Proceedings.

The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, C. c-36, as amended
File
20220124092
Filings held348
Last activity28 Oct 2026
On the record1,639 days
OverviewSummary updated

The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's is the subject of bankruptcy proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, General Division, under court file number 20220124092. The proceeding commenced on May 11, 2022, when the Court granted an interim order. The case remains active, and the record contains no further steps since that date.

Claims processIf you are owed money

The claims bar date has passed — claims were due by

Per the Claims Process Amendment Order dated 10 May 2024.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates349 dated entries
#Report

Reported $4.2 million on hand at September 30, 2026, of which $3.2 million was proposed for the Third Distribution and $1.0 million retained as a Reserve; 132 property transactions had closed.

Source: Twenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor

#Report

Monitor's report put cash at $4.9 million as at May 31, 2026, recorded seven properties still held, and proposed transitioning from the CCAA to a bankruptcy administration with the Monitor as trustee.

Source: Twenty-Sixth Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. Twenty-Fifth Report of the Monitor. The Monitor supports Representative Counsel's motion to approve a settlement under which the Province would pay about $45.8 million to Abuse Claimants plus $500,000 for a counselling fund, in exchange for a release. Accepted Claimants have so far received 30.23189% of their proven claims, and how future distributions from the Corporation's assets will be made remains under discussion.

Source: Twenty-Fifth Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. Twenty-Fourth Report. The Corporation continues to finalize and market its real property sales, with nine accepted-offer sales pending closing and five properties listed without offers. It is preparing a Counselling Fund protocol and a transition strategy to conclude the CCAA proceedings, and expects adequate cash to fund operations through June 2026.

Source: Twenty-Fourth Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. Twenty-Third Report. The Corporation continues efforts to finalize residual real estate sales for the benefit of creditors including abuse victims, and its financial performance remains in line with forecast with no material variances. It forecasts about $0.2 million of receipts and $0.1 million of property holding-cost disbursements through February 28, 2026, and has adequate cash to fund operations through the proposed stay extension.

Source: Twenty-Third Report of the Monitor

#Claims

Claims process order granted well after the bar date and before the interim distribution payments of October 31, 2024, which totalled $20,719,914.23, or 21.473992% of proven claim value.

Source: Claims Process Amendment Order

#Order

Proceedings commenced in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, General Division, under court file number 20220124092; Ernst & Young Inc. acts as Monitor.

Source: Initial CCAA Order

#Order

Initial order granted under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, with the stay of proceedings running to May 1, 2022.

Source: Initial Order

Case update

Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's: dividing $3.2 million on the way out

The monitor's Twenty-Seventh Report supports the corporation's application to leave its CCAA for bankruptcy, with Ernst & Young as trustee, release the Archbishop, two Archdiocese companies and the professionals, and pay claimants a further $3.2 million. Whether the Province's settlement payments count in dividing it, the report leaves to the court.

Case update

Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's: the last contested item is worth $10,000

Four and a half years after the archdiocese filed, the churches are sold, the settlement with the Province is about to pay, and the corporation is ready to move from CCAA into bankruptcy. What is holding it there is a motion about the statues and vestments left behind — offered at $10,000, valued by one claimant's auctioneer at $34,780.

Parties

Debtor

The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's

Monitor

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HandriganSupreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador29 orders, Jan 2022 – Jul 20261 case on record
Justice Wilton-SiegelOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Jan 2022111 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
CreditorNorthbridge General InsuranceBlaney McMurtry LLP24 May 2024Factum · 24 May 2024
Sale processAs stated in the filings

