Proceedings.

Great Northern Timber Incorporated et al.

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
CCAACompanies’ Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.C-36, as amended
File
45876, 45877, 45878, 45879, 45880
Filings held95
Last activity9 Jul 2026
On the record577 days
Secured debt$10.4M
OverviewSummary updated

Great Northern Timber Incorporated, together with Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited, Great Northern Timber Global Limited, Great Northern Timber Resources Inc. and Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated, filed Notices of Intention to Make a Proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act on August 27, 2024, with Ernst & Young Inc. as monitor and the matter proceeding in the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency), Halifax, under court file numbers 45876 through 45880. The vertically integrated forestry group kept its Sheet Harbour chipping and Musquodoboit Harbour pellet operations running while a sale process approved on December 13, 2024 ran to a February 12, 2025 bid deadline. Orders took effect on February 18, 2025, and CCAA proceedings commenced on February 21, 2025. The court officer reported on July 24, 2025 that the Transaction had been completed and all post-filing obligations discharged. The case remains active.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates96 dated entries
#Report

Reported cash receipts of $2.2 million for the four weeks ended March 28, 2025, about $1.0 million under forecast on weaker pellet and chip sales and an uncollected HST refund, with disbursements $0.2 million favourable.

Source: Second Report of the Monitor

#Report

Recorded continued wood pellet production at Musquodoboit Harbour, sales of pellet inventory including previously segregated HGE-lien pellets, a chip inventory sale from Sheet Harbour, and settlement of a $100,000 deposit dispute, $75,000 to the Company and $25,000 to the counterparty.

Source: First Report of the Monitor

#Order

Great Northern Timber Incorporated et al. — CCAA filed, Nova Scotia.

#Order

Appointed BDO Canada Limited, LIT as Receiver on the application of the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, granting an Administrative Charge capped at $350,000, a Receiver's Indemnity Charge and a Receiver's Borrowings Charge of $1,500,000.

Source: Blackline - Draft Initial Order to Model Order

#Order

Approved the sale to Great Northern Timber Holdings Inc., with vesting effective on delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of the Cash Portion of the Purchase Price and satisfaction or waiver of closing conditions; the Purchase Price, allocation statement and Confidential Supplement were sealed.

Source: Draft Initial Order

#Report

Set out projections for the Fourth CF Period of $4.3 million in receipts against $7.5 million in operating disbursements, including $0.5 million of professional costs to complete the NOI administration and conclude the sale process.

Source: Fifth Report of the Trustee

#Order

Sale process approved, effective 12:01 a.m. Atlantic Standard Time, with bids due by 5:00 p.m. on February 12, 2025.

Source: Draft SISP Order

#Report

Report filed ahead of the sale process approval, noting the Pellet Mill and Chip Mill had been maintained in the normal course since the last court appearance.

Source: Fourth Report of the Trustee

#Report

Reported positive net cash flow from operations of approximately $5.8 million from the NOI Filing Date through October 18, 2024, driven by pre-filing receivable and inventory realizations, with chipping temporarily suspended to manage working capital.

Source: Third Report of the Proposal Trustee

#Report

First court officer report of the proceedings, recording that the Company continued to operate both the Chip Mill and the Pellet Mill after the NOI Filing Date on short-term payment terms negotiated with suppliers.

Source: First Report of the Trustee

#Order

The five Great Northern Timber companies filed Notices of Intention to Make a Proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, opening the insolvency proceedings.

Source: Draft Order Extending Stay

#Order

The Notices of Intention fixed the NOI Filing Date, the baseline against which the Company's subsequent cash receipts and disbursements were reported to the Court.

Source: Initial CCAA Order

Parties

Debtor

Great Northern Timber Incorporated et al.

