Proceedings.

Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, RSC 1985 c. C-36, as amended
File
S-262686
Filings held19
Last activity7 Aug 2026
On the record157 days
Secured debt$68.9M
OverviewSummary updated

Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd. commenced CCAA proceedings in the Supreme Court of British Columbia on April 17, 2026, under court file S-262686, together with Coast Limited Partnership and Coast Holdings Limited Partnership. Consolidated unaudited internal statements at February 28, 2026 show total assets of $82,254,000 against total liabilities of $130,015,000 and equity of negative $47,761K, with long-term debt made up mainly of bank debt of $54.9M, subordinated debt of $17.0M and vendor takeback notes of $13.3M. A syndicate led by Bank of Montreal as administrative agent was owed $68,900,000 in senior secured debt at April 15, 2026, excluding fees, and is also acting as interim lender under a facility of up to $2,000,000 during the initial 10-day stay, secured by an Interim Lender's Charge. TriWest Capital holds $17.0 million of subordinated secured debt.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates19 dated entries · 1 undated
#Order

Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd. — CCAA filed, British Columbia.

Undated filings1 — no date appears on the document · show
Report

Coast - Retail Customer FAQ (FOR BC CUSTOMERS ONLY) Court officer report filed

PDF

Parties

Debtor

Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd.

Applicant

Bank of Montreal

Monitor

PwC

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorPwCMcCarthy Tétrault LLP17 Jun 2026Service list · 17 Jun 2026
ApplicantBank of MontrealFasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP17 Jun 2026Service list · 17 Jun 2026
CreditorBradlee Distributors IncBlue Rock Law LLP17 Jun 2026Service list · 17 Jun 2026
CreditorMiele LimitedStikeman Elliott LLP17 Jun 2026Service list · 17 Jun 2026
CreditorMoneris Solutions CorpReconstruct LLP17 Jun 2026Service list · 17 Jun 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · the 102 smallest grouped as one mark · 18 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredSyndicate of lenders led by Bank of Montreal, as Administrative AgentSenior secured Credit Agreement dated September 30, 2017, as amended; comprised of Revolving Loan (limit $30M, temporary bulge of $5M for total availability of $35M) and Term Loan (non-revolving, maximum $55M facility) — Syndicated Senior Debt, excluding fees and other obligations — debtor: Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc., Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd., Coast Limited Partnership and Coast Holdings Limited Partnership · as of 15 Apr 2026$68.9MFirst Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
4SecuredTriWest Capital (subordinated secured creditor)as of date of this report (April 24, 2026) — Subordinated secured debt, ranks behind Syndicate's senior secured debt — Related party: TriWest is also an equity investor in Coast via TriWest Capital Partners V, L.P. and TriWest Capital Partners V (US), L.P. Document also states amount 'at various reporting dates was approximately $13.0 million to $17.0 million' (prose range); TriWest also provided a $1.5 million limited guarantee to backstop NBA Samsung inventory financing, assigned to the Syndicate to the extent not relied upon by NBA. — debtor: Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. / Coast Holdings$17MFirst Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
4SecuredVIP Distributors Inc., operating as National Buying Associates (NBA)Financing secured against select Samsung-branded inventory; priority over Syndicate's security in respect of that financed inventory — Stated as facility limit 'up to $3.0 million', not a balance; supported by a $1.5 million limited guarantee from TriWest — debtor: Coast Limited PartnershipFirst Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
4SecuredSyndicate (in capacity as Interim Lender) · in 2 casesInterim Lender's Charge over all property of the Debtors, securing advances under the Interim Loan Agreement/Interim Facility — Facility limit of up to $2,000,000 during initial 10-day Stay of Proceedings; amount actually drawn not stated — debtor: Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and related DebtorsFirst Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
5PMSI / lessorsFisher and Paykel Appliances Canada Inc. (FPA)Purchase money security interest (PMSI) financing — debtor: Coast Limited Partnership$340KFirst Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
8UnsecuredWhirlpool Canada LP · in 5 cases$2.27MList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredLG Electronics Canada$2.24MList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredElectrolux Home Prod (Bldr/Ret)$1.21MList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMinistry of Finance-BC (PST)Provincial tax authority$463KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBSH Home Appliances Ltd. · in 4 cases$447KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMC Commercial$425KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDistinctive Appliance · in 2 cases$421KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredAG International (Elica)$320KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredNBA (Ss Builder/SS Dacor Re/SS Retail)$224KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredEuro-line Appliance$177KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredPacific Specialty Brand$157KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBradlee Distributors$149KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCoinamatic Comm Laundry$134KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredGoogle LLC · in 17 cases$120KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMidea$114KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredACL Logistics$113KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBurnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP · in 9 cases$98.4KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredB&N Delivery Service (475540 Ontario Ltd.)$96.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredVenmar Ventilation$91.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDanby Products Ltd. · in 2 cases$90.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8Unsecured7 Suns Delivery & Logistics Inc.$82.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredManitoba Finance Retail Sales TaxProvincial tax authority$74.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCyclone Range Hoods Inc.$69.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSaskatchewan Finance Education & Health TaxProvincial tax authority$65.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredZGM Collaborative Marketing$64.8KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSharp Electronics of Canada · in 2 cases$51.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTransource Freightways$31.8KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredPremiere Van Lines (N.S.) · in 3 cases$31KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredPlains West Property Management Ltd.Landlord$30.9KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredAG International Inc. (US)$27.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredNeil Patel Digital Canada Inc.$25.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredProsperity Delivery & Warehousing$24.8KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMiddleby Canada Co.$24.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredKonica Minolta (Lease) Eft Premiere Finance · in 4 cases$21.7KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTotal One Logistics Inc.$20.