Wolverine Energy & Infrastructure Inc.
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, and 66(7) of the Personal Property Security Act
- File
- 2301-16371
Wolverine Energy & Infrastructure Inc. is in a court-appointed receivership in Alberta, commenced on December 8, 2023, when the Court of King's Bench of Alberta pronounced a receivership order under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The proceeding is carried on the Court of King's Bench of Alberta docket as court file number 2301-16371. The record shows no further steps since the appointment, and the proceeding remains active.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
83 earlier updates, back to 8 December 2023 — subscribers.
Debtor
Wolverine Energy & Infrastructure Inc.
Receiver
FTI
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Simard | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 6 orders, Dec 2025 | 25 cases on record |
| Justice Yamauchi | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Apr 2024 | 28 cases on record |
| Justice Jeffrey | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Jan 2024 | 37 cases on record |
| Justice Neilson | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Dec 2023 | 44 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverFTI | Torys LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| Creditor1827897 AB Ltd. (Fort St. John Property), Neil Hart and Robert Craig | KMSC Law LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorAgent for Dale Croswell Construction Co. Ltd | Shores Jardine LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorAlberta Investment Management Corporation | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorAssociated Aggregates Inc | McLennan Ross LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorCanadian Western Bank | McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorEmail to Counsel | Witten LLP | 16 Jul 2024 | Application · 16 Jul 2024 |
| CreditorFiera Private Debt Fund V LP and Fiera Private Debut Fund VI LP | Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| CreditorNorthern Cross Oilfield Services Inc | McCuaig Desrochers LLP | 15 Jan 2024 | Service list · 15 Jan 2024 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | Fiera (Fiera Private Debt Fund or affiliate) · in 2 casesDescribed as 'the other primary secured creditor of certain of the Debtors'; amount stated as approximate ('owed approximately $54 million'); supports the receivership application — debtor: certain of the Debtors | $54M | Supplemental Affidavit of Rod Randall |
This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
6 transactions · 5 closed · 1 approved — Proposed Share Sale of the Fleet Shares to Fleet Energy Ltd., recommended for approvalSixth Report of the Receiver · 11 Feb 2025
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| McDougall Auctioneers Ltd.the Assets as described in the Agreement attached as Appendix B to the Confidential Supplemental Report · auction · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 2 Apr 2024 | Subscribers | Approved25 Apr 2024 | Auction Approval and Vesting Order (Sale of… |
| auction purchasers under Auction Services Agreement with McDougall, unnamedall the assets of the Debtors · auction | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Fourth Report of the Receiver |
| Fleet Energy Ltd.Wolverine Energy and Infrastructure Inc.'s Fleet Shares · share sale | Subscribers | Closed26 Feb 2025 | Receiver's Certificate (Sale of Fleet Shares) |
| Fiera Private Debt Fund V LP and Fiera Private Debt Fund VI LPthe GIP Shares · asset sale | Subscribers | Closeddate not stated | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary… |
| end purchasers at auction, unnamedthe Company's Property · auction | Subscribers | Closed | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary… |
| unnamedthe majority of the Wolverine Group's assets | not stated | Closed28 Jun 2024 | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary… |
Service Canada: paid in full.FinalTrustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration · 12 Mar 2025
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WEPPA | Service Canada | — | paid in full | Finalper the receiver | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration · 12 Mar 2025 |
| Secured | Canadian Western Bank (CWB) | — | shortfall | Finalper the receiver | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration · 12 Mar 2025 |
| Secured | Fiera Private Debt Fund V LP and Fiera Private Debt Fund VI LP | — | shortfall | Finalper the receiver | Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration · 12 Mar 2025 |
| PMSI / lessor | Brandt | — | a distribution | per the receiver | Fourth Report of the Receiver · 16 Jul 2024 |
| PMSI / lessor | John Deere | — | a distribution | per the receiver | Fourth Report of the Receiver · 16 Jul 2024 |
| PMSI / lessor | Peplinski | — | a distribution | per the receiver | Fourth Report of the Receiver · 16 Jul 2024 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Order (HD Energy Rentals Ltd)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Liberty Energy Services Ltd)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Western Canadian Mulching Ltd)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Wolverine Construction Inc)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Wolverine Energy & Infrastructure)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Wolverine Equipment Inc)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Reply Brief of the Trustee
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Jesse Douglas as sworn on October 28, 2025 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Nikolaus Kiefer as sworn on October 28, 2025 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of the Respodents | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law | PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Trustee | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order(Closing the Chapter 15 Case) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Final Report and Motion to Close | PDF · Subscribers | |
Trustee's Report to Creditors on Preliminary Administration
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - HD Energy Rentals Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - Liberty Energy Services Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - Western Canadian Mulching Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - Wolverine Construction Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - Wolverine Energy and Infrastructure Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors - Wolverine Equipment Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - HD Energy Rentals Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - Liberty Energy Services Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - Western Canadian Mulching Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - Wolverine Construction Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - Wolverine Energy and Infrastructure Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim (Form 31) - Wolverine Equipment Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - HD Energy Rentals Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - Liberty Energy Services Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - Western Canadian Mulching Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - Wolverine Construction Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - Wolverine Energy and Infrastructure Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proxy (Form 36) - Wolverine Equipment Inc. | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Certificate (Sale of Fleet Shares)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approval and Vesting Order)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order (Bankruptcy) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order (Restricted Court Access) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application (Bankruptcy Order, Sale of Fleet Energy Shares, Restricted Court Access Order and other relief)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sixth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Transfer of GIP Shares)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application (Transfer of GIP Shares)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Interim Distribution)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit (D. Tiley) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental Report to the Fourth Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application (Interim Distribution)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Auction Approval and Vesting Order (Sale of Assets)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Return of Equipment)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Restricted Court Access Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (Auction Approval and Vesting Order, Restricted Court Access Order, Return of Equipment) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Recognition Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Recognition Hearing on Foreign Main Proceeding | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order Granting Complex Case Treatment | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order Granting Foreign Rep's Emergency Mtn for Provisional Relief | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order Scheduling Recognition Hearing and Specifying Form and Manner of Service of Notice | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Emg Motion for Order Scheduling Recognition Hearing with Proposed Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Emg Motion for Provisional Relief with Proposed Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Form 401 Petition | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Chapter 15 Proceeding | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Designation as Complex Case with Proposed Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supporting Declaration of Dustin Olver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supporting Declaration of Kyle Kashuba | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Verfied Petition with Proposed Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Approval of SISP, Actions, Conduct and Activities of Receiver, Sale of Surplus Assets)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Phase I Bid Requirements | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application (Approval of SISP Actions)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to the Service List encl. Application materials - January 15, 2024 in respect of January 23, 2024 hearing
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of filing - Application (Approval of SISP Actions) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Proof of filing - First Report of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Confidentiality Agreement - Template | PDF · Subscribers | |
SISP Procedure
| PDF · Subscribers | |
SISP Teaser
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit #2 of Rod Randall, sworn December 21, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (Advice and Directions) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Exhibits to Affidavit #2 of Rod Randall | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Advice and Direction)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order (Advice and Directions) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice and Statement of Receiver with Creditor Listing | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Consent Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Consent to Act as Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Affidavit of Rod Randall
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Wolverine Energy & Infrastructure Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/wolverine-energy-infrastructure-inc