Monitor

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Registrar BalmanoukianSupreme Court of Nova Scotia8 orders, Sep 2024 – Jan 20253 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorEYStikeman Elliott LLP30 Oct 2024Service list · 30 Oct 2024
CreditorRoyNat IncBoyneClarke LLP30 Oct 2024Service list · 30 Oct 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 2 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
Court-ordered charges
1Court-ordered chargesReceiver's Borrowings Charge — in priority to all security interests, trusts, liens, charges and encumbrances, statutory or otherwise, in favour of any Person, but subordinate in priority to the Receiver's Indemnity Charge, the Administrative Charge a$1.5MReceivership Order
1Court-ordered chargesAdministrative Charge — first charge on the Property in priority to all security interests, trusts, liens, charges, and encumbrances, statutory or otherwise, in favour of any Person, but subject to subsections 14.06(7), 81.4(4), and 81.6(2) of $350KReceivership Order
1Court-ordered chargesReceiver's Indemnity Charge — second charge on the Property in priority to all security interests, trusts, liens, charges, and encumbrances, statutory or otherwise, in favour of any Person, but subject to subsections 14.06(7), 81.4(4), and 81.6(2) ofReceivership Order
1Court-ordered chargesReceiver’s Indemnity Charge — a second charge on the Property in priority to all security interests, trusts, liens, charges, and encumbrances, statutory or otherwise, in favour of any Person, but subject to subsections 14.06(7), 81.4(4), and 81.6(2) Blackline Receivership Order
Pre-filing debt
4SecuredCanadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) · in 67 casesGuarantee (undated in provided page); Notice of Intention to Enforce Security (BIA s.244) stated as enclosed, permitting Bank to realize on this entity's listed assets - specific security instrument not included in provided pages — Related-party guarantor (fellow NOI applicant/affiliate) of Great Northern Timber Incorporated's indebtedness to CIBC; same underlying debt as primary debtor entry — debtor: Great Northern Timber Resources Inc. · as of 13 Aug 2024$10.4MAffidavit of V. Milosevic - Sworn

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processPer the transactions

Sale approvedDraft Approval and Vesting Order · 8 Apr 2025

Bid deadline (round closed)

12 February 2025

SISP Order

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Great Northern Timber Holdings Inc.not statedApproved8 Apr 2025Draft Approval and Vesting Order
Closing termsVesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming that the Purchaser has paid, and the Applicants have received, the Cash Portion of the Purchase Price due on the Closing Date, and that the Monitor has received written confirmation from the Purchaser and the Applicants that all conditions of Closing have been satisfied or waived.Draft Approval and Vesting Order
Sealed materialsthe Purchase Price and the illustrative Purchase Price Allocation Statement as well as the Confidential SupplementDraft Approval and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: shortfall. CIBC $4.79M · Roynat paid in full.EstimatedSecond Report of the Monitor · 9 Apr 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredCIBC$11.3M$4.79MFinalper the monitorThird Report of the Monitor · 24 Jul 2025
SecuredRoynatpaid in full$2.28MFinalper the monitorThird Report of the Monitor · 24 Jul 2025
Unsecuredunsecured creditors of the Resource estate$2.2MlistedshortfallEstimatedper the monitorSecond Report of the Monitor · 9 Apr 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firmslatest: Stikeman Elliott LLP, 26 Aug 2024 – 29 Apr 2025, $204,568.00 in feesThird Report of the Monitor · 25 Jul 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Ernst & Young Inc.Monitor1,013.7$455.42stated averageThird Report of the Monitor · 25 Jul 2025
Stikeman Elliott LLPCounsel26 Aug 2024 – 29 Apr 2025262.08$204,568.00$780.56stated averageThird Report of the Monitor · 25 Jul 2025
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$8.98M

