Proceedings.

Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
NOIBIA s. 50.4
File
31-2658047
Filings held16
Last activity4 Nov 2020
On the record2,195 days
Secured debt$2.69M
OverviewSummary updated

Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. filed a notice of intention to make a proposal under section 50.4 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act on September 17, 2020, with KSV Kofman Inc. as Proposal Trustee and the matter before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice under court file no. 31-2658047. The proceeding remains active. A preliminary list of creditors prepared from the company's records as at July 14, 2020 shows Toronto Dominion Bank as a secured creditor owed $2,693,726.64, and unsecured claims spread across shopping centre landlords and apparel suppliers, among them American Express US at $393,283.59, OPGI Mgmt LP o/a Oxford itf Square One at $388,830.00, Ontrea Inc. - Sherway at $329,769.59, Penalta Group Ltd at $315,593.32 and Levi Strauss & Co. (Canada) Inc. at $304,683.37. US-denominated claims were converted at 1.35.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates16 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Company discontinued most retail store operations, liquidated substantially all inventory, disclaimed its retail store leases, and is restructuring around an e-commerce model, with the possibility that the stalking horse purchaser may continue operating a few stores.

Source: Second Report of the Proposal Trustee dated September 17, 2020

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. The Company has been conducting a liquidation sale from most of its store locations since filing, disclaiming 17 leases, terminating employees as stores close, and restructuring toward an e-commerce model, aiming to complete the liquidation by end of August 2020.

Source: First Report of the Proposal Trustee dated August 4, 2020

Parties

Debtor

Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd.

