Ceana Development Sunridge Inc.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985 c B-3 and section 13 of the Judicature Act, RSA 2000 c J-2
- File
- 1801-04745
Application re Remove Gaidhars and Security for Costs (February 17, 2021) — Application / notice of application
Application re: Ceana for Approval of Receiver Activities, Fees — Application / notice of application
Application by the Defendants by Counterclaim (January 8, 2021) — Application / notice of application
Application re: Disputed Trust Funds held by Torys LLP (January 4, 2021) — Application / notice of application
Application of Eureka Prescriptions Inc (December 15, 2020) — Application / notice of application
Additional Responses to Undertakings of K. Ferrel (November 27, 2020) — Response / objection pleading
Filing of Receivership and Reporting Duties of Receiver (July 30, 2019) — Court officer report
Ceana Sunridge – Notice of Statement of Receiver (July 15, 2019) — Notice of receiver (s. 245 / Form 87)
The court appointed Hardie & Kelly Inc. as receiver and manager, on the application of Hillsboro Ventures Inc.. Court file 1801-04745.
Source: Application for Receivership Order and Amended Statement of Claim (June 24, 2019)
Undated filings3 — no date appears on the document · show
Notice of Withdrawal - Sukhdeep Dhaliwal and Mandeep Mavi (filed) — Application filed
Guide
What happens to your deposit if your builder goes bankrupt in Canada
When a Canadian builder goes bankrupt or into receivership, buyers of condos, new homes and presales have paid deposits that may be in trust, insured or already spent. How Tarion, deposit insurance and the trust rules work in Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta and Québec, what a receiver can do with your purchase agreement, and how deposits come back, drawn from the court record.
Debtor
Ceana Development Sunridge Inc.
Receiver
Alvarez & Marsal
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Eidsvik | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 11 orders, Oct 2019 – Jun 2021 | 45 cases on record |
| Justice Romaine | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 4 orders, Jul 2019 – Jul 2021 | 91 cases on record |
| Justice Jones | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 3 orders, Jun 2020 | 93 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverAlvarez & Marsal | Torys LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| Applicantants | Torys LLP | 15 Mar 2021 | Order · 15 Mar 2021 |
| DebtorCeana Development Sunridge Inc. | KH Dunkley Law Group · Glenn & Card LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| Purchaser1785337 Alberta Ltd | Field Law | 26 Oct 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| Purchaser1785337 Alberta Ltd. Joint Venturee / | Field Law | 21 Jan 2020 | Service list · 21 Jan 2020 |
| Purchaser1989207 Alberta Ltd | Chibambo Law Firm | 21 Jan 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| PurchaserAlein Mounir / Joint Venturee | William Katz JSS | 21 Jan 2020 | Service list · 21 Jan 2020 |
| PurchaserEureka Prescriptions ( / Joint Venturee) | First West Law LLP | 26 Oct 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| PurchaserKarim Sharifat | Brian N. Lester, Barrister & Solicitor | 26 Oct 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| Purchaser | First West Law LLP | 21 Jan 2020 | Service list · 2 Jun 2021 |
| Creditor1785337 Alberta Ltd | AB Law Office | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| Creditor1785337 Alberta Ltd. Joint Venturee / | Field Law | 22 Mar 2021 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
| Creditor1785337 Alberta Ltd. Joint Venturee / Counsel to 1785337 Alberta Ltd. Joint Venturee / | Field Law | 18 May 2021 | Affidavit · 18 May 2021 |
| Creditor1989207 Alberta Ltd | Chibambo Law Firm | 22 Mar 2021 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
| CreditorAlein Mounir | William Katz JSS | 30 Oct 2020 | Service list · 30 Oct 2020 |
| CreditorAlein Mounir / Joint Venturee | William Katz JSS | 18 Jun 2021 | Affidavit · 18 Jun 2021 |
| CreditorAlein Mounir / Joint Venturee Counsel to Alein Mounir / Joint Venturee | William Katz JSS | 18 May 2021 | Affidavit · 18 May 2021 |
| CreditorAmish Morjaria | Wilson Laycraft | 30 Oct 2020 | Service list · 25 Nov 2020 |
| CreditorAmish Morjaria Joint Venturee | Wilson Laycraft | 21 Jan 2020 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
| CreditorAmish Morjaria Joint Venturee Counsel to Amish Morjaria Joint Venturee | Wilson Laycraft | 18 May 2021 | Affidavit · 18 May 2021 |
| CreditorAmish Morjaria, Ashol Morjaria & Mridula Morjaria | Wilson Laycraft | 4 Jan 2021 | Application · 4 Jan 2021 |
| CreditorAshok Morjaria & Mridula Morjaria Joint Venturees | Wilson Laycraft | 21 Jan 2020 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
| CreditorAshok Morjaria & Mridula Morjaria Joint Venturees Ashok Morjaria & Mridula Morjaria Joint Venturees | Wilson Laycraft | 18 May 2021 | Affidavit · 18 May 2021 |
| CreditorBahadur (Bob) Gaidhar | Glenn & Card LLP | 12 May 2021 | Factum · 12 May 2021 |
| CreditorCold Frog Plumbing & Heating Inc | McLennan Ross LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| CreditorConnect First Credit Union Ltd | Burnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| CreditorCOUNTERCLAIM | Borden Ladner Gervais LLP · ENTERPRISES INC., KEITH FERREL and BORDEN LADNER GERVAIS LLP | 26 Oct 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| CreditorEmco Corporation | McLennan Ross LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Service list · 22 Oct 2019 |
| CreditorEmco Corporation *Instrument Registered against COT | McLennan Ross LLP | 21 Jan 2020 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
| CreditorEmco Corporation A 39 | McLennan Ross LLP | 29 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| CreditorEmco Corporation Emco - *Instrument Registered against COT | McLennan Ross LLP | 30 Oct 2020 | Service list · 25 Nov 2020 |
| CreditorHillsboro Ventures Inc | Dentons Canada LLP | 22 Oct 2019 | Affidavit · 29 Oct 2019 |
| CreditorMail | Nathan Professional Corporation | 21 Jan 2020 | Service list · 26 Oct 2020 |
| CreditorMail Mail | Nathan Professional Corporation | 18 May 2021 | Affidavit · 18 May 2021 |
| CreditorSukhdeep S Dhaliwal & Mandeep S | Field Law | 21 Jan 2020 | Affidavit · 22 Mar 2021 |
CFCU: a distribution.EstimatedEighth Report of the Receiver (June 28, 2021) · 28 Jun 2021
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | CFCU | — | finalconditional | Estimatedper the receiver | Eighth Report of the Receiver (June 28, 2021) · 28 Jun 2021 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