12 transactions · 9 approved · 2 proposed · 1 closed — As at September 17, 2026, 132 real property transactions had closed; 7 properties remain, 2 under agreements of purchase and sale and 5 listed with realtors. Unsold property will vest in the Trustee in Bankruptcy.Twenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor · 22 Oct 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Jillian Byrne and Brent Wadman38 The Boulevard, St. John's, NL · real property · agreement 10 Feb 2022not statedApproved4 Mar 2022Order - Stay Extension, Approval of Sales, and…
Pamela Mills and Gavin Diamond20 Boland Street, St. John's, NL · real property · agreement 15 Feb 2022not statedApproved4 Mar 2022Order - Stay Extension, Approval of Sales, and…
purchaser of the Burling Crescent rectory, unnamedthe rectory located at 3 Burling Crescent · real propertynot statedProposedFourth Report of the Trustee
Archdiocesan Renewal Corporationthe religious articles by the RCECSJ to ARC as well as the RCECSJ's reversionary interest in the leases that lie between the RCECSJ and the entities that purchased buildings from it they intend to operate as Catholic churches · asset sale · agreement 14 Apr 2022SubscribersApproved20 Apr 2022Order - Approval of Sales and Cemetery Agreement
Eric and Lorna Ellsworth3 Burling Crescent, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador · real property · agreement 11 Mar 2022not statedApproved20 Apr 2022Order - Approval of Sales and Cemetery Agreement
Town of Flatrockthe Flatrock Community Centre · real propertynot statedApproved20 Apr 2022Order - Approval of Sales and Cemetery Agreement
purchaser of the St. Paul's Property, unnamed in operative textthe St. Paul's Property, as defined in the Third Report of the Monitor · real propertynot statedApproved1 Jul 2022St. John’s Sale by Tender Sale Approval Order –…
Stephen Oates and Marilyn Oates1 Coady's Lane, Torbay, NL · real property · agreement 27 May 2022not statedApproved18 Jul 2022Stay Extension and Coady Lane Sale Approval…
Calvary Baptist Inc.Mary Queen of the World Church and Rectory ("MQW") · real property · agreement 29 Aug 2022not statedApproved14 Sep 2022Sale Approval and ARIO Amendment Order – 14…
Meshack Holding Inc.St. Pius X Rectory ("St. Pius") · real property · agreement 26 Aug 2022not statedApproved14 Sep 2022Sale Approval and ARIO Amendment Order – 14…
ARCReligious Articles · asset saleSubscribersProposedTwenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor
unnamed132 real property transactions (gross sales proceeds exceeding $32.8 million)not statedCloseddate not statedTwenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor
AdvisorsErnst & Young Inc. (sale agent); Deloitte (financial advisor)Twenty-Sixth Report of the Monitor
Closing termsVesting occurs upon filing of Monitor's Certificate confirming satisfaction/waiver of conditions and completion of transactionsSt. John’s Sale by Tender Sale Approval Order – 27 July 2022
Sealed materialsTrustee's Supplemental Third Report; Trustee's Supplemental Fourth Report; Supplemental Second Report and Supplemental Third Report of the Monitor; Monitor's Supplemental Fourth ReportOrder - Stay Extension, Approval of Sales, and Tender Sale Process
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: a distribution. SSNs paid in full · Budden 049 a distribution · Budden 109 a distribution.FinalTwenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor · 22 Oct 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Securedvirtually all creditors, secured and unsecured alike—paid in full—Memorandum of Fact and Law - 01 Dec 2022 · 1 Dec 2022
SecuredSenior Secured NoteholdersSSNs—paid in fullEstimatedper the monitorMemorandum of Fact and Law (Signed) · 3 Oct 2024
UnsecuredAccepted Claimants—of proven claimsconditionalFinalper the monitorTwenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor · 22 Oct 2026
UnsecuredBudden 049listedper the monitorNineteenth Report of the Monitor · 18 Nov 2024
UnsecuredTestamentary ClaimantBudden 109—conditionalUnder the plansanctionedper the courtSupplemental Interim Distribution Order · 25 Nov 2024
UnsecuredBudden 174listedper the monitorNineteenth Report of the Monitor · 18 Nov 2024
UnsecuredBudden 211listedper the monitorNineteenth Report of the Monitor · 18 Nov 2024
Equity——no recovery—Memorandum of Fact and Law - 01 Dec 2022 · 1 Dec 2022

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

12 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

4 engagements · 3 firms — latest: (firm not named), 30 Nov 2024 – 3 Jan 2025, in feesTwenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 2 of 3) · 24 Oct 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
(firm not named)capacity not statedperiod 2 of 2 · firm not named in the heading30 Nov 2024 – 3 Jan 20252 peopleTwenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 2 of 3) · 24 Oct 2025
2 people — (firm not named), 30 Nov 2024 – 3 Jan 2025 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
George KinsmanRestructuring Partner
Drew MacCormackRestructuring Senior Manager
(firm not named)capacity not statedperiod 1 of 2 · firm not named in the heading28 Apr – 27 May 20234 peopleTwenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 2 of 3) · 24 Oct 2025
4 people — (firm not named), 28 Apr – 27 May 2023 · 12 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
George KinsmanRestructuring Partner
Drew MacCormackRestructuring Manager
Donna TuckRestructuring Staff
Niamh FraserRestructuring Staff
Ernst & Young Inc.Proposal trusteeFee Period—Twenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 1 of 3) · 24 Oct 2025
Stewart McKelveyCounselFee PeriodSoughtTwenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 1 of 3) · 24 Oct 2025

