Robert Land Academy
Follow- Proceeding
- Bankruptcysection 49 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (Canada)
Robert Land Academy became bankrupt under the BIA on June 27, 2025 in Ontario. Its Statement of Affairs, prepared on a net book value basis as at the date of bankruptcy, shows assets of $4,743,000 against liabilities of $138,270,000, a figure driven by contingent litigation claims of at least $135 million based on the 2024 audited financial statements, which remain contingent and unproven and may increase as further claims are filed. AppGear Mortgage Investment Limited Partnership holds a charge registered April 25, 2025 over the real property at 6726 and 6727 South Chippawa Road, West Lincoln, plus a general security agreement, and was owed $3,348,184.42 as at December 1, 2025; Gowlings opined the mortgage is valid, enforceable and a properly registered first charge. AppGear appointed Deloitte as private receiver on November 25, 2025 to complete or direct the sale of the property. The estate remains active.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
The officer filed report no. First Report. RLA has ceased operating as a school following its bankruptcy; the Trustee retained a reduced group of former employees on a term basis to assist with site security, wind-down, and administrative matters at the Property, with their engagement to end upon closing of the Property sale.
Source: Trustee's First Report
Debtor
Robert Land Academy
Trustee in bankruptcy
Deloitte
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | AppGear Mortgage Investment Limited Partnership (by its general partner, AppGear GP Corp., as chargee)Charge/mortgage registered April 25, 2025 against title to the Real Property (6726 & 6727 South Chippawa Road, West Lincoln, Ontario) in the principal amount of $3,200,000 (registered principal, not balance); also secured by a general security agreement over RLA's personal property relating to the Property, effective April 25, 2025. Independent legal counsel (Gowlings) opined the mortgage is valid, enforceable and properly registered as a first charge. — Trustee states AppGear is the only secured creditor with a charge/mortgage against the Real Property. First Report (elsewhere) rounds the sam · as of 1 Dec 2025 | $3.35M | Motion Record Re Approval & Vesting Order |
| 4 | Secured | Royal Bank of Canada · in 556 casesPPSA registration (registrant); nature/scope and amount not stated in the record — Listed on service list as 'PPSA Registrant'; no claim amount or further characterization disclosed in the pages provided. — debtor: Robert Land Academy | — | Motion Record Re Approval & Vesting Order |
| 4 | Secured | Whitelock Investments Inc.Notice of Security Interest registered against title, PIN 46072-0019 (LT) — Listed on service list as 'Notice of Security Interest Registrant'; no claim amount disclosed in the pages provided. — debtor: Robert Land Academy | — | Motion Record Re Approval & Vesting Order |
| 5 | PMSI / lessors | CWB National Leasing Inc. · in 110 casesPPSA registration (registrant), likely equipment financing/PMSI type; amount not stated in the record — Listed on service list as 'PPSA Registrant'; no claim amount disclosed in the pages provided. — debtor: Robert Land Academy | — | Motion Record Re Approval & Vesting Order |
| 8 | Unsecured | Contingent Litigation Creditors with claims against the CompanyUnvalued contingent claims; document states in excess of 30 claims alleging various forms of abuse asserting claims in excess of $100 million, not yet valued. — debtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $135M | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Appgear Mortgage Investment Limited PartnershipUnsecured deficiency portion of a claim bifurcated secured/unsecured by security valuation; total claim $3,200,000.00, secured portion $1,571,141.68 reported separately. — debtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1.63M | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Sysco Foods · in 2 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $19.5K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Shillington McCalldebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $17.4K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Royal Bank of Canada (Credit Card) · in 556 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $9.15K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Niagara Peninsula Energy · in 4 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $6.66K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | McDougal Energydebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $3.43K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Clearford Waterworksdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $3.32K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Canadian Linen · in 11 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $2.37K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Amazon Business · in 4 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $2K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Granderie Home Hardwaredebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1.9K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Roseland Produce · in 3 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1.89K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Gordon Foodsdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1.79K | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Christies Dairydebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $934 | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Former Employees · in 15 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1 | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Microsoft Office 365debtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1 | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Canada Bread · in 2 casesdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1 | Statement of Affairs |
| 8 | Unsecured | Former Studentsdebtor: Robert Land Academy · as of 27 Jun 2025 | $1 | Statement of Affairs |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
Approval pending — Trustee recommends the Court approve the Purchase Agreement and the Transaction, sale not yet closedTrustee's First Report · 25 Nov 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cantaro InstituteRLA's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Purchase Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · agreement 7 Oct 2025 | Sealed | Closed22 Dec 2025 | Trustee’s Certificate Re Sale of RLA Property |
As at 27 Jun 2025 · per Statement of Affairs (Form 78) sworn/declared by Peter Stock, director · Robert Land Academy (single corporate bankrupt entity) — Deficiency of $133,526,979.23 reported. Liabilities include $135,000,000 of contingent/trust claims relating to unvalued alleged abuse claims (over 30 claims, asserted in excess of $100 million per reasons for financial difficulty).
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Endorsement of Justice Kimmel
| ||
Trustee’s Certificate Re Sale of RLA Property
| ||
Endorsement of Justice Black Re Approval & Vesting Order
| ||
Approval and Vesting Order
| ||
Motion Record Re Approval & Vesting Order
| ||
Trustee's First Report
| ||
Trustee’s Report on Preliminary Administration
| ||
| Bankruptcy Notice | ||
| Certificate of Appointment | ||
Statement of Affairs
| ||
| Proof of Claim - Property (trust claim) | ||
| Proof of Claim Form | ||
| Proof of Claim Instructions | ||
| Proxy | ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Robert Land Academy” (Bankruptcy), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/robert-land-academy