10 Nov 2025
Grant Thornton LimitedMonitorperiod 1 of 2——Monitor's Sixteenth Report · 10 Apr 2026
Reconstruct LLPCounsel——Monitor's Twelfth Report dated November 10, 2025.pdf · 10 Nov 2025

6 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing

As at ·

Cumulative receipts

$10.6M

As at 10 Apr 2026Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Professional fees

As at

2 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
134 filings
DateDocumentFile
Draft CCAA Termination and Discharge OrderPDF · Subscribers
Redline CCAA Termination OrderPDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities dated April 11, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law dated April 11, 2026
  • Counsel Reconstruct LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application of the Monitor dated April 11, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Sixteenth Report dated April 10, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 5 Feb 2026 · 98536 Newfoundland & Labrador Inc.; Closed · 5 Feb 2026
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Trustee Preliminary Report dated February 20, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 5 Feb 2026 · 98536 Newfoundland and Labrador Ltd.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Form 68-Notice of the First Meeting of Creditors
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Service Notice to Creditors
PDF · Subscribers
Form 19 -Certificate of Appointment dated February 16, 2026
  • Appointee GRANT THORNTON LIMITED
  • Appointee role trustee
  • Commencement date 16 February 2026
  • Court file no 51-3334129
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Form 21 -Assignment for the Benefit of Creditors dated February 13, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Form 78-Statement of AffairsPDF · Subscribers
Approval and Reverse Vesting Order- Gregg Construction Ltd.
  • Closing terms Closing occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Closing Certificate, at which time a sequence of transaction steps (vesting of Excluded Assets in ResidualCo, cancellation of existing Equity Interests, issuance of Purchased Shares to the Purchaser, etc.) is deemed to occur.
  • Order date 12 January 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Browne
  • Purchaser 98536 Newfoundland and Labrador Inc. · the Purchased Shares · share subscription · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Ancillary OrderPDF · Subscribers
Draft Distribution OrderPDF · Subscribers
Draft Reverse Vesting OrderPDF · Subscribers
Draft Sanction OrderPDF · Subscribers
Final Distribution Order-Gregg Construction Ltd.
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Fifteenth Report dated January 11, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. Hussey dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Amended Notice of Motion dated January 9, 2026.PDF · Subscribers
Book of AuthoritiesPDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Court dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Court re RVO dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law re Plan Sanction dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law re RVO dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law, Moskowitz Motion, January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Affidavit of G. Hussey dated January 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Supplement to Fourteenth Report dated January 8, 2026
  • Purchaser 98536 Newfoundland and Labrador Inc. · various of the real property held by KEI, including the Moskowitz Parcels · asset sale · not completed; Moskowitz Capital Mortgage Fund II Inc. (credit bid) · the Moskowitz Parcels · asset sale · proposed
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per plan · Stated on: 2026-01-08 · Table missing:
  • Sale outcome Sale did not complete — The KEI Transaction offer has been superseded by the Plan of Arrangement; the Moskowitz Credit Bid remains pending with the secured claim to be resolved under the Plan
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Report dated December 30, 2025
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per liquidation_alternative · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Claims Procedure Order dated December 23, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Claims Procedure Order.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated December 18, 2025
  • Counsel Bennett Law
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit re Claims Motion of Gregory Hussey dated December 17, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Court re Claims Procedure dated December 17, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion re Claims Procedure dated December 17, 2025.pdf
  • Counsel Monitor Reconstruct LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Karwood Estates Inc. - List of Creditors updated December 16, 2025.PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Fourteenth Report dated December 16, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Creditors’ Meeting & Proxy FormPDF · Subscribers
Proof of Claim FormPDF · Subscribers
Meeting Order dated December 15, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Service List - Updated December 15, 2025
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. Hussey dated December 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Court dated December 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Draft Meeting Order dated December 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Karwood Estates Inc. – Plan of Compromise and ArrangementPDF · Subscribers
Motion for Filing dated December 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Notice of Bid DeadlinePDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Thirteenth Report dated November 20, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Motion of Court Approval of the Transaction dated November 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Opposition Submissions of Whiteway Holdings Ltd. & Mary Lahey dated November 14, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. Hussey dated November 13, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order dated November 13, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law dated November 13, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated November 13, 2025
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Twelfth Report dated November 10, 2025.pdf
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2025-11-10 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Kent Farrell dated November 5, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law dated November 5, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated November 5, 2025
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to the Court dated October 28, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Order dated October 28, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Eleventh Report dated October 27, 2025
