Proceedings.

KMC Mining Corporation

Follow
Active
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, AS AMENDED
File
2503 00016
Filings held81
Last activity15 May 2026
On the record619 days
Secured debt$104M
OverviewSummary updated

KMC Mining Corporation, an Alberta mining contractor, has been under CCAA protection since January 10, 2025. Unaudited entity financial statements as at October 31, 2024 showed total assets of $295,432,000 against total liabilities of $241,843,000, with property and equipment carried at a net book value of $259.9 million, largely specialized ultra-class mining equipment. The company's Executive Chairman, Daniel Klemke, deposed that liabilities exceed $220,000,000, comprising $104,316,256 owing to a syndicate led by ATB Financial as agent with Canadian Western Bank, Export Development Canada and Laurentian Bank of Canada, $49,290,859.45 to the related-party Klemke Foundation on subordinated security, $55,623,182 to heavy and light-duty equipment lessors, and $22,218,366.57 in trade payables and accruals. The syndicate issued notices of default on November 18 and December 2, 2024, citing financial covenant breaches and a borrowing base shortfall of at least $2,344,204. Detailed asset values were filed in a sealed confidential supplementary affidavit.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates82 dated entries
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions. Sealed: Confidential Supplementary Affidavit of Bryn Jones sworn April 7, 2025, Confidential Appendices to the Monitor's Second Report dated April 7, 2025.

Source: Application (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)

#Order

The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A phase 1 deadline of 2025-02-28. A bid deadline of 2025-03-28.

Source: Order (SISP)

#Order

The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A phase 1 deadline of 2025-02-28. A bid deadline of 2025-03-28.

Source: Order Approving SISP

Precedent note

What stay extensions are actually granted

Seven CCAA files, three provinces, and no two extensions alike — four days because the court could not sit, twenty days more than the debtor asked for, a full year when all that is left of the company is a lawsuit. The boundary is the case's own calendar.

Parties

Debtor

KMC Mining Corporation

Monitor

FTI

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HarrisCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, May 202521 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorFTIMLT Aikins LLP4 Dec 2025Service list · 4 Dec 2025
DebtorKMC Mining CorporationDuncan & Craig LLP4 Dec 2025Service list · 4 Dec 2025
Creditor66 Wellington Street West Suite 4100, P.O. Box 35 TD Bank Tower Toronto, ON M5K 1B7 Attn: Wojtek JaskiewiczWeirFoulds LLP4 Dec 2025Service list · 4 Dec 2025
CreditorML Northern Services GP LtdMiller Thomson LLP4 Dec 2025Service list · 4 Dec 2025
CreditorServiceDuncan & Craig LLP20 Jan 2025Order · 20 Jan 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredSyndicate of lenders led by ATB Financial (including Canadian Western Bank, Export Development Canada, and Laurentian Bank of Canada)Primary/first secured creditor; approximate amount stated; KMC received Notice of Default from Syndicate — debtor: KMC Mining Corporation · as of 31 Oct 2024$104MApplication (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge and Other Relief)
SecuredHeavy equipment lessorsEquipment leases — Approximate amount; equipment lessors not affected by the Charges granted in this Order — debtor: KMC Mining Corporation · as of 31 Oct 2024$52.6MApplication (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge and Other Relief)
SecuredThe Klemke FoundationOther senior/second priority secured creditor; private charitable foundation; approximate amount stated — debtor: KMC Mining Corporation$49.3MApplication (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge and Other Relief)
SecuredLight duty lessorsEquipment leases — Approximate amount — debtor: KMC Mining Corporation$2.97MApplication (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge and Other Relief)
Sale processAs stated in the filings

4 transactions · 2 proposed · 2 closedAll of KMC's heavy equipment has been sold and the majority of operations wound downSeventh Report of the Monitor · 11 May 2026

Parties solicited

2600

Second Report of the Monitor

Bid deadline (round closed)

