CLEO Energy Corp.
Follow- Proceeding
- NOIsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985 c B-3 (the “BIA”) and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, RSA 2000, c.J-2
- File
- B301-163430
- Industry
- Energy · Oil & gas production
CLEO Energy Corp. is the subject of insolvency proceedings in Alberta, with Alvarez and Marsal Canada Inc. acting as receiver under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 13(2) of the Judicature Act. The receiver's statement records assets at an estimated book value of $7,991,331 as at June 3, 2025 against $24,562,034 owed, being $8,208,901 to secured creditors and $16,353,133 to unsecured creditors. The largest secured claims are $2,785,000 to 1992169 Alberta Ltd. (Rise Capital), $1,764,898 to Mantl Canada Inc. and $1,050,000 to uCapital - uLoan Solutions Inc. Harvest Operations Corp. heads the unsecured list at $3,928,626, ahead of the Receiver General for Canada at $966,486 and the Municipal District of Provost 52 at $963,149. The proceeding is active.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
Per the Order (Claims Procedure) dated 10 February 2026.
The officer filed report no. Supplemental Report to the Fourth Report. The report addresses a late-filed $88,233.15 cure cost claim by CNRL, which the Receiver disallowed and considers inadmissible as a late claim, and the Receiver's position on the Revised RVO declaration concerning WEPP eligibility and the super priority amount remitted to ESDC.
Source: Supplemental Report to the Fourth Report of the Receiver
The court granted a reverse vesting order in favour of 2698902 Alberta Corp.
Source: Order - Reverse Vesting Order
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Rise Energy SPV Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting is subject only to Alberta Energy Regulator approval of licence transfers, and takes effect upon delivery by the Receiver of the Closing Certificate to the Purchaser; if the Transaction and Sale Agreement are terminated, the Receiver files a Fire Creek Termination Certificate and the Order is of no force and effect.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Prospera Energy Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery by A&M of the closing certificate (Schedule 'A'), subject only to Alberta Energy Regulator approval of transfer of licenses, permits and approvals.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Nuova Strada Ventures Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting is subject only to Alberta Energy Regulator approval of licence transfers and takes effect on the Receiver's delivery of the Closing Certificate to the Purchaser.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to IHH Energy Corp. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting takes effect upon delivery of the Proposal Trustee's certificate to the Purchaser in the form of Schedule 'A', confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction or waiver of the closing conditions in sections 3.2 to 3.4 of the Sale Agreement, and completion of the Transaction to the Proposal Trustee's satisfaction.
Source: Order (Sale Approval and Vesting - IHH Energy Corp.)
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Nuova Strada Ventures Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting is subject only to Alberta Energy Regulator approval of licence transfers and takes effect upon delivery of the Proposal Trustee's certificate to the Purchaser.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Surge Energy Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting is effective upon delivery of the Proposal Trustee's Certificate to the Purchaser, subject only to Alberta Energy Regulator approval of transfer of licenses, permits and approvals.
Application of Cleo Energy - Stay Extension & SSP Approvals — Application / notice of application
Application of Cleo Energy - Stay Extension & Financing — Application / notice of application
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2025-03-13.
Source: Sales Process Order
Undated filings2 — no date appears on the document · show
Guide
What to do when a company that owes you money goes bankrupt in Canada
When a Canadian company that owes you money goes bankrupt or into creditor protection, what you actually get back is usually a fraction of the debt, often nothing, and only if your claim is in on time. How to find the case, file a claim, meet a bar date, vote on a plan, take back goods and get paid, drawn from the court record.
Case update
Cleo Energy: the WEPP clawback returns to the court that warned against it
Alvarez & Marsal asks the Court of King's Bench on September 16 to declare that the reverse vesting order of November 14, 2025 did not disentitle Cleo's twelve former employees from the WEPP payments ESDC has since clawed back, and to approve a final $372,509 pro rata split between the Alberta Energy Regulator and five municipalities, with nothing for unsecured creditors.
Debtor
CLEO Energy Corp.