29 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cash on hand

$4.2M

As at 30 Sep 2026Twenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor

Professional fees

As at

1 more reported figure

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
348 filings
DateDocumentFile
Memorandum of Law of Representative CounselPDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Supplemental Memorandum of Fact and Law
PDF · Subscribers
Monitor's Memorandum of Fact and Law regarding the Third Interim DistributionPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Colleen MenchionsPDF · Subscribers
Draft CCAA Termination and Bankruptcy Assignment MotionPDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Seventh Report of the Monitor
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Religious Articles Sale Approval Order
  • Commencement date 11 May 2022
  • Court IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR GENERAL DIVISION
  • Court file no 20220124092
  • Order date 24 June 2026
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Sixth Report of the Monitor
  • Operational summary The Corporation has substantially completed the liquidation of its assets, mainly real estate, and is winding down toward a transition into bankruptcy, pending resolution of a motion concerning the Religious Articles sale; a further stay extension to October 31, 2026 is sought to finalize residual estate matters.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ Counselling Fund - Request for Payment formPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application of Buckingham 066PDF · Subscribers
Approval Notice with Claimant Counsel Certificate, Opt Out Form and Payment SchedulePDF · Subscribers
Settlement Agreement Approval Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Materials of SR007PDF · Subscribers
Response of Representative Counsel to the Motion Materials of SR 005PDF · Subscribers
SR005 Response to Submissions of Representative CounselPDF · Subscribers
Motion SubmissionPDF · Subscribers
Draft Settlement Approval OrderPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of LawPDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Fifth Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position · Operational summary Subscribers
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application for Approval of Settlement Approval
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order extending the stay of proceedings under the CCAA till June 30, 2026
  • Order date 12 March 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2026
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors enc. ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Fourth Report of the Monitor
  • Operational summary The Corporation continues to finalize and market its real property sales, with nine accepted-offer sales pending closing and five properties listed without offers. It is preparing a Counselling Fund protocol and a transition strategy to conclude the CCAA proceedings, and expects adequate cash to fund operations through June 2026.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order exending the CCAA stay of proceedings to 30 January 2026
  • Order date 3 December 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 30 January 2026
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Third Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position · Operational summary Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Activity and Fee Approval and Stay Extension Order
  • Order date 30 October 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 3 December 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 1 of 3)
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 2 of 3)
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-Second Report of the Monitor (Part 3 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
SR 008 Leave to Appeal Decision
  • Presiding officer Justice Garrett A. Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing OrderPDF · Subscribers
Second Interim Distribution Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Twenty-First Report Supplemental
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per plan; per plan · Stated on: 2025-06-12 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Leave to Appeal DecisionPDF · Subscribers
Twenty-First Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated; per unstated; per plan · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Portugal Cove South Church Decision and Injunction
  • Presiding officer Justice Garrett A. Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Bradley BuddenPDF · Subscribers
Reply BriefPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Clarence HolloyPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Cynthia PowerPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Joseph CoombesPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the PCS Historical CorporationPDF · Subscribers
Twentieth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the Applicant (Part 1 of 4)PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the Applicant (Part 2 of 4)PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the Applicant (Part 3 of 4)PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the Applicant (Part 4 of 4)PDF · Subscribers