28 March 2025

Brief of Law in support of Application for Amended and…

Phase 1 deadline

28 February 2025

SISP Teaser

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Gibraltar Mines Limitedthe Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the LOI and repeated herein in Schedule "A"(the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · agreement 19 Dec 2024not statedProposed20 Dec 2024Sale Approval and Vesting Order (Gibraltar…
2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentalssubstantially all the assets of KMC · asset sale · agreement 26 Mar 2025SealedPrice disclosed only in the Confidential Supplemental Report; KMC has requested a Sealing Order to keep the purchase price confidential.ProposedSecond Report of the Monitor
2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentalsthe assets described within Schedule 'A' of the Asset Purchase Agreement · asset sale · agreement 26 Mar 2025not statedClosed2 May 2025Monitor's Certificate
2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/s Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentalssubstantially all the assets of KMC · asset salenot statedCloseddate not statedoutside 30 Apr 2025Seventh Report of the Monitor
AdvisorsErnst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent); Ernst & Young Corporate Finance (Canada) Inc. (sale agent)SISP Teaser
Closing termsVesting occurs upon delivery of Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditionsOrder (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)
Sealed materialsConfidential Supplementary Affidavit of Bryn Jones sworn April 7, 2025; Confidential Appendices to the Monitor's Second Report dated April 7, 2025Application (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: 10 %. BDC short · CAT $1.62M · Cummins $1.27M.Under the planBrief of the Monitor · 23 May 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredSecured Partiesa distributioninterimconditionalper the monitorSecond Supplemental to the Second Report of the Monitor · 16 Apr 2025
SecuredBDCshortfallEstimatedBrief of the Monitor · 23 May 2025
SecuredCAT$1.62Mconditionalper the monitorApplication (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order) · 13 May 2025
SecuredCummins$1.27Mper the monitorSupplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report · 23 May 2025
SecuredEdmonton Kenworth Ltd$44Kconditionalper the monitorApplication (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order) · 13 May 2025
SecuredFinning International Inc.$100Kconditionalper the monitorApplication (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order) · 13 May 2025
SecuredJohn Deere$989Kconditionalper the monitorApplication (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order) · 13 May 2025
SecuredKomatsu$6.77Mper the monitorSupplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report · 23 May 2025
SecuredSSNspaid in fullEstimatedper the monitorBrief of the Monitor · 23 May 2025
SecuredSecured Lenders$24.3Mper the monitorSupplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report · 23 May 2025
SecuredSyndicate$24.3Mconditionalper the monitorApplication (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order) · 13 May 2025
PMSI / lessorEdmonton Kenworth Ltd.$44Kper the monitorSupplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report · 23 May 2025
PMSI / lessorFinning International Inc.$29Kper the monitorSupplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report · 23 May 2025
Unsecuredaffected creditors - other than MCAP10 %Under the planper the monitorBrief of the Monitor · 23 May 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total liabilities at filing$220M

As at 31 Oct 2024 · per Affidavit statement of KMC's Executive Chairman; underlying detailed asset valuations set forth in a Confidential Supplementary Affidavit sworn concurrently (sealed, not provided in these pages) · entity - KMC Mining Corporation — Para 40: 'KMC's total outstanding liabilities exceed $220,000,000' - stated as a floor. Components as of Oct 31, 2024 include Syndicate debt $104,316,256, Klemke Foundation debt $49,290,859.45, Equipment Lenders $55,623,182 (Heavy $52,649,938 + Light Duty $2,973,244), and unsecured trade payables/accrued liabilities $22,218,366.57. Total assets not stated as a consolidated figure in these pages; net book value of Property and Equipment alone was $264,096,000 as at September 30, 2024 per internal (unaudited) financial statements; a more detailed outline of estimated asset values is contained in