Proposal trustee
Alvarez & Marsal
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Burns | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 9 orders, Dec 2024 – Jun 2025 | 59 cases on record |
| Justice Bourque | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 7 orders, Mar 2025 – Dec 2025 | 39 cases on record |
| Justice Feasby | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 5 orders, Oct 2025 – Feb 2026 | 39 cases on record |
| Justice Lema | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 4 orders, Feb 2025 – Jun 2025 | 46 cases on record |
| Justice Hollins | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 3 orders, Dec 2024 – Jan 2025 | 26 cases on record |
| Justice Armstrong | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Apr 2025 | 30 cases on record |
| 1 more judge on the docket | |||
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proposal trusteeAlvarez & Marsal | Miller Thomson LLP | 26 May 2025 | Factum · 22 Oct 2025 |
| ApplicantCLEO Energy Corp. | Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP | 22 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorBattle River Energy Ltd | DLA Piper (Canada) LLP | 2 Jun 2025 | Affidavit · 2 Jun 2025 |
| CreditorDurham Creek Energy Ltd | Burnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP | 2 Jun 2025 | Affidavit · 2 Jun 2025 |
| Creditorgeologic Systems Ltd | Parlee McLaws LLP | 22 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorHarvest Operations Corp | Scott Venturo Rudakoff LLP | 22 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorInterim Financer | Lawson Lundell LLP | 26 May 2025 | Affidavit · 26 May 2025 |
| CreditorRenown Down Hole Solutions Inc | Revering Law Office | 21 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorRise Capital and Fire Creek Resources Limited | DLA Piper (Canada) LLP | 2 Jun 2025 | Affidavit · 2 Jun 2025 |
| CreditorSavanna Well Servicing Inc | Lawson Lundell LLP | 22 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| CreditorTrafigura Canada Limited | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 26 Dec 2024 | Factum · 26 Dec 2024 |
| CreditorVertex Professional Services Ltd | MLT Aikins LLP | 22 Jan 2025 | Service list · 22 Jan 2025 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61Secured Pre-Filing Claim; municipal tax lien under Sections 348/348.1 of the Municipal Government Act (Alberta) — One of the Municipalities represented by Brownlee LLP; priority vs. AER unresolved, resolved by pro rata Settlement. — debtor: ResidualCo (2755857 Alberta Ltd.) · as of 4 Sep 2026 | $2M | Fourth Report of the Receiver |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
257 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans12 transactions · 9 closed · 2 back-up bid · 1 approved — Transaction contemplated by the SPA closed on November 19, 2025Fourth Report of the Receiver · 8 Sep 2026
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| IHH Energy Corp.all of CLEO's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · agreement 14 Mar 2025 | not stated | Closed1 Apr 2025 | Proposal Trustee's Certificate (IHH) |
| Nuova Strada Ventures Ltd.all of CLEO's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the Purchased Assets) · asset sale · agreement 14 Mar 2025 | not stated | Closed4 Apr 2025 | Proposal Trustee's Certificate (Nuova Strada) |
| Surge Energy Inc.all of CLEO's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the Purchased Assets): the Miscellaneous Interests and two pipeline segments (AB PL 10131-006 and AB PL 10131-007) · asset sale · agreement 14 Mar 2025 | Subscribers | Closed31 Mar 2025 | Proposal Trustee's Certificate (Surge Energy) |
| Prospera Energy Inc.Silver Heights · asset sale · agreement 21 May 2025 | Sealed | Back-up bid | Sixth Report of the Proposal Trustee |
| Nuova Strada Ventures Ltd.all of Cleo's right, title and interest in the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets'), being the petroleum and natural gas rights, wells, pipelines and facilities listed in Schedule 'B' · asset sale · agreement 16 Apr 2025 | Subscribers | Closed9 Jun 2025 | Receiver’s Certificate (Nuova Strada) |
| Prospera Energy Inc.all of Cleo's right, title and interest in the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the Purchased Assets), being the Silver Heights Assets listed in Schedule 'B' · asset sale · agreement 9 May 2025 | not stated | Back-up bid2 Jun 2025 | Order (Sale Approval & Vesting - Prospera) |
| Rise Energy SPV Ltd.all of Cleo's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the Purchased Assets), being petroleum and natural gas rights, wells, pipelines and facilities in the Silver Heights and Neutral Hills areas listed in Schedule 'C' · asset sale · nominee/assignee: Fire Creek Resources Ltd. · agreement 26 May 2025 | Subscribers | Closed6 Jun 2025 | Receiver’s Certificate (Fire Creek) |
| 2698902 Alberta CorpPurchased Shares of CLEO Energy Corp. issued to the Purchaser under the share purchase agreement, with Excluded Assets, Excluded Liabilities and Excluded Contracts vesting in ResidualCo (reverse vesting) · share sale · agreement 6 Oct 2025 | Subscribers | Closed19 Nov 2025 | Third Report of the Receiver |
| Rise Energy SVP Ltd.Purchased Assets under the Rise Sale Approval and Vesting Order · asset sale | not stated | Approved | Supplement to the Second Report of the Receiver |
| unnamedPayroll Deemed Trust | not stated | Closed17 Sep 2025 | Supplement to the Second Report of the Receiver |
| third-party purchaser of all outstanding shares of Cleo under the SPA/Transactionall of the outstanding shares of Cleo · share sale | not stated | Closed | Fourth Report of the Receiver |
| unnamedthe Transaction | not stated | Closed19 Nov 2025outside 17 Apr 2025 | Fourth Report of the Receiver |
Unsecured creditors: no distribution.EstimatedFourth Report of the Receiver · 8 Sep 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | Unsecured Pre-Filing Claims | no distribution | Estimatedper the receiver | Fourth Report of the Receiver · 8 Sep 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
1 blurred figure above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
The 2 totals the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Reply Brief | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application – WEPP & Distributions
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Report to the Fourth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment | PDF · Subscribers | |
Creditor Package
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Claims Package | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application – Bankruptcy & Claims Process | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Bankruptcy, Fees, & Activities)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Claims Procedure)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Service of Marica Ceko | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Law - Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Department of Justice)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application - Department of Justice | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application - RVO, Activities, & Professional Fees | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Draft Order - Department of Justice | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approval of Receiver's Fees and Conduct)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Transaction Approval and RVO)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Service | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the Second Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Debbie Mitchell | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Tracy Wadson | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Alberta Energy & Minerals | PDF · Subscribers | |
