442746 B.C. Ltd.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)Section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 39 of the Law and Equity Act
- File
- S227651
- Industry
- Real estate · Rental & income property
442746 B.C. Ltd. has been in court-appointed receivership since January 31, 2023, when the Supreme Court of British Columbia appointed MNP Ltd. as receiver on the application of First National Financial GP Corporation under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 39 of the Law and Equity Act, in file S-227651. The company's single asset is a three-storey apartment building, carried at an estimated realization of $11,040,000 as at August 1, 2023. First National holds a mortgage and assignment of rents with a balance of $2,968,000 as at January 3, 2023 per Affidavit #1 of Gurkirpal Singh Cheema, exclusive of interest accrued since. Registered behind it are judgments, certificates of pending litigation, a builders lien and a Crown lien held by Allied Alternative Energy, BFI Canada Inc., the City of Vancouver, Harinder Dhillon, Her Majesty The Queen in Right of Canada, Kingsway Paving BC Ltd. and Kumikker Rangi, each in an unknown amount. The company did not provide a list of unsecured creditors. The receivership remains active.
The officer filed report no. Receiver's First Report to Court. The Receiver managed two residential rental properties (Dundas and Triumph), collecting rent and attending to maintenance and insurance matters, until First National's mortgages were redeemed on September 15, 2023, after which the Receiver relinquished control of the Properties and is seeking its discharge.
Supreme Court of British Columbia made a receivership order over 442746 B.C. Ltd. under BIA s. 243 and provincial Judicature Act authority, commencing the proceeding in file S-227651.
Debtor
442746 B.C. Ltd.
Receiver
MNP
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Associate Judge Baker | Supreme Court of British Columbia | 1 order, Aug 2023 | 10 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverMNP | Lawson Lundell LLP | 3 Nov 2023 | Service list · 3 Nov 2023 |
| ApplicantFirst National Financial GP Corporation | Owen Bird Law Corporation | 3 Nov 2023 | Service list · 3 Nov 2023 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | First National Financial GP Corporation · in 7 casesMortgage and assignment of rents — Balance as at January 3, 2023 per Affidavit #1 of Gurkirpal Singh Cheema; does not include interest accrued since that date; table figures in $000's. — debtor: 442746 B.C. Ltd. · as of 3 Jan 2023 | $2.97M | Form 87 |
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured |
7 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.
Every creditor and every amount.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Lawson Lundell LLP, 1 Aug – 30 Sep 2023First Report of Receiver to Court · 23 Oct 2023
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lawson Lundell LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 2 | 1 Aug – 30 Sep 2023 | — | — | not stated | First Report of Receiver to Court · 23 Oct 2023 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Lawson Lundell LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 2 | —Sought | — | not stated | Affidavit #1 of William Roberts · 26 Oct 2023 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| MNP Ltd.Receiver | 4 Jul – 15 Sep 2023Sought | 10 people | First Report of Receiver to Court · 23 Oct 2023 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
10 people — MNP Ltd., 4 Jul – 15 Sep 2023 · 34 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
38 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$107K
As at 18 Oct 2023First Report of Receiver to Court
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Notice of Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit #1 of William Roberts
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit #1 of Doug Chivers
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of Receiver to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Form 87
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Letter to Tenant Receiver of 2200 Dundas Street | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership order entered Aug 1 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “442746 B.C. Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/442746-bc-ltd