Proceedings.

Halo Exploration Ltd.

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
2601-01970
Filings held29
Last activity26 Aug 2026
On the record223 days
Secured debt$13M
OverviewSummary updated

Halo Exploration Ltd. is in court-appointed receivership in Alberta under BIA s. 243, commenced February 10, 2026, on the application of Invico Lending Strategies LP, which holds a first-position fixed and floating charge over Halo's present and after-acquired real and personal property under an October 11, 2022 loan agreement and debenture. Invico delivered a s. 244 notice of intention to enforce security on November 17, 2025 and a notice of default on January 28, 2026, following multiple forbearance agreements and waivers. Indebtedness to Invico was $13.5 million as of January 30, 2026; Northbase Finance Inc. was owed $5.3 million as of February 6, 2026 under three lease agreements over surface infrastructure at Halo's 3-22 battery. As at the appointment date the Receiver reports approximately $18.8 million of secured debt and $19.9 million of unsecured debt.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates34 dated entries
#Order

The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A phase 1 deadline of 2026-03-27. A bid deadline of 2026-05-01.

Source: Halo Exploration Ltd. - SISP Teaser

#Report

A court officer's report was filed on the day the receivership commenced, the only step recorded in the proceeding to date.

Source: Second Report of the Receiver

Outcome brief

Halo Exploration: the creditor trust that reaches one creditor

A reverse vesting order preserved $142 million of tax pools, spared everyone an application to the Alberta Energy Regulator, and left the wells with a solvent owner. Seven months after the receiver was appointed, it asks the court to pay its senior lender a final $885,000 — leaving that lender about $300,000 short — and reports that nothing at all reaches the $19.9 million of unsecured debt.

Parties

Debtor

Halo Exploration Ltd.

Applicant

Invico Lending Strategies LP

Receiver

FTI

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice FeasbyCourt of King's Bench of Alberta5 orders, Feb 2026 – Aug 202611 cases on record
Justice JohnstonCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Apr 2026 – Jun 202632 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverFTIBurnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
ApplicantInvico Lending Strategies LPFasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorBidell Gas Compression LtdMcCarthy Tétrault LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorFS Royalty Canada LtdStikeman Elliott LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorHalliburtonNorton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorNorthbase Finance IncOsler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorTrican Well Service LtdPeak Legal Counsel8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
CreditorYellow Jacket Oil Tools, ULCLawson Lundell LLP8 Jun 2026Service list · 8 Jun 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredInvico Lending Strategies LP (successor to Invico Diversified Income Limited Partnership)Fixed and Floating Charge Demand Debenture dated October 11, 2022 (registered principal amount $35,000,000, not a balance); Pledge Agreement re Debenture; Environmental Indemnity Agreement; Deposit Account Control Agreement (Halo, ATB Financial, Invico Diversified LP); registered first-position security over all present and after-acquired personal and real property of Halo (Alberta PPR registrations, incl. 250106218991 and 25010624375) — Amount is Indebtedness as stated in the First Forbearance Amendment dated on or about Nov 27, 2025 (para 34(b) of affidavit). Original loan facility (aggregat · as of 27 Nov 2025$13MAffidavit of Adam Jenkins
5PMSI / lessorsPPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) — Norden Finance Inc. · in 183 casesLiens securing Capital Leases/Purchase Money Security Interests constituting Permitted Indebtedness (aggregate cap $7,000,000), per Alberta PPR registration numbers 22032108180, 22062929238 and 22081213689 — Serialized-equipment financier; amount of actual outstanding balance not stated in these pages. — debtor: Halo Exploration Ltd.Affidavit of Adam Jenkins

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Phase 1 deadline

27 March 2026

Halo Exploration Ltd. - SISP Teaser

RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. Invico Diversified LP short by $300K · Canadian Natural Resources $17K · Pembina Pipeline Corporation $82.3K.Third Report of the Receiver · 14 Aug 2026

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Court chargesReceiver's Borrowing Charge$110Kper the receiverSecond Report of the Receiver · 8 Jun 2026
SecuredOutstanding Municipal Taxes$368Kper the receiverSecond Report of the Receiver · 8 Jun 2026
SecuredInvico Diversified LP$1.1Mestimatedshort by $300KfinalEstimatedper the receiverThird Report of the Receiver · 14 Aug 2026
PMSI / lessorCanadian Natural Resources$17Kper the receiverSecond Report of the Receiver · 8 Jun 2026
PMSI / lessorPembina Pipeline Corporation$82.3Kper the receiverSecond Report of the Receiver · 8 Jun 2026
PMSI / lessorWhitecap Resources Inc.$11.3Kper the receiverSecond Report of the Receiver · 8 Jun 2026
Unsecuredno distributionper the receiverThird Report of the Receiver · 14 Aug 2026

