Proceedings.

Field Trip Health & Wellness Ltd. and Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., and Field Trip Digital Canada Inc. and Field Trip Health USA Inc

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
CCAACompanies' Creditors Arrangement Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, as amended
File
CV-23-00696599-00CL
Filings held40
Last activity13 Jun 2024
On the record1,315 days
OverviewSummary updated

Field Trip Health & Wellness Ltd., together with Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., Field Trip Digital Canada Inc. and Field Trip Health USA Inc., has been under CCAA protection since March 22, 2023 before the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, and the proceedings remain active. The group's filed list of creditors with claims of $1,000 and more is dominated by intercompany exposures: Field Trip Health Holdings owes Field Trip Health & Wellness $15,119,030.20, and Field Trip Health USA owes Field Trip Health Holdings $7,787,973.57. Among third-party claims, the largest are BAT Wynwood LLC at $147,095.55 and Miller Thomson LLP at $113,282.50, followed by a substantial number of US landlords, professional firms and service providers owed sums in the tens of thousands.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates40 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Sixth Report. The Applicants have no ongoing business operations following prior asset sales; the Monitor is winding down the estate on a 'care and maintenance' basis, pursuing collection of residual assets such as an HST refund and potential Employee Retention Credit claims, and preparing for a possible wind-down/bankruptcy strategy.

Source: Sixth Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. Fifth Report of the Monitor. The Applicants are in a care-and-maintenance posture: only limited part-time contract former employees are retained to help recover residual assets (expected HST refunds and U.S. employee retention credits), with the Monitor administering the proceedings and seeking a stay extension to June 15, 2024.

Source: Fifth Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report of the Monitor. The Applicants have sold or assigned most clinic operations through the SISP, terminated all employees except the CRO (and a few contractors), and are in a 'care and maintenance' state while pursuing residual assets (HST refunds and COVID-19 credits), with a stay extension to December 15, 2023 and expanded Monitor powers sought.

Source: Fourth Report of the Monitor

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Canadian Centre for Psychedelic Healing Sault Ste. Marie Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery by the Monitor of the Monitor's Certificate.

Source: CCFPH Order

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Stella MSO LLC. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser takes effect upon delivery of the Monitor's certificate to the Purchaser, confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction or waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the transaction to the Monitor's satisfaction.

Source: Stella Approval Order

#Report

The officer filed report no. Third Report. The company has terminated virtually all remaining employees and curtailed operations to minimize cash burn, while selling clinics (Toronto/Vancouver to CCFPH; New York, DC and San Carlos to Stella) and pursuing residual assets such as HST refunds and COVID-19 credits ahead of an expanded-powers order for the Monitor.

Source: Third Report of the Monitor

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to William Mahfood. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate to the Purchaser; the Monitor must file a copy of the certificate with the Court forthwith after delivery.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order

#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Applicants continue to operate in the ordinary course while running a court-approved sale and investment solicitation process; one sale (the Jamaica assets, $350,000) is proposed for approval, and further asset sales are being negotiated with a view to winding down the remaining business.

Source: Second Report of the Monitor

#Order

The court approved a sale and investment solicitation process. A bid deadline of 2023-04-24.

Source: SISP Order

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. The Applicants intend to continue operating as a going concern during the CCAA proceedings while downsizing, including closing five clinics and selling non-material assets, and are running a sale and investment solicitation process; cash is expected to be almost entirely consumed by May 4, 2023.

Source: First Report of the Monitor

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. The Applicants intend to continue operating as a going concern during the CCAA proceedings while downsizing, closing five of their operating clinics (four clinics to continue operating), and running a sale and investment solicitation process; cash is projected to be almost entirely consumed by May 4, 2023.

