0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way GP Ltd. and Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership
Follow- Proceeding
- CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
- File
- S-222758
0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way GP Ltd. and Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership came under the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act on October 27, 2025, when an application was filed in the Supreme Court of British Columbia. The proceeding is carried under court file number S-222758 and remains active. The record for these three related debtors, a company, a general partner and the limited partnership itself, so far consists of the commencement application alone; no subsequent step has been entered on it.
Requisition for the continuation of the DCC application to April 15, 2026 — Notice of hearing
Notice of Application for Sealing Order of Confidential Report — Application / notice of application
Order extending the stay of proceedings to March 31, 2026 was filed.
Source: Order extending the stay of proceedings to March 31, 2026
The officer filed report no. Nineteenth Report. The Companies' remaining activities involve preserving and maintaining the undeveloped Development Property (soil berm remediation, dewatering, security) while the Monitor works to finalize a sale of substantially all assets to Romspen via a credit bid and reverse vesting order, and continues managing the wind-down of presale purchaser claims.
Source: Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
Application filed in the Supreme Court of British Columbia commencing the CCAA proceeding for the three debtors, docketed as court file S-222758.
Source: Notice of Application filed
Order extending stay of proceedings to October 31 2025 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to October 31 2025
The officer filed report no. Eighteenth Report. The Companies are advancing a sale of the Development Property to a Preferred Bidder under a Final Agreement pending Competition Bureau review, while the Monitor moves to disclaim presale agreements and distribute presale deposits and accrued interest.
Source: Eighteenth Report of the Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to June 27, 2025 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to June 27, 2025
The officer filed report no. Monitor's Seventeenth Report to Court. The Companies continue restructuring efforts, focused on completing a sale of the Development Property to a Preferred Bidder, obtaining a new building permit from the City of Richmond, and managing site costs (dewatering, security, site management) during the extended stay period.
The officer filed report no. Sixteenth Report. The Companies continue to hold the vacant Development Property while pursuing a new building permit, resolving a contractor's lien, and marketing the property for sale under a court-approved sale process, funded by DIP financing.
Source: Sixteenth Report of the Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to January 31, 2025 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to January 31, 2025
The officer filed report no. Fifteenth Report. The Companies' Development Property remains in a pre-construction state pending issuance of a building permit, with the Monitor overseeing a shoring/dewatering system and a sale process to market the property to prospective purchasers.
Source: Fifteenth Report of the Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to November 22, 2024 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to November 22, 2024
The officer filed report no. Fourteenth Report. The Companies continue to hold the undeveloped Development Property in Richmond, BC under CCAA protection, pursuing a new building permit, stabilizing a temporary shoring system, and preparing to launch a sale and investment solicitation process for the property.
Source: Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings and Interim financing was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings and Interim financing
The officer filed report no. Thirteenth Report. The Companies' development property remains under a temporary shoring system being monitored daily, a new building permit application is under City review, and the Monitor is preparing to recommence a sale process for the property once financing and permit issues are resolved.
Source: Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to March 1, 2024 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to March 1, 2024
Order extending stay of proceedings to December 1, 2023 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to December 1, 2023
Order extending stay of proceedings to September 29, 2023 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to September 29, 2023
Order extending stay of proceedings to February 24, 2023 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to February 24, 2023
Order extending stay of proceedings to December 9, 2022 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to December 9, 2022
Requisition resetting the application of the Petitioners to August 19, 2022 — Application / notice of application
Application Response of GEC to the Petitioners NOA filed August 17, 2022 (returnable August 19, 2022) — Response / objection pleading
The stay of proceedings was extended to 2022-10-07.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to October 7, 2022
Order extending stay of proceedings to October 7, 2022 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to October 7, 2022
Application Response of Romspen to the Petitioners NOA filed August 10, 2022 (returnable August 11, 2022) — Response / objection pleading
Notice of Application of Romspen filed August 9 2022 returnable August 11 2022 — Application / notice of application
Notice of Application of the Petitioners filed August 8, 2022 (returnable August 11, 2022) — Application / notice of application
Order extending stay of proceedings to August 12, 2022 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to August 12, 2022
Notice of Application filed July 20, 2022 (returnable July 22, 2022) — Application / notice of application
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2022-06-22.
