Repsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc.
- Proceeding
- Winding-up (CBCA)CANADA BUSINESS CORPORATIONS ACT, R.S.C. 1985, C. C-44
- File
- 2301-13799
- Industry
- Energy · Oil & gas production
Repsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc. is being wound up under the Canada Business Corporations Act, in proceedings it brought itself in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta on November 2, 2023 under court file 2301-13799. The application invoked section 217 of the CBCA, and Ernst & Young Inc. is acting as liquidator. The proceeding remains active.
The court granted an approval and vesting order. Sealed: Confidential Documents (Affidavit of Service, Confidential Appendix to Second Report, Confidential Appendices to Second Supplement, Affidavit of Kelly Stenabaugh).
Source: Trust Approval and Vesting Order
The officer filed report no. Second Report of the Liquidator. Following the closing of the Peyto Transaction, ROGCI has divested substantially all of its oil and gas exploration and production business and is now winding down remaining obligations (payroll, severance, pension, leases, litigation) in preparation for its dissolution and the transfer of remaining assets and liabilities to a liquidating trust.
Source: Second Report of the Liquidator
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Repsol Exploración, S.A.U. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Liquidator's Closing Certificate confirming payment and satisfaction of closing conditions.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Repsol Exploración, S.A.U. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of the Liquidator's Closing Certificate.
Source: Sale Approval and Vesting Order
Brief of Law and Authorities of the Liquidator in Support of Application for Sale Approval and Vesting Order — Approval and vesting order
Initial order granted on the company's own application, opening the court-supervised winding-up under section 217 of the CBCA, with Ernst & Young Inc. as liquidator.
Source: Initial Order
Debtor
Repsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc.
Liquidator
EY
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Neufeld | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 2 orders, Nov 2023 | 45 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| LiquidatorEY | MLT Aikins LLP | 18 Oct 2023 | Service list · 18 Oct 2023 |
| DebtorRepsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc. | Bennett Jones LLP · MLT Aikins LLP | 18 Oct 2023 | Service list · 31 Oct 2023 |
| CreditorCANADIAN QUANTUM ENERGY CORPORATION | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 18 Oct 2023 | Service list · 18 Oct 2023 |
| CreditorJX ENERGY LTD. (formerly PERSTA RESOURCES INC.) | McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 27 Oct 2023 | Service list · 27 Oct 2023 |
3 transactions · 3 closed — the sale of the PPA Receivable to REXSA closedSupplement to the Second Report of the Liquidator · 28 Nov 2023
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repsol Exploración, S.A.U.all of ROGCI's right, title and interest in and to the purchase price adjustment receivable described in the Sale Agreement (the ' Purchased Assets ') · asset sale · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 13 Nov 2023 | not stated | Closeddate not stated | Liquidator's Certificate |
| Peyto Exploration & Development Corp. and Peyto Energy Corp.all or substantially all of ROGCI's upstream oil and gas business...through the transfer of all of ROGCI and Holdco's equity interests in RCEP · share sale | not stated | Closed17 Oct 2023 | Second Report of the Liquidator |
| REXSAthe PPA Receivable · asset sale · ResidualCo: TLM Residual Asset Trust | Subscribers | Closed24 Nov 2023 | Supplement to the Second Report of the… |
As at ·
Cumulative receipts
$694K USD
As at 20 Nov 2023Second Report of the Liquidator
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the 2 totals the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 ESTMA Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2023 ESTMA Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Liquidator | PDF · Subscribers | |
Trust Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the Second Report of the Liquidator
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Liquidator's Certificate
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Certified sale approval vesting order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to Service List - November 20th, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Liquidator
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental Affidavit of Greg Thomas | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental Brief of the Applicant | PDF · Subscribers | |
Repsol Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application for Sale Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law and Authorities of the Liquidator in Support of Application for Sale Approval and Vesting Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Liquidator
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice to Creditors of Liquidation
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Repsol Service List - November 10 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Initial Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Repsol Service List - 31 October 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Greg Thomas | PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to the First Report of the Proposed Liquidator
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Pablo Martinez | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Pablo Martinez - exhibits 1-8 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Pablo Martinez - exhibits 9-25 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of the Applicant (with authorities) | PDF · Subscribers | |
First Report of the Proposed Liquidator
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Originating Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2022 ESTMA Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2022 ESTMA Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2021 ESTMA Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2021 ESTMA Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2020 ESTMA Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2020 ESTMA Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2019 ESTMA Certificate | PDF · Subscribers | |
| 2019 ESTMA Report | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Repsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc.” (Winding-up (CBCA)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/repsol-oil-gas-canada-inc