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDocker Transport Inc.$20.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredStirling Marathon Ltd.$18KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDeloitte LLP · in 30 cases$17.4KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredEpass SoftwareTable header states CAD $; creditor address is in USA$14.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredHisense Canada Co. Ltd. · in 2 cases$11.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8Unsecured1352866 Ontario Inc (Times Kitchen and Bath)debtor: Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. / Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd.$11KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredKonica Minolta Business Solutions (Canada) Ltd. (PO Box 4563 Toronto Stn A) · in 30 cases$10.5KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWong Way Installations$9.4KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDLC Delivery and Moving Services$8.43KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredElite Appliance Service$8.4KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWork Clean Canada Inc.$7.73KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSes Imagotag Digital Solutions Ltd.$7.45KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWestern Materials Handling · in 2 cases$7.35KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredFisher & Paykel Appliances$6.85KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredD.I. Appliances Ltd.$6.35KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMG Technologies Inc dba port80$6.3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCommport Communications International Inc. · in 2 cases$5.96KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCitron Hygiene LP · in 10 cases$5.52KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTrusted Appliance Installations Inc.$4.92KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8Unsecured2234094 Alberta Ltd. (Aspen Installs)$4.74KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecurediS2 Workforce Solutions$4.64KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredEnbridge Gas Inc. · in 21 cases$4.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDaniel ProsperIndividual trade creditor, address confidential$4.46KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredConsumer Appliances & Home Services Ltd.$4.07KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredRandy's Delivery$3.79KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCase IQ$3.73KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredPunjab Appliances Repair Ltd.$3.65KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBlast Media Print Corp.$3.57KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredAerotek ULC - Aston Carter$3.46KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredNapoleon$3.34KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCoverall of Calgary · in 4 cases$3.17KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMirage Landscaping Inc.$3.02KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredReliable Parts Ltd.$3KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredHydro One Networks Inc. · in 48 cases$2.75KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredAll Inclusive Marketing (AIM)$2.63KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredHan Appliances & Refrigeration Services Ltd.$2.41KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredRedman Distributing$2.34KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCintas Canada Limited · in 87 cases$2.32KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredVan Dusen Enterprises$2.32KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredUnique Appliances$2.27KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredCity of Saskatoon Treasurer's DepartmentMunicipal claim$2.24KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredF5 Technologies Inc. dba TMF Technologies$2.19KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredIron Mountain Canada · in 6 cases$2.11KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredHousehold Heating Ltd.$2.08KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredLoraas Disposal Services Ltd. · in 4 cases$2.04KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredOC Tanner$2.03KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBryan MckagueIndividual trade creditor, address confidential$1.95KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBunzl Industrial · in 5 cases$1.93KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSap Concur · in 3 cases$1.81KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTraffic Tech Inc. · in 13 cases$1.8KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredC.R. Laurence of Canada Ltd.$1.74KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWestkey Graphics$1.68KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredUline Canada Corporation · in 71 cases$1.68KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSimon Appliance & Plumbing Ltd.$1.68KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredThe Compactor$1.6KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBullet Transportation Co. Inc.$1.56KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWoosah Clean Ltd.$1.52KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredGaribaldi Glass Industries Inc.$1.49KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSkippy Janitorial Service$1.48KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredWaste Logic Inc.$1.48KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredSheldon WilsonIndividual trade creditor, address confidential$1.45KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredRandstad · in 12 cases$1.24KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredKC Appliance Installations$1.23KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredOrca Installation$1.19KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDynamic Heating & Air Conditioning$1.13KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredStericycle ULC · in 11 cases$1.09KList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTriovest Realty Advisors Inc.Balance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlord/property managerList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredNoort Investments & AssociatesBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredH&R REITBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDMCL LLPBalance Due listed as 'TBD'List of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredDream Industrial REITBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredBlackthorn Properties Inc.Balance Due listed as 'TBD'List of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredEMCO Inestments LimitedBalance Due listed as 'TBD'List of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTrinistar CorpBalance Due listed as 'TBD'List of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredAnthem Calgary Core IndustrialBalance Due listed as 'TBD'List of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredShelter Canadian Properties Limited · in 2 casesBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredRioCan REIT · in 3 casesBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredICR Commerical Real Estate (Saskatoon)Balance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredICR Commercial Real Estate (Regina) · in 2 casesBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredRed BrickBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredMid-West Dev (2000) Corp NexusBalance Due listed as 'TBD'; landlordList of Creditors - April 27 2026
8UnsecuredTribe Management Inc.Balance Due listed as 'TBD'; property managerList of Creditors - April 27 2026