1 blurred figure above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans8 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc., 1 Jan – 30 Apr 2021, soughtSeventh Report of the Receiver (May 6, 2021) · 6 May 2021
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 4 of 4 | 1 Jan – 30 Apr 2021Sought | — | not stated | Seventh Report of the Receiver (May 6, 2021) · 6 May 2021 | |
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 3 of 4 | 1 Nov – 31 Dec 2020Sought | — | not stated | Sixth Report of the Receiver (January 6, 2021) · 6 Jan 2021 | |
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 2 of 4 | 3 Jul 2019 – 31 Oct 2020Sought | — | not stated | Fifth Report of the Receiver (December 2, 2020) · 2 Dec 2020 | |
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 4 | 3 Jul 2019 – 30 Apr 2020Sought | — | not stated | Second Report of the Receiver (June 8, 2020) · 8 Jun 2020 | |
| Torys LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 4 of 4 | 1 Jan – 30 Apr 2021Sought | — | not stated | Seventh Report of the Receiver (May 6, 2021) · 6 May 2021 | |
| Torys LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 3 of 4 | 1 Nov – 31 Dec 2020Sought | — | not stated | Sixth Report of the Receiver (January 6, 2021) · 6 Jan 2021 | |
| Torys LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 4 | 3 Jul 2019 – 31 Oct 2020Sought | — | not stated | Fifth Report of the Receiver (December 2, 2020) · 2 Dec 2020 | |
| Torys LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 4 | 3 Jul 2019 – 30 Apr 2020Sought | — | not stated | Second Report of the Receiver (June 8, 2020) · 8 Jun 2020 |
8 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Affidavit Confirming Discharge of the Receiver (January 13, 2022) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (July 12, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Discharge Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (July 8, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application for Discharge Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Schedule A – Discharge Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| WebEx details for July 8 Application (rescheduled from July 7) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of R. Dingman affirmed on July 5, 2021 - FILED July 5, 2021
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 29, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Eighth Report of the Receiver (June 28, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 28, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 24, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 21, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of J. Welsh sworn June 18, 2021 (filed June 28, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 10, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Glenn & Card Law LLP Notice of Withdrawal (June 8, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order re Disclosure of Confidential Information (June 3, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (June 2, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Field LLP Notice of Withdrawal (May 25, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of J. Welsh, sworn May 18, 2021 - filed (Ceana)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver's Reply Brief to Dhaliwal's Brief (May 17, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver’s Application (May 17, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Statement and Brief of Bahadur Gaidhar (May 12, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law and Argument of the Applicant Hillsboro Ventures Inc. (May 10, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Sukhdeep S. Dhaliwal (May 10, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Seventh Report of the Receiver (May 6, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Ajay Dhillion (April 28, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Massoud Rahnema (April 23, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Mounir Alein (April 23, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Sukhdeep Dhaliwal (April 23, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Sukhdeep Dhaliwal (April 23, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (April 15, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (March 31, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (re Trust Applications)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of J. Welsh (March 22, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel (March 19, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Updated Responses to Undertakings of B. Gaidhar (March 19, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Consent Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (March 10, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receivers Closing Certificate (March 9, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (March 5, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (re Consolidate Action, Undertakings and Scheduling)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (February 24, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Terry Trojanoski (February 17, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application re Remove Gaidhars and Security for Costs (February 17, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Memorandum of Decision by Justice Eidsvik (February 5, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (January 26, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application re: Ceana for Approval of Receiver Activities, Fees | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Joint Written Brief of Eureka Prescriptions Inc. and Mounir Alien | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of January 14, 2021 Hearing | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order for Approval of Receiver's Activities, Conduct and Fees (granted Jan. 14, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order re: Sale to Plaintiff and Vesting (January 14, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Patrick Mah (January 8, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Travis McArthur (January 8, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application by the Defendants by Counterclaim (January 8, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Massoud Rahnema Questioning (January 6, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Sixth Report of the Receiver (January 6, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel re: Support of Trust Deposit Application (January 4, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of J. Welsh (January 4, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application re: Disputed Trust Funds held by Torys LLP (January 4, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Written Submissions