Proceedings.

GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH LIMITED PARTNERSHIP and GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH INC.

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)Section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and Section 39 of the Law and Equity Act
File
S-236559
Filings held32
Last activity8 Apr 2026
On the record1,022 days
Secured debt$63.8M
OverviewSummary updated

Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. are before the Supreme Court of British Columbia in a bankruptcy proceeding under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, court file S-236559. The proceeding was commenced on September 22, 2023, with the filing of an application. Both debtors are captioned together under the single file number. The matter remains active, and the record carries no steps after the commencement filing.

Claims processIf you are owed money

A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates32 dated entries
#Order

The court appointed Ernst & Young Inc. as receiver and manager, on the application of Aquilini Development Limited Partnership, Garibaldi Resort Management Company Ltd. and 1413994 B.C. Ltd.. Court file S-236559.

Source: Order entered Dec. 4, 2023

Parties

Debtor

GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH LIMITED PARTNERSHIP and GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH INC.

Receiver

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice WalkerSupreme Court of British Columbia3 orders, Dec 2023 – Jan 202423 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverEYMLT Aikins LLP19 Apr 2024Service list · 19 Apr 2024
CreditorBetweenMLT Aikins LLP17 Jan 2024Application · 17 Jan 2024
CreditorProvince of British ColumbiaMLT Aikins LLP19 Apr 2024Service list · 19 Apr 2024
CreditorSpecial Committee of Board of Garibaldi at Squamish IncMLT Aikins LLP19 Apr 2024Service list · 19 Apr 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredGaribaldi Resort Management Company Ltd.Per Company's books and records; possible related party given shared 'Garibaldi' branding — debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · as of 12 Apr 2023$63.8MGaribaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
4SecuredAquilini Development Limited PartnershipPer Company's books and records; possible related party given Aquilini group affiliation — debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · as of 12 Apr 2023$8.54MGaribaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
4Secured1413994 BC Ltd.Per Company's books and records — debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · as of 12 Apr 2023$7.03MGaribaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
8UnsecuredGaribaldi Resorts (2002) Ltd.Related party given shared 'Garibaldi' branding — debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · as of 12 Apr 2023$13.8MGaribaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
8UnsecuredNorthland Properties Ltd.debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · as of 12 Apr 2023$6.37MGaribaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
Sale processAs stated in the filings

Phase 1 deadline

22 February 2024

Order approving SISP

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Closed · the record states no distribution outcome.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

5 engagements · 2 firmslatest: Ernst & Young Inc., 20 Apr – 31 Jul 2024, $25,840.00 in feesThird Report of the Receiver · 25 Mar 2026

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 4 of 420 Apr – 31 Jul 2024$25,840.00ex. tax$225 – $7753 peopleThird Report of the Receiver · 25 Mar 2026
3 peopleErnst & Young Inc., 20 Apr – 31 Jul 2024
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Kevin BrennanSenior Vice President6.5$775$5,037.50
Philippe MendelsonSenior Manager33.2$550$18,260.00
Marcos SouzaParaprofessional11.3$225$2,542.50
Sub-total51$25,840.00
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 3 of 41 Mar – 19 Apr 2024$58,175.00ex. tax$225 – $7755 peopleThird Report of the Receiver · 25 Mar 2026
5 peopleErnst & Young Inc., 1 Mar – 19 Apr 2024
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Kevin BrennanSenior Vice President16.4$775$12,710.00
Philippe MendelsonSenior Manager78.9$550$43,395.00
Tanner ClarksonManager1.3$325$422.50
Kaleb DekkerStaff0.1$275$27.50
Marcos SouzaParaprofessional7.2$225$1,620.00
Sub-total103.9$58,175.00
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 427 Jan – 29 Feb 2024$613.57stated averageSecond Report of the Receiver (March 14, 2024) · 14 Mar 2024
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 4from 1 Mar 2024Sought$84,015.00ex. tax$613.57stated averageThird Report of the Receiver · 25 Mar 2026
MLT Aikins LLPCounsel to the receiverfrom 1 Feb 2024Sought257.6$156,465.00ex. tax$290 – $1,0258 peopleThird Report of the Receiver · 25 Mar 2026
8 peopleMLT Aikins LLP, from 1 Feb 2024
NameTitleHoursRateFees
William E J. Skelly120$1,0252026 Rate$110,544.00
Annie Huang13.5$5652024 Rate$7,627.50
Jessica Reid205.1$5402026 Rate$93,319.00
Shirley Yan0.4$3952024 Rate$158.00
Alex EvangelistaParalegal5.8$3602024 Rate$2,088.00
Avram HeislerArticling Student2$2902024 Rate$580.00
Jesse HinesArticling Student5.2$2902024 Rate$1,508.00
Yuvraj SagooArticling Student4.2$2902024 Rate$1,218.00