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 1 proposed · 1 closedsale transaction approved and vesting order grantedStay Extension and Sale Approval and Vesting Order - Filed August 7,… · 7 Aug 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Trail Appliances Ltd.the Intangible Assets, being successful outcome of the Commercial Marketing Process · asset sale · agreement 30 Jul 2026SealedThe purchase price will be paid in cash by wire transfer upon closing of the Proposed TransactionProposedSecond Report of the Monitor - Filed August 5,…
purchaser(s) of the Debtors' Owned FF&E sold via auction, unnamedOwned FF&E, including warehouse equipment, racking, forklifts, and other fixed assets · auctionnot statedAn estimate of net proceeds from the Owned FF&E sale has been reflected in CFF #3Closed9 Jul 2026Second Report of the Monitor - Filed August 5,…
AdvisorsHilco Canada Holdings, ULC (liquidator); PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., LIT (financial advisor); Able Auctions Ltd. (auctioneer)Second Report of the Monitor - Filed August 5, 2026
Closing termsVendors may extend the Closing Date with consent of Monitor and Purchaser; vesting occurs upon delivery of Monitor's CertificateStay Extension and Sale Approval and Vesting Order - Filed August 7,…
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$82.3M
Total liabilities at filing$130M

As at 28 Feb 2026 · per unaudited, internal financial reporting from the books and records of the Debtors, not reviewed or audited by the Monitor · consolidated - Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc., Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd., Coast Limited Partnership and Coast Holdings Limited Partnership (the Debtors) — Total liabilities comprised of Total Current Liabilities $44,375K, Total Long Term Liabilities $86,287K, less Interco Payable ($648K). Total Equity was negative $47,761K. Long term liabilities comprised mainly of bank debt ($54.9M), subordinated debt ($17.0M), and vendor takeback notes ($13.3M).

