BC Tree Fruits Cooperative
- Proceeding
- CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. 0-36 as amended
- File
- S245481
BC Tree Fruits Cooperative has been in insolvency proceedings in British Columbia since December 12, 2024, with Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc. acting as monitor. The known claimants list for the cooperative and Growers Supply Company Limited reports a grand total of $20,708,219.42 in unsecured claims, itemised across hundreds of individual claimants and spanning vendor, employee, grower loan certificate, grower pool close, grower other credits, accounts receivable credit and restructuring claims. That total includes a claim of $3,609,251.04 by the B.C. Investment Agriculture Foundation, deemed proven through a claims process with a November 19, 2024 bar date. Employee claims are stated gross, with amounts paid by Service Canada of up to $8,607.66 to be netted against distributions.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
Per the Order (Claims Process) dated 28 April 2025.
Entered Order made after Application (Arrangement Approval and Member Voting Procedure Order) was filed.
Source: Entered Order made after Application (Arrangement Approval and Member Voting Procedure Order)
The officer filed report no. First Report of the Receiver. All approved asset sales have been completed; the Monitor was discharged and A&M appointed Receiver on August 27, 2025, and is now administering the claims process, paying accepted vendor and employee claims, and resolving five outstanding disputed claims.
Source: First Report of the Receiver
The court appointed Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc. as receiver, on the application of Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc. in its capacity as monitor of the Petitioners. Court file S245481.
Source: Receivership Order
The officer filed report no. Fourteenth Report. Substantially all assets have been sold, the Transaction closed July 24, 2025, and all employees have been terminated, with some retained as contractors to help wind up. Remaining matters are concluding the Claims Process and distributing remaining funds, so the Monitor seeks to transition to receivership and be discharged.
Source: Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
Application Response of the Members (Representative Appointment) — Response / objection pleading
The officer filed report no. Supplemental Report to Thirteenth Report of the Monitor. The Monitor reports on a requisition by 38 current members for a special general meeting to amend Rule 125 so that surplus funds go only to current members, excluding former members. The Monitor considers the requisition valid but recommends the Court relieve the directors of their obligation to call the SGM pending further order, so former members can be represented.
Source: Supplemental Report to the Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
The officer filed report no. Thirteenth Report. The Petitioners are completing the court-approved sale of all remaining real property and assets to Manage Wildstone Partnership, with closing extended to no later than July 25, 2025. The claims process is largely adjudicated and significant surplus funds are expected after paying all proven claims in full.
Source: Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Wildstone Capital Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon the Monitor's receipt of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate; vacant possession delivered at 12:00 noon on the Closing Date.
Source: Entered Order Made After Application (Wildstone AVO) made May 16, 2025
The officer filed report no. Twelfth Report. The Petitioners are under CCAA protection with the Monitor holding enhanced powers; after completing sales of several properties, they are selling substantially all remaining real property and assets en bloc to Wildstone Capital for $22.75 million, while the Monitor continues collecting accounts receivable and runs a claims process.
Source: Twelfth Report of the Monitor
The officer filed report no. Eleventh Report of the Monitor. BCTFC has ceased receiving fruit and cannot process or sell fruit for the 2025 crop season, so it disclaimed all grower fruit delivery contracts; it is marketing and selling its remaining assets and moving to a claims process, with surplus funds expected after Proven Claims are paid in full.
Source: Eleventh Report of the Monitor
The officer filed report no. Supplemental Report to the Tenth Report of the Monitor. Report addresses the Sexsmith Property sale (accepted $19.25M offer, price allocation, competing member/grower and Rikhi Corp offers, and a commission dispute); BCTFC has sold five properties for $40.86M gross and retains only four pieces of real estate.
Source: Supplemental Report to the Tenth Report of the Monitor
The officer filed report no. Tenth Report. The Monitor is seeking court approval of the $19.25 million sale of the Sexsmith Property and payment of Grant Thornton's pre-filing debt. It has repaid CIBC using the first Pillar DIP draw and will re-market the remaining assets (Oliver Packing Plant, controlled atmosphere storage, IP) without an en bloc preference, targeting final bids by March 31, 2025.