As at 24 Jul 2025Third Report of the Monitor

Cash on hand

$635K

As at 24 Jul 2025Third Report of the Monitor

Professional fees to date

$468K

As at 24 Jul 2025Third Report of the Monitor

Documents
95 filings
DateDocumentFile
Termination CertificatePDF
Third Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand $635K
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: prose · Rows: · Money: Approximate: false · Period: Kind: unstated · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: — · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: appointed Ernst & Young Inc. as monitor (the ' Monitor ') · Hours total: Quote: billings for 1,013.7 professional hours · Value: 1013.7 · Context quote: This amount includes billings for 1,013.7 professional hours at an average hourly rate of approximately $455.42.; Form: prose · Rows: · Money: Fees: $205K · Quote: Stikeman Elliott incurred legal fees in the amount of $204,568.00 (exclusive of HST) · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $7.98K · Quote: disbursements and other charges in the amount of $7,979.77 (exclusive of HST) · Period: End: 2025-04-29 · Kind: invoice · Quote: the period from August 26, 2024, to April 29, 2025 · Start: 2024-08-26 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: — · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Stikeman Elliott LLP · Firm quote: invoices from Stikeman Elloitt LLP for professional services rendered by legal counsel acting on behalf of the Trustee and Monitor · Hours total: Quote: The total time in the invoices is 262.08 hours · Value: 262.08 · Context quote: The following table summarizes Stikeman Elliott's accounts the period from August 26, 2024, to April 29, 2025:
  • Operational summary The Company, with the assistance of the Monitor, has successfully completed the Transaction and has discharged all post-filing obligations.
  • Professional fees $468K
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Amended and Restated Distribution OrderPDF
Monitor's Certificate Hfx No. 540593PDF
Assignment Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Darlene Jamieson
PDF
Charging OrderPDF
Distribution OrderPDF
Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Stay Extension Order - Extended to July 31, 2025
  • Stay extended to 31 July 2025
PDF
Affidavit of Cedric W. Burgher (Sworn In-Person)PDF
Affidavit of Cedric W. Burgher sworn on April 9, 2025PDF
Second Report of the Monitor
  • Operational summary Over the four-week period ended March 28, 2025, the Company generated cash receipts of $2.2 million, approximately $1.0 million less than forecast, primarily due to lower pellet and chip sales and an uncollected HST refund; cash disbursements were $0.2 million favourable to plan.
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-04-09 · Table missing:
  • Report date 9 April 2025
  • Report no Second Report
PDF
Affidavit of Tony Mee sworn April 8, 2025PDF
Draft Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate confirming that the Purchaser has paid, and the Applicants have received, the Cash Portion of the Purchase Price due on the Closing Date, and that the Monitor has received written confirmation from the Purchaser and the Applicants that all conditions of Closing have been satisfied or waived.
  • Purchaser Great Northern Timber Holdings Inc.
  • Sealed items the Purchase Price and the illustrative Purchase Price Allocation Statement as well as the Confidential Supplement
PDF
Draft Assignment Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.C-36, as amended
PDF
Draft DIP Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Monitor Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Statutory basis Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.C-36, as amended
PDF
Draft Distribution Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.C-36, as amended
PDF
Stay Extension Order - To April 30, 2025
  • Stay extended to 30 April 2025
PDF
First Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand $4.15M
  • Operational summary The Company has also maintained its Pellet Mill and Chip Mill operations in the normal course of business since the last Court appearance date.
  • Receipts cumulative $1.6M
  • Report date 17 March 2025
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Book of AuthoritiesPDF
Draft Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.C-36
PDF
Initial CCAA Order
  • Commencement date 27 August 2024
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Monitor Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Monitor representative George C. Kinsman, CPA, CA, CIRP, LIT
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Ltr to Sarah Gagnon re Hearing February 18, 2025PDF
Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor
  • Secured creditors $2.06M · Note: Approximate outstanding balance of term loans; security opinion not yet completed by Monitor · Page: 7 · As of: NOI Filing Date · Debtor: GNT Group · Creditor: Roynat Inc. · Security: First mortgage on Pellet Mill and Chip Mill properties and certain specific equipment; partial guarantee from Export Development Canada
