Proceedings.

Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, section 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act, and section 49 of the Law of Property Act
File
2403 03944
Filings held12
Last activity5 Mar 2025
On the record976 days
OverviewSummary updated

Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd. has been in court-appointed receivership since March 4, 2024, when the Court of King's Bench of Alberta granted a receivership order under Court File No. 2403 03944. The proceeding is brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with provincial Judicature Act authority, and it remains active. Nothing further has been recorded on the file since the appointment, so the receivership stands where it began, with the order itself the only milestone on the record.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates12 dated entries
#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to 2682088 Alberta Ltd. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Closing Certificate; tenant to provide vacant possession by May 6, 2025.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order

#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Receiver continued managing the Janmar Lands and collecting rent from tenant Tristar, disclaimed the Tristar lease per court order, ran a sales process leading to an accepted purchase agreement with 268, and now seeks approval of that sale and a proposed interim distribution of proceeds.

Source: Receiver's Second Report to Court

#Order

Put Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd. into court-appointed receivership under Court of King's Bench of Alberta file 2403 03944, commencing the proceeding.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd.

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice LittleCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Mar 202559 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
DebtorJanmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd.DLA Piper (Canada) LLP12 Nov 2024Service list · 12 Nov 2024
CreditorROYNAT INCDuncan & Craig LLP12 Nov 2024Service list · 12 Nov 2024
CreditorSHALE GROUP OF COMPANIES LTD. (Encumbrancer)Brownlee LLP12 Nov 2024Service list · 12 Nov 2024
CreditorTRISTAR HYDROVACS LTD. (Tenant)McLennan Ross LLP12 Nov 2024Service list · 12 Nov 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 985 casesGST claim for period ending May 31, 2023, per CRA statement dated July 15, 2024; deemed-trust class quasi-governmental claim. Document expressly states CRA 'has not registered a secured interest in the Janmar Lands' and Exhibit 'A' creditor mailing list classifies CRA as an unsecured creditor. — debtor: Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd. · as of 15 Jul 2024$7.38KReceiver's First Report to Court
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured

5 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other) and Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

Sale approved — The Transaction is hereby approvedApproval and Vesting Order · 5 Mar 2025

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
2682088 Alberta Ltd.the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · agreement 30 Jan 2025SubscribersApproved5 Mar 2025Approval and Vesting Order
AdvisorsNAI Commercial Real Estate Inc. (listing broker)Receiver's Second Report to Court
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Closing Certificate; tenant to provide vacant possession by May 6, 2025Approval and Vesting Order
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Roynat Inc.: shortfall.EstimatedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 20 Feb 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredRoynat Inc.—shortfallEstimatedper the receiverReceiver's Second Report to Court · 20 Feb 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Emery Jamieson LLP, in feesReceiver's Second Report to Court · 20 Feb 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Emery Jamieson LLPCounsel to the receiver——not statedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 20 Feb 2025
MNP Ltd.Receiver—not statedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 20 Feb 2025

3 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing
Total liabilities at filing

As at ·

Cumulative receipts

$252K

As at 20 Feb 2025Receiver's Second Report to Court

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Professional fees

As at

2 more reported figures, and the 2 totals the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
12 filings
DateDocumentFile
Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of Receiver's Closing Certificate; tenant to provide vacant possession by May 6, 2025
  • Order date 5 March 2025
  • Presiding officer Justice J.S. Little
  • Purchaser 2682088 Alberta Ltd. · the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · real property · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Restricted Access Order
  • Presiding officer Justice J.S. Little
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report to Court
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Brownlee LLP
PDF · Subscribers
OrderPDF · Subscribers
Restricted Court Access Order
  • Presiding officer Justice J.J. Gill
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report to Court
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant Roynat Inc.
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 4 March 2024
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Cian McDonnell
PDF · Subscribers
Bench BriefPDF · Subscribers
Statement of Claim
  • Applicant ROYNAT INC.
  • Court COURT OF KING’S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • Court file no 2403 03944
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Janmar Investments (Alberta) Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/janmar-investments-alberta-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 9 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/janmar-investments-alberta-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.