Source: Tenth Report of the Monitor
The officer filed report no. Ninth Report. The BCTF Group is winding down: it is liquidating remaining assets (equipment, properties, bins) and collecting aged receivables and rent with a reduced workforce, and is seeking replacement interim financing from Pillar plus a stay extension to August 29, 2025.
Source: Ninth Report of the Monitor
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Shukin Orchards Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon receipt by BCTFC of the full Purchase Price and delivery by the Monitor to the Purchaser of the Monitor's Certificate; the parties may extend the Closing Date without further court order.
Notice of Application - Creston Sale Approval filed December 30, 2024 — Application / notice of application
Order Made After Application (LIQUIDATION AND STAY EXTENSION) was filed.
Source: Order Made After Application (LIQUIDATION AND STAY EXTENSION)
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to District of Lake Country. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon receipt by the Monitor of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate; Closing Date is the earlier of the first Business Day following 14 days after the Vesting Order and December 12, 2024, and may be extended by the Monitor and Purchaser without further court order.
Source: Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Lake Country)
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Pelecanus Real Estate Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Completion Date is 10 business days after court approval; vesting occurs on receipt by the Monitor of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate.
Source: Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Vaughan Property)
FAQ for BCTFC Growers re IAF Pooling Early Payment Punjabi Translation — Stakeholder communication
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Taz Holdings Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Property in the Purchaser occurs upon the Monitor's receipt of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate to the Purchaser.
Source: Entered Order Made After Application Approval and Vesting Order (Acland) made October 15, 2024
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Stonemark Investments Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon the Monitor's receipt of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate; Closing Date is 10 days after Court Approval, no later than October 14, 2024.
Source: Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Stonemark)
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to TerraLink Horticulture Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Closing Date is three Business Days after Court Approval is granted (or other agreed date) and not later than October 14, 2024; vesting occurs upon receipt by the Monitor of the full Purchase Price and delivery of the Monitor's Certificate; vacant possession delivered at 12:00 noon on the Closing Date.
Source: Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – TerraLink)
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2024-10-18.
Source: BC Tree Fruit Cooperative SISP (Amended August 27, 2024)
Undated filings3 — no date appears on the document · show
Precedent note
A New Brunswick fishermen's co-operative filed under the CCAA on August 12 owing its 91 members $4,669,000.41 — booked not as equity but as unsecured debt. Eight days later in Vancouver, a receiver was authorized to distribute $11.5 million to the members of another co-operative, measured in the 566,658,103 pounds of fruit they had delivered. The August 2026 record shows courts reaching past the co-operatives statutes to work out what a member is.
Debtor
BC Tree Fruits Cooperative
Monitor
Alvarez & Marsal
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Gropper | Supreme Court of British Columbia | 32 orders, Aug 2024 – Aug 2026 | 5 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | Unsecured creditors (aggregate as reported) · in 563 casesDocument itemises hundreds of individual claimants across pages 12-22; this is the stated grand total, not a computed sum. Employee claims are gross per footnote 1; amounts paid by Service Canada (max $8,607.66) to be netted against future distributions. Includes B.C. Investment Agriculture Foundation claim of $3,609,251.04 within the Grower Loan Certificate column deemed proven through the IAF Claims Process (November 19, 2024 claims bar date). — debtor: BC Tree Fruits Cooperative & Growers Supply Company Limited | $20.7M | Known Claimants List |
22 transactions · 13 closed · 5 proposed · 2 not completed · 2 approved — The Plan of Arrangement implementing the purchase of all member shares of OGDC by 1589040 B.C. Ltd. was conditionally approved by the Court on May 13, 2026 and approved by 100% of the 174 Members voting (Required Majority); court sanction of the arrangement remains pending.Receiver’s Certificate · 26 May 2026
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| prospective bidder(s) under the BCTF SISP, not yet identifiedcertain assets, including without limitation, certain real property, bulk bins, inventory, machinery and equipment (for the packing facility and the Cidery), trademark, and other intangible assets · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Monitor’s First Report |
| prospective bidder(s) under the GSC SISP, not yet identifiedcertain real property, machinery and equipment, inventory, accounts receivable, intellectual property and goodwill · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Monitor’s First Report |
| Terralink APA purchaser, unnamedcertain assets of BCTFC and GSC (Terralink APA) · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Monitor’s Second Report (September 27, 2024) |
| MOH APA purchaser, unnamedcertain assets of BCTFC and GSC (MOH APA) · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Monitor’s Second Report (September 27, 2024) |
| purchaser(s) of Auctioned Equipment, unnameda pear processing and box crate packing line (the 'Auctioned Equipment') · auction | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Monitor’s Second Report (September 27, 2024) |
