Proceedings.

Mountainside Lodge

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 39 Law and Equity Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 253, as amended and the Supreme Court Civil Rule 10-2
File
VLC-S-S-249020
Filings held45
Last activity7 Oct 2026
On the record682 days
OverviewSummary updated

Mountainside Lodge is the subject of a court-appointed receivership proceeding in the Supreme Court of British Columbia, commenced on 23 December 2024 under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with provincial Judicature Act authority. The application was filed that day and carries court file number VLC-S-S-249020. The proceeding remains active, and no further steps have been recorded.

Claims processIf you are owed money
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates42 dated entries · 3 undated
#Order

Approved the $12 million cash-and-assumed-liabilities sale to Executive Mountainside Holdings Ltd. and vested the Purchased Assets clear of registered interests of Hamsor Holding Corporation, Computershare Trust Company of Canada and SOAP.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order Dated May 8 2025

#Order

Approved the sale and investment solicitation process, with Executive Mountainside Holdings Ltd.'s stalking horse agreement standing as the fallback bid pending further order and Phase I bids due 25 March 2025.

Source: SISP Order dated January 24, 2025

Undated filings3 — no date appears on the document · show
—
Report

Shell Mountainside Lodge - Teaser — Court officer report filed

PDF · Subscribers

Guide

What happens to gift cards when a company goes out of business in Canada

When a Canadian store chain files for creditor protection, a court order decides how long its gift cards still work — often about two weeks. What happens after that, and to deposits, refunds, points and bookings, drawn from the 20 retail chains that went to court since 2023.

Filing brief

Shell Mountainside Lodge: members' claims at $4.07 million or $36.28 million

Sixteen months after the Whistler timeshare lodge was sold free of roughly 1,800 member contracts, BDO as receiver asks the B.C. Supreme Court on September 25 to open a reverse claims process with a January 15, 2027 bar date, appoint Borden Ladner Gervais as representative counsel with a $100,000 charge, and defer the formula that would value the claims at between $4.07 million and $36.28 million.

Parties

Debtor

Mountainside Lodge

Receiver

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice CovalSupreme Court of British Columbia8 orders, Jan 2025 – Sep 202616 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantMcMillan LLP · Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP28 Apr 2026Service list · 28 Apr 2026
Interim lenderStalking HorseOwen Bird Law Corporation28 Apr 2026Service list · 28 Apr 2026
CreditorEarl & Lois Springer, John & Leslie Malek, Eric SDc Capital Law25 Apr 2025Application · 25 Apr 2025
CreditorMelanie Gillcoat and Mundy GillcoatFinn Law Group28 Apr 2026Service list · 28 Apr 2026
CreditorSam Babe (via MS Teams)Borden Ladner Gervais LLP25 Sep 2026Order · 25 Sep 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredComputershare Trust Company of Canada · in 30 casesas of Approval and Vesting Order dated May 8, 2025 — Registered interest on title to Purchased Assets (Land Title system) — Interest vested off pursuant to the Approval and Vesting Order; security discharged. No registration amount stated. — debtor: Shell Owners Association – Pacific (SOAP)—SOAP – Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 4, 2025
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

6 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Sale closed — Sale Transaction completedReceiver's First Report to Court dated September 14, 2026 · 14 Sep 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Executive Mountainside Holdings Ltd.Stalking horsethe Petitioners' interest in and to the Petitioner Strata Lots and all of the chattels, fixtures, furniture, equipment accessories, supplies, and other tangible personal property contained therein that are used in connection with the Business · asset sale · agreement 16 Dec 2024SubscribersClosed30 May 2025outside 1 Aug 2025Receiver's First Report to Court dated…
AdvisorsAvison Young (listing broker); BDO Canada Limited (sale agent)SISP Order dated January 24, 2025
Closing termsExtension of Closing Date to no later than August 1, 2025 by consent, without further Order; vacant possession subject to Sale Agreement and permitted encumbrances.Approval and Vesting Order Dated May 8 2025
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

4 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP, 23 May 2024 – 24 Apr 2025, soughtAffidavit of D. Chochla · 25 Apr 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
BDO Canada Limitedcapacity not statedperiod 3 of 3to 18 Apr 2025Sought—not statedNotice of application of the administrator · 25 Apr 2025
BDO Canada Limitedcapacity not statedperiod 3 of 31 Jan – 18 Apr 20256 peopleAffidavit of M. Marchand · 25 Apr 2025
6 people — BDO Canada Limited, 1 Jan – 18 Apr 2025 · 20 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Chris BowraPartner
J. ParisiPartner
Matthew MarchandPartner
Adam BoettgerSr. Manager
R. GeorgeSr. Analyst
Samantha ArmesSr. Analyst
Total——
BDO Canada Limitedcapacity not statedperiod 1 of 325 Apr – 31 Dec 20245 peopleAffidavit of M. Marchand · 25 Apr 2025
5 people — BDO Canada Limited, 25 Apr – 31 Dec 2024 · 17 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
J. ParisiPartner
Matthew MarchandPartner
Adam BoettgerSr. Manager
P. KouadioManager
R. GeorgeSr. Analyst
Total——
Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLPCounsel23 May 2024 – 24 Apr 2025Sought—11 peopleAffidavit of D. Chochla · 25 Apr 2025
11 people — Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP, 23 May 2024 – 24 Apr 2025 · 33 blurred figures
NameYear of callHoursRateFees
Dylan ChochlaPartner
Kibben M. Jackson2001
Dylan ChochlaPartner
Jennifer CarusoAssociate
Laura J. Smith2013
Lucky Johal2019
Mishaal Gill2020
Heidi Esslinger2024
Mishaal Gill2020
Megan L. SedmakParalegal
Suzanne VolkowParalegal