Proposal trustee

AlixPartners

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HaineyOntario Superior Court of Justice1 order, Sep 2020196 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Proposal trusteeAlixPartnersGoldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP25 Sep 2020Factum · 25 Sep 2020
Proposal trusteeKSV Kofman IncGoldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP24 Jul 2020Order · 25 Sep 2020
DebtorMendocino Clothing Company Ltd.Chaitons LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorbcIMC Realty CorporationBlaney McMurtry LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorBrookfield, Ivanhoe Cambridge and RiocanCamelino Galessiere LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorCadillac Fairview Corporation LimitedTorys LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorKSV Kofman IncGoldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP25 Sep 2020Order · 25 Sep 2020
CreditorL.G.LFogler, Rubinoff LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorOxford Properties GroupGardiner Roberts LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorTD Canada TrustBlaney McMurtry LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
CreditorVTC IncBorden Ladner Gervais LLP24 Jul 2020Service list · 24 Jul 2020
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · the 127 smallest grouped as one mark
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredToronto Dominion Bank · in 35 casesPreliminary list of creditors as at July 14, 2020, per records of the Company, without admission as to any liability or privilege — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.69MNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAmerican Express USUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$393KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOPGI Mgmt LP o/a Oxford itf Square Onedebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$389KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOntrea Inc. - Sherway (Cadillac Fairview)debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$330KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPenalta Group Ltddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$316KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredLevi Strauss & Co. (Canada) Inc. · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$305KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAmerican Express Canada · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$300KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredYorkdale S.C. Holdings Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$273KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOntrea Inc. - CF Toronto Eaton Centredebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$243KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredbcIMC Realty Corporation · in 5 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$144KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBestseller Wholesale Canada · in 3 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$141KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredScarborough Town Centre Holdings Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$136KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOntrea Inc. - Masonville Placedebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$132KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredVTC Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$121KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRD International Style Collections Ltd. · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$120KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredIvanhoe Cambridge - Vaughan Millsdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$111KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThree Coins Construction Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$110KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThe Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited (CF Fairview Mall) · in 6 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$109KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOntrea Inc. - Limeridgedebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$86.9KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRioCan YEC Holdings Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$86KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOntrea Inc. - Markvilledebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$85.6KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOxford ITF Upper Canada Malldebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$85.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJessmatdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$84.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredIvanhoe Cambridge - Mapleviewdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$84.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPaisley Manor Insurance · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$76.9KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredTresserUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$76.4KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBarfied Apartments (Trivest Developments Corporation)debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$72.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBrookfield Properties (PI) Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$72.3KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHillcrest Mall Mgmt ITF Hillcrest Malldebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$71.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThompson Ahern and Co. Ltd.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$69.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPromenade Limited Partnership · in 4 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$69KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredL.G.L Holdings Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$51.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCF/Realty Holdings Inc. (The Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited - Shops at Don Mills) · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$51.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSaleslink Systems Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$43.6KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBlue BlushUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$41.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8Unsecured1921285 Ontario Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$39.4KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredNorjan Ventures Incdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$36.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCharlotte AveryUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$31.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCrowe Soberman LLP · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$30.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBetter BeUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$30KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMableUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$27.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredProgress Packaging Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$27KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHot & DeliciousUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$26.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8Unsecured1566673 Ontario Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$25.7KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCitizens of HumanityUS-based (listed as USD); converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$25.6KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPrime Visual Marketingdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$25.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEmory ParkUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$25.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSan Joy IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$22.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPrivy, IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$19.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredI&M Jeans U.S.AUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$18.3KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEssue ClothingUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$17.5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHYFVE, Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$17KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCollection La Marque Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$14.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredInstant Supply Co.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$12.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredTop ChicUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$12.3KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAmante Clothing IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$12.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredDex Bros. Clothing Co. Ltd.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$11.9KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredToronto Hydro · in 37 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$11.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredWithy DBA AnwndUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$11.1KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredTic TocUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$10.7KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredWorkplace Safety & Insurance Board · in 49 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$10.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJoia Trading Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$10.2KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSabora FashionUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$9.25KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredNemat International IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$9.01KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredArrival Ground Transport Incdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$8.81KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredIRISUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$8.77KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRogers Canada · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$8.54KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBrave Leatherdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$8.32KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredIdem DittoUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.86KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredStaples Business Depot · in 12 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.75KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBlitheUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.63KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMeticulousdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.63KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAdvanced System Patronage Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.16KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMiss LoveUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.07KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCommon CrushUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$7.01KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSans SouciUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.99KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHello MissUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.8KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredProforma Canadadebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.76KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredLaven Industries Ltddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.74KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRicherPoorerUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.4KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAbell Pest Control · in 24 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.31KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredZarby Internationaldebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$6.22KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOnTwelfthUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.88KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredLuxxelUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.84KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMad For LoveUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.83KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEnbridge · in 71 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.79KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSage Clothing (Seventh Day Inc.)US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.68KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredGardaWorld Cash Services Canada Co.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.48KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredStewardship Ontario · in 8 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5.27KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredA Lapdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$5KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredINA Fashion (INA)US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.83KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRX Music · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.6KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredStoriaUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.48KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCity Clean · in 4 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.38KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJohn G. Hofland Ltd.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.26KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPaxar Canada Corporation · in 5 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.21KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHey BabeUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.17KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCotton Candy LA (DBA Cotton Candy USA)US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.12KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredTriple 7 Apparel, IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$4.06KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredDance & MarvelUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.9KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAudrey 3+1US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.76KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMedavie Blue Cross · in 8 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.67KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOffice Team · in 3 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.56KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMaronieUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.56KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredTurner (A Human Resource Law Firm)debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.53KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSoberman Maker & Associates Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.39KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCefian Fashion IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.26KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEnti ClothingUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.02KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredReneec / So Cool, Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$3.02KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThe Timing, IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.96KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMono BUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.86KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAaron and AmberUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.84KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHeart & HipsUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.77KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJealous TomatoUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.58KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredFore CollectionUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.58KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSpring Haze Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.45KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredLovely Day FashionUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.44KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSensormatic Canada · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$2.01KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredLeto Wholesale.ComUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.99KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCBSC Capital Inc. · in 22 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.85KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredGlamUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.82KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredH & D AccessoriesUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.78KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHammerschlag + Joffe Inc. · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.7KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredT & T Industrial Supplies Ltd. · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.62KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSHEROUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.62KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSountek Servicesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.58KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAll in FavorUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.51KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAstley Gilbert · in 3 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.46KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEvenuelUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.36KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHers & MineUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.35KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThe Roll & Ribbon Companydebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.34KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8Unsecuredwasabi + mintUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.32KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCanon Canada Inc. · in 25 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.3KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8Unsecuredi.cco AccessoriesUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.28KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredGrade & GatherUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.26KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredDial One Systems Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.24KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRenamedUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.23KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThe Sang ClothingUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.14KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredULINE · in 72 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$1.04KNOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSaints & HeartsUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$992NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredReilly's Lock & Security Systems Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$970NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRemco Forwarding Limited · in 5 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$940NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredA.PeachUS-based; converted per document at 1.35 exchange rate — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$879NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJani King of Southern Ontariodebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$857NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredMiley and MollyUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$851NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRead Jones Christoffersen Ltd · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$848NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredHera Collection, Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$842NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredEllard-Willson Engineering Limiteddebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$801NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredGilli IncUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$775NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSugar LipsUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$757NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredJane Plus OneUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$652NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredIn the BeginningUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$635NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredOakville Hydro · in 7 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$635NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCompnet Communications Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$620NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredCurrent Air Clothing Inc.US-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$551NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredRehabUS-based; converted at 1.35 — debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$474NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredFederal Express · in 39 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$460NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredBell Canada · in 298 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$456NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredPitney Bowes · in 41 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$431NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredThe Kingsway Group Inc.debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$386NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredD & C Sales and Services Ltd. · in 2 casesdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$367NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8Unsecured6Cleandebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$325NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredSuperink.cadebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$298NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
8UnsecuredAAA Vacuum Centresdebtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · as of 14 Jul 2020$276NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
Sale processAs stated in the filings