Documents
81 filings
DateDocumentFile
Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, sworn on the 4th day of May 2026PDF
Application (Enhanced Monitor's Powers and Extended Stay Period)PDF
Brief of Law (in support of Application)PDF
Order (Enhanced Monitor's Powers and Extending the Stay Period)
  • Order date 15 May 2026
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2027
PDF
Order (Sealing Order and Extension of Prior Sealing Orders)
  • Order date 15 May 2026
PDF
Redline Sealing Order and Extension
  • Order date 15 May 2026
PDF
Revised KMC Order Extending Stay and Enhance Monitor Powers
  • Order date 15 May 2026
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2027
PDF
Revised KMC Sealing Order and Extension
  • Order date 15 May 2026
PDF
Supplemental Report to the Monitor's Seventh Report
  • Report date 14 May 2026
  • Report no Supplemental Report to the Seventh Report of the Monitor
PDF
Seventh Report of the Monitor
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/s Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentals
  • Purchaser 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/s Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentals · substantially all the assets of KMC · asset sale · closed
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale closed — All of KMC's heavy equipment has been sold and the majority of operations wound down
PDF
Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, sworn on the 15th day of February, 2026PDF
Application (Extended Stay Period)PDF
Brief of Law (in support of Stay Extension Application)PDF
Draft Order (Stay Extension)
  • Order date 24 February 2026
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2026
PDF
Order (Stay Extension)
  • Order date 24 February 2026
  • Stay extended to 30 June 2026
PDF
Sixth Report of the MonitorPDF
Service List
  • Counsel MLT Aikins LLP
PDF
(Redline) Revised Draft Order (Stay Extension)
  • Order date 28 November 2025
  • Stay extended to 28 February 2026
PDF
Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, sworn on the 16th Day of November, 2025PDF
Amended Application
  • Counsel Duncan Craig LLP
PDF
Application (Stay Extension)
  • Counsel Duncan Craig LLP
PDF
Draft Order (Sealing Order Extension)
  • Order date 28 November 2025
PDF
Order (Sealing Order)PDF
Revised Draft Order (Stay Extension)
  • Order date 28 November 2025
  • Stay extended to 28 February 2026
PDF
Fifth Report of the MonitorPDF
(Redline) Draft OrderPDF
Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, sworn on the 21st day of July 2025PDF
Application (Stay Extension and Ancillary Relief)PDF
Draft Order (Stay Extension, Interim Distribution, Assignment of Contracts and Ancillary Relief)
  • Order date 30 July 2025
  • Stay extended to 30 November 2025
PDF
Order (Stay Extension, Interim Distribution, Assignment of Contracts)
  • Order date 30 July 2025
  • Stay extended to 30 November 2025
PDF
Revised Draft OrderPDF
Fourth Report of the MonitorPDF
Application (Allocation Approval and Distribution Order)
  • Presiding officer Justice Harris
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-05-13 · Table missing:
PDF
Brief of Law (in support of the Stay Extension Application)PDF
Brief of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per plan; per estimated; per unstated; per estimated · Table missing:
PDF
Order (Cost Allocation and Distribution)
  • Presiding officer Justice L.K. Harris
PDF
Second Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, sworn on the 9th day of May 2025PDF
Supplemental Report to the Monitor's Third Report
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-05-23 · Table missing:
PDF
Third Report of the Monitor
  • Purchaser 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/s Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentals · substantially all the assets of KMC · asset sale · approved
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — SAVO approved the asset purchase agreement for the sale of substantially all the assets of KMC to HME under the SISP
PDF
Monitor's Certificate
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 2 May 2025 · 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals
PDF
Affidavit of Bryn Jones, sworn on the 7th day of April, 2025PDF
Application (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions.
  • Order date 17 April 2025
  • Purchaser 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals · the assets described within Schedule 'A' of the Asset Purchase Agreement · asset sale · approved
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Brief of Law in support of Application for Sale Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Draft Order (KERP Adjustment, WEPPA, Interim Distribution)PDF
Draft Order (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)PDF
Order (KERP, WEPPA and Interim DistributionPDF
Order (Sale Approval and Vesting Order)
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of Monitor's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions
  • Purchaser 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals · the assets described within Schedule 'A' of the Asset Purchase Agreement · asset sale · approved
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
PDF
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice D.R. Mah
PDF
Second Supplemental to the Second Report of the Monitor
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated · Stated on: 2025-04-16 · Table missing: The Revised Proposed Interim Distribution is presented in Confidential Appendix ' A ' to this report.
PDF
Second Report of the Monitor
  • Process results 2600 solicited · 58 NDAs · 9 bids · as of 28 Mar 2025
  • Purchaser 2122256 Alberta Ltd. o/a Heavy Metal Equipment and Rentals · substantially all the assets of KMC · asset sale · price sealed · proposed
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Approval pending — KMC selected HME's proposal as the superior offer and is seeking court approval of the HME APA at the Sale Approval Application scheduled for April 17, 2025.
PDF
Phase I - Bid Process Letter
  • Bid deadline 28 February 2025
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent); Ernst & Young Corporate Finance (Canada) Inc. (sale agent)
PDF
Leased Equipment Sales or Return Process Order
  • Counsel Duncan Craig LLP
  • Order date 20 January 2025
PDF
CCAA Notice to CreditorsPDF
First Report of the Monitor
  • Purchaser Gibraltar Mines Limited · an asset sales transaction · asset sale · proposed
