Proceedings.

Instant Brands Inc

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Foreign recognition (CCAA)Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
File
CV-23-00701159-00CL
Filings held39
Last activity26 Feb 2024
On the record1,239 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Instant Brands Inc. is the applicant in active insolvency proceedings before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) under court file CV-23-00701159-00CL, brought on the basis of section 46 of the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act. The debtor group, comprising the Chapter 11 Debtors including the Canadian Debtors, is financed by two secured facilities. The DIP Term Loan Facility, originally committed at US$132.5 million and fully drawn, was upsized by a US$30 million new super senior first-out tranche under the Third DIP Amendment, bringing total commitments to US$162.5 million as at August 16, 2023. Approximately US$121.4 million of Prepetition ABL borrowings outstanding as at the Petition Date, together with approximately US$22.3 million of issued letters of credit, were rolled up into the DIP ABL Facility.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates39 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Fifth Report. The Chapter 11 Debtors completed the sale of their appliances business but the housewares sale fell through, so they continue operating the housewares business while pursuing a plan of reorganization; the Canadian Debtors' operations remain integrated with the US head office.

Source: Fifth Report of the Information Officer dated February 23, 2024

#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report of the Information Officer. The Chapter 11 Debtors have been operating in the ordinary course while advancing the sale of substantially all assets (Appliances and Housewares Transactions) and beginning work on a joint Chapter 11 plan of liquidation.

Source: Fourth Report of the Information Officer dated 13 October 2023

#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Chapter 11 Debtors (including the Canadian Debtors) continue to operate in the ordinary course while stabilizing relationships with stakeholders, and are running a court-approved sale process for all or substantially all of their assets.

Source: Second Report of the Information Officer dated 19 July 2023

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report of the Information Officer. The Chapter 11 Debtors (including the Canadian Debtors) continue to operate their consumer lifestyle brands business, with the Canadian Debtors marketing and selling products in Canada. The DIP Facilities are described as necessary to provide liquidity to continue operating and to fund restructuring efforts.

Source: First Report of the Information Officer dated 21 June 2023

Parties

Debtor

Instant Brands Inc

Information officer

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice OsborneOntario Superior Court of Justice9 orders, Jun 2023 – Oct 2023168 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ApplicantStikeman Elliott LLP15 Jun 2023Order · 15 Jun 2023
Interim lenderAblNorton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
Foreign representativeStikeman Elliott LLP23 Jun 2023Factum · 22 Jun 2023
CreditorAd Hoc group of Crossover DIP and Prepetition TermDechert LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
CreditorAlexander HartwigMcCague Borlack LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
CreditorChapter 11Davis Polk Wardwell LLP · Stikeman Elliott LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
CreditorInformation OfficerGoodmans LLP23 Feb 2024Factum · 23 Feb 2024
CreditorKeerthika Godinho, Michael GodinhoMcPhadden Samac Tuovi Haté LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
CreditorPaolo D'AstiMcNally Gervan LLP23 Feb 2024Service list · 23 Feb 2024
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredPrepetition ABL Lenders (Prepetition ABL Facility) · in 2 casesas of Petition Date — Prepetition ABL Facility; approximately $22.3 million of issued letters of credit also outstanding, rolled up into DIP ABL Facility — Outstanding borrowings totalling approximately $121.4 million as of the Petition Date, deemed substituted/exchanged for ABL DIP Obligations under the DIP ABL Facility (roll-up facility) — debtor: Chapter 11 Debtors (including Canadian Debtors)$121M USDThird Report of the Information Officer dated 16 August 2023
Secured
Secured

2 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 3 not completed · 1 approved · 1 closed — The Appliances Sale Transaction and the Housewares Sale Transaction were to result in the sale of substantially all of the Chapter 11 Debtors' business.Fifth Report of the Information Officer dated February 23, 2024 · 23 Feb 2024

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Centre Lane Partners V, L.P.the housewares business · asset salenot statedNot completedFourth Report of the Information Officer dated…
Centre Lane Partners V, L.P.the appliances business · asset salenot statedNot completedFourth Report of the Information Officer dated…
Conair IB Appliances LLCthe appliances business · asset salenot statedApprovedFourth Report of the Information Officer dated…
IB Appliances US Holdings, LLCthe sale of substantially all of the Chapter 11 Debtors' assets · asset salenot statedClosed8 Nov 2023Fifth Report of the Information Officer dated…
IB Housewares US Holdings, LLCthe Housewares Sale Transaction · asset salenot statedNot completeddate not statedFifth Report of the Information Officer dated…
AdvisorsGuggenheim Securities, LLC (financial advisor)Fourth Report of the Information Officer dated 13 October 2023
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: not yet estimated.Under the planFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredHolders of Prepetition Term Loan Claims—a distributionconditionalUnder the planper the monitorFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
Preferredall secured and priority claims with the exception of the Prepetition Term Loan Claims—paid in fullconditionalUnder the planper the monitorFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
Unsecured——not yet estimatedconditionalUnder the planper the monitorFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

