Proceedings.

Leon Mfg. Company Inc. and Ram Industries Inc.

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, section 10-15 of The King's Bench Act, and section 64(8) of The Personal Property Security Act, 1993
File
KBG-SA-00688-2024
Filings held65
Last activity3 Sep 2026
On the record877 days
OverviewSummary updated

Leon Mfg. Company Inc. and Ram Industries Inc. have been in a court-appointed receivership since June 11, 2024, brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The proceeding is before the Court of King's Bench for Saskatchewan in Bankruptcy and Insolvency under file number KBG-SA-00688-2024. A report of the court officer was filed on the commencement date. The receivership remains active, and no further steps appear on the record.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates65 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report of the Receiver. The receiver has liquidated Leon's personal property/IP and sold the Ram building, and after unsuccessful listing efforts and a public online auction, has now entered into a conditional sale agreement for the remaining Leon Building, subject to court approval. Court file KBG-SA-00688-2024.

Source: Ram Leon - Receiver's Fourth Report

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Receiver's Certificate delivered upon closing to satisfaction, vesting occurs upon delivery of certificate. Sealed: Sale Agreement.

Source: Sale Approval & Vesting Order

#Order

The court appointed Ernst & Young Inc. as Receiver, on the application of Bank of Montreal. Court file KBG-SA-00688-2024.

Source: Receivership Order

Guide

What happens to employees when a company goes bankrupt in Canada

When a Canadian employer goes bankrupt or into creditor protection, its workers are owed pay it cannot meet. What ranks first, what the Wage Earner Protection Program pays and how to apply, and what happens to severance, pensions, benefits and jobs when the business is sold, drawn from the court record.

Outcome brief

Leon and Ram: a tax split with Yorkton, and the last $171,971.02 to BMO

Bank of Montreal's receivership of two Yorkton manufacturers of more than 50 years collected $6,450,180.28, paid CRA, Service Canada and the pension plan ahead of the bank, sold Leon's plant on a proceeds split with the city, and on September 3, 2026 sent the last $171,971.02 to a lender still owed approximately $16,833,889.

Parties

Debtor

Leon Mfg. Company Inc. and Ram Industries Inc.

Receiver

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice MeschishnickCourt of King's Bench for Saskatchewan3 orders, Jun 2024 – Jun 202615 cases on record
Justice ClacksonCourt of King's Bench for Saskatchewan2 orders, Feb 202512 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverEYMcDougall Gauley LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
DebtorLeon Mfg. Company Inc. and Ram Industries Inc.Robertson Stromberg LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
Creditor558209 Alberta Ltd. and 558212 Alberta Ltd. operating as Younker Cattle CompanyRevering Law Office24 Feb 2025Service list · 24 Feb 2025
CreditorBank of MontrealMLT Aikins LLP11 Jun 2024Factum · 11 Jun 2024
CreditorBank of Montreal Attention: Ed BarringtonMLT Aikins LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
CreditorCity of YorktonDD West LLP24 Feb 2025Service list · 24 Feb 2025
CreditorDillman Farms LtdKondratoff Persick LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
CreditorE.R. (Bill) Vollans LimitedKondratoff Persick LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
CreditorMichael MrozekKondratoff Persick LLP24 Feb 2025Service list · 24 Feb 2025
CreditorNational Attachment IncMcDougall Gauley LLP24 Feb 2025Service list · 24 Feb 2025
CreditorNational Attachments IncDD West LLP3 Jun 2024Service list · 3 Jun 2024
CreditorPeters Agri Company, LLC c / o Pedersen LawAnderson Law Firm
Previously McKercher LLP (last seen 3 Jun 2024)
3 Jun 2024Service list · 24 Feb 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 985 casesProposed GST reassessment for period ending June 11, 2024, per CRA letter dated July 10, 2024; CRA has not filed a deemed trust claim to date; based on audit adjustments from creditor lists, not the company's own books and records. — debtor: Leon Mfg. Company Inc. · as of 10 Jul 2024$85.4KReceiver's First Report
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured

4 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other) and Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

3 transactions · 2 closed · 1 approved — the Receiver has entered into an Asset Purchase Agreement with 306 Industrial Ltd. for the sale of the Leon Building, subject to court approvalRam Leon - Receiver's Fourth Report · 17 Jun 2026

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd.the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · real property · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 7 Feb 2025SealedCloseddate not statedReceiver's Third Report
end purchasers at auction, unnamedthe Leon Personal Property and IP · auctionnot statedCloseddate not statedReceiver's Third Report
306 Industrial Ltd.the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · agreement 1 Jun 2026SealedApproved23 Jun 2026Sale Approval & vesting Order - 23 Jun 2026…
AdvisorsErnst & Young Inc. (sale agent); a local commercial realty group (listing broker); a new commercial realtor (listing broker); LFC Marketing Services Inc. (FRE.com) (auctioneer); ICR Commercial Real Estate Regina (listing broker); Cushman & Wakefield Edmonton (listing broker)Ram Leon - Receiver's Fourth Report
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming closingSale Approval & vesting Order - 23 Jun 2026 (Issued)
Sealed materialsSale AgreementSale Approval & Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: paid in full. Service Canada paid in full · Canada Revenue Agency paid in full · Bank of Montreal a distribution.FinalNotice of Application - Distribution and Discharge · 31 Aug 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
WEPPAService Canada—paid in fullFinalper the receiverRam Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report · 31 Aug 2026
Deemed trustCanada Revenue Agency—paid in fullFinalper the receiverRam Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report · 31 Aug 2026
SecuredBank of Montreal—per the receiverNotice of Application - Distribution and Discharge · 31 Aug 2026
SecuredSun Life—per the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 22 May 2025
Unsecuredcreditors with priority to BMO—paid in fullFinalper the receiverNotice of Application - Distribution and Discharge · 31 Aug 2026

