Proceedings.

Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. et al.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)Section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and Section 39 of the Law and Equity Act
File
S241456
Filings held30
Last activity10 Mar 2026
On the record566 days
Secured debt$19.6M
OverviewSummary updated

Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. and related respondents have been in court-appointed receivership under s. 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority since March 4, 2025, and the proceeding remains active. The principal secured creditor is the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, owed $19,634,929.50 as at February 14, 2024 across credit facilities under an April 28, 2022 credit agreement, repayable on demand and bearing interest at prime plus 0.500 per cent. CIBC holds mortgages registered June 21, 2022 ($22,000,000 principal) and September 1, 2022 ($2,000,000 principal), general security agreements over all present and future assets registered May 30, 2022, and unlimited cross-guarantees dated June 14, 2022 from each borrower. Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd. also faces registered claims from the Bank of Nova Scotia, Gulf and Fraser Fishermen's Credit Union, Cameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd., LFC Hickory24 Limited Partnership, the Canada Revenue Agency, the BC Minister of Finance and employees.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates31 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Third Report. The Receiver reports it has completed the sale of substantially all of the Companies' inventory and is now seeking approval to sell the Clearbrook Property, the last major remaining asset.

Source: Third Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)

#Order

Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. et al. — Receivership filed, British Columbia.

Parties

Debtor

Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. et al.

Applicant

CIBC

Receiver

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice FitzpatrickSupreme Court of British Columbia1 order, Mar 202549 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverBDODentons Canada LLP18 Aug 2025Service list · 18 Aug 2025
CreditorCanadian Imperial BankGowling WLG (Canada) LLP18 Aug 2025Service list · 18 Aug 2025
CreditorLFC Hickory24 Limited Partnership, by its general partner, Lanyard Investments IncBorden Ladner Gervais LLP18 Aug 2025Service list · 18 Aug 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredCanadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) · in 67 casesMortgages (June 2022 Mortgage - principal $22,000,000 registered June 21, 2022 under CB23946; second mortgage - principal $2,000,000 registered September 1, 2022 under CB198114) and General Security Agreements (Borrower GSAs) over all assets, registered May 30, 2022 under PPSA registration 762485N; also Cross-Guarantees dated June 14, 2022 in unlimited amount from each Borrower — Credit Facilities repayable on demand under Credit Agreement dated April 28, 2022 (as amended). Total indebtedness across various Credit Facilities as at Feb 14, 2024 stated as one figure covering all Borrowers/mortga · as of 14 Feb 2024$19.6MNotice of Application to appoint a Receiver (March 1, 2024)

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

6 transactions · 3 closed · 2 proposed · 1 approvedRequest the Court's approval of the sale of the Clearbrook Property to 1564740 B.C. Ltd. for $4,635,000Third Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026) · 19 Feb 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Om Golds Ltdthe lands at 116 32083 Hillcrest Avenue, Abbotsford, British Columbia (the "Lands") · real property · agreement 17 Apr 2025$955KOCR shows conflicting figures ($955,0.. and 1,200,737.00) near price; purchase price stated as $955,0[00]Closed26 Jun 2025Third Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)
1492741 B.C. Ltd.the Purchased Assetnot statedCloseddate not statedReceiver's Certificate (June 26, 2025)
Bonhamsthe Auction Items · auction · agreement 24 Jul 2025not statedBonhams estimates the value in an auction for the Auction Items to be between $275,000 and $381,000ProposedSecond Report of the Receiver (August 15, 2025)
Guardian International Gold Corp.the sale of the Jewellery to the Purchaser pursuant to and in accordance with the terms of the Sale Agreement · asset sale · agreement 18 Jun 2025not statedCloseddate not statedThird Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)
auction buyers under Auction Agreements, unnamedthe sale of the Property to the Buyers pursuant to and in accordance with the terms of the Auction Agreements · auction · agreement 24 Jul 2025not statedApproved29 Aug 2025Auction Order (August 29, 2025)
1564740 B.C. Ltd.the sale of 2548 Clearbrook Road (the ' Clearbrook Property ') · real property$4.63MProposedThird Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)
AdvisorsBonhams (auctioneer); Silverman Consulting & Retail Services (liquidator); Colliers (listing broker)Third Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)
Closing termsUpon receipt of Net Sale Proceeds and completion of the transactions, the Receiver shall file a certificate confirming the sameAuction Order (August 29, 2025)
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. CIBC short by $2.7M.EstimatedThird Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026) · 19 Feb 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredCIBC$10Mshort by $2.7MEstimatedper the receiverThird Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026) · 19 Feb 2026
Unsecuredany other creditorsno distributionconditionalEstimatedper the receiverThird Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026) · 19 Feb 2026