Source: First Report of the Monitor to the Court

Parties

Debtor

Field Trip Health & Wellness Ltd. and Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., and Field Trip Digital Canada Inc. and Field Trip Health USA Inc

Monitor

PwC

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice ConwayOntario Superior Court of Justice6 orders, Mar 2023 – May 2023310 cases on record
Justice BlackOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Jun 2024198 cases on record
Justice CavanaghOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Dec 2023318 cases on record
Justice SteeleOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, May 2023245 cases on record
Justice McEwenOntario Superior Court of Justice2 orders, Mar 2023143 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
MonitorPwCThornton Grout Finnigan LLP16 Jun 2023Service list · 16 Jun 2023
ApplicantField Trip Health & Wellness Ltd. and Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., and Field Trip Digital Canada Inc. and Field Trip Health USA IncMiller Thomson LLP22 Mar 2023Order · 22 Mar 2023
CreditorB & B Investments LimitedFarris LLP · McInnes Cooper16 Jun 2023Service list · 16 Jun 2023
CreditorCreekside Ventures LtdFarris LLP16 Jun 2023Service list · 16 Jun 2023
CreditorLandlordFarris LLP · Fij Law LLP16 Jun 2023Service list · 16 Jun 2023
CreditorStella MSO LLCBlake, Cassels & Graydon LLP16 Jun 2023Service list · 16 Jun 2023
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
UnsecuredField Trip Health & Wellnessrelated party - intercompany — debtor: FTHH$15.1MList of Creditors
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured
Unsecured

79 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Sale processAs stated in the filings

6 transactions · 4 closed · 1 approved · 1 proposed — The SISP is substantially complete, resulting in various asset and lease transactions but did not generate significant sale proceeds.Fourth Report of the Monitor · 9 Jun 2023

Bid deadline (round closed)

24 April 2023

SISP Order

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
William Mahfoodcertain equipment and assets of the Applicants, as described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (the Purchased Assets) · asset sale · agreement 27 Apr 2023SubscribersApproved2 May 2023Approval and Vesting Order
purchaser of the Applicants' Jamaican assets and property, unnamedsubstantially all of the Applicants' Jamaican assets and property · asset salenot statedClosed15 May 2023Third Report of the Monitor
third party assignee of Fredericton lease, unnamedthe lease and certain equipment at the Company's health clinic located in Fredericton, New Brunswick · asset saleSubscribersProposedThird Report of the Monitor
Canadian Centre for Psychedelic Healing Sault Ste. Marie Inc.the Purchased Assets described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (the CCFPH Transaction) · asset sale · agreement 20 May 2023SubscribersClosed9 Jun 2023Fourth Report of the Monitor
Stella MSO LLCcertain intellectual property, equipment and other assets (the Purchased Assets, as defined in the Asset Purchase Agreement) · asset sale · agreement 20 May 2023SubscribersClosed7 Jun 2023Fourth Report of the Monitor
Clerkenwella non-exclusive license to use, reproduce, and modify the Applicants' patient, therapist, and client portal (the 'Portal') · asset sale · agreement 18 May 2023SubscribersClosedFourth Report of the Monitor
Closing termsVesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery by the Monitor of the Monitor's Certificate.CCFPH Order
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$6.73K