| unnamedthe Vaughan Property (First Vaughan Offer) | not stated | Not completeddate not stated | Monitor’s Second Report (September 27, 2024) |
| Stonemark Investments Ltd.the Purchased Assets, being GSC's Vernon retail store assets (the BCTF Owned Lands at 1200 Waddington Drive, Vernon, certain Inventory, Chattels and forklifts/pickup truck) · real property · agreement 3 Oct 2024 | Subscribers | Closed11 Oct 2024 | Ninth Report of the Monitor |
| TerraLink Horticulture Inc.Purchased Assets, being all of GSC's right, title and interest in the Chemical Inventory and the Fertilizer Inventory (Categories 40 and 41 per Schedule B) · asset sale · agreement 27 Sep 2024 | Subscribers | Closed17 Oct 2024 | Ninth Report of the Monitor |
| Taz Holdings Ltd.the Property (as defined in the Sale Agreement) - 2605 Acland Road, Kelowna, B.C., vested in fee simple · real property · agreement 26 Sep 2024 | Subscribers | Closed29 Nov 2024 | Seventh Report of the Monitor |
| B.C. Investment Agriculture FoundationGrower Claims · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Fourth Report of the Monitor |
| District of Lake Countrythe lands and improvements located at 9718 Bottom Wood Lake Road, Lake Country, BC (the Lake Country Property), being all of BC Tree Fruits Cooperative's right, title and interest in the Property · real property · agreement 17 Oct 2024 | Subscribers | Closeddate not statedoutside 12 Dec 2024 | Monitor's Certificate - Lake Country |
| Pelecanus Real Estate Ltd.the assets located at 880 Vaughan Avenue, Kelowna, British Columbia, and more particularly described in Schedule 'A' to the Auction Agreement · real property · agreement 9 Dec 2024 | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Monitor's Certificate - Vaughan |
| Novem3335 and 3345 Sexsmith Road, Kelowna, B.C. and 3670 Highway 97, Kelowna, B.C. (collectively, the 'Sexsmith Property') · real property · agreement 5 Sep 2024 | not stated | Not completeddate not stated | Seventh Report of the Monitor |
| Shukin Orchards Ltd.those lands described in Schedule 'C' hereto (the 'Property') — 724 35th Avenue South, Erickson (Creston Property) · real property · nominee/assignee: 1253182 B.C. Ltd. · agreement 11 Dec 2024 | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Monitor's Certificate |
| first offer for Vaughan Property, purchaser unnamed880 Vaughan Avenue, Kelowna (the 'Vaughan Property') · real property | not stated | Closed11 Dec 2024 | Ninth Report of the Monitor |
| purchaser of the Creston Property, unnamed754 35th Avenue, Erickson, B.C. · real property | not stated | Closed27 Jan 2025 | Ninth Report of the Monitor |
| unnamed9718 Bottom Wood Lake Road, Creston, B.C. | not stated | Closed11 Dec 2024 | Ninth Report of the Monitor |
| Ocorp Holdings Ltd.the Purchased Assets of BCTFC under the Sale Agreement | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Monitor’s Certificate |
| Wildstone Capital Ltd.the Purchased Assets (as defined in the Sale Agreement), including the Co-op Lands, Packing House Lands, Keremeos Property and Summerland Property · asset sale · nominee/assignee: Manage Wildstone Partnership (assignee); title nominees identified in Schedule 'F' to hold registered title · agreement 1 May 2025 | Subscribers | Approved16 May 2025 | Entered Order Made After Application (Wildstone… |
| unnamedthe Purchased Assets under the Sale Agreement | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Monitor’s Certificate (Wildstone) |
| Manage Wildstone Partnershipall the Petitioners' remaining real property and other assets · asset sale · agreement 1 May 2025 | not stated | Closed24 Jul 2025 | Third Report of the Receiver |
| 1589040 B.C. Ltd.all of the issued and outstanding shares in the capital of OGDC (the member shares), with OGDC's assets and liabilities transferred to BCTFIL under the arrangement · share sale · ResidualCo: BC Tree Fruits Industries Limited · agreement 6 May 2026 | Subscribers | Approved13 May 2026 | Entered Order made after Application… |
Unsecured creditors: paid in full.EstimatedFourteenth Report of the Monitor · 25 Aug 2025
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | — | — | paid in full | Estimatedper the monitor | Fourteenth Report of the Monitor · 25 Aug 2025 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
1 blurred figure above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$373K
As at 25 Aug 2025Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Order Made After Application (Member distribution order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver’s Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Slip Rule)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Requisition - Reset Hearing | PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order made after Application (Arrangement Approval and Member Voting Procedure Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #5 of Jordan Beaulieu | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application (Slip Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of application (Arrangement Approval Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order made after Application (Amendment to Style of Cause and Activities & Fee Approval)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order made after Application (Member Distribution Determination Procedure Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order made after Application (Third Claims Payment Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #4 of Jordan Beaulieu | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of Anthony Tillman | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of Kibben Jackson | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application – Claims procedure | PDF · Subscribers | |