Top rate $775 · 48th percentile of receiver rates, 2024 · of 84

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$80M

As at 31 Dec 2021 · per Book value per most recent financial statements · Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. (combined/Debtor) — Cash was $Nil; Property Under Development $80,000,000; total liabilities not stated in this notice

Documents
32 filings
DateDocumentFile
Discharge Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Baker
PDF
Third Report of the Receiver
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: invoice_listing · Rows: · Money: Tax: $4.2K · Label: GST · Quote: 4,200.75 · Fees: $84K · Quote: 84,015.00 · Total: $88.2K · Quote: 88,215.75 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: Kind: cumulative · Quote: The Receiver is now seeking approval of its fees and disbursements by this Honourable Court for the period beginning March 1, 2024 to con · Start: 2024-03-01 · Approval: Quote: The Receiver is now seeking approval of its fees and disbursements by this Honourable Court for the period beginning March 1, 2024 · State: sought · Averages: timekeepers on this file · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD Total · Invoices: Tax: 2908.75 · Date: 2024-05-15 · Fees: 58175 · Quote: CA12C500010621 15-May-24 | Mar 1 - Apr 19 · Total: 61083.75 · Period end: 2024-04-19 · Period start: 2024-03-01; Tax: 1292 · Date: 2024-08-13 · Fees: 25840 · Quote: CA12C500011003 13-Aug-24 | Apr 20 - Jul 31 · Total: 27132 · Period end: 2024-07-31 · Period start: 2024-04-20 · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc. · Context quote: Ernst & Young Inc. was appointed as receiver (the "Receiver") by Order of this Honourable Court; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Kevin Brennan; Philippe Mendelson; Tanner Clarkson; Kaleb Dekker; Marcos Souza; Fees: 58175 · Hours: 103.9 · Quote: Sub-total | 103.9 | | $58,175.00 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Sub-total · Money: Tax: $2.91K · Label: GST · Quote: 2,908.75 · Fees: $58.2K · Quote: 58,175.00 · Total: $61.1K · Quote: 61,083.75 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2024-04-19 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. - Receivership Billing Details from March 1, 2024 to April 19, 2024 · Start: 2024-03-01 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD Total · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc. · Context quote: Ernst & Young Inc. was appointed as receiver (the "Receiver") by Order of this Honourable Court; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Kevin Brennan; Philippe Mendelson; Marcos Souza; Fees: 25840 · Hours: 51 · Quote: Sub-total | 51.0 | | $25,840.00 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Sub-total · Money: Tax: $1.29K · Label: GST · Quote: 1,292.00 · Fees: $25.8K · Quote: 25,840.00 · Total: $27.1K · Quote: 27,132.00 · includes tax · Approximate: false · Period: End: 2024-07-31 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. - Receivership Billing Details from April 20, 2024 to July 31, 2024 · Start: 2024-04-20 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: Code: CAD · Quote: CAD Total · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc. · Context quote: Ernst & Young Inc. was appointed as receiver (the "Receiver") by Order of this Honourable Court; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: William Skelly; Jessica Reid; Shirley Yan; Annie Huang; Alex Evangelista; Jesse Hines; Yuvraj Sagoo; Avram Heisler · Money: Fees: $156K · Quote: 156,465.00 · Total: $177K · Quote: 176,631.63 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $1.34K · Quote: 1,342.20 · Period: Kind: cumulative · Quote: The Recl s