Proceedings.

Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. C-36
File
S258449
Filings held46
Last activity30 Jul 2026
On the record312 days
Secured debt$18.7M
OverviewSummary updated

Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc. entered CCAA proceedings in British Columbia on November 13, 2025. The Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor, dated the same day, put the petitioners' third-party debt at approximately $39.4 million: roughly $22.6 million to secured lenders, $6.0 million in GST owing to the Canada Revenue Agency, $6.3 million to trade creditors and $4.5 million to other third-party creditors. Cameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd. is the primary secured creditor, owed $18,653,228.12 as at August 25, 2025 under a first-ranking mortgage and assignment of rents registered in the New Westminster Land Title Office, with interest and legal costs continuing to accrue. Financing for the Belvedere project also includes approximately $3.7 million owing to AMRN Holding Ltd. and 1137571 B.C. Ltd. and approximately $400,000 to Chin Koon Puah, secured by a mortgage first in time against two strata lots. Monitor's counsel Dentons opined that the security is valid and enforceable, subject to standard assumptions and qualifications.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates47 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Sixth Report of the Monitor. The Petitioners have sold the Commercial Units and are now focused on marketing and selling the remaining 42 residential Strata Units through an exclusive listing agent, with sales activities ramping up for a formal launch in late March 2026.

Source: Sixth Report of the Monitor

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 1559924 B.C. Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vacant possession delivered on Closing Date; Monitor may extend Closing Date with Purchaser's consent without further Court order.

Source: Order (Approval and Vesting Order)

#Order

Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc. — CCAA filed, British Columbia.

Source: Initial Order

Parties

Debtor

Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.

Monitor

FTI

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice WalkerSupreme Court of British Columbia7 orders, Nov 2025 – Jul 202623 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorFTIDentons Canada LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
ApplicantSquare Nine King George Development LtdMcEwan Cooper Kirkpatrick LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorAMRN Holding LtdDWF (Ontario) LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorC3 GP LtdCassels Brock & Blackwell LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorCameron Stephens Mortgage Capital LtdCassels Brock & Blackwell LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorChin Koon PuahCampbell Froh May & Rice LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorLisi Mechanical Contractors LtdNorton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorRaymond Parmveer Singh Kaila, aCampbell Froh May & Rice LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
CreditorSuperintendent of Real EstateDWF (Ontario) LLP30 Jul 2026Service list · 30 Jul 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredCameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd. (CSMC) · in 11 casesFirst-ranking mortgage and assignment of rents (CSMC Mortgage) registered against certain lands in the New Westminster Land Title Office — Primary secured creditor; cumulative secured debt of the Petitioners approx. $22,200,000 (primarily CSMC); interest continuing to accrue after 2025-08-25 plus legal fees and expenses not included in stated figure; Monitor's counsel security opinion concluded valid and enforceable subject to standard assumptions/qualifications — debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. · as of 25 Aug 2025$18.7MNotice of Application
SecuredChin Koon PuahMortgage registered first in time against two strata lots (Puah Priority Assets: PID 032-422-903 Strata Lot 269; PID 032-422-997 Strata Lot 278) — Amount owing not stated in document; Monitor's counsel security opinion concluded valid and enforceable subject to standard assumptions/qualifications — debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd.Notice of Application

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 1 closed · 1 proposedThe Monitor is at liberty to obtain vesting orders in respect of any of the residential units by way of desk order, without notice and without a hearing, by filing an executed Monitor's sale certificateSales Process Approval Order · 26 Mar 2026

Parties solicited

4

Sixth Report of the Monitor

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
1559924 B.C. Ltd.the Purchased Assets described in the Commercial CPS · asset sale · agreement 19 Sep 2025$8.4MThe total purchase price (the 'Purchase Price') for the Property shall be $8,400,000.00 plus GSTClosed22 Jan 2026Sixth Report of the Monitor
purchasers of the remaining 42 residential strata units, not yet identifiedany of the remaining 42 residential strata units (the "Strata Units") · asset saleSealedMinimum Price for each Strata Unit is set out in the sealed Confidential SupplementProposedSixth Report of the Monitor
AdvisorsMagnum Projects Ltd. (listing broker)Sixth Report of the Monitor
Closing termsVacant possession delivered on Closing Date; Monitor may extend Closing Date with Purchaser's consent without further Court orderOrder (Approval and Vesting Order)
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Secured creditors: no distribution.EstimatedPetition to the Court (CCAA) · 10 Nov 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Securedno distributionconditionalEstimatedper the debtorPetition to the Court (CCAA) · 10 Nov 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total liabilities at filing$39.4M