Order - 2022 012 4092
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Dispute DecisionPDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Interim Distribution Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order re Supplementary DistributionPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application for an OrderPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors re ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2024-11-18 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Supreme CourtPDF · Subscribers
Principles Re RCECSJ Claimant AppealsPDF · Subscribers
Appeal Record Sealing OrderPDF · Subscribers
Interim Distribution OrderPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application (Signed)PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law (Signed)
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per unstated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Eighteenth Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2024-10-02 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Seventeenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Intelocutory ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Omni Management Disclosure OrderPDF · Subscribers
Sixteenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order
  • Order date 18 June 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 21 December 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Survival of Actions Act - Court of Appeal DecisionPDF · Subscribers
16. Fifteenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Fourteenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Provincial Disclosure OrderPDF · Subscribers
Exhibit A of the Affidavit of James ForanPDF · Subscribers
Exhibit B of the Affidavit of James ForanPDF · Subscribers
Exhibit C of the Affidavit of James ForanPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application of Representative CounselPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Thirteenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application Record of NorthbridgePDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of Northbridge
  • Counsel BLANEY McMURTRY LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Claims Process Amendment Order
  • Order date 10 May 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Ltr. from Representative Counsel to Justice HandriganPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Carine Ng - Northbridge RE St. John'sPDF · Subscribers
Ltr. from counsel to the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the ApplicantPDF · Subscribers
Submissions of Representative CounselPDF · Subscribers
Twelfth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
School Settlement Agreement and Stay Extension Order
  • Order date 12 December 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop Peter Hundt - December 6, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order - December 6, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application - December 6, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors - December 6, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of Applicant - December 6, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Eleventh Report of the Monitor - 01 Dec 2023PDF · Subscribers
Claims Process Order Amendment – Consent Order
  • Claims bar date 30 September 2023
  • Order date 21 July 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Claims Officer and Stay Extension Order
  • Order date 30 May 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 21 December 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Exhibits in Support of Interlocutory ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Tenth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Claims Methodology Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ Claims Procedure Order Court Stamped with Schedules
  • Claims bar date 30 September 2023
  • Order date 27 March 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Schedule F - Proof of Claim (General)PDF · Subscribers
Schedule G - Notice of Revision or DisallowancePDF · Subscribers
Schedule H - Notice of DisputePDF · Subscribers
Schedule I - Notice of DeterminationPDF · Subscribers
Claims Process Order
  • Claims bar date 30 September 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Ninth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Schedule A - Claims ProtocolPDF · Subscribers
Schedule B - Notice to ClaimantsPDF · Subscribers
Schedule C - Instruction Letter (Abuse)PDF · Subscribers
Schedule D - Instruction Letter (General)PDF · Subscribers
Schedule E - Proof of Claim Form (Abuse)PDF · Subscribers
Neary Application – Dismissal Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Eighth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
School Board – Memorandum of Fact and LawPDF · Subscribers
Government – Memorandum of Fact and LawPDF · Subscribers
Budden - Letter to Service ListPDF · Subscribers
Budden - Memorandum of Fact and LawPDF · Subscribers
Application for Leave to AppealPDF · Subscribers
Notice of AppealPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Robyn HayesPDF · Subscribers