t e s s ethe period February 1, 2024 to the conclusion of this matter. · Start: 2024-02-01 · Approval: Quote: The Receiver also seeks the approval of the fees and disbursements of MLT Aikins LLP · State: sought · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: Date: 2024-02-29 · Fees: 8670 · Quote: 6442419 | 29-Feb-24 | Feb 1 - Feb 29 · Total: 9710.4 · Period end: 2024-02-29 · Period start: 2024-02-01; Date: 2024-03-31 · Fees: 55110 · Quote: 6451467 | 31-Mar-24 | Mar 4 - Mar 29 · Total: 62232.14 · Period end: 2024-03-29 · Period start: 2024-03-04 · Disbursements: 484.7; Date: 2024-04-30 · Fees: 74777.5 · Quote: 6458215 | 30-Apr-24 | Apr 1 - Apr 30 · Total: 84265.7 · Period end: 2024-04-30 · Period start: 2024-04-01 · Disbursements: 508; Date: 2024-05-31 · Fees: 10900.5 · Quote: 6468536 | 31-May-24 | May 3 - May 17 · Total: 12215.91 · Period end: 2024-05-17 · Period start: 2024-05-03 · Disbursements: 7; Date: 2024-06-30 · Fees: 3095 · Quote: 6473740 | 30-Jun-24 | Jun 3 - Jun 25 · Total: 3623.38 · Period end: 2024-06-25 · Period start: 2024-06-03 · Disbursements: 149.5; Date: 2024-07-31 · Fees: 2015.5 · Quote: 6481514 | 31-Jul-24 | Jul 2 - Jul 8 · Total: 2291.49 · Period end: 2024-07-08 · Period start: 2024-07-02 · Disbursements: 32.5; Date: 2025-07-31 · Fees: 492.5 · Quote: 6587603 | 31-Jul-25 | Jul 1 - Jul 2 · Total: 551.6 · Period end: 2025-07-02 · Period start: 2025-07-01; Date: 2026-01-31 · Fees: 702 · Quote: 6645891 | 31-Jan-26 | Jan 1 - Jan 31 · Total: 954.77 · Period end: 2026-01-31 · Period start: 2026-01-01 · Disbursements: 160.5; Date: 2026-02-28 · Fees: 702 · Quote: 6657056 | 28-Feb-26 | Feb 1 - Feb 28 · Total: 786.24 · Period end: 2026-02-28 · Period start: 2026-02-01 · Firm text: MLT Aikins LLP · Firm quote: MLT Aikins LLP · Hours total: Quote: 257.60 · Value: 257.6 · Context quote: The Receiver also seeks the approval of the fees and disbursements of MLT Aikins LLP (the "Receiver's Counsel").
PDF
Proof of ClaimPDF
Proxy FormPDF
Notice to CreditorsPDF
Certificate of AppointmentPDF
Notice of Appearance - Filed (Squamish Nation)PDF
Notice of AppearancePDF
FILED Notice of AppealPDF
Filed Reverse Vesting Order dated May 3, 2024PDF
Garibaldi Receiver's Closing Certificate (filed)PDF
Application Response of HMTKPDF
Garibaldi - Service List - April 19, 2024
  • Counsel MLT Aikins LLP
PDF
Affidavit #1 of L. Hanna filed April 18, 2024PDF
Garibaldi -Second Supplement to the Second Report of the Receiver (April 18, 2024)PDF
Supplement to the Second Report of the Receiver (April 10, 2024)PDF
Application Record cover and index re RVOPDF
Notice of ApplicationPDF
Second Report of the Receiver (March 14, 2024)
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: prose · Rows: · Money: Approximate: false · Period: End: 2024-02-29 · Kind: invoice · Quote: Receivership Time Details from January 27, 2024 to February 29, 2024 Invoice # CA12C500010346 dated March 6, 2024 · Start: 2024-01-27 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: — · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc. was appointed as receiver (the "Receiver") · Context quote: Ernst & Young Inc. was appointed as receiver (the "Receiver") by Order of this Honourable Court
PDF
Non Disclosure AgreementPDF
TeaserPDF
Order approving SISP
  • Order date 22 January 2024
  • Phase1 deadline 22 February 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Walker
PDF
Sale and Investment Solicitation Process
  • Bid deadline 22 February 2024
  • Order date 22 January 2024
  • Phase1 deadline 22 February 2024
PDF
Application Record
  • Counsel MLT Aikins LLP
PDF
First Receiver's Report
