Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. and Planet Energy (B.C.) Corp.
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)Section 47.1(1) of the Bankruptcy And Insolvency Act
- File
- 31-2943175
- Industry
- Energy · Power & utilities
Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. and Planet Energy (B.C.) Corp. remain in a court-appointed receivership before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List), under court files 31-2943175 and 31-2943168, which began on June 8, 2023 when KSV Restructuring Inc. was appointed interim receiver under section 47.1(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act on the application of All Communications Network of Canada, Co. A Statement of Affairs for Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. as at September 27, 2023 puts that entity's assets at $9,300,844.43 against liabilities of $36,547,637.22, a reported deficiency of $27,246,792.79. Unsecured claims total $35,614,637.22, of which $35,184,894.00 is owed to All Communication Network (ACN) of Canada Co.; Scotiabank is listed as secured for a balance of $933,000.00, with no preferred claims. The proceeding is active.
Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors dated September 28, 2023 — Notice to creditors
Motion Record of All Communications Network of Canada, Co returnable September 26, 2023 — Application / notice of application
Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable August 17, 2023 — Application / notice of application
Extension, Sale Process and KERP Approval Order dated July 4, 2023 was filed.
Source: Extension, Sale Process and KERP Approval Order dated July 4, 2023
Supplemental Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable July 4, 2023 — Application / notice of application
Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable July 4, 2023 — Application / notice of application
Order appointing KSV Restructuring Inc. interim receiver of both Planet Energy entities under section 47.1(1) of the BIA, on the application of All Communications Network of Canada, Co.
Source: Interim Receivership Appointment Order dated June 8, 2023
Debtor
Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. and Planet Energy (B.C.) Corp.
Interim receiver
KSV
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Steele | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 4 orders, Jun 2023 | 245 cases on record |
| Justice Osborne | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 3 orders, Jul 2023 | 168 cases on record |
| Justice Conway | Ontario Superior Court of Justice | 2 orders, Aug 2023 | 310 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ApplicantAll Communications Network of Canada, Co | Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | 8 Jun 2023 | Order · 8 Jun 2023 |
| Applicant | Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | 26 Sep 2023 | Order · 26 Sep 2023 |
| CreditorAll Communications Network of Canada, Co | Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP | 2 Jun 2023 | Factum · 2 Jun 2023 |
| Creditorunder Proposal, Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 2 Jun 2023 | Application · 2 Jun 2023 |
| Creditorunder Proposal, Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. and Planet Energy (B.C.) Corp | Stikeman Elliott LLP | 2 Jun 2023 | Application · 2 Jun 2023 |
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Secured | Scotiabank · in 53 casesListed as secured creditor per list 'B' in Statement of Affairs — debtor: Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. · as of 27 Sep 2023 | $933K | Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors dated September 28, 2023 |
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
26 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansNo acceptable bid — the Interim Receiver conducted a Court-approved sale process (the 'Sale Process'), which resulted in no viable offers for the Company's business and assetsTrustee's Report on Preliminary Administration dated October 17, 2023 · 17 Oct 2023
2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: DLA Piper (Canada) LLP, 11 May – 31 Aug 2023Motion Record of All Communications Network of Canada, Co · 21 Sep 2023
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DLA Piper (Canada) LLPCounsel to the receiver | 11 May – 31 Aug 2023 | — | Motion Record of All Communications Network of Canada, Co · 21 Sep 2023 | ||
| KSV Restructuring Inc.capacity not stated | to 31 Aug 2023 | — | — | not stated | Motion Record of All Communications Network of Canada, Co · 21 Sep 2023 |
2 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
The 2 totals the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Trustee's Report on Preliminary Administration dated October 17, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Bankruptcy dated September 28, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors dated September 28, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Court Order re Substitution of Trustee and Ancillary Relief dated September 26, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Kimmel dated September 26, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Memorandum of Law and Argument of All Communications Network of Canada Co. dated September 25, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of All Communications Network of Canada, Co returnable September 26, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Electricity Customers dated August 22, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Gas Customers dated August 22, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Utilities dated August 22, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Conway dated August 17, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Extension Order dated August 17, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable August 17, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of Interim Receiver dated August 14, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Sale Process Certificate dated July 5, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Consultant Protections Order dated July 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Osborne dated July 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Extension, Sale Process and KERP Approval Order dated July 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplement to First Report of Interim Receiver dated June 29, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable July 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of Interim Receiver dated June 27, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Motion Record of the Interim Receiver returnable July 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice #1 to Customers dated June 27, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Steele dated June 14, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Endorsement of Justice Steele dated June 8, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Interim Receivership Appointment Order dated June 8, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Stay Extentsion and Administration Order dated June 8, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Reply Factum of All Communications Network of Canada, Co dated June 4, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responding Factum of Planet Energy dated June 4, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Bookf of Authorities dated June 2, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Factum of All Communications Network of Canada, Co dated June 2, 2023
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplementary Affidavit of Robert Stevanovski dated June 2, 2023 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Planet Energy (Ontario) Corp. and Planet Energy (B.C.) Corp.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/planet-energy-ontario-corp-and-planet-energy-b-c-corp