2 transactions · 2 approvedProposal Trustee recommends the Court approve the Stalking Horse Agreement and the Sale ProcessSecond Report of the Proposal Trustee dated September 17, 2020 · 17 Sep 2020

Stalking horse

Shop Mboutique Ecomm Ltd. · $400K

Second Report of the Proposal Trustee dated September…

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Stalking Horse Agreement purchaser, unnamed in operative textStalking horsethe Company's remaining inventory, intellectual property and other assets · auctionnot statedApproved10 Aug 2020Sale Process Approval and Extension Order dated…
Shop MBoutique Ecomm Ltd.Related partythe assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale$400K (mixed consideration)Sum of $400,000 plus assumption on a dollar-for-dollar basis of the cost of all inventory ordered subsequent to the NOI filing but not received as at the Closing DateApproved25 Sep 2020Approval and Vesting Order dated September 25,…
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of Proposal Trustee's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfactory completionApproval and Vesting Order dated September 25, 2020
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing$6.98M

As at 30 Jun 2020 · per unaudited, Company's books and records / management estimate · entity - Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. — From First Report (Appendix B), Section 2.2 Assets table (as at June 30, 2020): Cash $952,000; Inventory $2,133,000; Other assets $401,000; Fixed assets $3,491,000; total $6,977,000 as stated in the table. Liabilities not stated as a total: secured creditors included TD Bank ~$1.2 million (First Report) / ~$400,000 (Second Report, later date) plus CF, BF, BMW; unsecured trade/landlord claims ~$5.8 million as of the Filing Date (July 14, 2020).

