Proceedings.

Open Hydro Technology Canada Ltd.

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
CCAASection 50.4(7)(b)(ii) and 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
File
24615
Filings held7
Last activity6 Jun 2019
On the record2,964 days
OverviewSummary updated

Open Hydro Technology Canada Ltd. commenced CCAA proceedings in the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia on April 1, 2019, with Grant Thornton Limited acting as Monitor. The application relied on sections 11.6, 11.2, 11.52(1) and 23 of the Companies Creditors Arrangement Act, and sections 50.4(9), 50.6 and 64.2 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. A list of creditors with claims of $250 or more, compiled as of the company's Notice of Intention filing, includes Atlantic Towing (Irving Group) for $1,470,201.00, BBC Chartering for $875,477.00, RMI Marine Limited for $444,720.00, Seaforth Geosurveys for $422,844.00 and Irving Equipment, also part of the Irving Group, for $594,679.00.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates7 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report of the Monitor. OpenHydro is conducting a managed wind-down of its affairs under CCAA protection, pursuing a sale of the Scotia Tide barge, working to recover its turbine from the seabed, and pursuing tax credit claims, while relying on DIP financing to fund limited ongoing operations.

Source: First Report of the Monitor dated November 28, 2018.pdf

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report of Trustee / Preliminary Report of the Proposed Monitor. OpenHydro has ceased operations at the FORCE demonstration site following the insolvency of its parent OHT, has no revenue sources, and intends an orderly wind-down including turbine retrieval, environmental compliance, and a sale process for its marine vessel, the Scotia Tide. Court file 24615.

Source: First Report of Trustee and Preliminary Report of the Proposed Monitor – October 23, 2018.pdf

Parties

Debtor

Open Hydro Technology Canada Ltd.

Monitor

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
CreditorAtlantic Towing Ltd RemorquageStewart McKelvey23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorCustom Fabricators & MachinistStewart McKelvey23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorDP World Saint John IncJakub Vodsedalek Bernard LLP · H. Peter Swanson Bernard LLP23 Oct 2018Application · 1 Apr 2019
CreditorJamac Painting and Sandblasting LtdPatterson Law23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorJD IrvingStewart McKelvey1 Apr 2019Application · 1 Apr 2019
CreditorPort of Saint JohnStewart McKelvey23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorSancton Access IncStewart McKelvey23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorSand & Sea Dive Shop IncBurchell MacDougall LLP23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
CreditorSeaforth Geosurveys IncorporatedBoyneClarke LLP23 Oct 2018Application · 23 Oct 2018
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
UnsecuredAtlantic Towing (Irving Group)as of NOI filing date — debtor: Open Hydro Technology Canada Ltd.$1.47MNOI and List of Creditors.pdf
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured

44 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Grant Thornton Limited, 1 Nov 2018 – 31 May 2019, incl. taxSecond Report of the Monitor dated June 6, 2019.pdf · 6 Jun 2019

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Cox & PalmerCounsel6 Nov 2018 – 29 Apr 2019—not statedSecond Report of the Monitor dated June 6, 2019.pdf · 6 Jun 2019
Grant Thornton LimitedMonitor1 Nov 2018 – 31 May 2019—not statedSecond Report of the Monitor dated June 6, 2019.pdf · 6 Jun 2019

2 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents7 filings
DateDocumentFile
Second Report of the Monitor dated June 6, 2019.pdf
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion - April 1, 2019.pdf
  • Applicant OpenHydro Technology Canada Ltd.
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 1 April 2019
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Monitor dated November 28, 2018.pdf
  • Operational summary OpenHydro is conducting a managed wind-down of its affairs under CCAA protection, pursuing a sale of the Scotia Tide barge, working to recover its turbine from the seabed, and pursuing tax credit claims, while relying on DIP financing to fund limited ongoing operations.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
CCAA - Notice to Creditors.pdf
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of Trustee and Preliminary Report of the Proposed Monitor – October 23, 2018.pdf
  • Applicant OpenHydro Technology Canada Ltd.
  • Appointee Grant Thornton Limited
  • Appointee role trustee
  • Cash on hand Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion - October 23, 2018.pdf
  • Applicant OpenHydro Technology Canada Ltd.
  • Counsel H. Peter Swanson Bernard LLP
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Court file no 24615
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
NOI and List of Creditors.pdf
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Open Hydro Technology Canada Ltd.” (CCAA), Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/open-hydro-technology-canada-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 6 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/open-hydro-technology-canada-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.