Notie of Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Requisition – Adjourn Hearing | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Response | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Claims payments)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of Steve Day | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Name Change & Claims Payments)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order made after Application (Representative Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order made after Application (SGM Deferral)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor’s Certificate (Wildstone)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #3 of Jordon Beaulieu | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit o#4 of Amarjit Singh Lalli | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Response of the Members (Representative Appointment) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application (Defer SGM Order) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Report to the Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application (Former Member’s Representation) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim Form | PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order Made After Application (Wildstone AVO) made May 16, 2025
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order made after Application (Cost Distribution)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #2 of Jordan Beaulieu | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application (Wildstone AVO) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Twelfth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice to Claimants
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Instruction Letter | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Dispute | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (AGM Extension)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Claims Process)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Representative Counsel Payment)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit 3 of Amarjit Singh Lalli | PDF · Subscribers | |
Eleventh Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor’s Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order made After Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of N. Mann | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Requisition to re-set the hearing | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Report to the Tenth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of Pinky Law | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #2 of Amarjit Singh Lalli | PDF · Subscribers | |
Tenth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval of Interim Financing)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Ninth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application - DIP, Stay Extension & AGM | PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor's Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order (Creston Property)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Eighth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application - Creston Sale Approval filed December 30, 2024 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor's Certificate - Lake Country
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor's Certificate - Vaughan
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of R. Cheung | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Record | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (LIQUIDATION AND STAY EXTENSION)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Seventh Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Lake Country)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Vaughan Property)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Six Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Stay Extension)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| FAQ for BCTFC Growers re IAF Pooling Early Payment | PDF · Subscribers | |
| FAQ for BCTFC Growers re IAF Pooling Early Payment Punjabi Translation | PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Claims Assignment Order, October 24, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Entered Order Made After Application (Liquidation Agreement) made October 15, 2024 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Entered Order Made After Application Approval and Vesting Order (Acland) made October 15, 2024
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Monitor
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (AGM Extension)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – Stonemark)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval and Vesting Order – TerraLink)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of J. Beaulieu | PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor’s Second Report (September 27, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
BC Tree Fruit Cooperative SISP (Amended August 27, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Growers Supply Company Limited SISP (Amended August 27, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Order (Amended and Restated)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Approval of SISP)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order Made After Application (Representation)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #3 of Douglas Pankiw | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #2 of D. Pawnkiw | PDF · Subscribers | |
Monitor’s First Report
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Requisition to continue NOA
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of Amarjit Singh Lalli | PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Order (August 13, 2024)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Monitor’s Pre-filing Report (August 13, 2024) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #1 of D. Pawnkiw | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Petition to the Court | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Response of the Members | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application Response of the Members (SGM Request) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Known Claimants List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “BC Tree Fruits Cooperative” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/bc-tree-fruits-cooperative