Source: SISP Order
The stay of proceedings was extended to 2022-08-03.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to August 3, 2022 and replacement of Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to August 3, 2022 and replacement of Monitor was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to August 3, 2022 and replacement of Monitor
Order extending stay of proceedings to April 25, 2022 was filed.
Source: Order extending stay of proceedings to April 25, 2022
Notice of Application filed April 6, 2022 (returnable April 11, 2022) — Application / notice of application
Debtor
0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way GP Ltd. and Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership
Monitor
MNP
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Fitzpatrick | Supreme Court of British Columbia | 23 orders, Apr 2022 – Apr 2026 | 49 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applicant0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way GP Ltd. and Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership | Dentons Canada LLP · Kornfeld LLP · McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 25 Sep 2023 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| ApplicantMcCarthy TétraultLLP | McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 25 Sep 2023 | Application · 25 Sep 2023 |
| Creditor0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership and Alderbridge Way GP Ltd | Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorAyman Khaled Rafiq Mahmoud | Bridgehouse Law LLP | 22 Feb 2024 | Application · 22 Feb 2024 |
| CreditorCIBT Education Group Inc., GEC Education City (Richmond) Limited Partnership and GEC | Harper Grey LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorCIBT Education Group Inc., GEC Education City (Richmond) Limited Partnership and GEC (Richmond) GP Inc | Miller Thomson LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorCity of Richmond | Clark Wilson LLP | 25 Sep 2023 | Application · 25 Sep 2023 |
| CreditorJV Driver International, J.V. Driver Inc. And 1185678 B.C. Ltd | McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorMetro-Can Construction (AT) Ltd | McLean & Armstrong LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorOnni Group | Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP · Sampson Davie Fane Volpiana LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorR. Jay Management Ltd. and MNB Enterprises Inc | Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| CreditorRomspen Investment Corporation | Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP | 2 Apr 2026 | Service list · 2 Apr 2026 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Romspen Investment Corporation · in 16 casesFirst-ranking mortgage and assignment of rents over the Real Property, registered principal amount $422,000,000 (Romspen Mortgage); beneficial direction and charge agreement; personal property security agreements from Petitioners and Guarantors; share and unit pledges; guarantees from Gatland Development Corporation, REV Holdings Ltd., REV Investments Inc., South Street Development Managers Ltd., South Street (Alderbridge) Limited Partnership, and personal guarantees from Samuel Hanson and Brent Hanson (directors/related parties). — Senior secured construction lender; suspended draws March 202 · as of 10 Feb 2021 | $158M | Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022) |
| 4 | Secured | Global Education City (Richmond) Limited Partnership (GEC), guaranteed by CIBT Education Group Inc.Third-ranking mortgage against the Real Property, registered principal amount $65,000,000 (GEC Mortgage), granted in connection with the GEC PDA Deposit. — GEC Demand dated June 9, 2021 states full amount owing under GEC Mortgage was $94,106,654.14 as at June 8, 2021, with interest at 15% per annum; this is the exact dated demand figure used as amount. GEC PDA Deposit of $60,000,000 paid as of Nov 1, 2019 was utilized to advance the Development. Summary table (p.16) separately lists (not summed): deposit/principal $60,000,000 as at July 7, 2021 and interest $35,214,147.67 as at July 7, 2021 (d · as of 8 Jun 2021 | $94.1M | Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022) |
| 4 | Secured | 2ML Lenders (R. Jay Management Ltd., J.V. Driver Investments Inc., MNB Enterprises Inc., G. Wong Holdings Inc., Gatland Development Corporation, REV Investments Inc., Voth Developments Ltd., Inland CoSecond-ranking mortgage and assignment of rents over the Real Property, registered principal amount $60,000,000 (2ML Mortgage); beneficial direction and charge agreement; guarantees from the Guarantors, with limited guarantees from G. Wong Holdings Inc. and MNB Enterprises Inc. — Second-lien lenders; related parties — current 2ML Lenders are unitholders of the LP or entities associated with unitholders of the LP. Document states total of 'approximately $76.7 million' (para 46), comprising principal claimed $47,528,816 and interest/other amounts $29,163,939 (including $1,187,755 in fees and cos · as of 31 Jan 2022 | $76.7M | Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022) |
| 4 | Secured | City of Richmond (property tax arrears) · in 5 casesStatutory property tax lien on the Real Property. — Property taxes due and owing on the Real Property for the years 2020 and 2021, as of March 3, 2022. — debtor: 0989705 B.C. Ltd. (registered owner of the Real Property) · as of 3 Mar 2022 | $1.67M | Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022) |
| 5 | PMSI / lessors | PPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) · in 183 casesRegistered financing statement over certain equipment at the British Columbia Personal Property Registry. — Document states Petitioners have 'one further secured creditor with a registered financing statement related to certain equipment' at the BC PPSA registry; amount not stated. — debtor: Petitioners | — | Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022) |
“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.
