Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc. entered bankruptcy under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act in Quebec on November 12, 2025, and the proceeding remains active. The list of known creditors puts estimated debts, secured and unsecured and including intercompany accounts, at $3,471,516 as at that date; total assets are not stated. Secured claims are carried at nominal amounts. The Statement of Affairs records a landlord that made furniture, fixtures and equipment loans to the companies, holding a registered movable hypothec, and, against Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc., a registrant holding a movable hypothec over leased vehicles, each entered at $1.00. The creditor list for Sonder Canada Inc. likewise records Prime Properties Inc., Silicon Valley Bank and Trade Square 300 Inc. at $1.00 each.
Claims processIf you are owed money
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to UpNext Ventures Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: vesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's certificate confirming payment of the purchase price and satisfaction/waiver of conditions. Sealed: Purchase Agreement (redacted excerpts) and Report Appendix A.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Nester and Finn Leases Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of Purchased Assets and assignment of Assigned Leases occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate, conditional on execution and delivery of the Purchase Agreement, payment of the Purchase Price, and satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions. Sealed: Purchase Agreement filed under seal, emails and revised proposals filed as Exhibits R-6.
The leases went in December, the furniture with them, and by January the bankrupt Canadian Sonder entities had nothing material left but domain names and trademarks. Selling them meant running a solicitation process the estates' own inspectors were disqualified from touching — because the party they represent was one of the bidders the trustee intended to approach.
Parties
Debtor
Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc.
Trustee in bankruptcy
EY
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
#
Priority class
Creditor
Amount
Source
4
Secured
Trade Square 300 Inc.Nominal estimated debt amount as stated in creditor list; unclear if reflects actual balance — debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. · as of 12 Nov 2025
$1
Sonder Canada Inc. - Updated Creditors List
4
Secured
Silicon Valley Bank · in 4 casesNominal estimated debt amount as stated in creditor list; unclear if reflects actual balance — debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. · as of 12 Nov 2025
$1
Sonder Canada Inc. - Updated Creditors List
4
Secured
Prime Properties Inc. · in 3 casesNominal estimated debt amount as stated in creditor list; unclear if reflects actual balance — debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. · as of 12 Nov 2025
$1
Sonder Canada Inc. - Updated Creditors List
8
Unsecured
Landlords (rent arrears, aggregate as reported) · in 5 casesas of date of the bankruptcy (November 12, 2025) — Comprised of $5.5M relating to the 16 leases in the property table, $1.6M owed to the landlord of the Debtors' office premises (expected to be satisfied via drawn letters of credit), and $2.9M owed to landlords of former terminated properties; components not summed by document into a single figure, individual landlords not named. — debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc.
$10M
Trustee's Report to the Creditors on Preliminary Administration
8
Unsecured
Unsecured creditors (proofs of claim received, aggregate) · in 532 casesas of date of this report (November 30, 2025) — Represents proofs of claim filed, not a Statement of Affairs reported total; document notes some proofs are individually materially different from Statement of Affairs amounts, though overall not materially affecting total declared liabilities. Claims not yet reviewed for nature, quantum or priority. — debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc.
$1.91M
Trustee's Report to the Creditors on Preliminary Administration
Nester and Finn Leases Inc.the Debtor's rights and obligations under the leases described in Schedule A hereto (the Assigned Leases and each an Assigned Lease) and ... the other purchased assets described in the Purchase Agreement consisting notably of furniture, fixtures and other equipment related to the locations subject to the Assigned Leases (the FF&E and, collectively with the Assigned Leases, the Purchased Assets) · asset sale
referred to only as 'the purchaser' in this transcript; Proposed Purchaser identified elsewhere as UpNext Ventures Inc.the sale of 73 domain names, 51 registered trademarks, and the Debtors' rights and interests in any other intellectual property identified in Schedule B of the Purchase Agreement · asset sale
Closing termsvesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's certificate confirming payment of the purchase price and satisfaction/waiver of conditionsApproval and Vesting Order
Sealed materialsPurchase Agreement filed under seal; emails and revised proposals filed as Exhibits R-6; Purchase Agreement (redacted excerpts) and Report Appendix AApproval, Vesting and Assignment Order
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total liabilities at filing$3.47M
As at 12 Nov 2025 · per Estimated debts per list of known creditors · Sonder Canada Inc. (Debtors, including intercompany accounts per document) — Figure represents 'Total créances estimatives / Total estimated debts' (secured + unsecured) from the creditor list; total assets not stated on this page.
