The officer filed report no. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor. ROGI has completed the sale of its remaining oil and gas working interests and distributed most proceeds to Debenture Holders; it is now winding down its CCAA proceedings, settling remaining liabilities and preparing a Final Distribution before seeking discharge of the Monitor, CIO and Debenture Holders' Committee.
Rogers Oil & Gas Inc
Follow- Proceeding
- CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
- File
- 1101-11261
Rogers Oil & Gas Inc remains in active insolvency proceedings before the Court of King's Bench of Alberta under file 1101-11261, commenced August 17, 2011, with Ernst & Young Inc. acting as Monitor. A plan was implemented May 24, 2013, and the Monitor's schedule of distributions records opening claims as at that date of $581,314 for Class 1 debenture holders, $6,523,504 for Class 2 and $13,140,936 for Classes 3 through 6, all unsecured. Under the Alternative Plan Scheme of Distribution, Class 1 takes 60% of distributions, Class 2 takes 32% and Classes 3 through 6 share 8%. As at November 28, 2014 the ending claims stood at $288,624, $6,367,403 and $13,101,910 respectively.
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
Per the Application - Stay Extension & Claims Process dated 16 April 2012.
The officer filed report no. Fifteenth Report. ROGI's proposed acquisition by Abby has collapsed due to Abby's unrectified forward stock split, and ROGI is now seeking court approval to terminate the Abby Plan and implement the Alternative Plan under the Master Plan, distributing net revenue from its oil and gas working interests to Affected Creditors.
The officer filed report no. Fourteenth Report. ROGI continues efforts to implement its CCAA plan of arrangement pending resolution of a material adverse change (Abby's forward stock split) affecting the Abby Transaction, and is seeking a stay extension to January 31, 2013 to allow this to be resolved.
The officer filed report no. Thirteenth Report. The report addresses a material adverse change to the Abby acquisition of ROGI arising from an undisclosed 5:1 forward stock split by Abby that dilutes the Debenture Holders' expected ownership, and describes ROGI's options including terminating the Abby Transaction or renegotiating it, alongside a note on charges against Abby's legal counsel.
The officer filed report no. Twelfth Report. ROGI is working to complete remaining steps (rectification order compliance, audit of 2011 financials, and finalizing agreement with Abby Inc.) to implement its sanctioned Plan, and is seeking a stay extension to December 28, 2012 to do so.
A receivership order was granted, on the application of Rogers Oil & Gas Inc.. Court file 1101-11261.
Source: Appointment Order
The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2012-01-27.
Source: Application - 3rd Stay Extension, SISP & Related Party Records
Affidavit of John Rogers - Stay Ext, SISP & Related Party Records — Sale process approval order
Court officer report filed at commencement of the Alberta proceedings under file 1101-11261, with Ernst & Young Inc. acting as Monitor.
Debtor
Rogers Oil & Gas Inc
Monitor
EY
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Yamauchi | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 4 orders, Nov 2011 – Oct 2012 | 28 cases on record |
| Justice Romaine | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Apr 2012 | 66 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| MonitorEY | Nortonrose LLP · Norton Rose Canada LLP (now Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP) Previously Macleod Dixon LLP (last seen 23 Nov 2011; now Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP) | 1 Sep 2011 | Order · 15 Aug 2012 |
| ApplicantRogers Oil & Gas Inc | Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP (now Dentons Canada LLP) | 23 Nov 2011 | Service list · 23 Nov 2011 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unsecured | Debenture Holders (Class 3-6) · in 3 casesas of Plan Implementation Date (May 24, 2013) — Unsecured debenture holders; Classes 3-6 receive 8% of distributions under Alternative Plan Scheme of Distribution; ending claim as at November 28, 2014 was $13,101,910 — debtor: Rogers Oil & Gas Inc. | $13.1M | 16. Sixteenth Report of the Monitor |
| Unsecured | Debenture Holders (Class 2) · in 3 casesas of Plan Implementation Date (May 24, 2013) — Unsecured debenture holders; Class 2 receives 32% of distributions under Alternative Plan Scheme of Distribution; ending claim as at November 28, 2014 was $6,367,403 — debtor: Rogers Oil & Gas Inc. | $6.52M | 16. Sixteenth Report of the Monitor |
