Proceedings.

Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd. and Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, and sections 13(2) of the Judicature Act and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act
File
2601-14248
Filings held3
Last activity20 Aug 2026
On the record32 days
Secured debt$4.89M
OverviewSummary updated

Jay's Metal Products Ltd., together with Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd. and Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd., has been placed in receivership by order of the Court of King's Bench of Alberta pronounced August 20, 2026. Royal Bank of Canada brought the application under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, section 13(2) of the Judicature Act and section 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act. BDO Canada Limited was appointed receiver and manager of the four Alberta companies. The proceeding is active and carries court file number 2601-14248.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates3 dated entries

Case update

Jay's Metal: the inventory count is in a notebook nobody can find

Two weeks after BDO was appointed over four Calgary metal fabricators on RBC's $4.9 million claim, the receiver told the Court of King's Bench it had found no computers, no inventory listing, two leased premises it had not been told about, and a landlord who contradicted what the principal had said about them — and asked Justice Marion to compel compliance and award costs against two directors personally.

Parties

Debtor

Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd. and Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.

Receiver

BDO

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredRoyal Bank of Canada · in 556 casesRegistered interest in all after-acquired and personal property, registered October 6, 2020 — Amount stated as approximate ('approximately $4,893,619') per Starenky Affidavit — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd., Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.$4.89MFirst Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredBodkin, a Division of Bennington Financial Corp · in 3 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredCoast Capital Equipment Leasing Ltd. · in 4 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredSequoia Finance Inc.Registered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredATB Financial · in 56 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
Secured2416924 Alberta Ltd. o/a Stride Capital · in 5 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Registered against all four debtor entities; amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd., Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredEssex Lease Financial Corporation · in 6 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR (referred to also as 'Essex Leasing Financial Corporation' for Jay's Framing) — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredJonesy Energy Services Ltd.Registered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredArundel Capital Corporation · in 8 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR; lease of 2017 XCMC Model RT7OU Crane with Jay's Products, dated November 19, 2025 — Registered against all four debtor entities; Arundel seized the leased crane prior to receivership and sought exclusion from receivership; amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd., Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredBennington Financial Corp. · in 9 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredBusiness Development Bank of Canada · in 241 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Registered against all four debtor entities; amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd., Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredFord Credit Canada Company · in 25 casesRegistered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
SecuredCam Clark Ford Sales Ltd. and Cam Clark Leasing Ltd.Registered security interest at Alberta PPR — Amount not stated — debtor: Jay's Metal Products Ltd.First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Documents3 filings
DateDocumentFile
Application for an Order Compelling Compliance with the Receivership Order, dated September 2, 2026
  • Applicant Royal Bank of Canada
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 20 August 2026
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
First Report of the Receiver, dated September 2, 2026
  • Applicant ROYAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 20 August 2026
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Receivership Order, dated August 20, 2026
  • Applicant ROYAL BANK OF CANADA
  • Appointee BDO Canada Limited
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 20 August 2026
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Jay's Metal Products Ltd., Jay's Metal Structural Ltd., Jay's Metal Steel Framing Ltd. and Jay's Metal Edmonton Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/jay-s-metal-products-ltd-jay-s-metal-structural-ltd-jay-s-metal-steel-framing-lt

Sources last checked · summary updated 2 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/jay-s-metal-products-ltd-jay-s-metal-structural-ltd-jay-s-metal-steel-framing-lt

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.