The officer filed report no. Supplement to Receiver's Third Report.
Source: Supplement's to Receivers Third Report; dated November 5, 2020.pdf
Power Merchants Ltd. entered receivership on September 18, 2018, when Grant Thornton Limited was appointed receiver under BIA s. 243 and the province's Judicature Acts, in the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta. ATB Financial was identified as the senior secured lender, owed an estimated $421,526.65 under security the receiver's legal opinion found properly perfected, valid and enforceable. Three floor-plan financiers, Wells Fargo Capital Finance Corporation, Honda Canada Finance Inc. and TCF Commercial Finance Canada, Inc., held secured claims against inventory whose balances the receiver had not yet determined, and a security interest registered by Geraldine Bidulock, Mr. Jerry Bidulock's ex-wife and a holder of a beneficial interest in the company, remained under review.
The officer filed report no. Supplement to Receiver's Third Report.
Source: Supplement's to Receivers Third Report; dated November 5, 2020.pdf
The officer filed report no. Third Report. PML's assets were sold to a third-party proponent, and all employees were terminated before the receivership. The receivership continues with remaining matters: a disputed insurance claim after the August 2018 building fires, the sale of the Main Dealership and of damaged and disputed-title inventory, and an intercompany claim against 754. An interim distribution to secured creditors is proposed. Court file 1803 17931.
The officer filed a report. The report addresses the intercompany relationship between Power Merchants and 754409 Alberta Ltd. (owner of the Boathouse) and seeks an order attaching $215,000 plus interest from the sale proceeds of the Boathouse, to be held in interest-bearing trust pending reconciliation of amounts owing to Power Merchants. No claims process has been held and creditor amounts are unknown. Court file 1803 17931.
Debtor
Power Merchants Ltd.
Receiver
Doane Grant Thornton
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | ATB Financial · in 59 casesEstimated amount owed; legal opinion received that ATB security is properly perfected, valid and enforceable; described as senior secured lender — debtor: Power Merchants Ltd. | $422K | Receiver's First Report filed November 26, 2018.pdf |
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured | |||
| Secured |
4 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.
Every creditor and every amount.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansThis proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Grant Thornton Limited, 5 Sep 2019 – 31 Aug 2020, in feesReceiver's Third Report dated October 21, 2020.pdf · 21 Oct 2020
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| (firm not named)Counsel to the receiverfirm not named in the heading | 18 Sep 2018 – 10 Jun 2020 | — | not stated | Receiver's Third Report dated October 21, 2020.pdf · 21 Oct 2020 | |
| Grant Thornton LimitedReceiver | 5 Sep 2019 – 31 Aug 2020 | — | not stated | Receiver's Third Report dated October 21, 2020.pdf · 21 Oct 2020 |
2 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansCumulative receipts
$1.79M
As at 5 Nov 2020Supplement's to Receivers Third Report; dated November 5, 2020.pdf
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Supplement's to Receivers Third Report; dated November 5, 2020.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Third Report dated October 21, 2020.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Second Report dated May 10, 2019.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's First Report filed November 26, 2018.pdf
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Power Merchants Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/power-merchants-ltd
Sources last checked · summary updated 6 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/power-merchants-ltd
Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.