Proceedings.

608772 Alberta Ltd. Birchwood Auto Body

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, section 99(a) of the Business Corporations Act, and section 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act
File
2203-04703
Filings held16
Last activity19 Apr 2024
On the record1,647 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

608772 Alberta Ltd., operating as Birchwood Auto Body, has been under court-appointed receivership in Alberta since May 3, 2022, when The Bowra Group Inc. was appointed receiver and manager on the application of the Bank of Montreal under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and sections 13(2) of the Judicature Act, 99(a) of the Business Corporations Act and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act. BMO was owed $2,528,971 as of March 3, 2022, plus accruing interest, costs, expenses and fees, on credit facilities comprising a $2,602,277 loan, a $200,000 operating demand loan and a $40,000 CEBA loan. Its security includes a general security agreement over all present and after-acquired property and a first-ranking conventional mortgage registered February 19, 2016, backed by guarantees from 1943969 Alberta Ltd. and Darrell, Vera and Brett Payne. In its first report the receiver put GST owing to the Canada Revenue Agency at approximately $44,248, alongside unpaid employee source deductions on 2021 wages. The proceeding is active under court file 2203-04703.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates16 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. All of the Companies' assets, including the Property and Birchwood Assets, have been sold and the receivership administration is now substantially complete.

Source: Receiver's Second Report to Court

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to AAA Exchange Edmonton Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Receiver's Closing Certificate to be delivered confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions.

Source: Sale and Vesting Order

#Order

Order pronounced May 3, 2022 placing 608772 Alberta Ltd. into court-appointed receivership, commencing the Alberta proceeding under court file no. 2203-04703.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

608772 Alberta Ltd. Birchwood Auto Body

Receiver

The Bowra Group

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice MahCourt of King's Bench of Alberta4 orders, Jan 202478 cases on record
Justice HillierCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, May 2022 – Jan 202414 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverThe Bowra GroupDentons Canada LLP19 Apr 2024Service list · 19 Apr 2024
CreditorBank of MontrealMcCarthy Tétrault LLP19 Apr 2024Service list · 19 Apr 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredBank of Montreal (BMO) · in 297 casesGeneral security agreement over all present and after-acquired property; first ranking conventional mortgage over the Property (registered Feb 19, 2016); guarantees from 1943969 Alberta Ltd., Darrell Payne, Vera Payne and Brett Payne — Amount owing as of March 3, 2022 plus accruing interest, costs, expenses, and fees; prose also states original Credit Facilities of $2,602,277 loan plus $200,000 operating demand loan and a $40,000 CEBA loan advanced through BMO; personal guarantees from Darrell Payne, Vera Payne and Brett Payne (individuals, not companies); corporate guarantee from 1943969 Albe · as of 3 Mar 2022$2.53MReceiver's First Report to Court
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

2 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Sale closed — All of the Companies' assets have been sold and the administration of the receivership is now substantially complete.Receiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
AAA Exchange Edmonton Ltd.the Debtor's right, title, and interest in and to the lands and equipment described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · assets and shares · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 6 Dec 2023not statedClosed22 Feb 2024Receiver's Second Report to Court
AdvisorsNAI Commercial Real Estate Inc. (sale agent)Receiver's Second Report to Court
Closing termsReceiver's Closing Certificate to be delivered confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditionsSale and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Canada Revenue Agency: a distribution.EstimatedApplication - Interim Distribution · 4 Apr 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Deemed trustCanada Revenue Agency—Estimatedper the receiverApplication - Interim Distribution · 4 Apr 2024
SecuredBank of Montreal—Estimatedper the receiverApplication - Interim Distribution · 4 Apr 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

5 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Dentons Canada LLP, to 5 Mar 2024, in feesReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 4 of 4to 5 Mar 20244 peopleReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024
4 people — Dentons Canada LLP, to 5 Mar 2024 · 12 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Dean Hitesman—
Robert Bothwell—
Kurtis Letwin—
Rhonda Clarke—
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 3 of 41 Nov 2023 – 29 Feb 2024—not statedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 4to 31 Jan 20244 peopleReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024
4 people — Dentons Canada LLP, to 31 Jan 2024 · 12 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Dean Hitesman—
Robert Bothwell—
Kurtis Letwin—
Rhonda Clarke—
Dentons Canada LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 4to 31 Dec 20233 peopleReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024
3 people — Dentons Canada LLP, to 31 Dec 2023 · 9 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Dean Hitesman—
Kurtis Letwin—
Rhonda Clarke—
MNP Ltd.Receiver1 Dec 2023 – 29 Feb 20243 peopleReceiver's Second Report to Court · 25 Mar 2024
3 people — MNP Ltd., 1 Dec 2023 – 29 Feb 2024 · 8 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Kristin GraySenior Vice President—
Steven BarlottManager—
Sofie ParkerInsolvency Administrator—
AdministrationAdministrative—

54 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$1.58M

As at 19 Mar 2024Receiver's Second Report to Court

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
16 filings
DateDocumentFile
Service List
  • Counsel McCarthy Tétrault LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Application - Interim Distribution
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Order for Interim Distribution
  • Presiding officer Justice J. Little
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Commercial CoordinatorPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report to Court
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 22 Feb 2024 · AAA Exchange Edmonton Ltd.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule Subscribers
  • + 10 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application - Approval and Vesting Order
  • Presiding officer Justice D. Mah
PDF · Subscribers
Fee Order
  • Presiding officer Justice D. Mah
PDF · Subscribers
Sale and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Receiver's Closing Certificate to be delivered confirming payment of purchase price and satisfaction of closing conditions
  • Order date 26 January 2024
  • Presiding officer Justice D. Mah
  • Purchaser AAA Exchange Edmonton Ltd. · nominee/assignee its nominee · the Debtor's right, title, and interest in and to the lands and equipment described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice D. Mah
PDF · Subscribers
Certified Title and PPR SearchesPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report to Court
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Brief of LawPDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee The Bowra Group Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 3 May 2022
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application to Appoint Receiver
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee The Bowra Group Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Court COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Michelle MadriggaPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Consent to ActPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “608772 Alberta Ltd. Birchwood Auto Body” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/608772-alberta-ltd-oa-birchwood-auto-body

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/608772-alberta-ltd-oa-birchwood-auto-body

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.