Proceedings.

ANS 1993 Ltd., 1416452 Alberta Ltd., 2242246 Alberta Ltd., 2308213 Alberta Ltd., 786 N and S Enterprises Ltd. and P & N Development Ltd.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Interim receivershipSection 47 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985, c B-3, and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, RSA 2000, c J-2
File
2603-14087
Filings held20
Last activity21 Aug 2026
On the record126 days
OverviewSummary updated

ANS 1993 Ltd. and five related Alberta companies — 1416452 Alberta Ltd., 2242246 Alberta Ltd., 2308213 Alberta Ltd., 786 N and S Enterprises Ltd. and P & N Development Ltd. — were placed in interim receivership by the Court of King's Bench of Alberta on July 2, 2026, on the application of Royal Bank of Canada. AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc. was appointed Interim Receiver and a stay was granted. The relief rests on section 243(1) and section 47 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act. The record also lists Razia Qarni among the debtors. The matter proceeds under court files 2603-14067 and 2603-14087, and remains active. Two charges of $500,000 each secure the Interim Receiver's fees and its borrowings.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates23 dated entries
#Order

Order pronounced on Royal Bank of Canada's application appointing AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc. interim receiver over all property of the six debtor companies, under s. 47 of the BIA and s. 13(2) of the Judicature Act.

Source: Application Materials Receivership Order dated July 2, 2026

#Order

Order also created a $500,000 Interim Receiver's Charge for the Interim Receiver and its counsel, ranking first on the Property subject to BIA sections 14.06(7), 81.4(4) and 81.6(2), and a $500,000 Borrowings Charge ranking behind it.

Source: Interim Receivership Order filed July 2, 2026

Case update

ANS 1993: three daycares closed on August 15

Barred on July 2 from running the ANS 1993 daycares, the interim receiver reported on August 4 that continuing to operate the three centres the debtors ran was not commercially viable. Justice Lew converted the file to a receivership on August 12 and added two related companies; the receiver closed all three centres on August 15.

Filing brief

ANS 1993: the receiver may not run the daycares

Royal Bank of Canada asked the Court of King's Bench to appoint a receiver and manager over six Alberta companies operating five child-care centres in Edmonton and Spruce Grove, on $5.8 million of defaulted debt and a forbearance whose very first $50,000 payment was never made. On July 2 Justice Lema appointed an interim receiver instead — one expressly forbidden from operating the daycares, but holding the keys to every bank account.

Parties

Debtor

ANS 1993 Ltd., 1416452 Alberta Ltd., 2242246 Alberta Ltd., 2308213 Alberta Ltd., 786 N and S Enterprises Ltd. and P & N Development Ltd.

Applicant

Royal Bank of Canada

Interim receiver

AlixPartners

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice LewCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Aug 20261 case on record
Justice LemaCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Jul 202646 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Interim receiverAlixPartnersDentons Canada LLP4 Aug 2026Application · 4 Aug 2026
ApplicantRoyal Bank of CanadaMLT Aikins LLP5 Aug 2026Service list · 5 Aug 2026
DebtorANS 1993 Ltd., 1416452 Alberta Ltd., 2242246 Alberta Ltd., 2308213 Alberta Ltd., 786 N and S Enterprises Ltd. and P & N Development Ltd.Bishop & McKenzie LLP4 Aug 2026Application · 4 Aug 2026
Secured creditorBusiness Development Bank of CanadaMiller Thomson LLP4 Aug 2026Application · 4 Aug 2026
CreditorGovernment of AlbertaBrownlee LLP4 Aug 2026Application · 4 Aug 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
Court-ordered charges
1Court-ordered chargesInterim Receiver's Borrowings Charge — in priority to all security interests, trusts, deemed trusts, liens, charges and encumbrances, statutory or otherwise, in favour of any Person, but subordinate in priority to the Interim Receiver's Charge and the charges$500KApplication Materials Receivership Order dated July 2, 2026
1Court-ordered charges
Pre-filing debt
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured

17 more claims in 5 classes The stack holds Court-ordered charges, Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured, PMSI / lessors and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc., 8 Jun – 31 Jul 2026, in feesFee Affidavit · 4 Aug 2026

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc.Receiver8 Jun – 31 Jul 2026—3 peopleFee Affidavit · 4 Aug 2026
3 people — AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc., 8 Jun – 31 Jul 2026 · 13 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Jason KnightManaging Director
Ross GrahamDirector
Paul LimSenior Vice President
Other & Administrative———
Other staff and administrative——
Total fees———
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 222 Jun – 31 Jul 2026——not statedFee Affidavit · 4 Aug 2026
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 2to 31 Jul 2026——not statedFirst Report of the Interim Receiver · 4 Aug 2026
0 people — Dentons Canada LLP, to 31 Jul 2026 · 21 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
JT—
AN—
AN—
AN—
AN—
AN—
EA—

36 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

The 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
20 filings
DateDocumentFile
Notice & Statement of the Receiver dated August 21, 2026
PDF · Subscribers
Court Order re Approval of Interim Receiver's Activities and Fees dated August 12, 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice E.C. Lew
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order dated August 12, 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice E. Lew
PDF · Subscribers
Application by RBC re RBC v ANS 1993 Ltd et al, filed August 5, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities to the Brief in Support of the Application re RBC v ANS 1993 Ltd. et al, filed August 5, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Brief in Support of the Application re RBC v ANS 1993 Ltd. et al, filed August 5, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List serving Application, Brief, and Consent to Act dated August 5, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Service Letter to Service List (re Application Docs - Aug 12, 2026 Hearing) dated August 5, 2026
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Application (re Approval of Fees and Activities of IR) dated August 4, 2026
  • Counsel Brownlee LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Fee Affidavit dated August 4, 2026
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Interim Receiver dated August 4, 2026
  • Fee schedule · Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Application Materials Receivership Order dated July 2, 2026
  • Applicant Royal Bank of Canada
  • Appointee AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc.
  • Appointee role Interim Receiver
  • Charges Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Consent to Act as Interim Receiver dated July 2, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Consent to Act from AlixPartners Restructuring Inc. re RBC v ANS 1993 Ltd. et al (filed July 2, 2026)PDF · Subscribers
Interim Receivership Order filed July 2, 2026
  • Applicant ROYAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee AlixPartners Restructuring, Inc.
  • Appointee role Interim Receiver
  • Charges Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to service list serving Proposed Form of Order dated June 30, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List serving filed Application Materials dated June 25, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Application of Royal Bank of Canada filed June 24, 2026
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Brief of Law of Royal Bank of Canada filed June 24, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of M. Wells sworn June 23, 2026
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “ANS 1993 Ltd., 1416452 Alberta Ltd., 2242246 Alberta Ltd., 2308213 Alberta Ltd., 786 N and S Enterprises Ltd. and P & N Development Ltd.” (Interim receivership), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/ans-1993-ltd-1416452-alberta-ltd-2242246-alberta-ltd-2308213-alberta-ltd-786-n-a

Sources last checked · summary updated 5 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/ans-1993-ltd-1416452-alberta-ltd-2242246-alberta-ltd-2308213-alberta-ltd-786-n-a

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.