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

4 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Ernst & Young Inc., 11 Jun 2024 – 18 Aug 2026, in feesRam Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report · 31 Aug 2026

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 2 of 211 Jun 2024 – 18 Aug 2026—not statedRam Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report · 31 Aug 2026
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 2to 14 Feb 2025courtesy discount11 peopleReceiver's Second Report (1 of 3) · 24 Feb 2025
11 people — Ernst & Young Inc., to 14 Feb 2025 · 35 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Matt McCulloch—
Dan McCulloch—
Evan MacKinnon—
Robert Sword—
Hazem Ismail—
Serena Daniels—
Tanner Clarkson—
Kevin Zhang—
Mark Shtay—
Paul Lim—
Trina Sorbara—
Total——
McDougall Gauley LLPCounsel to the receiver11 Jun 2024 – 31 Jul 2026—not statedRam Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report · 31 Aug 2026

40 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
65 filings
DateDocumentFile
Notice of Application - Distribution and Discharge
  • Counsel McDOUGALL GAULEY LLP
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per actual · Stated on: 2026-08-31 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Order - Distribution and Discharge of Receiver
  • Presiding officer Justice J.M. Sinclair
PDF · Subscribers
Distribution and Discharge Order - redlined to templatePDF · Subscribers
Ram Leon - Receiver's Fifth Report
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual; per estimated · Stated on: 2026-08-31 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval & vesting Order - 23 Jun 2026 (Issued)
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Certificate confirming closing
  • Order date 23 June 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Meschishnick
  • Purchaser 306 Industrial Ltd. · the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order & Other Relief - 23 Jun 2026 (Issued)
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Meschishnick
PDF · Subscribers
Ram Leon - Receiver's Fourth Report
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · 102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd.
  • Commencement date 11 June 2024
  • Court COURT OF KING'S BENCH FOR SASKATCHEWAN IN BANKRUPTCY AND INSOLVENCY
  • Cash on hand Subscribers
  • + 13 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Third Report
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · 102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd.; Closed · date not stated
  • Purchaser purchaser of the Leon Buildings; not yet found · the Leon Buildings · real property · proposed; 102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd. · the Ram Assets and Ram Building · asset sale · closed; end purchasers at auction, unnamed · the Leon Personal Property and IP · auction · closed
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-05-22 · Table missing:
  • Sale advisor a local commercial realty group (listing broker); a new commercial realtor (listing broker)
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Sale Approval & Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Receiver's Certificate delivered upon closing to satisfaction, vesting occurs upon delivery of certificate
  • Order date 27 February 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice C.D. Clackson
  • Purchaser 102203996 Saskatchewan Ltd. · nominee/assignee its nominee · the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order & Other Relief
  • Presiding officer Justice C.D. Clackson
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of F. Richards (McDougall Gauley LLP)PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application - SAVO and Other ReliefPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report (1 of 3)
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report (2 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report (3 of 3)PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Revering Law Office
PDF · Subscribers
Leon - Complete Notice to Creditors (New FMC).pdf
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Ram - Complete Notice to Creditors (New FMC).pdf
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Company Inc. - Bankruptcy OrderPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. - Bankruptcy OrderPDF · Subscribers
Notice of ApplicationPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report
PDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries - Invitation for Offers (Final)
  • Bid deadline 25 October 2024
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Inc. (sale agent)
  • Sale outcome Marketed — Invitation for offers to purchase assets or liquidation proposals for Ram's personal and real property
PDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 1 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 10 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 11 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 12 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 13 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 14 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 15 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 16 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 17 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 2 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 3 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 4 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 5 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 6 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 7 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 8 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdf.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Ram Industries Inc. 9 - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_1. - Site Photos JunePDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_10. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_11. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_12. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_13. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_14. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_15. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_2. - Site Photos JunePDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_3. - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_5. - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_6. - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_7. - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_8. - Site Photos June 11, 2024.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg. Companies Inc_9. - Site Photos June 11, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Leon Mfg Company Inc - Request for ProposalsPDF · Subscribers
Notice & Statement of ReceiverPDF · Subscribers
Brief of Law
  • Counsel How: operator-correction · Firm: MLT Aikins LLP · Corrects: firm · For role: applicant · For text: Applicant, Bank of Montreal · Firm party id: d4cf1950-4692-4504-a26b-b5fcb16b39c9 · Was firm party id: 59d54bdb-1a6e-4ea3-bd12-c7aa86f3d71a
PDF · Subscribers
Draft Receivership Order
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 11 June 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Originating Application
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 11 June 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Redline Draft Receivership OrderPDF · Subscribers
Abridgment of Time for Service
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Meschishnick
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Ed Barrington
PDF · Subscribers
Consent to AppointmentPDF · Subscribers
Service List as of June 3, 2024
  • Counsel DD West LLP
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Leon Mfg. Company Inc. and Ram Industries Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench for Saskatchewan. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/leon-mfg-company-inc-and-ram-industries-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/leon-mfg-company-inc-and-ram-industries-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.