of Hillsboro re: Trust Account Deposits (January 4, 2021) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Disclaimer Notice - Suleman Lakhani | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (December 29, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Field LLP Letter to Justice Eidsvik (December 24, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Letter of Argument to Justice Eidsvik (December 24, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Massoud Rahnema (December 21, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (December 18, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel (re Joint Venture Agreements) (sworn December 17, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Eureka Prescriptions Inc (December 15, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Amended Application (December 10, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (December 10, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application of Mounir Alein (December 10, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (December 10, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service of J. Welsh, sworn Dec. 9, 2020
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (December 7, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Response Brief – Ceana (December 4, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responses to Undertakings of B. Gaidhar (December 4, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief in Opposition to Depositor and Hillsboro Applications – Connect First (December 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Argument – Hillsboro (December 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Purchase Depositors (December 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report of the Receiver (December 2, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Additional Responses to Undertakings of K. Ferrel (November 27, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (November 27, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bob Gaidhar Questioning (November 26, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Kunle Popoola (sworn November 25, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (November 25, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Responses to Undertakings of K. Ferrel (November 24, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (November 24, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Jasbir Mundi (sworn November 23, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Mounir Alien (sworn November 23, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (November 23, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental Affidavit of Bahadur Gaidhar (sworn November 23, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Emmanuel Aladi (sworn November 20, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (November 17, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (November 13, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Karim Sharifat (sworn November 12, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Cross Application (November 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Andrew Uwubanmwen (sworn October 30, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Bahadur Gaidhar (sworn October 30, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Kunle Popoola (sworn October 30, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Argument – Hillsboro (October 30, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Fourth Report of the Receiver (October 30, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (October 30, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Keith Ferrel Questioning (October 29, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Sukhdeep Dhaliwal (sworn October 28, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application re: Trust Claim (October 28, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel (sworn October 26, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application re: Sale to Plaintiff (October 26, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (October 26, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service (filed September 25, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (September 22, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (filed September 14, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Report of the Receiver (September 14, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Rahul Kapoor (sworn June 24, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended and Restated Receivership Order (June 22, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (June 17, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Restricted Court Access Order (June 17, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (filed June 10, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Report of the Receiver (June 8, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (January 21, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel (sworn January 13, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Service (filed October 29, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (October 29, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Restricted Court Access Order (October 29, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (October 22, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Receiver (October 22, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Letter to the Service List (October 22, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Filing of Receivership and Reporting Duties of Receiver (July 30, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Ceana Sunridge – Notice of Statement of Receiver (July 15, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order (dated July 3, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Bob Gaidhar (affirmed July 2, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Consent to Act as Receiver (July 2, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application for Receivership Order and Amended Statement of Claim (June 24, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of Keith Ferrel (sworn June 21, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Statement of Claim (January 8, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application of the Defendants by Counterclaim
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Withdrawal - Sukhdeep Dhaliwal and Mandeep Mavi (filed) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Statement of Defence to Counterclaim | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Ceana Development Sunridge Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/ceana-development-sunridge-inc