Cash on hand

$952K

As at 4 Aug 2020First Report of the Proposal Trustee dated August 4, 2020

Documents
16 filings
DateDocumentFile
Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors dated November 4, 2020PDF
Bankruptcy Certificate of Appointment dated October 29, 2020PDF
Approval and Vesting Order dated September 25, 2020
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Proposal Trustee's Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price and satisfactory completion
  • Purchaser Shop MBoutique Ecomm Ltd. · the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
PDF
Book of Authorities of the Proposal Trustee returnable September 25, 2020
  • Appointee KSV Restructuring Inc.
  • Appointee role Proposal Trustee
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no 31-2658047
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Endorsement of Justice Hainey dated September 25, 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Hainey
PDF
Factum of the Proposal Trustee returnable September 25, 2020
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF
Motion Record returnable September 25, 2020
  • Commencement date 17 September 2020
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no 31-2658047
  • Province ONTARIO
PDF
Stay Extension Order dated September 25, 2020
  • Counsel Goldman Sloan Nash & Haber LLP
PDF
Second Report of the Proposal Trustee dated September 17, 2020
  • Financial position Assets $6.98M · as at 30 Jun 2020 · per unaudited, Company's books and records / management estimate · entity - Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. — From First Report (Appendix B), Section 2.2 Assets table (as at June 30, 2020): Cash $952,000; Inventory $2,133,000; Other assets $401,000; Fixed assets $3,491,000; total $6,977,000 as stated in the table. Liabilities not stated as a total: secured creditors included TD Bank ~$1.2 million (First Report) / ~$400,000 (Second Report, later date) plus CF, BF, BMW; unsecured trade/landlord claims ~$5.8 million as of the Filing Date (July 14, 2020).
  • Operational summary The Company discontinued most retail store operations, liquidated substantially all inventory, disclaimed its retail store leases, and is restructuring around an e-commerce model, with the possibility that the stalking horse purchaser may continue operating a few stores.
  • Purchaser Shop Mboutique Ecomm Ltd. (related party) · Substantially all of the Company's assets related to the Business, including: (i) Assumed Contracts; (ii) Inventory; and (iii) Intellectual Property · asset sale · $400K · proposed
  • Report date 17 September 2020
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Factum of the Company for a Motion returnable August 10, 2020PDF
Motion Record returnable August 10, 2020
  • Appointee KSV Kofman Inc.
  • Appointee role Proposal Trustee
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • Court file no 31-2658047
PDF
Sale Process Approval and Extension Order dated August 10, 2020
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Order date 10 August 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
  • Purchaser Stalking Horse Agreement purchaser, unnamed in operative text (stalking horse) · the Company's remaining inventory, intellectual property and other assets · auction · approved
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
First Report of the Proposal Trustee dated August 4, 2020
  • Cash on hand $952K · Note: Reported as part of the Company's asset summary as at June 30, 2020. · As at: 2020-06-30
  • Financial position Assets $6.98M · as at 30 Jun 2020 · per unaudited, book value · entity - Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. — Components: Cash $952,000; Inventory $2,133,000; Other assets $401,000; Fixed assets $3,491,000 (total $6,977,000 as stated in table). Unsecured creditors (trade creditors and landlords) owed approximately $5.8 million as of the Filing Date (not reported as total liabilities); secured creditor TD Bank owed approximately $1.2 million as of the date of the Report.
  • Operational summary The Company has been conducting a liquidation sale from most of its store locations since filing, disclaiming 17 leases, terminating employees as stores close, and restructuring toward an e-commerce model, aiming to complete the liquidation by end of August 2020.
  • Purchaser Shop Mboutique Ecomm Ltd. (related party) · Substantially all of the Company's assets related to the Business, including: (i) Assumed Contracts; (ii) Inventory; and (iii) intellectual Property. · asset sale · $400K · proposed
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Service List as of July 24, 2020
  • Counsel Gardiner Roberts LLP
PDF
NOI Notice to Creditors dated July 17, 2020
  • Secured creditors $2.69M · Note: Preliminary list of creditors as at July 14, 2020, per records of the Company, without admission as to any liability or privilege · Page: 3 · As of: 2020-07-14 · Debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · Creditor: Toronto Dominion Bank
  • Unsecured creditors $141K · Page: 3 · As of: 2020-07-14 · Basis: Preliminary list of creditors as reported · Debtor: Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd. · Creditor: Bestseller Wholesale Canada
PDF
Certificate of Filing of a Notice of Intention to Make a Proposal dated July 14, 2020PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Mendocino Clothing Company Ltd.” (NOI), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/mendocino-clothing-company-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/mendocino-clothing-company-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.