Plains Environmental Inc.
Follow- Proceeding
- Interim receivershipsection 47(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and s. 13(2) of the Judicature Act
- File
- 2401-03664
Plains Environmental Inc. has been under interim receivership since March 15, 2024, the date on which the receivership order was pronounced by the Court of King's Bench of Alberta. The proceeding is brought under section 47 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and carries Alberta court file number 2401-03664. The commencement order is the only step on the record to date; no subsequent filings, reports or applications have been entered. The proceeding remains active.
The court granted an approval and vesting order.
Source: Filed Order Amending Approval and Vesting Order - 29 April 2025
Interim Receivership Extension Order - 28 April 2025 was filed.
Source: Interim Receivership Extension Order - 28 April 2025
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Fleet Energy Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Interim Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order (Sale by Interim Receiver) - 27 February 2025
Interim Receivership Extension Order - 27 February 2025 was filed.
Source: Interim Receivership Extension Order - 27 February 2025
The court appointed Ernst & Young Inc. as Interim Receiver, on the application of ATB Financial. Court file 2401-03664.
Source: Amended and Restated Interim Receivership Order (ARIRO) - 28 October 2024
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2025-01-31.
Source: Court approved Sales and Investment Solicitation Process (SISP)
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A phase 1 deadline of 2024-12-13. A bid deadline of 2025-01-31.
Source: Sales Process Order and Other Relief approving the SISP and other matters
Placed Plains Environmental Inc. into interim receivership under BIA section 47, pronounced March 15, 2024 by the Court of King's Bench of Alberta in file 2401-03664.
Debtor
Plains Environmental Inc.
Interim receiver
EY
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Marion | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 3 orders, Oct 2024 – Feb 2025 | 24 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interim receiverEY | Miller Thomson LLP | 10 Apr 2024 | Service list · 10 Apr 2024 |
| ApplicantATB Financial | Dentons Canada LLP | 10 Apr 2024 | Service list · 10 Apr 2024 |
| DebtorPlains Environmental Inc. | Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP | 10 Apr 2024 | Service list · 10 Apr 2024 |
| CreditorApex Investment Limited Partnership, Apex Investment GP Inc., Saskworks Venture Fund Inc | MLT Aikins LLP | 10 Apr 2024 | Service list · 10 Apr 2024 |
| CreditorCG Engineering | Borden Ladner Gervais LLP | 24 May 2024 | Service list · 24 May 2024 |
| CreditorSK LTO Registrant | Kanuka Thuringer LLP | 10 Apr 2024 | Service list · 10 Apr 2024 |
| CreditorSpearing Service L.P | MLT Aikins LLP | 24 May 2024 | Service list · 24 May 2024 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | ATB Financial · in 56 casesGeneral Security Agreement (all present/after-acquired personal and real property) dated April 18, 2011; Debenture dated April 18, 2011 charging Disposal Well Willmar lands; 2011 Mortgage dated April 18, 2011 (registered principal $10,000,000.00) over 2011 Lands; Assignment of Surface Rights by Way of Security dated April 18, 2011; 2013 Mortgage dated October 1, 2013 (registered principal $12,600,000.00) over 2013 Lands; perfected via AB PPR, SK PPR and SK LTO — Credit Facility Agreement comprised revolving operating loan facility (stated original amount $120,000.00 per affidavit; commitment l · as of 8 Mar 2024 | $8.32M | Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024 |
| 4 | Secured | Apex Investment GP Inc.Subordinate debenture holder — Described as 'subordinate debenture holder'; related party — Apex Investment Limited Partnership holds 7.61% of voting shares per corporate registry (page 9). Amount not stated. — debtor: Plains Environmental Inc. | — | Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024 |
| 4 | Secured | Saskworks Venture Fund Inc. · in 3 casesSubordinate debenture holder — Described as 'subordinate debenture holder'; related party — Saskworks Venture Fund Inc. holds 13.27% of voting shares per corporate registry (page 9). Amount not stated. — debtor: Plains Environmental Inc. | — | Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024 |