Documents
13 filings
Date
Document
File
Approval and Vesting Order
Closing termsvesting occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's certificate confirming payment of the purchase price and satisfaction/waiver of conditions
Order date6 July 2026
PurchaserUpNext Ventures Inc. · the Purchased Assets · asset sale · price sealed · approved
Sale outcomeSale approved — the Transaction is hereby approved
Process results10 NDAs · 3 bids · as of 29 May 2026
Purchaserreferred to only as 'the purchaser' in this transcript; Proposed Purchaser identified elsewhere as UpNext Ventures Inc. · the sale of 73 domain names, 51 registered trademarks, and the Debtors' rights and interests in any other intellectual property identified in Schedule B of the Purchase Agreement · asset sale · price sealed · approved
Sale outcomeSale approved — The Court will sign the requested approval and vesting order approving the Proposed Transaction with the purchaser
Closing termsVesting of Purchased Assets and assignment of Assigned Leases occurs upon issuance of the Trustee's Certificate, conditional on execution and delivery of the Purchase Agreement, payment of the Purchase Price, and satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions.
Order date23 December 2025
PurchaserNester and Finn Leases Inc. · the Debtor's rights and obligations under the leases described in Schedule A hereto (the Assigned Leases and each an Assigned Lease) and ... the other purchased assets described in the Purchase Agreement consisting notably of furniture, fixtures and other equipment related to the locations subject to the Assigned Leases (the FF&E and, collectively with the Assigned Leases, the Purchased Assets) · asset sale · price sealed · approved
Sale outcomeSale approved — Transaction approved and vesting/assignment authorized upon issuance of Trustee's Certificate
Sale outcomeSale closed — the Purchase Agreement has been executed and delivered; the Purchase Price has been paid; and all conditions to closing have been satisfied or waived
Trustee's Report to the Creditors on Preliminary Administration
Secured creditors$1 · Note: Reflected in Statement of Affairs for an indicative amount of $1.00; actual claim amount not stated. Related-party/landlord security interest, not an ordinary institutional lender. · Page: 10 · As of: Statement of Affairs · Debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc. · Creditor: Unnamed landlord (registered security holder on FF&E) · Security: Movable hypothec registered on FF&E financed via loans made to the Companies
Unsecured creditors$10M · Note: Comprised of $5.5M relating to the 16 leases in the property table, $1.6M owed to the landlord of the Debtors' office premises (expected to be satisfied via drawn letters of credit), and $2.9M owed to landlords of former terminated properties; components not summed by document into a single figure, individual landlords not named. · Page: 4 · As of: date of the bankruptcy (November 12, 2025) · Basis: Approximate figure based on the Debtors' books and records, as reported by the Trustee · Debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc. · Creditor: Landlords (rent arrears, aggregate as reported)
Financial positionLiabilities $3.47M · as at 12 Nov 2025 · per Estimated debts per list of known creditors · Sonder Canada Inc. (Debtors, including intercompany accounts per document) — Figure represents 'Total créances estimatives / Total estimated debts' (secured + unsecured) from the creditor list; total assets not stated on this page.
Secured creditors$1 · Note: Nominal estimated debt amount as stated in creditor list; unclear if reflects actual balance · Page: 1 · As of: 2025-11-12 · Debtor: Sonder Canada Inc. · Creditor: Trade Square 300 Inc.
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Sonder Canada Inc. and Hospitalité Sonder Canada Inc.” (Bankruptcy), Superior Court of Québec. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/sonder-canada-inc-and-hospitalit-sonder-canada-inc
Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/sonder-canada-inc-and-hospitalit-sonder-canada-inc
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.