Exhibits to Affidavit of Robyn Hayes (1 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
Exhibits to Affidavit of Robyn Hayes (2 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
Exhibits to Affidavit of Robyn Hayes (3 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop Hundt RE Response to Douglas Neary ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Claims Process - Reasons for Judgment
  • Order date 12 January 2023
  • Stay extended to 31 May 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of Second RespondentPDF · Subscribers
Seventh Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Affidavit of Jim SinnottPDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ Counsel Submissions - 15 Dec 2022PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List - 12 Dec 2022PDF · Subscribers
Representative Counsel Submission - 12 December 2022PDF · Subscribers
Supreme Court letter (December 9, 2022) enclosing Gallant v. RCEC Halifax decision #4124-6460-4739 v.1PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order – December 6, 2022
  • Order date 6 December 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 31 May 2023
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop Peter Hundt - 01 Dec 2022PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order - 01 Dec 2022PDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application - as filed December 1, 2022PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors December 1, 2022PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law - 01 Dec 2022
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Sixth Report of the Monitor - 01 Dec 2022PDF · Subscribers
Reply Memorandum of the Claimant RepresentativesPDF · Subscribers
TAB 1 - Final Report on TillerCoplandRoach RCMP Class Action, Office of the Assessors, June 2022PDF · Subscribers
TAB 2 - Approval Order - Proposal of the Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. George’s
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per plan · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
TAB 3 - Cerilli v. Ottawa (City) 2008 ONCA 28PDF · Subscribers
TAB 4 - V. (J.L.) v. H. (P.), 1997 CarswellBC 148PDF · Subscribers
TAB 5 - Personal Injury Damages in CanadaPDF · Subscribers
TAB 6 - Survival of Actions Act section 11PDF · Subscribers
Abuse Claims Process ChartPDF · Subscribers
General Claims Process ChartPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact & Law of ApplicantPDF · Subscribers
Newfoundland Proceedings - Memorandum of Fact and LawPDF · Subscribers
TAB 01 - John Doe (GEB 25) v The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St Johns 2018 NLSC 60PDF · Subscribers
TAB 02- John Doe (GEB 25) v The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St Johns 2020 NLCA 27PDF · Subscribers
TAB 03 - John Doe v BennettPDF · Subscribers
TAB 04 - John Doe v Roman Catholic Episcopal Corp of St Johns 2015 NLTD(G) 81PDF · Subscribers
TAB 05 - In the Matter of the Proposal to Creditors of Conforti Holdings LimitedPDF · Subscribers
TAB 06 - Canwest Global Communications Corp RePDF · Subscribers
TAB 07 - Ontario Securities Commission v Paramount Equity Financial Corporation et alPDF · Subscribers
TAB 08 - Nortel Networks Corp Re 2010
  • Order date 26 March 2010
PDF · Subscribers
TAB 09 - Cooper v HobartPDF · Subscribers
TAB 10 - Allocation protocol for abuse claims approved by the U.S. Bankruptcy Court in the Sourthern District of New YorkPDF · Subscribers
TAB 11 -L (H) v Canada (Attorney General) 2005 SCC 25PDF · Subscribers
TAB 12 - L (H) v Canada (Attorney General) 2001 SKQB 233PDF · Subscribers
TAB 13 - B (M) v British ColumbiaPDF · Subscribers
TAB 14 - G (BM) v Nova Scotia (Attorney General)PDF · Subscribers
TAB 15 - M (D) v W (W)PDF · Subscribers
TAB 16 - MacLeod v MarshallPDF · Subscribers
TAB 17 -Tiller v. Canada, 2020 FC 321, at page 95-102 of the Final Settlement AgreementPDF · Subscribers
TAB 18 - Tiller v. Canada, 2020 FC 321, at pages 52-91 of the Final Settlement AgreementPDF · Subscribers
TAB 19 - Swales v GlendinningPDF · Subscribers
TAB 20 - Judgement Interest Act ss 3, 4PDF · Subscribers
TAB 21 - Rules of the Supreme Court 1986 s 29.10PDF · Subscribers
TAB 22 - Earle v Record Holdings LimitedPDF · Subscribers
TAB 23 - Grant Forest Products Inc RePDF · Subscribers
TAB 24 - Ted Leroy Trucking Century Services Ltd RePDF · Subscribers
TAB 25 - Monahan v NelsonPDF · Subscribers
TAB 26 - Hislop v Canada (Attorney General)PDF · Subscribers
TAB 27 - Harvey v HartePDF · Subscribers
TAB 28 - Nortel Networks Corp Re 2015PDF · Subscribers
TAB 29 - Humber Ironworks & Shipbuilding Co., Re (1869), 4 Ch. App. 643PDF · Subscribers
TAB 30 - National Bank of Canada v Twin Butte Energy LtdPDF · Subscribers
TAB 31 - Canada (Attorney General) v Confederation Life Insurance CoPDF · Subscribers
TAB 32 - Canada Deposit Insurance Corp v Canadian Commercial BankPDF · Subscribers
TAB 33 (a) - Companies Creditors Arrangement Act s 2PDF · Subscribers
TAB 33 (b) -Companies Creditors Arrangement Act s 19PDF · Subscribers
TAB 34 (a) - Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act s 2PDF · Subscribers
TAB 34 (b) - Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act s 121PDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report of the Monitor - 31 October 2022