As at 13 Nov 2025 · per Approximate estimate stated in the Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor dated November 13, 2025 · Petitioners (Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.), third-party creditors only — Document states Petitioners owed approximately $39.4 million to third-party creditors, comprising secured lenders (~$22.6M), CRA GST (~$6.0M), trade creditors (~$6.3M), and other third-party creditors (~$4.5M); no total assets figure stated on these pages

Cumulative receipts

$7.71M

As at 18 Mar 2026Sixth Report of the Monitor

Cumulative disbursements

$314K

As at 18 Mar 2026Sixth Report of the Monitor

Cash on hand

$6.63M

As at 18 Mar 2026Sixth Report of the Monitor

Professional fees to date

$200K

As at 18 Mar 2026Sixth Report of the Monitor

Documents
46 filings
DateDocumentFile
Service list
  • Counsel McEwan Cooper Kirkpatrick LLP
PDF
Order (Stay Extension and Interim Distribution)
  • Order date 28 July 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
  • Stay extended to 29 January 2027
PDF
Affidavit #1 of N. Sidhu
  • Secured creditors Page: 2 · Debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. · Creditor: Chin Koon Puah · Currency: CAD · Security: First-ranking mortgage and assignment of rents
PDF
Notice of Application
  • Secured creditors Note: Amount owing not stated in document; Monitor's counsel security opinion concluded valid and enforceable subject to standard assumptions/qualifications · Page: 3 · Debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. · Creditor: Chin Koon Puah · Currency: CAD · Security: Mortgage registered first in time against two strata lots (Puah Priority Assets: PID 032-422-903 Strata Lot 269; PID 032-422-997 Strata Lot 278)
PDF
Seventh Report of the Monitor
  • Financial position Liabilities $39.4M · as at 13 Nov 2025 · per Approximate estimate stated in the Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor dated November 13, 2025 · Petitioners (Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.), third-party creditors only — Document states Petitioners owed approximately $39.4 million to third-party creditors, comprising secured lenders (~$22.6M), CRA GST (~$6.0M), trade creditors (~$6.3M), and other third-party creditors (~$4.5M); no total assets figure stated on these pages
  • Secured creditors $18.5M · Note: Approximate figure per Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor dated November 13, 2025; identified as senior secured lender; Dentons opined security valid and enforceable (subject to standard qualifications) · Page: 12 · As of: 2025-11-13 · Debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. / Square Nine Builders Inc. (Petitioners) · Creditor: Cameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd. (CSMC) · Security: Inventory loan/other financing for Belvedere; secured over the CSMC Priority Assets (lands owned by Square Nine King George)
PDF
Sales Process Approval Order
  • Order date 26 March 2026
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — The Monitor is at liberty to obtain vesting orders in respect of any of the residential units by way of desk order, without notice and without a hearing, by filing an executed Monitor's sale certificate
PDF
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
PDF
Stay Extension Orde
  • Order date 26 March 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
  • Stay extended to 31 July 2026
PDF
Sixth Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand $6.63M · Note: Ending cash per actual cash flow variance analysis for the 17-week period ended March 6, 2026 (figures in $000's) · As at: 2026-03-06
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 22 Jan 2026 · 1559924 B.C. Ltd.
  • Disbursements $314K · Note: Actual total operating costs (disbursements) for the 17-week period ended March 6, 2026; excludes non-operating and financing disbursements which are shown separately (figures in $000's) · Since: November 13, 2025 (Filing Date)
  • Operational summary The Petitioners have sold the Commercial Units and are now focused on marketing and selling the remaining 42 residential Strata Units through an exclusive listing agent, with sales activities ramping up for a formal launch in late March 2026.
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF
Monitor's certificatePDF
Order (Correction of AVO Order)PDF
Order (Approval and Vesting Order)