Liquidation in progress — The Monitor, taking into consideration the foregoing, is of the view that the Sale Process must be further extended in order for prospective parties to engage with Romspen.Fifteenth Report of the Monitor · 19 Nov 2024
Unsecured creditors: no distribution.Notice of Application (AVO) · 13 Feb 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | Companies' subordinate creditors | — | no distribution | — | Notice of Application (AVO) · 13 Feb 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
As at 31 Dec 2020 · per Unaudited (Management-prepared, not audited or verified by the Proposed Monitor) · Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership only (reflects LP's beneficial ownership of the Property and corresponding liabilities); the GP and 098 do not produce separate financial statements as all assets/liabilities are recorded under the LP — Assets: Cash $0.1M, Trust (pre-sale) deposits $49.3M, Deferred management fees $3.4M, Construction in progress $298.6M. Liabilities: Accounts payable/accrued liabilities $83.4M, Other mortgages payable (CIBT deposit) $60.0M, Mortgages payable (Romspen + 2ML, at original principal value) $199.4M. Partners' capital as of Dec 30, 2020 was $8.5 million.
Cumulative receipts
$7.16M
As at 28 Oct 2025Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
Cumulative disbursements
$485K
As at 28 Oct 2025Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
Cash on hand
$7.29M
As at 13 Feb 2026Twentieth Report of the Monitor
Professional fees to date
$147K
As at 28 Oct 2025Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Entered Approval and Vesting Order | ||
Order Made After Application
| ||
| Requisition for the continuation of the DCC application to April 15, 2026 | ||
| Requisition (continuation of DCC application) | ||
Sealing Order
| ||
Service List
| ||
Order extending the stay of proceedings to March 31, 2026
| ||
Order Made After Application (Sealing Order)
| ||
| Written Submissions of the Petitioner and Guarantors | ||
| Notice of Application for Sealing Order of Confidential Report | ||
| Affidavit #2 of Morgan Glover | ||
| Written Submissions of GEC | ||
| Written Submissions of Romspen Investment Corporation | ||
| Written Submissions of the Monitor - RVO Approval | ||
| Affidavit #1 of Pavlakovic | ||
| Affidavit #7 of J. Austen | ||
| Affidavit #6 of J. Austen (without exhibits) | ||
| Monitor's Reply to Application Response | ||
| Affidavit #1 of K. Apan | ||
| Application Response Alderbridge | ||
| Application Response Onni Group (AVO) | ||
| Application Response Onni Group (DCC) | ||
| Application Response Onni Group (Sealing Order) | ||
| Application Response Romspen Investment Corp | ||
| Application Response of GEC (Richmond) GP Inc. | ||
| Affidavit #1 of Jennifer Betsayda Filed | ||
Notice of Application (AVO)
| ||
Notice of Application (DCC)
| ||
| Notice of Application (Sealing Order) | ||
Twentieth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Nineteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Notice of Application filed
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to June 27, 2025
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to October 31 2025
| ||
| Affidavit 1 of Joey Law filed June 24 2025 | ||
Eighteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to May 2, 2025
| ||
Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to January 31, 2025
| ||
| Notice of Application | ||
Sixteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to November 22, 2024
| ||
Fifteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Notice of Application November 19, 2024 | ||
Order made after Application (Sale Process)
| ||
| Application Response July 31, 2024 | ||
Supplemental Report to the Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Notice of Application July 26 2024 | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings and Interim financing
| ||
| Notice of Application (May 28, 2024) | ||
Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to March 1, 2024
| ||
Notice of Application (February 22, 2024)
| ||
| Twelfth Report of the Monitor | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to December 1, 2023
| ||
| Notice of Application (November 23, 2023) | ||
| Eleventh Report of the Monitor | ||
Order substituting MNP Ltd. as Monitor of 0989705 B.C. Ltd.
