Proceedings.

Economy Landscape Contractors Ltd. and Economy Landscape Group Ltd

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. B-3, and sections 13(2) of the Judicature Act, R.S.A. 2000, c.J-2, and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act, R.S.A. 2000, c.P-7
File
1803 21213
Filings held18
Last activity23 Oct 2020
On the record2,932 days
OverviewSummary updated

Economy Landscape Contractors Ltd. and Economy Landscape Group Ltd. have been under court-appointed receivership in Alberta since October 26, 2018, with PricewaterhouseCoopers appointed receiver pursuant to security granted to the Toronto Dominion Bank, which obtained the receivership order under that security. The proceeding is before the Court of King's Bench of Alberta on the basis of section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act relief. TD's claim against Economy Landscape Group Ltd. is recorded at CAD 751,000. John Deere Financial Inc., the Canada Revenue Agency, Gregg Distributors and Summit Acceptance Corp. are each listed separately as secured parties against Economy Landscape Group Ltd. The receivership remains active.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates18 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Third and Final Report. The receivership is essentially complete: all assets of both Contractors and Group have been realized, priority and secured creditor claims paid, and a shareholder litigation settlement reached; the Receiver is now seeking court approval of distributions, fee approval, and its own discharge subject to completion of remaining administrative duties.

Source: Receiver's Third and Final Report dated October 9, 2020

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to the Debtors right, title and interest in and to the property described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets"). Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction to the Receiver's satisfaction. Sealed: Sale Agreement filed as Confidential Appendix J to the Second Report.

Source: Approval and Vesting Order granted August 26, 2019

Parties

Debtor

Economy Landscape Contractors Ltd. and Economy Landscape Group Ltd

Receiver

PwC

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice GillCourt of King's Bench of Alberta3 orders, Aug 201953 cases on record
Justice NielsenCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Oct 2018 – Mar 201931 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
CreditorAubee Girard CMG CorpDoherty Schuldhaus LLP23 Oct 2020Order · 23 Oct 2020
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency · in 985 casesAmount to be determined; listed as secured party — debtor: Economy Landscape Group Ltd.—245, 246 Notice - Economy Landscape Group Ltd
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured

5 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “—” means not in the extracted record.

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

3 transactions · 2 closed · 1 approved — the sale of the Company's real estate and equipment/fixed assets have both closedReceiver's Third and Final Report dated October 9, 2020 · 9 Oct 2020

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
referred to only as "the Potential Purchaser" (the "Purchaser"); name not stated in the textthe Debtors right, title and interest in and to the property described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 30 May 2019SubscribersApproved26 Aug 2019Approval and Vesting Order granted August 26,…
Century Services Corp.the Company's equipment and fixed assets · auctionnot statedClosedReceiver's Third and Final Report dated October…
Kenroc Holdings Ltd.the real estate owned by Group · real propertynot statedClosed27 Aug 2019Receiver's Third and Final Report dated October…
AdvisorsCentury Services Corp. (auctioneer); Omada Commercial (listing broker)Receiver's Third and Final Report dated October 9, 2020
Closing termsVesting occurs upon delivery of a Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction to the Receiver's satisfaction.Approval and Vesting Order granted August 26, 2019
Sealed materialsSale Agreement filed as Confidential Appendix J to the Second ReportApproval and Vesting Order granted August 26, 2019
RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. CRA paid in full · Economy Landscape Group Ltd. short · TD Bank paid in full.Receiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
WEPPAEmployee Claims/Section 81.4 Limited Super Priority/WEPPA—paid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
Deemed trustCRApaid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
SecuredGroup Secured Claim (as against Contractors)Economy Landscape Group Ltd.short by Estimatedper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
SecuredTD Bank—paid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
UnsecuredUnsecured Creditors of Contractorslistedno distributionper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
UnsecuredUnsecured Creditors of Group (Stavropoulos PC, Field, Promissory Notes, Shareholder Loans, Joco Cash Settlement)related party—Estimatedper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
UnsecuredCRApaid in fullFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
UnsecuredJoco—paid in fullper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
EquityShareholders of Group—Estimatedper the receiverReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

9 blurred figures above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

5 engagements · 3 firms — latest: PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., 24 Oct 2018 – 15 Sep 2020, incl. taxReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
FieldCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 230 Nov 2018 – 31 Dec 2019—not statedReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
FieldCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 231 Dec 2018 – 30 Apr 2019—not statedReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.Receiver24 Oct 2018 – 15 Sep 2020—not statedReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
Reynolds Mirth Richards & Farmer LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 227 Jun 2019 – 27 Aug 2020—not statedReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020
Reynolds Mirth Richards & Farmer LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 231 Oct 2018 – 31 Jul 2019—not statedReceiver's Third and Final Report · 9 Oct 2020

5 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
18 filings
DateDocumentFile
Court Order granted October 23, 2020
  • Counsel Brian Doherty Doherty Schuldhaus LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice D.R. Mah
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Third and Final Report dated October 9, 2020
  • Closing confirmed Closed · 27 Aug 2019 · Kenroc Holdings Ltd.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule Subscribers
  • + 11 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of Fees Sworn October 8, 2020PDF · Subscribers
Approval and Vesting Order granted August 26, 2019
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Receiver's Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction to the Receiver's satisfaction.
  • Order date 26 August 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice J.J. Gill
  • Purchaser referred to only as "the Potential Purchaser" (the "Purchaser"); name not stated in the text · nominee/assignee its nominee · the Debtors right, title and interest in and to the property described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · approved
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Miscellaneous Orders granted August 26, 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice J.J. Gill
PDF · Subscribers
Sealing Order granted August 26, 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice J.J. Gill
PDF · Subscribers
Application Filed August 19, 2019
  • Applicant PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver and Manager
  • Commencement date 19 August 2019
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Brief of the Receiver Filed August 19, 2019PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report dated August 14, 2019PDF · Subscribers
Confidential Appendix J to the First ReportPDF · Subscribers
Filed Order March 20, 2019PDF · Subscribers
Filed Sealing Order March 20, 2019
  • Presiding officer Justice K.G. Nielsen
PDF · Subscribers
245, 246 Notice - Economy Landscape Contractors LtdPDF · Subscribers
245, 246 Notice - Economy Landscape Group Ltd
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Exhibit APDF · Subscribers
Filed Receiver's First ReportPDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order filed 26-Oct-2018
  • Applicant THE TORONTO DOMINION BANK
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 26 October 2018
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Application - Filed March 20, 2018
  • Applicant PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
  • Appointee role Receiver and Manager
  • Commencement date 11 March 2019
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Economy Landscape Contractors Ltd. and Economy Landscape Group Ltd” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/economy-landscape-contractors-ltd-and-economy-landscape-group-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 5 September 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/economy-landscape-contractors-ltd-and-economy-landscape-group-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.