  • Closing terms Vacant possession delivered on Closing Date; Monitor may extend Closing Date with Purchaser's consent without further Court order
  • Order date 15 January 2026
  • Purchaser 1559924 B.C. Ltd. · the Purchased Assets described in the Commercial CPS · real property · $8.4M · approved
PDF
Order (Stay extension)
  • Order date 15 January 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
  • Stay extended to 30 April 2026
PDF
Order (Strata Rectification)
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
PDF
Affidavit of K. GoyalPDF
Application Response (AMRN Holding Ltd. and 1137571 B.C. Ltd.)PDF
Fifth Report of the Monitor
  • Purchaser 1559924 B.C. Ltd. · five commercial retail units (the "Commercial Units") · real property · proposed
PDF
Notice of Application (Strata Plan Rectification)PDF
Fourth Report of the MonitorPDF
Notice of Application (AVO, Stay Extension)PDF
Application ResponsePDF
Order (Returned DIP)PDF
Affidavit #1 of Avic ArenasPDF
Third Report of the MonitorPDF
Reasons for Judgment
  • Presiding officer Justice P. Walker
PDF
Second Amended and Restated Initial Order
  • Order date 2 December 2025
  • Stay expiry 31 January 2026
PDF
Application Record IndexPDF
Blackline ARIO to SAIRO
  • Order date 2 December 2025
  • Stay expiry 31 January 2026
  • Stay extended to 31 January 2026
PDF
Notice of Application (SAIRO)PDF
Second Report of the MonitorPDF
Amended and Restated Initial Order (ARIO)
  • Order date 20 November 2025
  • Stay expiry 5 December 2025
PDF
Creditor ListPDF
First Report of the MonitorPDF
Affidavit #3 of Manish SharmaPDF
Notice of Application (ARIO)PDF
Notice to CreditorsPDF
Affidavit #1 of Hayley RobertsPDF
Affidavit #1 of Jerrold MarriottPDF
Affidavit #2 Hayley RobertsPDF
Affidavit #2 of Manish SharmaPDF
Initial Order
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 13 November 2025
  • Court SUPREME COURT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed Monitor
  • Secured creditors $18.5M · Note: Approximate figure per prose; part of $22.2 million owed to first and second mortgagees (not summed per instructions). Cameron Stephens has also brought a receivership application against the Petitioners. · Page: 5 · As of: Pre-filing report date (November 13, 2025) · Debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. · Creditor: Cameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd. · Security: First mortgagee providing inventory loan/financing for Belvedere
PDF
Response to CCAA PetitionPDF
Affidavit #1 of Manish Sharma
  • Secured creditors $3.7M · Note: Stated as 'approximately $3,700,000'; loan was necessary after loss of several pre-sales to finalize construction. · Page: 4 · Debtor: Square Nine King George Development Ltd. · Creditor: AMRN Holding Ltd. and 1137571 B.C. Ltd. · Security: Mortgage/security predating Cameron Stephens' loan; expressly subordinate in rank to Cameron Stephens' security (cession of priority)
PDF
Petition to the Court (CCAA)
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role monitor
  • Court file no S2258449
  • Financial position Liabilities $38.7M · per Management estimate stated in the petition (approximate, unaudited) · Petitioners collectively (Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.), not accounting for inter-company indebtedness and shareholder loans — Petition states Petitioners owe approximately $38,730,000 to various stakeholders: ~$22,200,000 to first and second mortgagees (Cameron Stephens, AMRN Holding Ltd., 1137571 B.C. Ltd.), ~$6,300,000 to trade creditors, ~$6,000,000 to CRA for GST/HST, and ~$4,400,000 to various other creditors. Components are stated individually; total is as given in the document, not independently summed. No total assets figure was disclosed; separately, appraised value of remaining 40 unsold residential units is $27,365,000 as of May 16, 2025, and five commercial units are under contract for sale at $8,100,000.
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Response to the Receivership PetitionPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Square Nine King George Development Ltd. and Square Nine Builders Inc.” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/square-nine-king-george-development-ltd-and-square-nine-builders-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/square-nine-king-george-development-ltd-and-square-nine-builders-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.