| ||
Justice Fitzpatrick - Reasons for Judgement
| ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to September 29, 2023
| ||
Order lifting stay of proceedings
| ||
| Affidavit #1 of S. Danielisz (made September 25, 2023) | ||
Notice of Application (September 25, 2023)
| ||
| Notice of Application (September 22, 2023) | ||
| Tenth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Ninth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Affidavit #1 of B. Olson (filed July 26, 2023) | ||
| Affidavit #4 of G. Thom (filed July 26, 2023) | ||
| Application Response (July 26, 2023) | ||
| Application Response (July 26, 2023) 2 | ||
| Affidavit #1 of J. Austen (filed June 28, 2023) | ||
| Notice of Application (June 28, 2023) | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to June 2, 2023
| ||
| Eighth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Notice of Application May 26 2023 | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to February 24, 2023
| ||
| Notice of Application (February 22, 2023) | ||
| Seventh Report of the Monitor | ||
| Amended Notice of Application (December 16, 2022) | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to December 9, 2022
| ||
| Notice of Application (December 7, 2022) | ||
| Notice of Application (December 7, 2022) 2 | ||
| Sixth Report of the Monitor | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to October 7, 2022
| ||
| Supplemental Report to the Fifth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Notice of Application (October 5, 2022) | ||
| Fifth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Requisition resetting the application of the Petitioners to August 19, 2022 | ||
| Application Response of GEC to the Petitioners NOA filed August 17, 2022 (returnable August 19, 2022) | Trustee site | |
| Affidavit #1 of J. Ratzlaff (filed August 16, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #1 of O. Shaporenko (filed August 16, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #2 of B. Diaz (filed August 16, 2022) | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to August 12, 2022
| ||
| Requisition for August 11, 2022 hearing date | ||
| Application Response of Romspen to the Petitioners NOA filed August 10, 2022 (returnable August 11, 2022) | Trustee site | |
| Affidavit #2 of W. Roitman (filed August 9, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #3 of J. Alambre (filed August 9, 2022) | ||
| Fourth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Notice of Application of Romspen filed August 9 2022 returnable August 11 2022 | ||
Order sealing the Monitor's Supplemental Report to the Fourth Report to Court dated August 9, 2022
| ||
| Affidavit #1 of Belinda Diaz (filed August 8, 2022) | ||
| Notice of Application of the Petitioners filed August 8, 2022 (returnable August 11, 2022) | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to August 3, 2022 and replacement of Monitor
| ||
| Requisition for July 22, 2022 hearing date | ||
| Notice of Application filed July 20, 2022 (returnable July 22, 2022) | ||
Third Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Affidavit #1 of A. Arenas (filed April 25, 2022) | ||
Order extending stay of proceedings to April 25, 2022
| ||
| Requisition for April 25, 2022 hearing date | ||
SISP Order
| ||
Second Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Affidavit #3 of G. Thom (filed April 22, 2022) | ||
| Requisition for April 11, 2022 hearing date | ||
| First Report of the Monitor | ||
| Notice of Application filed April 6, 2022 (returnable April 11, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #1 of G. Thom (filed April 1, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #1 of J. Alambre (filed April 1, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #2 of G. Thom (filed April 1, 2022) | ||
| Affidavit #2 of J. Alambre (filed April 1, 2022) | ||
| Filed Petition response of Romspen (April 1, 2022) | ||
Filed Petition to the Court (April 1, 2022)
| ||
Initial CCAA Order
| ||
| List of Creditors as at April 1, 2022 | ||
| Sealing Order (Affidavit No. 2 of G. Thom and Affidavit No. 2 of J. Alambre) | ||
Affidavit 1 of W Roitman filed April 1 2022
| ||
First Report of the Proposed Monitor
| ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “0989705 B.C. Ltd., Alderbridge Way GP Ltd. and Alderbridge Way Limited Partnership” (CCAA), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/0989705-bc-ltd-alderbridge-way-gp-ltd-and-alderbridge-way-limited-partnership