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Stated on: 2025-10-27 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Greg Hussey dated October 23, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated October 23, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Tenth Report dated October 2, 2025.
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-10-02 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated October 1, 2025.PDF · Subscribers
Solicitor Affidavit signed October 1, 2025.
  • Counsel O'Keefe & Sullivan
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order dated October 1, 2025.
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Ninth Report dated July 3, 2025.pdf
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Stated on: 2025-07-03 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Court dated June 27, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Affidavit of G. Hussey dated June 27, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Notice of Motion dated June 27, 2025
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
1378-8164 - 7895 Memorandum of Fact and Law of NLCU - June 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. Hussey dated June 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Charging Order re Operating DIP dated June 17, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to Electronic Service List dated June 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Draft Charging Order re Comprehensive DIP dated June 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Draft Sealing Order dated June 17, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Karwood - Monitor's Eighth Report - VF Signed
  • Applicant Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Limited
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role monitor
  • Commencement date 5 June 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Eighth Report dated June 17, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
1403-8230-3767 Affidavit of Kent Farrell 16 June 2025PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Hubert Hussey (16 June 2025)PDF · Subscribers
Cover Letter to CourtPDF · Subscribers
KEI Notice of Motion (16 June 2025)PDF · Subscribers
Karwood Estates Inc. - DIP Term Sheet - BrickyardPDF · Subscribers
Operating DIP Term Sheet signed June 16, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Appendix E- Secured & Priority Creditors - Amended 06 June 2025PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Seventh Report dated June 5, 2025
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Stated on: 2025-04-28 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated May 30, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of G. Hussey dated March 28, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Letter to the Court dated March 28, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law dated March 28, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated March 28, 2025.pdf
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of J. Hancott sworn Mar 27, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Amended Notice of Motion dated March 27, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Application for Sale Approval dated March 27, 2025.pdf
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Sixth Report dated March 27, 2025.pdf
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Stated on: 2025-03-27 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Darren O'Keefe sworn March 6, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Application for Distribution Order dated March 6, 2025.pdf
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to the SL dated March 6, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit D. O'Keefe sworn February 11, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Court dated February 11, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion Executed dated February 11, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion dated February 11, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Fifth Report dated January 9, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Hubert Hussey sworn January 8, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Darren O’Keefe sworn January 6, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Application for extension dated January 6, 2025.pdf
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to the Court dated January 6, 2025.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Letter to the Registry dated November 21, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Vesting Order Application dated November 21, 2024.pdf
  • Presiding officer Justice MacDonald
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Fourth Report dated September 26, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Third Report dated September 23, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Second Report dated August 2, 2024 final w Appendices.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Proof of Claim InstructionsPDF · Subscribers
Application for termination of CCAA proceedings dated June 13, 2024.PDF
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
Application seeking sealing order dated June 13, 2024.PDF
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter N. Browne
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's First Report dated June 13, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
NLCU - Affidavit of Kent Farrell dated June 13, 2024.PDFPDF · Subscribers
NLCU - Application to Lift Stay dated June 13, 2024.PDF
  • Counsel Cox & Palmer
PDF · Subscribers
NLCU - Application to Obtain a Sealing Order dated June 13, 2024.PDF
  • Presiding officer Justice Peter N. Browne
PDF · Subscribers
NLCU - Memorandum of Fact and Law dated June 13, 2024.PDFPDF · Subscribers
Notice to Creditors dated June 7, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Proposed Monitor's Pre-Filing Report dated June 4, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Hubert Hussey - May 31, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law - May 31, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application - May 31, 2024.pdf
  • Applicant Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Limited
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Ltd.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Court IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Creditors - May 31, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
CCAA- Frequently Asked Questions.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Creditors’ Meeting AgendaPDF · Subscribers
Draft Distribution Order.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Form 31-36 Proof of Claim/ProxyPDF · Subscribers
Gregg Construction Ltd. - List of Creditors.pdf
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Karwood Estates Inc. and Gregg Construction Ltd.” (CCAA), Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/karwood-estates-inc-and-gregg-construction-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 5 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/karwood-estates-inc-and-gregg-construction-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.