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit Jim Sinnott - 18 October 2022PDF · Subscribers
McInnes Cooper Letter to Court – 17 October 2022PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit Christopher Correia – 14 October 2022PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit Gerald Hann – 14 October 2022PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit Kelley McKeating – 14 October 2022PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix APDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix BPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix CPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix DPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix EPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran – Appendix FPDF · Subscribers
Rep Counsel Letter to Service ListPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of David EatonPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors from McInnes CooperPDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval and ARIO Amendment Order – 14 September 2022
  • Order date 14 September 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Purchaser Calvary Baptist Inc. · Mary Queen of the World Church and Rectory ("MQW") · real property · approved; Meshack Holding Inc. · St. Pius X Rectory ("St. Pius") · real property · approved
  • Sealed items Monitor's Supplemental Fourth Report
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of ClaimantPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Estate RepresentativePDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James ForanPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service ListPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Peter HundtPDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Newfoundland and Labrador English School Board and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Department of Education - Document Disclosure Order – 1 August 2022PDF · Subscribers
St. John’s Sale by Tender Sale Approval Order – 27 July 2022
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon filing of Monitor's Certificate confirming satisfaction/waiver of conditions and completion of transactions
  • Order date 1 July 2022
  • Purchaser purchaser of the St. Paul's Property, unnamed in operative text · the St. Paul's Property, as defined in the Third Report of the Monitor · real property · approved
  • Sealed items Supplemental Second Report and Supplemental Third Report of the Monitor
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension and Coady Lane Sale Approval Order – 18 July 2022
  • Order date 18 July 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Purchaser Stephen Oates and Marilyn Oates · 1 Coady's Lane, Torbay, NL · real property · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — approval of the sale of 1 Coady's Lane, Torbay, NL
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
04. Third Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
03. Second Report of the Monitor – 13 July 2022PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop Peter Hundt (Signed)PDF · Subscribers
Draft order for tender sale approvals and for sealing order #4138-2968-4026PDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application to approve tender process sales and for sealing order #4145-3354-0666PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Creditors July 13 2022PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the Monitor for approval of tender sales and for sealing order #4136-7960-6586PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Jim SinnottPDF · Subscribers
Correspondence to Counsel enclosing Reply BriefPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List re MemorandumPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of the ApplicantsPDF · Subscribers
Reply Brief on Document DisclosurePDF · Subscribers
Tab 1 - Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-36)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 10 - Third Eye Capital Corporation v. Resources Dianor Inc. Dianor Resources Inc., 2019 ONCA 508PDF · Subscribers
Tab 11 - Archean Resources Ltd. v. Newfoundland, 2002 NFCA 43PDF · Subscribers
Tab 12 - Szeto v. Dwyer 2010 NLCA 36PDF · Subscribers
Tab 13 - Rules of the Supreme Court, 1986 SNL1986 c. 42PDF · Subscribers
Tab 14 - Greening v. Newfoundland and Labrador (Supreme Court), 2009 NLTD 149PDF · Subscribers
Tab 15 - John Doe v. Roman Catholic Episcopal Corp. of St. John’s 194 Nfld. & P.E.I.R. 143PDF · Subscribers
Tab 16 - Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules (C.R.C., c. 368)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 17 - 1278481 Ontario Ltd. et al. v. Her Majesty the Queen et al., 2007 NLTD 151PDF · Subscribers
Tab 2 - Canada v. Canada North Group Inc., 2021 SCC 30PDF · Subscribers
Tab 3 - Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. B-3)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 4 - Bradford (Re) [2003] O.J. No. 1299
  • Presiding officer Registrar Nettie
PDF · Subscribers
Tab 5 - NAV Canada c. Wilmington Trust Co., 2006 SCC 24PDF · Subscribers
