Proceedings.

Geyser Brands Inc.

ClosedFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
S-229292
Filings held16
Last activity9 Feb 2024
On the record1,420 days
OverviewSummary updated

Geyser Brands Inc. has been under court-appointed receivership since December 16, 2022, when the proceeding was commenced in the Supreme Court of British Columbia on the statutory footing of section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with provincial Judicature Act authority. The matter proceeds in British Columbia under court file number S-229292. The receivership is now closed.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates16 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

Geyser Brands Inc.

Receiver

BDO

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice BrandsSupreme Court of British Columbia1 order, Apr 20231 case on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
CreditorGlen Wilson & Derek TaylorAllen/McMillan Litigation Counsel27 Mar 2023Application · 27 Mar 2023
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no recovery. 113 Royal a distribution.EstimatedNotice of Application to Discharge Receiver and Distribute Remaining… · 30 Jan 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Secured113 Royal—Estimatedper the receiverNotice of Application to Discharge Receiver and Distribute Remaining… · 30 Jan 2024
Unsecured—listedno recoveryEstimatedper the receiverNotice of Application to Discharge Receiver and Distribute Remaining… · 30 Jan 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

2 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

8 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Farris LLP, 1 Oct 2022 – 30 Nov 2023Affidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 3 of 311 Oct 2022 – 17 Nov 2023Sought4 peopleAffidavit #2 of Chris Bowra (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
4 people — BDO Canada Limited, 11 Oct 2022 – 17 Nov 2023 · 13 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Jervis RodriguesPartnerstated average—
Chris BowraVice Presidentstated average—
Martin ChanManagerstated average—
Troy ChesleySenior Analyststated average—
Total—stated average—
Office Administration.—stated average—
Office Administration——stated average—
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 3 of 3to 17 Nov 2023—6 peopleAffidavit #2 of Chris Bowra (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
6 people — BDO Canada Limited, to 17 Nov 2023 · 18 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Chris BowraVice President
Troy ChesleySr. Analyst
Wanda LabonteAdmin
Carla CascoAdmin
Laura DemchukAdmin
T. KellyAnalyst
BDO Canada LimitedReceiverperiod 1 of 311 Oct 2022 – 13 Mar 20238 peopleAffidavit #2 of Chris Bowra (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
8 people — BDO Canada Limited, 11 Oct 2022 – 13 Mar 2023 · 24 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Chris BowraSenior Manager
Chris BowraSenior Manager
Jillian MisenerManager
Martin ChanManager
Martin ChanManager
Wanda LabonteAdministrator-Senior
Carla CascoAdministrator
Laura DemchukAdministrator
Farris LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 5 of 51 Oct 2022 – 30 Nov 2023Sought——not statedAffidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
Farris LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 4 of 518 Nov 2022 – 31 May 2023Sought—not statedSecond Report of Receiver (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
Farris LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 3 of 51 Apr – 30 Apr 2023—2 peopleAffidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
2 people — Farris LLP, 1 Apr – 30 Apr 2023 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Tevia Jeffries—
Cindy Chai—
Farris LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 51 Mar – 31 Mar 2023—2 peopleAffidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
2 people — Farris LLP, 1 Mar – 31 Mar 2023 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Tevia Jeffries—
Daxton Boere—
Farris LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 51 Feb – 28 Feb 2023—2 peopleAffidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024) · 29 Jan 2024
2 people — Farris LLP, 1 Feb – 28 Feb 2023 · 6 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Tevia Jeffries—
Trevor Shum—

88 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
16 filings
DateDocumentFile
Discharge Order (Feb 9, 2024)PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application to Discharge Receiver and Distribute Remaining Funds (Filed January 30, 2024)
  • Counsel Allen/McMillan Litigation Counsel
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Tevia Jeffries (January 29, 2024)
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #2 of Chris Bowra (January 29, 2024)
PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of Receiver (January 29, 2024)
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2024-01-29 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Order Made After Application Approving Sale (Apr 11, 2023)
  • Presiding officer Justice Geyser Brands
PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application of Receiver to Approve a Sale (Filed March 27, 2023)
  • Counsel Allen/McMillan Litigation Counsel
PDF · Subscribers
First Report of Receiver (March 22, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Form 87 - Notice and Statement of the Receiver (Geyser Brands Inc.)PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order (Dec 16, 2022)
  • Commencement date 16 December 2022
  • Court In the Supreme Court of British Columbia
  • Court file no S-229292
PDF · Subscribers
Sales Process Order (Dec 16, 2022)PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Hearing (filed Dec 12, 2022)PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Chris Bowra (December 8, 2022)PDF · Subscribers
Notice of Application (Filed Dec 5, 2022)PDF · Subscribers
Petition to the Court (Filed Nov 22, 2022)PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit #1 of Helen Ai (November 19, 2022)PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Geyser Brands Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Supreme Court of British Columbia. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/geyser-brands-inc

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/geyser-brands-inc

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.