Proceedings.

Gabriel Construction Ltd., Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd and SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc.

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
1701-03799
Filings held21
Last activity23 Nov 2020
On the record3,516 days
OverviewSummary updated

Gabriel Construction Ltd., Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd and SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc. have been the subject of a court-appointed receivership commenced on March 21, 2017, grounded in section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with provincial Judicature Act jurisdiction. The proceeding was brought in Alberta, in what was then the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta and is now the Court of King's Bench of Alberta, under court file number 1701-03799. The three related debtors were administered together in the one proceeding, which is now closed.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates21 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

Gabriel Construction Ltd., Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd and SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc.

Receiver

Deloitte

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice CampbellCourt of King's Bench of Alberta3 orders, Jun 2017 – Jun 201843 cases on record
Justice JonesCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Mar 2017 – Oct 202093 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverDeloitteTorys LLP7 Jun 2017Service list · 7 Jun 2017
DebtorGabriel Construction Ltd., Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd and SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc.Borden Ladner Gervais LLP · Field Law21 Mar 2017Order · 6 Sep 2017
CreditorContech Electric LtdDrieseen De Rudder LLP7 Jun 2017Service list · 7 Jun 2017
CreditorRoyal Bank of CanadaBorden Ladner Gervais LLP7 Jun 2017Service list · 7 Jun 2017
CreditorTown of Westlock and Westlock Regional Water Services CommissionMcLennan Ross LLP7 Jun 2017Service list · 7 Jun 2017
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. Canada Revenue Agency paid in full · Royal Bank of Canada short · Service Canada paid in full.FinalReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Deemed trustCanada Revenue Agency—paid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020
SecuredRoyal Bank of Canada—shortfallFinalper the receiverReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020
PreferredService Canada—paid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020
PreferredWorkers' Compensation Board—paid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020
UnsecuredCompanies' unsecured creditors—no distributionFinalper the receiverReceiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) · 20 Nov 2020

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

3 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Deloitte Restructuring Inc., 21 Mar 2017 – 18 Sep 2020, in feesFourth Report of the Receiver - filed Oct. 1, 2020 · 1 Oct 2020

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Deloitte Restructuring Inc.Receiver21 Mar 2017 – 18 Sep 2020—not statedFourth Report of the Receiver - filed Oct. 1, 2020 · 1 Oct 2020
Torys LLPCounsel to the receiver21 Mar 2017 – 15 Sep 2020—not statedFourth Report of the Receiver - filed Oct. 1, 2020 · 1 Oct 2020

2 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
21 filings
DateDocumentFile
Affidavit confirming discharge of Receiver – dated November 23, 2020PDF · Subscribers
Receiver’s Final Report pursuant to subsection 246(3) – dated November 20, 2020
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per actual; per actual; per actual; per actual; per actual · Stated on: 2020-11-20 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Final Distribution and Receiver’s Discharge order – filed October 22, 2020
  • Presiding officer Justice C.M. Jones
PDF · Subscribers
Application for Final Distribution and Discharge of the Receiver - filed Oct. 1, 2020
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Receiver - filed Oct. 1, 2020
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2020-09-30 · Table missing:
  • Fee schedule Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order , filed June 26, 2018
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Campbell
PDF · Subscribers
Application for an Approval and Vesting Order and a Restricted Court Access Order – filed June 12, 2018PDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Receiver – filed June 12, 2018
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Stated on: 2018-06-12 · Table missing:
PDF · Subscribers
Consent Order – filed September 6, 2017
  • Counsel Torys LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice B.E.C. Romaine
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Tracey Hutchings – sworn and filed August 31, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Application in relation to the Honduras Property – filed August 22, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Receiver – filed August 22, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Approval of Auction Proposal Distribution of Funds Order - granted June 7, 2017
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Campbell
PDF · Subscribers
Letter to Service List re Application on June 7, 2017
  • Counsel Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Restricted Court Access Order - granted June 7, 2017
  • Presiding officer Justice G.A. Campbell
PDF · Subscribers
Application for Order Approving Auction Proposal, Distribution of Funds, Restricted Court Access Order - filed June 1, 2017PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Receiver - filed June 1, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of the Receiver - Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd., dated March 31, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of the Receiver - Gabriel Construction Ltd., dated March 31, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Notice and Statement of the Receiver - SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc., dated March 31, 2017PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order granted March 21, 2017
  • Commencement date 21 March 2017
  • Counsel Field LLP
  • Court COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • Court file no 1701-03799
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Gabriel Construction Ltd., Gabriel Construction (Alberta) Ltd and SaskAlta Environmental Solutions Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/gabriel-construction-ltd-gabriel-construction-alberta-ltd-and-saskalta-environme

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/gabriel-construction-ltd-gabriel-construction-alberta-ltd-and-saskalta-environme

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.

Gabriel Construction Ltd. et al. — Receivership | Proceedings.