79 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing

As at ·

Cash on hand

$3.59M

As at 31 Mar 2025Administrator's First Report dated May 5 2025

Professional fees

As at

1 more reported figure, and the total the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
45 filings
DateDocumentFile
Frequently Asked QuestionsPDF · Subscribers
Additional Proof of Claim Instruction LetterPDF · Subscribers
Member Claims Process Order dated September 25, 2026
  • Claims bar date 15 January 2027
  • Order date 25 September 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Member Representation Order dated September 25, 2026
  • Counsel Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Non-Member Claims Process Instruction LetterPDF · Subscribers
Non-Member Claims Process Order dated September 25, 2026
  • Claims bar date 24 November 2026
  • Order date 25 September 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Non-Member Proof of Claim (blank)PDF · Subscribers
Mountainside - Frequently Asked QuestionsPDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application dated September 14, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report to Court dated September 14, 2026
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 30 May 2025 · Executive Mountainside Holdings Ltd.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Dylan Chochla dated September 11, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Matthew Marchand dated Spetember 9, 2026PDF · Subscribers
Mountainside - Service List
  • Counsel Owen Bird Law Corporation
PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions - April 27 2026PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions dated September 5, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions dated June 26 2025PDF · Subscribers
SOAP – Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 4, 2025
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
ULC – Notice and Statement of the Receiver dated June 4, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions dated May 9 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Members of SOAP and ULC of Receiver's Appointment
PDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Appointment Order Dated May 8, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Ancillary Order Dated May 8, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order Dated May 8 2025
  • Closing terms Extension of Closing Date to no later than August 1, 2025 by consent, without further Order; vacant possession subject to Sale Agreement and permitted encumbrances.
  • Order date 8 May 2025
  • Outside date 1 August 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Fee and Activity Approval Order Dated May 8, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
Petitioners Book of Authorities dated May 8 2025PDF · Subscribers
Administrator's First Report dated May 5 2025
  • Operational summary The Petitioners are winding down the Business ahead of a Resort Closure Date of May 26, 2025, having conducted a SISP that resulted in the Stalking Horse Bidder becoming the Successful Bidder, with the Administrator seeking to transition to a receivership to close the sale and administer a stakeholder claims process.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of D. Chochla dated April 25, 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of M. Marchand dated April 25, 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application dated April 25, 2025
  • Applicant SVC-Mountainside ULC and Shell Owners Association – Pacific
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 25 April 2025
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of application of the administrator dated April 25, 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Anthony Cimo dated April 24, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions dated January 29 2025PDF · Subscribers
Appointment Order dated January 24, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Members of SOAP and ULC of Administrator's AppointmentPDF · Subscribers
Oral Reasons for Judgement dated January 24, 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice Coval
PDF · Subscribers
SISP Information and Instruction Details
  • Bid deadline 25 March 2025
  • Outside date 29 May 2025
  • Phase1 deadline 25 March 2025
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
SISP Order dated January 24, 2025
  • Bid deadline 24 April 2025
  • Order date 21 January 2025
  • Outside date 29 May 2025
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Proposed Administrator's Pre-Filing Report dated January 22, 2025
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Hearing dated January 6, 2025PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Anthony Cimo dated December 23, 2024
PDF · Subscribers
Petition to the Court dated December 23, 2024
  • Applicant SVC-Mountainside ULC and Shell Owners Association – Pacific
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role administrator of the Petitioners
  • Commencement date 23 December 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Stalking Horse Asset Purchase Agreement dated December 16, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Additional Proof of Claim (blank)PDF · Subscribers
Demand for NoticePDF · Subscribers
Shell Mountainside Lodge - Teaser
  • Bid deadline 25 April 2025
  • Sale advisor Avison Young (listing broker)
  • Sale outcome Marketed — Mountainside Lodge (56 of 93 strata lots, 42 rentable units, 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, BC) is listed for sale through a court-ordered two-phase sale and investment solicitation process, with Phase I bids due March 25, 2025 and Phase II binding bids due April 25, 2025.
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Mountainside Lodge” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/mountainside-lodge

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/mountainside-lodge

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.