Proceedings.

Discharge of Receiver and other relief, Order for distribution, approval of Receiver's fees and disbursements, approval of receiver's activities

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
25-2802560
Filings held28
Last activity3 Jul 2025
On the record1,576 days
OverviewSummary updated

The receivership under Court of King's Bench of Alberta file 25-2802560 is closed. It began on July 13, 2022, when the court, then styled the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta, granted a receivership order under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The relief on the record in the proceeding comprises approval of the Receiver's activities, approval of the Receiver's fees and disbursements, an order for distribution, and the discharge of the Receiver together with related relief.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates28 dated entries
#Order

Receivership order granted under BIA section 243 and provincial Judicature Act authority, commencing the Alberta proceeding under court file 25-2802560.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

Discharge of Receiver and other relief, Order for distribution, approval of Receiver's fees and disbursements, approval of receiver's activities

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice FeasbyCourt of King's Bench of Alberta4 orders, Dec 202339 cases on record
Justice JeffreyCourt of King's Bench of Alberta3 orders, Jul 202251 cases on record
Justice NeufeldCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Dec 202245 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverMNPGowling WLG (Canada) LLP
Previously Dentons Canada LLP (last seen 1 Dec 2022)
15 Jul 2022Service list · 5 Jan 2024
PurchaserBorden Ladner Gervais LLP15 Jul 2022Service list · 15 Jul 2022
Creditor2012145 Alberta Ltd., previously named Vertex Downhole LtdBurnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP5 Jan 2024Service list · 5 Jan 2024
CreditorElectromate IncParlee McLaws LLP5 Jan 2024Service list · 5 Jan 2024
CreditorHalliburtonNorton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP15 Jul 2022Service list · 15 Jul 2022
CreditorHSBCFasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP15 Jul 2022Service list · 15 Jul 2022
CreditorVertex Downhole LtdBurnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP15 Jul 2022Service list · 15 Jul 2022
CreditorVertex Technologies LtdBorden Ladner Gervais LLP5 Jan 2024Service list · 5 Jan 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredHSBC Bank Canada · in 55 casesDescribed as Vertex's senior secured lender; document only states an interim distribution amount of $5,250,000 (a distribution, not the outstanding secured claim balance), and remaining receivership funds are to be distributed to HSBC 'up to the amount of its claim' (claim amount not stated). — debtor: Vertex Downhole Ltd.—Application

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs declared or paid

HSBC / RBC: a distribution.FinalFourth Report of the Receiver · 19 Jun 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredHSBC (now RBC), secured creditorHSBC / RBC—interimFinalper the receiverFourth Report of the Receiver · 19 Jun 2025
SecuredSecured Creditor (HSBC/RBC)HSBC Bank Canada / Royal Bank of Canada—interimFinalper the receiverFiled Fourth Report of the Receiver · 19 Jun 2025
SecuredRBC—a distributionfinalconditionalper the receiverFourth Report of the Receiver · 19 Jun 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

6 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Dentons Canada LLP, to 31 May 2025, soughtFiled Fourth Report of the Receiver · 23 Jun 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 2to 31 May 2025Soughtnot statedFiled Fourth Report of the Receiver · 23 Jun 2025
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 213 Jul – 30 Sep 2022Sought—not statedFiled Second Report of the Receiver · 5 Dec 2022
MNP Ltd.Trusteeperiod 4 of 41 Dec 2022 – 31 May 2025——not statedFiled Affidavit of Victor Kroeger · 23 Jun 2025
MNP Ltd.Receiverperiod 4 of 4to 31 May 2025not statedFiled Fourth Report of the Receiver · 23 Jun 2025
MNP Ltd.Trusteeperiod 2 of 41 Jul – 30 Sep 2023—not stated1 personFiled Affidavit of Victor Kroeger · 23 Jun 2025
1 person — MNP Ltd., 1 Jul – 30 Sep 2023 · 2 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Carla Schillreff——
MNP Ltd.Receiverperiod 1 of 413 Jul – 30 Nov 2022Sought—not statedFiled Second Report of the Receiver · 5 Dec 2022

9 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
28 filings
DateDocumentFile
Discharge of Receiver and other relief, Order for distribution, approval of Receiver's fees and disbursements, approval of Receiver's activities
  • Presiding officer Justice Gill
PDF · Subscribers
Filed Affidavit of Victor Kroeger
PDF · Subscribers
Filed Fourth Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-06-19 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Order for Distribution, Approval of Receiver's Fees & Disbursements, Activities, Discharge of Receiver and other reliefPDF · Subscribers
Filed Application - June 2025PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-06-19 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Victor Kroeger
  • Fee schedule · Financial position · Secured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Service List Jan 5
  • Counsel Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Service List to Services List Jan 5PDF · Subscribers
Filed - Amended and Restated Receivership Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Feasby
PDF · Subscribers
Filed - Order re Title Change and Adjournment
  • Presiding officer Justice Feasby
PDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Receivership Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Feasby
PDF · Subscribers
Blackline of Receivership OrderPDF · Subscribers
Order - Name Change Adjournment
  • Presiding officer Justice Feasby
PDF · Subscribers
Unfiled Amended Application ReturnablePDF · Subscribers
Unfiled Receivers Third ReportPDF · Subscribers
Filed - Order for Distribution, Approval of Receiver's Fees and Disbursements, and Approval of Receiver's Activities
  • Presiding officer Justice Neufeld
PDF · Subscribers
Filed Application - Order for Distribution, Approval of Receiver's Fees and Disbursements, and Approval of Receiver's Activities
  • Presiding officer Justice Neufeld
PDF · Subscribers
Filed Second Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated · Stated on: 2022-12-01 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Application
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated · Stated on: 2022-12-01 · Table missing:
  • Financial position · Secured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated · Stated on: 2022-12-01 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Filed Assignment Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Grosse
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Receiver
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List
  • Counsel Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Order - Sale Approval and Vesting Order
  • Presiding officer Justice K.M. Horner
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Commencement date 13 July 2022
  • Court Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta
  • Court file no 25-2802560
  • Presiding officer Justice P.R. Jeffrey
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice P.R. Jeffrey
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Discharge of Receiver and other relief, Order for distribution, approval of Receiver's fees and disbursements, approval of receiver's activities” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/vertex-downhole

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/vertex-downhole

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.