PDF
Affidavit of Veselin MilosevicPDF
Supplemental Affidavit of Veselin MilosevicPDF
Applicant's Book of AuthoritiesPDF
Applicant's Brief re Application for relief under the Companies; Creditors Arrangement ActPDF
Blackline - Draft Initial Order to Model Order
  • Commencement date 27 August 2024
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Monitor Ernst & Young Inc.
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Draft Initial Order
  • Commencement date 27 August 2024
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Monitor Ernst & Young Inc.
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Notice of Application in ChambersPDF
Stay Extension Order - to Febryary 26, 2025
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
  • Stay extended to 26 February 2025
PDF
Draft Stay Extension Order
  • Commencement date 24 January 2025
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency)
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis s. 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Fifth Report of the Trustee
  • Cash on hand $5.1M
  • Operational summary The Company projects cash receipts of $4.3 million and operating disbursements of $7.5 million over the Fourth CF Period, including professional costs of $0.5 million to complete the NOI administration and conclude the SISP, with an estimated $5.1 million cash on hand at the proposed stay extension date and $2.8 million at the end of the Fourth CF Period plus unsold pellet inventory.
  • Professional fees $500K
  • Receipts cumulative $4M
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
SISP Order
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
PDF
Affidavit of M. Chiasson - SwornPDF
Letter to Registrar - Reply Submissions of GNTIPDF
Supplemental Affidavit of V. Milosevic - SwornPDF
Letter Brief - Response to Third ExtensionPDF
Letter to Registrar Enclosing Response Brief for December 13 MotionPDF
Draft Order - Stay Extension
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency)
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis s. 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3
  • Stay extended to 27 January 2025
PDF
Draft SISP Order
  • Bid deadline 2025-02-12T17:00:00
  • Order date 13 December 2024
PDF
Fourth Report of the Trustee
  • Cash on hand $5M
  • Operational summary The Company continued producing wood pellets at its Musquodoboit Harbour Pellet Mill, sold pellet inventories (including previously segregated HGE-lien pellets), arranged a chip inventory sale from its Sheet Harbour Chip Mill, explored resuming Chip Mill operations, and settled a legal dispute over an aged $100,000 deposit, with $75,000 returned to the Company and $25,000 to the counterparty.
  • Professional fees $400K
  • Receipts cumulative $2.7M
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Service Order re Schedule A
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency)
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Order date 24 September 2024
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Letter to Registrar Enclosing Notice of MotionPDF
Notice of Motion - SgnedPDF
Administrtive Consolidation Order
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
PDF
Payment Into Court Order
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
PDF
Stay Extension Order
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
  • Stay extended to 23 December 2024
PDF
Affidavit of Tony Mae - SwornPDF
Submissions of Companies re CIBC MotionPDF
Affidavit of Gavin MacDonald - Part 1PDF
Affidavit of Gavin MacDonald - Part 2PDF
Amended Notice of MotionPDF
Blackline Receivership Order
  • Applicant The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited, LIT
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Charges Administrative Charge $350K; Receiver’s Indemnity Charge; Receiver's Borrowings Charge $1.5M
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF
Consent of ReceiverPDF
Draft Consolidation Order (Revised)
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, In Bankruptcy and Insolvency
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended
PDF
Draft Order Extending Stay (Revised)
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, In Bankruptcy and Insolvency
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis s. 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. B-3
  • Stay extended to 23 December 2024
PDF
Draft Payment Into Court Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency)
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended
PDF
Letter Brief - Receivership CompletePDF
Letter to Registrar BalmanoukianPDF
Order re Sale Approval
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, In Bankruptcy and Insolvency
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Monitor representative Neil Jones
  • Statutory basis Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended
PDF
Receivership Order
  • Applicant The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited, LIT