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
29 filings
DateDocumentFile
Order for Final Distribution, Approval of the Receiver's Fees and Disbursements, Approval of the Receiver's Activities, and Discharge of the ReceiverTrustee site
Order for Final Distribution, Approval of the Receiver's Fees and Disbursements, Approval of the Receiver's Activities, and Discharge of the Receiver
  • Presiding officer Justice C.C.J. Feasby
PDF
Affidavit of ServicePDF
Application for Discharge of ReceiverPDF
Service Letter to Service List re 14 August 2026 Application MaterialsPDF
Third Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per estimated · Stated on: 2026-08-14 · Table missing:
PDF
Receiver's CertificatePDF
Approval and Reverse Vesting OrderPDF
Order for Approval of Distributions, Activities, Restricted Court Access, and Related Relief
  • Presiding officer Justice B.B. Johnston
PDF
Application for Reverse Vesting Order and Related ReliefPDF
Brief of Law
  • Counsel Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP
PDF
Second Report of the Receiver
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2026-06-08 · Table missing:
PDF
Service Letter to Service List re 08 June 2026 Application MaterialsPDF
Service List
  • Counsel Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
PDF
Order re Key Employee Retention Place
  • Presiding officer Justice B.B. Johnston
PDF
Application (Approval of KERP, Activities, Restricted Cour Access)
  • Secured creditors Note: Existing secured creditor as at the Appointment Date; ranks ahead of Secondary KERP Charge; amount not stated · Page: 3 · As of: Appointment Date · Debtor: Halo Exploration Ltd. · Creditor: Northbase · Currency: CAD · Security: Perfected security interest
PDF
First Report of the Receiver
  • Financial position as at — · per prose approximation, not itemized in a formal statement · Halo Exploration Ltd. (entity level) — Document states, without providing a combined total: 'As at the Appointment Date, the Debtor had approximately $18.8 million of secured debt and $19.9 million of unsecured debt.' Components not summed per reporting rules; no total assets figure provided in these pages.
  • Secured creditors $13.5M · Note: Prose approximation elsewhere describes Debtor's total secured debt at Appointment Date (Feb 10, 2026) as approx. $18.8 million (aggregate, includes Northbase and possibly others). Invico delivered s.244 BIA notice of intention to enforce security Nov 17, 2025 and Notice of Default Jan 28, 2026; multiple forbearance agreements/waivers preceded receivership. · Page: 5 · As of: 2026-01-30 · Debtor: Halo Exploration Ltd. · Creditor: Invico Diversified LP, by its general partner Invico Diversified Income Managing GP Inc. · Security: Invico Loan Agreement dated October 11, 2022; aggregate principal originally advanced $19.0 million (original advance, not a balance)
PDF
Halo Exploration Ltd. - SISP NDAPDF
Halo Exploration Ltd. - SISP Teaser
  • Bid deadline 1 May 2026
  • Phase1 deadline 27 March 2026
PDF
Notice and Statement of Receiver with Creditor ListingPDF
Order for Approval of Sale and Investment Solicitation Process (SISP)
  • Bid deadline 1 May 2026
  • Order date 10 February 2026
  • Phase1 deadline 27 March 2026
  • Presiding officer Justice C.C.J. Feasby
PDF
Receivership Order
  • Presiding officer Justice C.C.J. Feasby
PDF
SISP Procedure
  • Bid deadline 1 May 2026
  • Phase1 deadline 27 March 2026
PDF
Affidavit of Nicholas HeffernanPDF
Supplemental Affidavit of Adam JenkinsPDF
Affidavit of Adam Jenkins
  • Secured creditors Note: Identified as a Permitted Lien under the Invico Loan Agreement; balance owing to Norden Finance Inc. is not stated in the document. · Page: 39 · Debtor: Halo Exploration Ltd. · Creditor: PPSA equipment financiers (PMSI class) — Norden Finance Inc. · Currency: CAD · Security: Purchase Money Security Interests/Capital Leases registered against serialized equipment, per Alberta Personal Property Registry registration numbers 22032108180, 22062929238 and 22081213689 (aggregate Permitted Indebtedness for PMSI/Capital Lease category capped at $7,000,000 — a facility ceiling, not a stated balance)
PDF
Application for Receivership Order and Approval of SISP
  • Applicant INVICO LENDING STRATEGIES LP, by its general partner, INVICO LENDING STRATEGIES GP INC.
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Court COURT OF KING’S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Brief of the Applicant for Receivership Order and Approval of SISP
  • Applicant INVICO LENDING STRATEGIES LP, by its general partner, INVICO LENDING STRATEGIES GP INC.
  • Appointee FTI Consulting Canada Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Court COURT OF KING’S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Consent to Act as ReceiverPDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Halo Exploration Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/halo-exploration-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/halo-exploration-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.