  • Secured creditors $73.5M · Note: Related party: Aquilini Development Limited Partnership is also the Petitioner and separately provides the post-filing Receiver's Borrowings (DIP) facility; interest also accruing at a per diem rate of $51,222 (approx. $5.93 million) from the Receivership Date to the Outside Closing Date, and this indebtedness forms the credit bid consideration in the Stalking Horse Bid (approx. $80.41 million total purchase price including Receiver Borrowings) · Page: 23 · As of: Receivership Date (December 4, 2023) · Debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. and Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership (GAS) · Creditor: Debenture Holders (Aquilini Development Limited Partnership, Garibaldi Resort Management Company Ltd., and 1413994 B.C. Ltd.) · Security: Debentures; validity and enforceability confirmed by independent legal opinion obtained by the Receiver, including enforceability against a subsequently appointed Licensed Insolvency Trustee in bankruptcy
PDF
Notice of Application - Approval of SISP
  • Bid deadline 21 March 2024
  • Order date 22 January 2024
  • Phase1 deadline 22 February 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice Walker
PDF
Garibaldi - S. 246(1) Notice
  • Financial position Assets $80M · as at 31 Dec 2021 · per Book value per most recent financial statements · Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. (combined/Debtor) — Cash was $Nil; Property Under Development $80,000,000; total liabilities not stated in this notice
  • Secured creditors $8.54M · Note: Per Company's books and records; possible related party given Aquilini group affiliation · Page: 3 · As of: 2023-04-12 · Debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · Creditor: Aquilini Development Limited Partnership
  • Unsecured creditors $6.37M · Page: 3 · As of: 2023-04-12 · Basis: Listing of other creditors according to the Company's books and records · Debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership and Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. · Creditor: Northland Properties Ltd.
PDF
Order entered Dec. 4, 2023
  • Applicant Aquilini Development Limited Partnership, Garibaldi Resort Management Company Ltd. and 1413994 B.C. Ltd.
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 4 December 2023
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
2023-12-01 _ Affidavit #1 of Chelsea Denton, sowrn December 1, 2023PDF
2023-12-01 _ Response to PetitionPDF
Affidavit #1 of Andrew Brown (filed September 22, 2023) - Body Only
  • Secured creditors Note: Related party - ADLP is affiliated with Luigi Aquilini. Balance owing not quantified in affidavit; GAS in default under 2021 Debentures since December 31, 2021. · Page: 3 · Debtor: Garibaldi at Squamish Inc. / Garibaldi at Squamish Limited Partnership · Creditor: Aquilini Development Limited Partnership (ADLP) · Currency: CAD · Security: 2021 Debenture (Exhibit M); General Security Agreement (Exhibit Q); credit amendment agreement dated January 10, 2018 (Exhibit L); assignment of permits/licenses/agreements dated January 26, 2018 (Exhibit R); intercreditor agreement dated January 26, 2018 (Exhibit S)
PDF
Petition (filed September 22, 2023)
  • Applicant Aquilini Development Limited Partnership, Garibaldi Resort Management Company Ltd. and 1413994 B.C. Ltd.
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 22 September 2023
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH LIMITED PARTNERSHIP and GARIBALDI AT SQUAMISH INC.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/garibaldi-at-squamish-limited-partnership-and-garibaldi-at-squamish-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/garibaldi-at-squamish-limited-partnership-and-garibaldi-at-squamish-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.