As at 5 Jun 2024Sixth Report of the Monitor

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
40 filings
DateDocumentFile
Endorsement of J Black (re Stay Extension Order)
  • Presiding officer Justice W.D. Black
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order (re Stay Period to December 13, 2024)
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Black
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of the Monitor (re Stay Extension Order)
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Sixth Report of the Monitor
  • Closing confirmed Closed · date not stated · Canadian Centre for Psychedelic Healing Sault Ste. Marie Inc.; Closed · date not stated · Stella MSO, LLC
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 7 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of J Cavanagh re Stay Extension Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension Order
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Cavanagh
PDF · Subscribers
Fifth Report of the Monitor
  • Operational summary The Applicants are in a care-and-maintenance posture: only limited part-time contract former employees are retained to help recover residual assets (expected HST refunds and U.S. employee retention credits), with the Monitor administering the proceedings and seeking a stay extension to June 15, 2024.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of the Monitor
  • Counsel Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Service List
  • Counsel Farris LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of J CentaPDF · Subscribers
Enhanced Monitor's Powers Order
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Robert Centa
PDF · Subscribers
Book of Authorities of the ApplicantsPDF · Subscribers
Factum of the ApplicantsPDF · Subscribers
Fourth Report of the Monitor
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 7 Jun 2023 · Stella MSO, LLC; Closed · 9 Jun 2023 · Canadian Centre for Psychedelic Healing Sault Ste. Marie Inc.; Did not complete · date not stated · Stella MSO, LLC
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of the Applicants (re Stay Extension Order and the Enhanced Monitor’s Powers Order)PDF · Subscribers
CCFPH Order
  • Closing terms Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser is effective upon delivery by the Monitor of the Monitor's Certificate.
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Order date 25 May 2023
  • Purchaser Canadian Centre for Psychedelic Healing Sault Ste. Marie Inc. · the Purchased Assets described in the Asset Purchase Agreement (the CCFPH Transaction) · asset sale · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of J Steele
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
PDF · Subscribers
Stella Approval Order
  • Closing terms Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser takes effect upon delivery of the Monitor's certificate to the Purchaser, confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction or waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the transaction to the Monitor's satisfaction.
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Order date 25 May 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Steele
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of the Applicants (re CCFPH Order and Stella Approval Order)PDF · Subscribers
Third Report of the Monitor
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 15 May 2023
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 9 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order
  • Closing terms Vesting of the Purchased Assets in the Purchaser occurs upon delivery of the Monitor's Certificate to the Purchaser; the Monitor must file a copy of the certificate with the Court forthwith after delivery.
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Order date 2 May 2023
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of J Conway (re Stay Extension, Increase in Administration Charge Order
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Stay Extension, Increase in Administration Charge Order
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Factum of the Applicants returnable May 2, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Motion Record of the Applicants returnable May 2, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Second Report of the Monitor
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position · Operational summary Subscribers
  • + 8 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Amended and Restated Initial Order
  • Applicant Field Trip Health & Wellness Ltd., Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., Field Trip Digital Canada Inc., and Field Trip Health USA Inc.
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role proposed monitor
  • Commencement date 31 March 2023
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of J McEwenPDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Monitor to the Court
  • Operational summary The Applicants intend to continue operating as a going concern during the CCAA proceedings while downsizing, closing five of their operating clinics (four clinics to continue operating), and running a sale and investment solicitation process; cash is projected to be almost entirely consumed by May 4, 2023.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
SISP
  • Bid deadline 24 April 2023
  • Break fee · Stalking horse Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
SISP Order
  • Bid deadline 24 April 2023
  • Counsel Miller Thomson LLP
  • Order date 31 March 2023
  • Break fee Subscribers
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
List of Creditors
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Creditors
PDF · Subscribers
Application Record of the Applicants (re Amended and Restated Initial Order and SISP Order)PDF · Subscribers
First Report of the Monitor
  • Operational summary The Applicants intend to continue operating as a going concern during the CCAA proceedings while downsizing, including closing five clinics and selling non-material assets, and are running a sale and investment solicitation process; cash is expected to be almost entirely consumed by May 4, 2023.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Amended Initial Order
  • Applicant FIELD TRIP HEALTH & WELLNESS LTD., FIELD TRIP HEALTH HOLDINGS INC., FIELD TRIP HEALTH CANADA INC., FIELD TRIP DIGITAL CANADA INC., and FIELD TRIP HEALTH USA Inc.
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 23 March 2023
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Endorsement of Justice Conway
  • Presiding officer Justice Conway
PDF · Subscribers
Initial Order
  • Applicant FIELD TRIP HEALTH & WELLNESS LTD., FIELD TRIP HEALTH HOLDINGS INC., FIELD TRIP HEALTH CANADA INC., and FIELD TRIP DIGITAL CANADA INC.
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Monitor
  • Commencement date 22 March 2023
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application Record of the ApplicantsPDF · Subscribers
Pre-Filing Report of the MonitorPDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Field Trip Health & Wellness Ltd. and Field Trip Health Holdings Inc., Field Trip Health Canada Inc., and Field Trip Digital Canada Inc. and Field Trip Health USA Inc” (CCAA), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/field-trip-health-wellness-ltd-and-field-trip-health-holdings-inc-field-trip-hea

Sources last checked · summary updated 5 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/field-trip-health-wellness-ltd-and-field-trip-health-holdings-inc-field-trip-hea

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.