Proceedings.

Richmond Medical Centre Inc. and I Lov This Place 11 Inc.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Bankruptcysection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act
File
CV-22-00001571-0000
Filings held9
Last activity4 Dec 2024
On the record1,382 days
Secured debt$7.5M
OverviewSummary updated

Richmond Medical Centre Inc. and I Lov This Place 11 Inc. have been in receivership since December 9, 2022, when the Ontario Superior Court of Justice appointed MNP Ltd. receiver and manager on the application of The Bank of Nova Scotia under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, court file CV-22-00001571-0000. BNS is owed approximately $7.5 million by Richmond Medical on a first ranking charge over the Richmond Street Property registered at a principal of $13,750,000, and approximately $160,000 by I Lov This Place under a guarantee from Richmond Medical. 2505151 Ontario Inc. is owed approximately $3.4 million on charges over the Richmond Street and Oak Street properties. The Canada Revenue Agency has advised the Receiver of approximately $532,000 in HST owing by Richmond Medical.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates9 dated entries
#Order

Court appointed MNP Ltd. receiver and manager of both debtors on The Bank of Nova Scotia's application, staying proceedings including 260132 Ontario Inc.'s motion for return of a $96,050 security deposit.

Source: Appointing Order of Justice Grace

Parties

Debtor

Richmond Medical Centre Inc. and I Lov This Place 11 Inc.

Trustee in bankruptcy

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice GraceOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Dec 20225 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Trustee in bankruptcyMNPMiller Thomson LLP14 Apr 2023Order · 14 Apr 2023
ApplicantHarrison Pensa LLP4 Dec 2024Order · 4 Dec 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 2 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredThe Bank of Nova Scotia · in 110 casesFirst ranking charge/mortgage (BNS Richmond Street Charge) registered principal $13,750,000 against Richmond Street Property; General Security Agreement dated August 31, 2017 from Richmond Medical; General Assignment of Rents dated September 7, 2018 — Approximate indebtedness stated in prose ('approximate amount of $7.5 million'); Miller Thomson opinion confirms charge valid/enforceable securing principal sum of $13,750,000 (registration ceiling, not balance) — debtor: Richmond Medical Centre Inc.$7.5MCourt Report with Appendices
4Secured2505151 Ontario Inc.Second ranking charge/mortgage, registered principal $3,250,000, against Richmond Street Property; first ranking charge/mortgage, registered principal $3,250,000, against Oak Street Property — Approximate indebtedness stated in prose ('approximate amount of $3.4 million'); BNS Richmond Street Charge ranks in priority to 250 Ontario Oak Street Charge by order of registration per opinion — debtor: Richmond Medical Centre Inc.$3.4MCourt Report with Appendices
4SecuredThe Bank of Nova Scotia · in 110 casesGeneral Security Agreement dated August 31, 2017 from I Lov This Place; guaranteed by Richmond Medical under Guarantee dated September 6, 2018; PPSA registrations against I Lov This Place — Approximate indebtedness stated in prose ('approximate amount of $160,000'); Richmond Medical guaranteed payment of this indebtedness — debtor: I Lov This Place 11 Inc.$160KCourt Report with Appendices
4SecuredMercedes-Benz Financial Services Canada Corporation · in 30 casesVehicle lease/financing — Amount not stated; leased vehicle referenced in report — debtor: I Lov This Place 11 Inc.Court Report with Appendices
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency · in 926 casesDeemed trust class (HST); most relates to a 2019 assessment; HST returns from April 2022 remain outstanding so amount may change — debtor: Richmond Medical Centre Inc.$532KCourt Report with Appendices
8Unsecured260132 Ontario Inc.Disputed claim; motion for return of $96,050 security deposit did not proceed due to stay of proceedings; also disputed lease term (5 vs 10 years) and potential additional rent damages claim of $118,713 which Receiver determined not worth pursuing — debtor: Richmond Medical Centre Inc.$96KCourt Report with Appendices
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency · in 926 casesDeemed trust class; CRA cannot state amount until outstanding source deduction returns are filed — amount unknown, not zero — debtor: I Lov This Place 11 Inc.Court Report with Appendices

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Sale approvedTransaction approved by the CourtOrder Vesting CV22 1571 · 13 Sep 2024

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
1653 Richmond (London) Corp.the Debtor's right, title and interest, if any, in and to the assets... described in the Sale Agreement (the " Purchased Assets ") · real property · nominee/assignee: 1653 Richmond (London) Corp. · agreement 1 Aug 2024SealedSale Agreement price not disclosed in this order; agreement filed as confidential supplementApproved13 Sep 2024Order Vesting CV22 1571
Closing termsVesting occurs upon delivery of the Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the TransactionOrder Vesting CV22 1571
Sealed materialsConfidential Supplement to the Third Report of the Receiver containing the Sale AgreementOrder Vesting CV22 1571
Documents
9 filings
DateDocumentFile
Bankruptcy Order
  • Counsel Harrison Pensa LLP
PDF
Order Ancillary CV22 1571PDF
Order Vesting CV22 1571
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction
  • Purchaser 1653 Richmond (London) Corp. · nominee/assignee 1653 Richmond (London) Corp. · the Debtor's right, title and interest, if any, in and to the assets... described in the Sale Agreement (the " Purchased Assets ") · real property · price sealed · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — Transaction approved by the Court
  • Sealed items Confidential Supplement to the Third Report of the Receiver containing the Sale Agreement
PDF
Third Report with AppendicesPDF
Order and Endorsement Approving Second Report of Trustee
  • Presiding officer Justice Moore
PDF
Issued Order of Justice Mitchell Apr 14 2023
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Mitchell
PDF
Court Report with Appendices
  • Applicant THE BANK OF NOVA SCOTIA
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver
  • Commencement date 9 December 2022
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Appointing Order of Justice Grace
  • Applicant THE BANK OF NOVA SCOTIA
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver [and manager]
  • Commencement date 9 December 2022
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Endorsement of Justice Grace
  • Presiding officer Justice Grace
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Richmond Medical Centre Inc. and I Lov This Place 11 Inc.” (Bankruptcy), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/richmond-medical-centre-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/richmond-medical-centre-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.