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Charges Administrative Charge $350K; Receiver's Indemnity Charge; Receiver's Borrowings Charge $1.5M
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Service List
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliott LLP
PDF
Signed Notice of MotionPDF
Supplemental BriefPDF
Unsworn Affidavit of Stephane PeladeauPDF
Draft Consolidation Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency)
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Order date 6 November 2024
  • Statutory basis Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, as amended
PDF
Motion Brief of the CompaniesPDF
Service List and Service Order
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliott LLP
PDF
Third Report of the Proposal Trustee
  • Cash on hand $5.76M
  • Operational summary The Company operates two owned Production Facilities (Sheet Harbour Chipping Facility and Musquodoboit Pellet Mill Facility) and generated positive net cash flow from operations of approximately $5.8 million from the NOI Filing Date through October 18, 2024, driven by realization of pre-filing receivables and inventory conversions (Kemexon receivable, AGT chip sale, and CMB pellet contract), while temporarily suspending chipping operations to manage working capital.
  • Professional fees $400K
  • Receipts cumulative $9.82M
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Service Order
  • Presiding officer Registrar Raffi A. Balmanoukian
PDF
First Stay Extension Order (to November 8, 2024)
  • Stay extended to 8 November 2024
PDF
Letter to Registrar re Motion Scheduled for September 19, 2024PDF
Applicants' Brief - Comeback MotionPDF
Draft Charging Order
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, In Bankruptcy and Insolvency
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Order date 19 September 2024
  • Statutory basis Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, ss. 64.1 and 64.2
PDF
Draft Order Extending Stay
  • Commencement date 27 August 2024
  • Court Supreme Court of Nova Scotia (In Bankruptcy and Insolvency), Division No. 01 - Halifax
  • Debtor names Great Northern Timber Incorporated; Great Northern Timber Int’l Limited; Great Northern Timber Global Limited; Great Northern Timber Resources Inc.; Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated
  • Statutory basis s. 50.4(9) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Second Report of the Trustee
  • Operational summary The Company continued to operate the Chip Mill and continues to operate the Pellet Mill subsequent to the NOI Filing Date, having negotiated short term payment terms with various suppliers.
  • Receipts cumulative $2.5M
  • Report date 17 September 2024
  • Report no Second Report
PDF
Decision Letter – Registrar Balmanoukian
  • Presiding officer Registrar Balmanoukian
PDF
Affidavit of Isabelle Martin - Unsworn
  • Secured creditors Page: 2 · Debtor: Great Northern Timber Incorporated / GNT Group · Creditor: Roynat Inc. · Currency: CAD · Security: First charge on the real estate and non-CIBC financed equipment of the GNT Group
PDF
Affidavit of V. Milosevic - Sworn
  • Secured creditors $10.4M · Note: Related-party guarantor (fellow NOI applicant/affiliate) of Great Northern Timber Incorporated's indebtedness to CIBC; same underlying debt as primary debtor entry · Page: 51 · As of: 2024-08-13 · Debtor: Great Northern Timber Resources Inc. · Creditor: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) · Security: Guarantee (undated in provided page); Notice of Intention to Enforce Security (BIA s.244) stated as enclosed, permitting Bank to realize on this entity's listed assets - specific security instrument not included in provided pages
PDF
First Report of the Trustee
  • Operational summary The GNT Group operates as a vertically integrated forestry company to harvest, process, manufacture and sell woodchips and biomass for export around the world.
  • Report date 11 September 2024
  • Report no First Report
PDF
Letter re Brief Emergency Motion
  • Secured creditors Note: Amount not stated · Page: 2 · Debtor: Great Northern Timber Incorporated / GNT Group · Creditor: Roynat Inc. · Currency: CAD · Security: First ranking security on the GNT Group's real estate and non-CIBC financed equipment
PDF
Letter to Registrar re Emergency Hearing MaterialsPDF
Motion BriefPDF
Notice of MotionPDF
Great Northern Timber IncorporatedPDF
Great Northern Timber Int'l LimitedPDF
Great Northern Timber Resources IncPDF
Northern Fibre Terminal IncorporatedPDF
Great Northern Timber Global LimitedPDF
Great Northern Timber Incorporated 51-3121415PDF
Great Northern Timber Int'l Limited 51-3121421PDF
Great Northern Timber Resources Inc. 51-3121436PDF
Northern Fibre Terminal Incorporated 51-3121442PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Great Northern Timber Incorporated et al.” (CCAA), Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/great-northern-timber-incorporated-et-al

Sources last checked · summary updated 6 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/great-northern-timber-incorporated-et-al

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.