7 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Ernst & Young Inc., 15 Jun 2023 – 16 Feb 2024Fifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 6 of 615 Jun 2023 – 16 Feb 2024—3 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
3 people — Ernst & Young Inc., 15 Jun 2023 – 16 Feb 2024 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sharon HamiltonPartner / Senior Vice-President—
Simone CarvalhoAssociate Partner / Senior Vice-President—
Donna HatfullManager - Paraprofessional—
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 6 of 6to 16 Feb 2024Sought—not statedFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 4 of 6to 5 Jan 20242 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
2 people — Ernst & Young Inc., to 5 Jan 2024 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sharon HamiltonRestructuringSenior Vice President
Cam BearRestructuringManager - Paraprofessionals
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 3 of 6to 27 Oct 20232 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
2 people — Ernst & Young Inc., to 27 Oct 2023 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sharon HamiltonRestructuringSenior Vice President
Donna HatfullRestructuringManager - Paraprofessionals
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 2 of 6to 8 Sep 20232 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
2 people — Ernst & Young Inc., to 8 Sep 2023 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sharon HamiltonRestructuringSenior Vice President
Donna HatfullRestructuringManager - Paraprofessionals
Ernst & Young Inc.Information officerperiod 1 of 6to 23 Jun 20233 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
3 people — Ernst & Young Inc., to 23 Jun 2023 · 9 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Sharon HamiltonRestructuringSenior Vice President
Simone CarvalhoRestructuringAssociate Partner
Donna HatfullRestructuringManager - Paraprofessionals
Goodmans LLPCounselthe Applicable Period7 peopleFifth Report of the Information Officer · 23 Feb 2024
7 people — Goodmans LLP, the Applicable Period · 14 blurred figures
NameYear of callHoursRateFees
Joseph Pasquariello1996stated average—
Dan Dedic2010stated average—
Andrew Harmes2017stated average—
Heather WilsonLaw Clerkstated average—
Erik Axell2022stated average—
Marilyn HerdWord Processingstated average—
Brad PowerWord Processingstated average—

65 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cash on hand

$2.5M USD

As at 31 May 2023First Report of the Information Officer dated 21 June 2023

Professional fees

As at

1 more reported figure

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
39 filings
DateDocumentFile
EndorsementPDF · Subscribers
OrderPDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicant, Instant Brands Inc. returnable 26 Feb 24
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliot LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Information Officer returnable February 26, 2024
  • Counsel Goodmans LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report of the Information Officer dated February 23, 2024
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 8 Nov 2023 · IB Appliances US Holdings, LLC; Did not complete · date not stated · IB Housewares US Holdings, LLC
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule Subscribers
  • + 10 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel McPhadden Samac Tuovi Haté LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Supplementary Motion record of the Applicant
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-23-00701159-00CL
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record re Confirmation Order Recognition and Ancillary Relief returnable 26 Feb 2024
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-23-00701159-00CL
PDF · Subscribers
Information Officer's Certificate (Appliances), dated 8 November 2023PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Osborne, J., dated 16 October 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Recognition and Sale Approval Order (Appliances) dated 16 October 2023PDF · Subscribers
Recognition and Sale Approval Order (Housewares) dated 16 October 2023PDF · Subscribers
Recognition of Foreign Orders and Approval of Reserves dated 16 October 2023PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Information Officer dated 13 October 2023
  • Operational summary The Chapter 11 Debtors have been operating in the ordinary course while advancing the sale of substantially all assets (Appliances and Housewares Transactions) and beginning work on a joint Chapter 11 plan of liquidation.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record re Recognition and Sale Approval Orders returnable 16 October 2023PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Motion re Recognition and Sale Approval Orders returnable 16 October 2023PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Osborne, J., dated 18 August 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Third DIP Amendment Order dated 18 August 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicant returnable 18 August 2023
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliott LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Information Officer dated 16 August 2023
  • Sale advisor Guggenheim Securities, LLC (financial advisor)
  • Sale outcome Sale process approved — The Chapter 11 Debtors are currently advancing the sale process set out by the Bidding Procedures, with the Bid Deadline and Auction still to come.
  • Financial position · Secured creditors Subscribers
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record Re Third DIP Amendment Recognition, returnable 18 August 2023PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Osborne, J. dated 20 July 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Final DIP and Bidding Procedures Approval Order dated 20 July 2023PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Information Officer dated 19 July 2023
  • Operational summary The Chapter 11 Debtors (including the Canadian Debtors) continue to operate in the ordinary course while stabilizing relationships with stakeholders, and are running a court-approved sale process for all or substantially all of their assets.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
E-Service List as of July 18, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record Re Final DIP and Bidding Procedures Approval, returnable 20 July 2023
  • Applicant Instant Brands Inc.
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • Court file no CV-23-00701159-00CL
  • Statutory basis section 46 of the Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Osborne, J. dated 23 June 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Interim DIP Approval Order dated 23 June 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Foreign Representative returnable 23 June 2023
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliott LLP
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Information Officer dated 21 June 2023
  • Operational summary The Chapter 11 Debtors (including the Canadian Debtors) continue to operate their consumer lifestyle brands business, with the Canadian Debtors marketing and selling products in Canada. The DIP Facilities are described as necessary to provide liquidity to continue operating and to fund restructuring efforts.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Interim DIP Approval returnable 23 June 2023PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Osborne, J. dated June 15, 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicant returnable 15 June 2023PDF · Subscribers
Initial Recognition Order dated June 15, 2023
  • Applicant Instant Brands Inc.
  • Commencement date 15 June 2023
  • Counsel Stikeman Elliott LLP
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (COMMERCIAL LIST)
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Part IV Application Record of Instant Brands - Vol. 1 of 4PDF · Subscribers
Part IV Application Record of Instant Brands - Vol. 2 of 4PDF · Subscribers
Part IV Application Record of Instant Brands - Vol. 3 of 4PDF · Subscribers
Part IV Application Record of Instant Brands - Vol. 4 of 4
  • Proceeding type recognition_ccaa
  • Statutory basis COMPANIES' CREDITORS ARRANGEMENT ACT, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, AS AMENDED
PDF · Subscribers
Supplemental Order dated June 15, 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Osborne
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Instant Brands Inc” (Foreign recognition (CCAA)), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/instant-brands-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/instant-brands-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.