Documents
19 filings
DateDocumentFile
Sealing Order - Filed August 7, 2026PDF
Stay Extension and Sale Approval and Vesting Order - Filed August 7, 2026
  • Closing terms Vendors may extend the Closing Date with consent of Monitor and Purchaser; vesting occurs upon delivery of Monitor's Certificate
  • Order date 7 August 2026
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — sale transaction approved and vesting order granted
  • Stay extended to 31 December 2026
PDF
Notice of Application - Filed August 5, 2026
  • Counsel McCarthy Tetrault LLP
PDF
Second Report of the Monitor - Filed August 5, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 9 Jul 2026
  • Process results 4 bids
  • Purchaser Trail Appliances Ltd. · the Intangible Assets, being successful outcome of the Commercial Marketing Process · asset sale · price sealed · proposed; purchaser(s) of the Debtors' Owned FF&E sold via auction, unnamed · Owned FF&E, including warehouse equipment, racking, forklifts, and other fixed assets · auction · closed
  • Sale advisor Hilco Canada Holdings, ULC (liquidator); Able Auctions Ltd. (auctioneer)
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Service List - Coast Wholesale Appliances
  • Counsel McCARTHY TETRAULT LLP
PDF
Coast - Retail Customer FAQPDF
Affidavit of Jordan Beaulieu - Filed April 27, 2026PDF
Amended and Restated Initial Order - Filed April 27, 2026PDF
Liquidation Sale Approval Order - Filed April 27, 2026
  • Order date 27 April 2026
  • Sale advisor Hilco Canada Holdings, ULC (liquidator)
  • Sale outcome Liquidation in progress — liquidation sale of inventory, merchandise, fixtures, furniture and equipment authorized via agency agreement with Hilco
PDF
List of Creditors - April 27 2026
  • Secured creditors Note: Balance Due listed as 'TBD' in creditor listing; listed twice with two different addresses · Page: 1 · Debtor: Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. · Creditor: Konica Minolta Business Solutions (Canada) Ltd. (3450 Superior Court, Oakville) · Currency: CAD
  • Unsecured creditors $4.64K · Page: 2 · Basis: Listing of Creditors as reported · Creditor: iS2 Workforce Solutions
PDF
Sealing Order - Filed April 27, 2026PDF
First Report of the Monitor - Filed April 24, 2026
  • Financial position Assets $82.3M · Liabilities $130M · as at 28 Feb 2026 · per unaudited, internal financial reporting from the books and records of the Debtors, not reviewed or audited by the Monitor · consolidated - Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc., Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd., Coast Limited Partnership and Coast Holdings Limited Partnership (the Debtors) — Total liabilities comprised of Total Current Liabilities $44,375K, Total Long Term Liabilities $86,287K, less Interco Payable ($648K). Total Equity was negative $47,761K. Long term liabilities comprised mainly of bank debt ($54.9M), subordinated debt ($17.0M), and vendor takeback notes ($13.3M).
  • Process results 3 solicited
  • Sale advisor Hilco Canada Holdings, ULC (liquidator); PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., LIT (financial advisor)
  • Sale outcome Approval pending — the Syndicate is seeking Court approval of a liquidation order for the liquidation of the Debtors' inventory, merchandise, fixtures and equipment, with Hilco selected as liquidation agent after a proposal solicitation process
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Affidavit of Jordan Beaulieu - Filed April 23, 2026PDF
Creditor noticePDF
Notice of Application - Liquidation Sale Approval - Filed April 23, 2026
  • Applicant BANK OF MONTREAL, AS ADMINISTRATIVE AGENT
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role monitor
  • Commencement date 17 April 2026
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
CCAA Order - Coast Appliances
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal, as Administrative Agent
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor with enhanced powers
  • Commencement date 17 April 2026
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Proposed Monitors Pre Filing ReportPDF
Affidavit of John GilPDF
Coast - Retail Customer FAQ (FOR BC CUSTOMERS ONLY)PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Coast Wholesale Appliances Inc. and Coast Holdings (GP) Ltd.” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/coast-wholesale-appliances-inc-and-coast-holdings-gp-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 11 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/coast-wholesale-appliances-inc-and-coast-holdings-gp-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.