| 4 | Secured | Transgas LimitedPer affidavit: 'has claims both in priority and subordinate to ATB'; amount not stated. Inter-creditor Agreement between ATB and TransGas referenced in commitment letter security documents (page 15). — debtor: Plains Environmental Inc. | — | Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024 |
| 5 | PMSI / lessors | PPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) · in 183 casesAffidavit refers to 'certain equipment lenders' owed amounts by Plains; individual amounts and identities not stated. — debtor: Plains Environmental Inc. | — | Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024 |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
2 transactions · 1 not completed · 1 closed — approving a sale of all of Plains' assets associated with its Willmar and Melville, Saskatchewan operations to Fleet Energy Ltd. (the ' Sale '). The Sale closed on April 1, 2025.Trustee's Preliminary Report · 16 Jul 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prospective Stalking Horse Purchaser; no Stalking Horse APA executedthe Company's current and future assets, undertakings and properties of every nature and kind whatsoever, and wherever situate, including all proceeds thereof · asset sale | not stated | Not completed | Fifth Report of the Interim Receiver |
| Fleet Energy Ltd.the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 31 Jan 2025 | SealedInterim Receiver collected sale proceeds, net of adjustments, of $3,992,072.45 | Closed1 Apr 2025 | Trustee's Preliminary Report |
ATB Financial: $750K.FinalSeventh Report of the Interim Receiver · 22 Apr 2025
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | ATB Financial | — | $750Kinterim | Finalper the receiver | Seventh Report of the Interim Receiver · 22 Apr 2025 |
| class not placedTransgas Ltd. | Transgas Ltd. | — | $750K | Finalper the receiver | Seventh Report of the Interim Receiver · 22 Apr 2025 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
As at 27 Jun 2025 · per estimated net book value, based on estimated cash balance after settling interim receivership fees and expenses, assuming all receivables outstanding as at June 27, 2025 are collected · entity - Plains Environmental Inc. — Components: Cash 16,000; AR 12,862; Prairie Co-op Equity Balance 18,183; Total Assets 47,045 (CAD). Total liabilities not stated; Section E lists proven claims (secured and unsecured) totalling 4,603,562.25 but this is a claims listing, not a stated liabilities total.
Cash on hand
$16K
As at 16 Jul 2025Trustee's Preliminary Report
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Trustee's Preliminary Report
| ||
| Notice of Bankruptcy & Creditors Package | ||
| Form 19 - Certificate of Appointment | ||
Filed Order Amending Approval and Vesting Order - 29 April 2025
| ||
Interim Receivership Extension Order - 28 April 2025
| ||
| Filed Order - 29 April 2025 | ||
Seventh Report of the Interim Receiver
| ||
Approval and Sealing Order - 27 February 2025
| ||
Approval and Vesting Order (Sale by Interim Receiver) - 27 February 2025
| ||
Interim Receivership Extension Order - 27 February 2025
| ||
Sixth Report of the Interim Receiver
| ||
| 3rd Affidavit of Vern Malcolm - Sworn February 12, 2025 | ||
| Confidentiality Agreement for Plains SISP | ||
Court approved Sales and Investment Solicitation Process (SISP)
| ||
Teaser for Plains Environmental Inc
| ||
Amended and Restated Interim Receivership Order (ARIRO) - 28 October 2024
| ||
Sales Process Order and Other Relief approving the SISP and other matters
| ||
Fifth Report of the Interim Receiver
| ||
| 2nd Affidavit of Vern Malcolm - Sworn October 21, 2024 | ||
| Fourth Report of the Interim Receiver | ||
| Affidavit of Vern Malcolm (ATB) - Sworn August 19, 2024 | ||
| Third Report of the Interim Receiver | ||
| 4th Affidavit of Ian Mark Phillip (ATB) - Sworn June 16 2024 | ||
Signed Service Letter & Service List
| ||
| Second Report of the Interim Receiver | ||
| 3rd Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn May 17 2024 | ||
Interim Receivership Extension Order - Signed
| ||
First Report of the Interim Receiver
| ||
Service List
| ||
| Extended Interim Receivership Application (Filed) | ||
| 2nd Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn April 8, 2024 | ||
Interim Receivership Order - Signed
| ||
Affidavit of Ian Mark Philip (ATB) - Sworn March 14, 2024
| ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Plains Environmental Inc.” (Interim receivership), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/plains-environmental-inc