| Unsecured | Debenture Holders (Class 1) · in 3 casesas of Plan Implementation Date (May 24, 2013) — Unsecured debenture holders; Class 1 receives 60% of distributions under Alternative Plan Scheme of Distribution; ending claim as at November 28, 2014 was $288,624 — debtor: Rogers Oil & Gas Inc. | $581K | 16. Sixteenth Report of the Monitor |
3 transactions · 1 proposed · 1 approved · 1 closed — ROGI closed the sale of its Oil and Gas Interests in accordance with the APA and collected proceeds of $2.15 million from the sale17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor · 15 Dec 2015
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abby Inc.the transaction with Abby Inc. as described in ROGI's plan of arrangement · share sale | not stated | Proposed | 12. Twelfth Report of the Monitor |
| Spartan Energy Corp.the purchase and sale of the Assets · asset sale | SealedSale Agreement attached to sealed Confidential Supplemental Report; price not stated in this document | Approved16 Dec 2014 | Order |
| unnamed third party oil and gas company, referred to as "the Purchaser"the Oil and Gas Interests including the associated mineral rights, surface leases, pipelines and a blending facility · asset sale | $2amount stated as $2.15 million in text; report says 'collected proceeds of $2.15 million from the sale' | Closeddate not stated | 17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor |
Series 1 Debenture Holders: paid in full.Final17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor · 15 Dec 2015
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | Series 1 Debenture Holders | — | paid in full | Finalper the monitor | 17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor · 15 Dec 2015 |
| Secured | Series 2 Debenture Holders | — | a distributionfinalconditional | Under the plansanctionedper the monitor | 17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor · 15 Dec 2015 |
| Secured | Series 3 to 6 Debenture Holders | — | a distributionfinalconditional | Under the plansanctionedper the monitor | 17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor · 15 Dec 2015 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
Cumulative receipts
$2.67M
As at 15 Dec 201517. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
Cumulative disbursements
$2.8M
As at 15 Dec 201517. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
Cash on hand
$139K
As at 15 Dec 201517. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
Professional fees to date
$421K
As at 15 Dec 201517. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
17. Seventeenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order
| ||
16. Sixteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Order - Alternative Plan Implementation | ||
15. Fifteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
14. Fourteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
13. Thirteenth Report of the Monitor
| ||
12. Twelfth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order - ASC Investigation Order
| ||
Order - Rectification Order
| ||
11. Eleventh Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Affidavit of Jerri Beauchamp - Rectification | ||
| Affidavit of John Rogers - Rectification | ||
Order - Plan Sanction Order
| ||
| 10. Tenth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Order - Amended Creditors' Meeting | ||
| 9. Ninth Report of the Monitor | ||
| Creditors Meeting Order | ||
| 8. Eighth Report of the Monitor | ||
Order - Stay Extension
| ||
Order - Sixth Stay Extension
| ||
| 6. Sixth Report of the Monitor | ||
Service List - Current to
| ||
| Proof of Claim | ||
| ROGI - Letter to Creditors re. Claim - v1 | ||
Application - Stay Extension & Claims Process
| ||
Appointment Order
| ||
| Claims Procedure Order | ||
Order - Fifth Stay Extension
| ||
| 5. Fifth Report of the Monitor | ||
Order - Fourth Stay Extension
| ||
4. Fourth Report of the Monitor
| ||
Order - Third Stay Extension
| ||
Application - 3rd Stay Extension, SISP & Related Party Records
| ||
Service List - 3rd Stay Extension, SISP & Related Party Records
| ||
3. Third Report of the Monitor
| ||
| Affidavit of John Rogers - Stay Ext, SISP & Related Party Records | ||
| Application - Second Stay Extension & Committee | ||
Order - Second Stay Extension and Committee
| ||
| 2. Second Report of the Monitor | ||
| Affidavit of John Rogers - Stay Extension & Committee, sworn | ||
| Application - First Stay Extension & DIP Financing | ||
| Order - DIP Financing | ||
| Order - First Stay Extension | ||
Service Schedule - Application
| ||
| 1. First Report of the Monitor | ||
| Affidavit of John Rogers - Stay Extension & DIP, sworn | ||
| Notice to Creditors | ||
Initial Order
| ||
| Rogers Oil and Gas - Creditors listing | ||
| 0. Proposed Monitor's Report | ||
| Affidavit of John Rogers, sworn | ||
Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.
CiteProceedings., “Rogers Oil & Gas Inc” (CCAA), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/rogers-oil-gas-inc