B.R.'s Plumbing & Heating Inc., Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning Inc., Harmony Heating and Air Conditioning Inc., Hy-Mark Mechanical Inc., J.D. Swallow Heating Contractors Inc., MechCan Inc. and Pro Ace Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd., Pope & Sons Refrigeration Ltd.
- Proceeding
- NOISection 50.4(9) of the BIA
- File
- BK-26-03354829-33
- Industry
- Construction · Specialty trade contractors
B.R.'s Plumbing & Heating Inc., together with seven affiliated MechCan Group companies including MechCan Inc. and Harmony Heating and Air Conditioning Inc., filed a Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal on March 31, 2026, commencing BIA proceedings in Court of King's Bench of Alberta file B301 354154. National Bank of Canada is the senior-most secured creditor of the group, holding first-ranking security over the Companies' assets supported by cross-guarantees, and is owed more than $9 million. Harmony's guaranteed and cross-collateralized liability to NBC under an August 15, 2024 general security agreement stood at $3,929,799.14 as of March 16, 2026; a later Third Report states $4,342,311.67 as of June 16, 2026. Equipment and vehicle financiers hold PPSA registrations against Harmony. The matter remains active.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Go Lime Group Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Proposal Trustee's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions.
Application for Approval of an Asset - Filed July 17, 2026 — Application / notice of application
The officer filed report no. Second Report. The company continues operating while the Proposal Trustee conducts a sale process, which was temporarily delayed due to allegations against the general manager but has since resumed with a rescheduled auction.
Outcome brief
MechCan: four companies for sale, a general manager bidding for each
Seven MechCan Group companies filed notices of intention this spring, with National Bank of Canada owed more than $9 million. In the sales of Harmony, J.D. Swallow, Comfort Zone and B.R.'s, the general manager bid, directly or through a company; at Harmony and B.R.'s those bids won, and independent bidders won the other two.
Debtor
B.R.'s Plumbing & Heating Inc., Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning Inc., Harmony Heating and Air Conditioning Inc., Hy-Mark Mechanical Inc., J.D. Swallow Heating Contractors Inc., MechCan Inc. and Pro Ace Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd., Pope & Sons Refrigeration Ltd.
Proposal trustee
BDO
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Cavanagh | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Jun 2026 | 318 cases on record |
| Justice Little | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Jun 2026 | 59 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proposal trusteeBDO | Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP | 24 Jul 2026 | Order · 24 Jul 2026 |
| DebtorB.R.'s Plumbing & Heating Inc., Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning Inc., Harmony Heating and Air Conditioning Inc., Hy-Mark Mechanical Inc., J.D. Swallow Heating Contractors Inc., MechCan Inc. and Pro Ace Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd., Pope & Sons Refrigeration Ltd. | Reconstruct LLP · Harrison Pensa LLP | 27 Apr 2026 | Order · 5 May 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | National Bank of Canada (NBC) · in 101 casesGeneral Security Agreement (GSA) dated August 15, 2024 over present and after-acquired property, granted by Harmony to secure an unlimited guarantee (dated August 2024) of MechCan Inc.'s indebtedness to NBC under an Offer of Financing dated August 12, 2024 (as amended) — NBC is stated to be the senior-most secured creditor of Harmony and, generally, of the MechCan Group; Harmony's liability is a guaranteed and cross-collateralized obligation. A later Third Report (post-filing) states the indebtedness as $4,342,311.67 as of June 16, 2026, including guaranteed and cross-collateralized obligation · as of 16 Mar 2026 | $3.93M | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated July 15, 2026 |
| 5 | PMSI / lessors |
1 more claim in 1 class The stack holds Secured and PMSI / lessors claims.
Every creditor and every amount.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans5 transactions · 2 closed · 1 proposed · 1 not completed · 1 approved — The Transaction has been completed to the satisfaction of the Proposal Trustee.Proposal Trustee Certificate · 7 Aug 2026
Stalking horse
2811153 Alberta Ltd. · Subscribers
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 17891750 Canada Inc.Stalking horsethe Property · asset sale | not stated | Proposed | Sales Process - dated April 30, 2026 |
| 2811153 Alberta Ltd.Stalking horsethe Property · asset sale · agreement 24 Apr 2026 | Subscribers | Not completed | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated… |
| 2811153 Alberta Ltd.Stalking horsethe Transaction contemplated by an asset purchase agreement dated as of July 15, 2026 · asset sale · agreement 15 Jul 2026 | Subscribers | Approved | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated… |
| Go Lime Group Inc.the Company's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · nominee/assignee: Go Lime Inc. · agreement 29 Jun 2026 | not stated | Closed5 Aug 2026 | Proposal Trustee's Certificate |
| 1001570240 Ontario Inc.the Purchased Assets | not stated | Closed7 Aug 2026 | Proposal Trustee Certificate |
Unsecured creditors: no distribution. National Bank of Canada short.EstimatedThird Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | National Bank of Canada | — | shortfall | Estimatedper the proposal trustee | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026 |
| Unsecured | — | — | no distribution | Estimatedper the proposal trustee | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
3 engagements · 3 firms — latest: Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP, 15 Apr – 15 Jul 2026, in feesThird Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BDO Canada LimitedProposal trustee | — | — | — | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026 | |
| BDO Canada Transaction Advisory Services Inc.Proposal trustee | — | — | — | First Report of the Proposal Trustee · 27 Apr 2026 | |
| Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLPCounsel | 15 Apr – 15 Jul 2026 | — | Third Report of the Proposal Trustee · 15 Jul 2026 | ||
9 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cash on hand
$48.3K
As at 5 Jun 2026Second Report of the Proposal Trustee
The total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Appointment | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment - dated August 7, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Proposal Trustee Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Proposal Trustee's Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment - dated July 31, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - dated July 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application for Approval of an Asset - Filed July 17, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Vol. 1) - dated July 16, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Vol. 2) - dated July 16, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record (Vol. 3) - dated July 16, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application - dated July 15, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated July 15, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment - dated June 16, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement - dated June 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Extension Order, dated June 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (stay extension) - dated June 12, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Stay Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Anthony Fisher | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of the Applicant | PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum - dated June 11, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Proposal Trustee
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Trustee Preliminary Report
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Trustee's Preliminary Report
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment – dated May 14, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Creditors package | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Appointment – dated May 10, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record - dated May 8, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Proposal Relief Order - dated May 5 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order - dated May 1 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Proposal Order - dated April 30, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sale Process - dated April 30, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sales Process - dated April 30, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Proposal Order - dated April 29, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record - dated April 29, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record - dated April 28, 2026 | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Proposal Trustee - dated April 27, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record - dated April 27, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Anthony Fisher - dated April 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Application - dated April 24, 2026
| PDF · Subscribers | |
NOI - Notice to Creditors
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate for the Notice of Intention | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “B.R.'s Plumbing & Heating Inc., Comfort Zone Heating & Air Conditioning Inc., Harmony Heating and Air Conditioning Inc., Hy-Mark Mechanical Inc., J.D. Swallow Heating Contractors Inc., MechCan Inc. and Pro Ace Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd., Pope & Sons Refrigeration Ltd.” (NOI), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/mechcangroup