Tab 6 - Ted Leroy Trucking [Century Services] Ltd., Re 2010 SCC 60PDF · Subscribers
Tab 7 - Rules of the Supreme Court, 1986 SNL1986 c. 42PDF · Subscribers
Tab 8 - Morrissey v. Quinlan 2002 NFCA 58PDF · Subscribers
Tab 9 - Carter v. Municipal Construction Ltd. 2001 N.J. No. 226PDF · Subscribers
Table of AuthoritiesPDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List re Interlocutory ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Schedule B - James Foran Affidavit and ExhibitsPDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Initial Order - May 27, 2022
  • Order date 27 May 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay expiry 31 July 2022
PDF · Subscribers
St. Kevin's Settlement Approval Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
First Report SupplementalPDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Monitor – May 25, 2022PDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ ARIO Motion MaterialsPDF · Subscribers
St. Kevin’s Settlement Agreement Application by the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
St. Kevin’s Settlement Agreement Motion Submissions by the MonitorPDF · Subscribers
Listing of CreditorsPDF · Subscribers
Initial CCAA Order
  • Applicant Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 11 May 2022
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
CCAA Conversion - Reasons for Judgement
  • Presiding officer Justice Garrett A. Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
Order - Adjournment and Stay Extension
  • Order date 29 April 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay extended to 27 May 2022
PDF · Subscribers
Reply Memorandum of ApplicantPDF · Subscribers
Trustee Answers to InterrogatoriesPDF · Subscribers
Opposition to CCAA Conversion SubmissionPDF · Subscribers
InterrogatoriesPDF · Subscribers
Representative Counsel's correspondence re: InterrogatoriesPDF · Subscribers
Order - Approval of Sales and Cemetery Agreement
  • Order date 20 April 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Purchaser Eric and Lorna Ellsworth · 3 Burling Crescent, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador · real property · approved; Archdiocesan Renewal Corporation · the Cemeteries (as defined in the Agreement of Purchase and Sale dated April 14, 2022) · real property · approved; Town of Flatrock · the Flatrock Community Centre · real property · approved
  • Sealed items Trustee's Supplemental Fourth Report
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran re CCAA ConversionPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of James Foran re Schools IssuePDF · Subscribers
Exhibit APDF · Subscribers
Exhibit BPDF · Subscribers
Exhibit CPDF · Subscribers
Exhibit DPDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Initial Order
  • Order date 29 April 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Handrigan
  • Stay expiry 31 July 2022
PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Trustee
  • Purchaser Archdiocesan Renewal Corporation · cemeteries situated throughout the diocese · real property · proposed; purchaser of the Burling Crescent rectory, unnamed · the rectory located at 3 Burling Crescent · real property · proposed
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — Tender Process approved and Tender Package finalized and posted
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Initial Order
  • Applicant Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 20 April 2022
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed MonitorPDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ - Appendix B - Confidentiality Agreement
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — The Trustee was directed by Court order to assist the RCECSJ to market certain parcels of real property for sale through a court approved sale by tender process; this document is the form of confidentiality agreement for prospective purchasers seeking Data Room access.
  • Break fee · Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
RCECSJ - Tender Information PackagePDF · Subscribers
Order - Stay Extension, Approval of Sales, and Tender Sale Process
  • Closing terms Vesting of Purchased Assets in the Purchasers upon completion of the transactions
  • Purchaser Jillian Byrne and Brent Wadman · 38 The Boulevard, St. John's, NL · real property · approved; Pamela Mills and Gavin Diamond · 20 Boland Street, St. John's, NL · real property · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — Approval of the sale of two properties and the tender sale process
  • Sealed items Trustee's Supplemental Third Report
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and LawPDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Trustee
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — Real estate liquidation process via tender package for Real Property, marketing process approved and underway
  • Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop HundtPDF · Subscribers
Notice Letter to Claimants re Representative Counsel – Budden & AssociatesPDF · Subscribers
Notice to Claimants – Representative Counsel OrderPDF · Subscribers
Opt Out NoticePDF · Subscribers
Representative Counsel Order – Reasons for JudgmentPDF · Subscribers