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — Sales and investment solicitation process approved and underway
PDF
SISP NDAPDF
SISP Teaser
  • Bid deadline 28 February 2025
  • Phase1 deadline 28 February 2025
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent); Ernst & Young Corporate Finance (Canada) Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — KMC intends to offer all of its assets and business for sale pursuant to the terms of the Court approved order approving the sales and investment solicitation process
PDF
Amended and Restated Initial Order
  • Order date 20 January 2025
  • Stay expiry 16 June 2025
PDF
Application (Amended and Restated Initial Order)
  • Order date 20 January 2025
  • Stay expiry 16 June 2025
  • Stay extended to 16 June 2025
PDF
Brief of Law in support of Application for Amended and Restated Initial Order
  • Bid deadline 28 March 2025
  • Phase1 deadline 28 February 2025
  • Stay extended to 16 June 2025
PDF
Order (Leased Equipment)PDF
Second Affidavit of Bryn Jones, sworn on the 14th day of January, 2025PDF
Initial Order
  • Commencement date 10 January 2025
  • Court Court of King's Bench of Alberta
  • Court file no 2503 00016
  • Order date 10 January 2025
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Order (SISP)
  • Bid deadline 28 March 2025
  • Order date 10 January 2025
  • Phase1 deadline 28 February 2025
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc. (sale agent)
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Revised CCAA Initial Order
  • Applicant KMC Mining Corporation
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 10 January 2025
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Third Report of the Proposal Trustee and Pre-Filing Report of the Proposed MonitorPDF
Affidavit of Bryn Jones, Sworn on the 31st day of December, 2024PDF
Brief of Law in support of the Application for Initial OrderPDF
CCAA Initial Order
  • Applicant KMC Mining Corporation
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 10 January 2025
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Order Approving SISP
  • Bid deadline 28 March 2025
  • Order date 10 January 2025
  • Outside date 30 April 2025
  • Phase1 deadline 28 February 2025
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Originating ApplicationPDF
Sale Approval and Vesting Order (Gibraltar Mines)
  • Closing terms Transaction must close on or before 4:00 PM January 9, 2025 or the Order has no further force and effect
  • Order date 20 December 2024
  • Outside date 9 January 2025
  • Purchaser Gibraltar Mines Limited · the Vendor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the LOI and repeated herein in Schedule "A"(the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
PDF
Second Report of the Proposal TrusteePDF
NOI Notice to CreditorsPDF
Order (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge)
  • Order date 9 December 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice M.E. Burns
  • Stay extended to 18 February 2025
PDF
Affidavit of Daniel Klemke, Sworn on the 6th Day of December, 2024
  • Financial position Liabilities $220M · as at 31 Oct 2024 · per Affidavit statement of KMC's Executive Chairman; underlying detailed asset valuations set forth in a Confidential Supplementary Affidavit sworn concurrently (sealed, not provided in these pages) · entity - KMC Mining Corporation — Para 40: 'KMC's total outstanding liabilities exceed $220,000,000' - stated as a floor. Components as of Oct 31, 2024 include Syndicate debt $104,316,256, Klemke Foundation debt $49,290,859.45, Equipment Lenders $55,623,182 (Heavy $52,649,938 + Light Duty $2,973,244), and unsecured trade payables/accrued liabilities $22,218,366.57. Total assets not stated as a consolidated figure in these pages; net book value of Property and Equipment alone was $264,096,000 as at September 30, 2024 per internal (unaudited) financial statements; a more detailed outline of estimated asset values is contained in the sealed Confidential Supplementary Affidavit.
  • Secured creditors $104M · Note: Total Syndicate Debt comprised of Operating Line $19,800,000; CapEx Line $4,754,015; Term Debt $79,762,241. Company had not drawn on deferred Term Debt portion or delayed draw facility. Subsequent Notices of Default issued Nov 18, 2024 and Dec 2, 2024 citing Financial Covenant breaches and a Borrowing Base Shortfall of at least $2,344,204 as at Oct 31, 2024. · Page: 6 · As of: 2024-10-31 · Debtor: KMC Mining Corporation · Creditor: Syndicate of Lenders (ATB Financial, Canadian Western Bank, Export Development Canada, Laurentian Bank of Canada) led by ATB Financial · Security: General Security Agreement - first ranking security interest in all present and after-acquired personal property of KMC, pursuant to Syndicate Credit Agreement dated August 13, 2024
PDF
Application (First Stay Extension, Administration Charge, Interim Financing Charge and Other Relief)
  • Secured creditors $2.97M · Note: Approximate amount · Page: 4 · Debtor: KMC Mining Corporation · Creditor: Light duty lessors · Security: Equipment leases
PDF
Draft BIA Order - NOI First Extension
  • Order date 9 December 2024
  • Stay extended to 18 February 2025
PDF
Draft Sealing OrderPDF
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
  • Financial position Assets $295M · Liabilities $242M · as at 31 Oct 2024 · per unaudited, book value · entity - KMC Mining Corporation — Figures presented in thousands per table header; Property & Equipment net book value of $259.9 million (specialized ultra-class mining equipment) included in total assets
  • Secured creditors $108M · Note: Syndicate of Secured Lenders under Credit Agreement dated August 13, 2024 (Operating Facility, Capital Expenditures Facility, Term Facility); ATB acts as Agent · Page: 8 · As of: 2024-10-31 · Debtor: KMC Mining Corporation · Creditor: ATB Financial (as Agent) and syndicate lenders (Canadian Western Bank, Export Development Canada, Laurentian Bank of Canada) · Security: General Security Agreement (GSA) granting first ranking security interest in all present and after-acquired personal property
PDF
KMC Brief of Law - BIA NOI ExtensionPDF
Certificate of FilingPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “KMC Mining Corporation” (CCAA), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/kmc-mining-corporation

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/kmc-mining-corporation

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.