Reply Brief to the Alberta Energy and Minerals
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Reply Brief to the Department of Justice Canada | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application - SPA Approval | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Receiver's Activities & Fees, Sealing)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order - Activities & Fees
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order - Reverse Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Law | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law - Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities - Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Court Endorsement – Trafigura Set-Off | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Statement of Receiver & Creditor Listing
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order (Stay of Proposal Proceedings) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order to Transfer Matter
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service (Kym Mesley)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (Proposal Trustee Fees & Activities) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Cleo Energy Corp. (APA Approval) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Cleo Energy Corp. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approving Fees & Activities)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Fiat)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval & Vesting - Fire Creek)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval & Vesting - Nuova Strada)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval & Vesting - Prospera)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sealing)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Originating Application – Ucapital | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver’s Certificate (SPA)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sixth Report of the Proposal Trustee
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Greg Thompson | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service (Yuliia Topal)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Tenth Affidavit of Chris Lewis - Affidavit & Exhibits A-D | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Cleo Energy | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sealing Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Stay Extension)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report of the Proposal Trustee
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Ninth Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Cleo Energy - Stay Extension & SSP Approvals | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approving Proposal Trustee’s Activities, Fees, and Disbursements)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval and Vesting - IHH Energy Corp.)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval and Vesting - Nuova Strada)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Sale Approval and Vesting - Surge)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Eighth Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Cleo Energy - Stay Extension & Financing | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approving Proposal Trustee’s Actions)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Stay Extension, Interim Financing, Interim Financing Charge)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Seventh Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Court Order – FIAT
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Cleo Energy - Sales Process | PDF · Subscribers | |
Bench Brief of Trafigura Canada
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities of Trafigura Canada | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Stay re Trafigura)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proposed Order - Sales Process | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sales Process Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service (January 21, 2025)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Proposal Trustee
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Sixth Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to Justice Lema - BIA Charges and Stay Extension Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Service (January 6, 2025) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Amended Application - BIA Charges & Stay Extension | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Trafigura Canada | PDF · Subscribers | |
BIA Charges and Stay Extension Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of Battle River Energy Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities – Trafigura | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proposed Order - BIA Charges and Stay Extension | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Shane Sutherland | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Amended Application - Trafigura Right of Set-Off | PDF · Subscribers | |
Bench Brief of Trafigura Canada (with FIAT)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Trafigura Canada | PDF · Subscribers | |
Cross Application of Trafigura Canada (with FIAT)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Cross-Application of Trafigura Canada | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Trafigura Set-Off)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Ethan Post | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Cleo Energy | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief - Application December 23, 2024 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities - Application December 23, 2024 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fourth Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Garnished Funds Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Originating Application | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proposed Garnished Funds Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended & Restated Order – Garnishee Summons
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
Certificate for the Notice of Intention
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Proposal Trustee | PDF · Subscribers | |
Proposal Trustee's Certificate (IHH)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Proposal Trustee's Certificate (Nuova Strada)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Proposal Trustee's Certificate (Surge Energy)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver’s Certificate (Fire Creek)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver’s Certificate (Nuova Strada)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Tenth Affidavit of Chris Lewis - Exhibit E | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Tenth Affidavit of Chris Lewis - Exhibit F | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Tenth Affidavit of Chris Lewis - Exhibit G | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fifth Affidavit of Chris Lewis | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fourth Report of the Proposal Trustee | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Report of the Proposal Trustee | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of the Department of Justice | PDF · Subscribers | |
Book of Authorities of Trafigura Canada (with FIAT)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities of Cleo Energy | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Book of Authorities of Cleo Energy Corp. | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “CLEO Energy Corp.” (NOI), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/cleo-energy-corp