02. Second Report of the TrusteePDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of John Doe (G.E.B. #26)PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of St. Kevin's ParishPDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law – Trustee Part 2PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law – Trustee Part 3PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Constitutional Question
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Position of The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John'sPDF · Subscribers
Service Letter and Memorandum of Fact and Law – Trustee Part 1PDF · Subscribers
Service Letter re Memorandum of Fact and Law - St. Kevin's Parish FundsPDF · Subscribers
Tab 01 - Malenfant, Re [1999] SCJ No. 57PDF · Subscribers
Tab 02 - Cargill Ltd. v. Ronald (Trustee of) 2008 MBCA 104PDF · Subscribers
Tab 03 - MacKinnon v. Deloitte & Touche Inc. 2007 SKQB 39PDF · Subscribers
Tab 04 - Beatch, Re [2005] S.J. No. 1PDF · Subscribers
Tab 05 - Ranch des Prairies Ltée (Prairie Ranch Ltd.) v. Bank of Montreal [1988] M.J. No. 298PDF · Subscribers
Tab 06 - Archean Resources v. Her Majesty [2002] NFCA 43PDF · Subscribers
Tab 07 - Christian Brothers of Ireland in Canada (Re) [2000] O.J. No. 117PDF · Subscribers
Tab 08 - Alberta (Attorney General) v. Moloney 2015 SCC 51PDF · Subscribers
Tab 09 - Husky Oil Operations Ltd. v. Minister of National Revenue [1995] 3 S.C.R. 453PDF · Subscribers
Tab 1PDF · Subscribers
Tab 10PDF · Subscribers
Tab 10 - Targa Holdings Ltd. v. Whyte [1974] 3 W.W.R. 632PDF · Subscribers
Tab 11 - Report of the Study Committee on Bankruptcy and Insolvency Legislation Canada 1970PDF · Subscribers
Tab 12 - Indalex Ltd., Re 2013 SCC 6PDF · Subscribers
Tab 13 - M & D Farm Ltd. v. Manitoba Agricultural Credit Corp. [1999] 2 S.C.R. 961PDF · Subscribers
Tab 14 - Deloitte Haskins And Sells Limited V. Workers' Compensation Board Et Al. [1985] 1 S.C.R. 785PDF · Subscribers
Tab 15 - Marzetti v. Marzetti 1994 2 S.C.R. 765PDF · Subscribers
Tab 16 - Lottery Licensing Regulations under the Criminal Code (M.G. 1081-82)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 17 - Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. B-3) (select provisions)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 18 - Judgment Enforcement Act, S.N.L 1996 C. J-1.1 (section 131)PDF · Subscribers
Tab 2PDF · Subscribers
Tab 3PDF · Subscribers
Tab 4PDF · Subscribers
Tab 5PDF · Subscribers
Tab 6PDF · Subscribers
Tab 7PDF · Subscribers
Tab 8PDF · Subscribers
Tab 9PDF · Subscribers
Tab APDF · Subscribers
Tab BPDF · Subscribers
Tab CPDF · Subscribers
Order - Representative Counsel
  • Presiding officer Justice Han
PDF · Subscribers
1. Christian Brothers of Ireland in Canada (Re) 37 OR (3d) 367PDF · Subscribers
10. Petrowest Corporation v. Peace River Hydro Partners 2019 BCSC 2221PDF · Subscribers
11. Endorsement of Justice Wilton-Siegel dated July 7 2011 Re Kitchener Frame Limited
  • Presiding officer Justice Wilton-Siegel
PDF · Subscribers
12. Urbancorp Toronto Management Inc., Re 2016 ONSC 5426
  • Presiding officer Justice Newbould
PDF · Subscribers
13. Rules of the Supreme Court 1986PDF · Subscribers
14. Kelly v JJ Lacey Insurance Ltd (Trustee of)PDF · Subscribers
2. Christian Brothers of Ireland in Canada (Re) [2003] OJ No 4249 ONCAPDF · Subscribers
3. Quadriga Fintech Solutions Corp. (Re) 2019 NSSC 65
  • Presiding officer Justice Michael J. Wood
PDF · Subscribers
4. US Steel Canada Inc. (Re), 2014 ONSC 6145
  • Presiding officer Justice H. Wilton-Siegel
PDF · Subscribers
5. Imperial Tobacco Canada Ltd., Re 2020 ONSC 61PDF · Subscribers
6. Nav Canada c. Wilmington Trust Co., 2006 SCC 24PDF · Subscribers
7. Ted Leroy Trucking [Century Services] Ltd., Re 2010 SCC 60PDF · Subscribers
8. Kitchener Frame Limited (Re), 2012 ONSC 234
  • Order date 3 February 2012
  • Presiding officer Justice Morawetz
PDF · Subscribers
9. Gray Aqua Group of Companies, Re 2015 NBQB 107PDF · Subscribers
AffidavitPDF · Subscribers
Geoffrey Budden letter enclosing documentsPDF · Subscribers
Issued ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
MemorandumPDF · Subscribers
OrderPDF · Subscribers
Order - Extension of Time & Administrative Charge
  • Order date 24 January 2022
  • Presiding officer Justice Garrett A. Handrigan
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Trustee
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to CreditorsPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Archbishop Peter Hundt
PDF · Subscribers
Draft OrderPDF · Subscribers
Interlocutory Application
PDF · Subscribers
Memorandum of Fact and Law of Applicant
PDF · Subscribers
Certificate for Filing of a Notice of Intention to Make a ProposalPDF · Subscribers
Jane Doe (#7) v. Newfoundland 2019 NLSC 170PDF · Subscribers
What Is Access To Justice In The Context Of Class Actions - Frank Iacobucci - Accessing JusticePDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “The Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John's” (CCAA), Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/the-roman-catholic-episcopal-corporation-of-st-john-s

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/the-roman-catholic-episcopal-corporation-of-st-john-s

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.