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
30 filings
DateDocumentFile
Order for Sale of Clearbrook Property (March 10, 2026)PDF
Notice of Application to approve the sale of the Clearbrook Property (returnable March 3, 2026)PDF
Affidavit #1 of W. Yang (February 20, 2026)PDF
Third Report of the Receiver (February 19, 2026)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 26 Jun 2025; Closed · date not stated · Guardian International Gold Corp
  • Operational summary The Receiver reports it has completed the sale of substantially all of the Companies' inventory and is now seeking approval to sell the Clearbrook Property, the last major remaining asset.
  • Process results 3 bids · as of 30 Jan 2026
  • Purchaser 1564740 B.C. Ltd. · the sale of 2548 Clearbrook Road (the ' Clearbrook Property ') · real property · $4.63M · proposed
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF
Auction Order (August 29, 2025)
  • Closing terms Upon receipt of Net Sale Proceeds and completion of the transactions, the Receiver shall file a certificate confirming the same
  • Order date 29 August 2025
  • Purchaser auction buyers under Auction Agreements, unnamed · the sale of the Property to the Buyers pursuant to and in accordance with the terms of the Auction Agreements · auction · approved
  • Sale advisor Bonhams & Butterfields Auctioneers Corp. (auctioneer)
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Distribution Order (August 29, 2025)
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated · Stated on: 2025-08-29 · Table missing:
PDF
Meltdown and Sale Order (August 29, 2025)
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Receiver's Certificate confirming completion of the Transaction and receipt of net sale proceeds
  • Order date 29 August 2025
  • Purchaser Guardian International Gold Corp. · the sale of the Jewellery to the Purchaser pursuant to and in accordance with the terms of the Sale Agreement · asset sale · approved
  • Sale outcome Sale approved — The Transaction and the Sale Agreement are approved
PDF
Notice of Application, returnable August 29, 2025PDF
Service List (August 18, 2025)
  • Counsel Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
PDF
Second Report of the Receiver (August 15, 2025)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated
  • Purchaser purchaser of the Hillcrest Property, unnamed · the Hillcrest Property · real property · closed; Bonhams · the Auction Items · auction · proposed
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2025-08-15 · Table missing: 137. The following table is a summary of the estimated recovery to the first secured creditor.
  • Sale advisor Bonhams (auctioneer); Silverman Consulting & Retail Services (liquidator)
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Receiver's Certificate (June 26, 2025)
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · 1492741 B.C. Ltd.
PDF
Notice of Application to approve the sale of Unit 116 – 32083 Hillcrest Ave, Abbotsford (returnable June 11, 2025)PDF
Order for Sale of Unit 116 (June 11, 2025)
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of the Receiver's Certificate confirming completion of the Transaction
  • Order date 11 June 2025
  • Purchaser Om Golds Ltd · the lands at 116 32083 Hillcrest Avenue, Abbotsford, British Columbia (the "Lands") · real property · $955K · approved
PDF
Affidavit #1 of N. Sidhu (May 28, 2025)PDF
First Report of the Receiver (May 23, 2025)PDF
Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. - Creditors PackagePDF
P. Sona Jewellers Inc.. Creditors PackagePDF
Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd - Creditors PackagePDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – 1237647 B.C. Ltd. (March 10, 2025)PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – 1257271 B.C. Ltd. (March 10, 2025)PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – Heera Jewellers Inc. (March 10, 2025)
  • Sale outcome Marketed — The Receiver is still assessing its options to dispose of the Assets.
PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. (March 10, 2025)PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – P. Sona Jewellers Inc. (March 10, 2025)PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – RCJ Jewellers Inc. (March 10, 2025)PDF
Form 87 – Notice and Statement of the Receiver – Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd. (March 10, 2025)
  • Secured creditors Note: Amount owed unknown · Page: 1 · Debtor: Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd. · Creditor: LFC Hickory24 Limited Partnership · Currency: CAD
PDF
Receivership Order (March 4, 2025)
  • Applicant Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 4 March 2025
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Affidavit #2 of Svetlana Gorina dated February 26, 2025PDF
Affidavit #1 of Peter Powers dated March 1, 2024PDF
Affidavit #1 of Svetlana Gorina dated March 1, 2024
  • Secured creditors $19.6M · Note: Total indebtedness across various Credit Facilities under Credit Agreement dated April 28, 2022, secured by Mortgages and GSAs; accruing interest at Prime + 0.500% per annum · Page: 7 · As of: 2024-02-14 · Debtor: Mahindra Jewellers Ltd., Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd., 786SD Estate Ltd., MG 786 Enterprises Ltd., 1237647 B.C. Ltd., 1257271 B.C. Ltd., Heera Jewellers Inc., P. Sona Jewellers Inc., RCJ Jewellers Inc. · Creditor: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) · Security: Mortgages (June 2022 Mortgage - $22,000,000 principal registered June 21, 2022; second mortgage - $2,000,000 principal registered September 1, 2022) and General Security Agreements (all present and future assets) dated June 14, 2022
PDF
Notice of Application to appoint a Receiver (March 1, 2024)
  • Court IN THE SUPREME COURT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA
  • Court file no S-241456
  • Secured creditors $19.6M · Note: Credit Facilities repayable on demand under Credit Agreement dated April 28, 2022 (as amended). Total indebtedness across various Credit Facilities as at Feb 14, 2024 stated as one figure covering all Borrowers/mortgages/GSAs. · Page: 9 · As of: 2024-02-14 · Debtor: Mahindra Jewellers Ltd., Surrey Gold Jewellers Ltd., 786SD Estate Ltd., MG 786 Enterprises Ltd., 1237647 B.C. Ltd., 1257271 B.C. Ltd., Heera Jewellers Inc., P. Sona Jewellers Inc., and RCJ Jewellers Inc. (collectively, the Borrowers/Respondents) · Creditor: Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) · Security: Mortgages (June 2022 Mortgage - principal $22,000,000 registered June 21, 2022 under CB23946; second mortgage - principal $2,000,000 registered September 1, 2022 under CB198114) and General Security Agreements (Borrower GSAs) over all assets, registered May 30, 2022 under PPSA registration 762485N; also Cross-Guarantees dated June 14, 2022 in unlimited amount from each Borrower
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Mahindra Jewellers Ltd. et al.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/mahindra-jewellers-ltd-et-al

Sources last checked · summary updated 7 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/mahindra-jewellers-ltd-et-al

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.