Castlewood Care Homes Inc.
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985, c. B-3, as amended including section 243
- File
- 2403 20843
- Industry
- Health care
Castlewood Care Homes Inc. is the subject of a court-appointed receivership in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta, brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority, and carried on the court's file as No. 2403 20843. The proceeding commenced on November 6, 2024, when the Court granted a Receivership Order appointing the Receiver over the Debtors. The receivership remains active, and the record to date consists of that appointment.
The officer filed report no. Second Report. The 121 Avenue memory care facility has ceased operations, with residents relocated to alternative care providers, while the Receiver markets and negotiates the sale of the 121 Avenue and Castlewood properties.
The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Tafsheen Sadiq and Saman Shehzadi. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of Purchase Price, satisfaction/waiver of closing conditions, and completion of the Transaction.
Source: Approval and Vesting Order
The officer filed report no. Supplemental Report. The Receiver provides an update on the marketing and sale of the 99A Avenue Property, noting receipt of a new unconditional purchase offer from Harshit Yadav on March 18, 2025, following an earlier accepted offer noted in the First Report.
Source: Supplemental Report to Court
The court appointed MNP Ltd. as Receiver, on the application of ROYAL BANK OF CANADA. Court file 2403 20843.
Source: Receivership Order
Debtor
Castlewood Care Homes Inc.
Receiver
MNP
| # | Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | Deemed trusts (CRA and other) | Canada Revenue Agency · in 985 casesas of November 6, 2024 — Value listed at $1.00 placeholder because the current amount owed is not yet known (per document footnote); possible deemed-trust/regulatory claim. — debtor: 1914969 Alberta Inc. and Castlewood Care Homes Inc. | $1 | Form 87 - Notice and Statement of the Receiver |
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 4 | Secured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured | |||
| 8 | Unsecured |
13 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured and Unsecured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans3 transactions · 1 approved · 1 proposed · 1 not completed — Receiver seeking approval of the Rehoboth APA and Sale Approval and Vesting OrderReceiver's Second Report to Court · 12 Mar 2026
| Purchaser | Price | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tafsheen Sadiq and Saman Shehzadithe Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the "Purchased Assets") · asset sale · nominee/assignee: its nominee · agreement 18 Mar 2025 | not stated | Approved26 Mar 2025 | Approval and Vesting Order |
| Rehoboth Christian Ministriesthe 121 Avenue Property and the Castlewood Property · real property · agreement 28 Jan 2026 | Subscribers | Proposed | Receiver's Second Report to Court |
| Right at Home Calgary Corp.the Properties · real property | not stated | Not completed | Receiver's Second Report to Court |
Royal Bank of Canada: a distribution.Application · 23 Mar 2026
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | Royal Bank of Canada | — | a distributioninterimconditional | per the receiver | Application · 23 Mar 2026 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: MNP Ltd., 29 Oct 2024 – 20 Feb 2026, in feesReceiver's Second Report to Court · 12 Mar 2026
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MNP Ltd.Receiver | 29 Oct 2024 – 20 Feb 2026 | 14 people | Receiver's Second Report to Court · 12 Mar 2026 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
14 people — MNP Ltd., 29 Oct 2024 – 20 Feb 2026 · 42 blurred figures
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Witten LLPCounsel to the receiver | 29 Oct 2024 – 20 Feb 2026 | — | not stated | Receiver's Second Report to Court · 12 Mar 2026 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
46 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansAs at ·
Cumulative receipts
$823K
As at 12 Mar 2026Receiver's Second Report to Court
Cumulative disbursements
As at
Cash on hand
As at
Professional fees
As at
3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing
Each one as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Approval and Vesting Order - Redline | PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's Second Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Written Brief of MNP Ltd. | PDF · Subscribers | |
Third Supplemental Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Sealing Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order for Sealed Bids
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Second Supplemental Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Temporary Sealing Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Supplemental Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's First Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Form 87 - Notice and Statement of the Receiver
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief | PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of Alice Chan
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Consent to Act | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Service List | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Castlewood Care Homes Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 5 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/castlewood-care-homes-inc