Proceedings.

Bridge Attainable Housing Society

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
File
1601-06748
Filings held24
Last activity21 Jul 2026
On the record2,456 days
Secured debtSubscribers
OverviewSummary updated

Bridge Attainable Housing Society has been under court-appointed receivership in Alberta since February 14, 2020, and the proceeding remains active. The City of Calgary brought the application, and Grant Thornton Limited was appointed receiver and manager over the Society under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The matter proceeds under court file number 1601-06748 in the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta, now the Court of King's Bench of Alberta.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates24 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Fourth Report. The Receiver continues to administer the remaining Attainable Units, handling sales, refinancing and extensions of BAHS Mortgages, and has negotiated a Settlement with the City and McPherson to resolve the priority dispute and purchase certain Third Mortgages while seeking a further interim distribution to the City.

Source: Receiver's Fourth Report to Court dated July 13, 2026

#Report

The officer filed report no. Third Report. The Receiver continues to administer and wind down the Attainable Units process, handling sales, refinancings, and mortgage extensions for remaining unit owners, and reports on discrepancies with McPherson's figures and unresolved priority disputes between the City and McPherson's Third Mortgages.

Source: Receiver's Third Report dated May 30, 2024

#Report

The officer filed report no. Receiver's Second Report to Court. The Receiver has been administering the wind-down of the Shared Equity Program following the March 31, 2023 maturity date, managing sales, refinancings, and extensions of mortgages for Attainable Unit Owners, and preparing to commence foreclosure proceedings against owners who remain in default.

Source: Receiver's Second Report to Court dated June 5, 2023

Case update

Bridge Attainable Housing: 16 third mortgages for $128,251.96

Six years into the receivership of the Calgary society that sold McPherson Place homes with no down payment, Grant Thornton asks the court to approve a settlement: the receiver would buy 16 third mortgages, $498,426 outstanding, for $128,251.96, and McPherson would take the $2,084,209 its counsel holds in trust pending a priority dispute with the City.

Parties

Debtor

Bridge Attainable Housing Society

Receiver

Doane Grant Thornton

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverDoane Grant ThorntonField Law16 Jun 2023Application · 5 Jun 2023
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredMcPherson Place Limited Partnership (by its general partner McPherson G.P. Ltd.)as of September 30, 2010 — McPherson Debenture dated September 30, 2010 (collateral debenture registered against Original Lands); subsequently discharged and replaced by individual McPherson Mortgages (third mortgages) registered against Attainable Units — McPherson Loan amount per Participation Agreement dated September 30, 2010 (books and records); related-party/affiliated lender to BAHS via shared equity arrangement; Debenture defines Loan Amount as $7,320,000. Priority dispute with the City. — debtor: Bridge Attainable Housing Society$7.32MReceiver's First Report to Court dated May 12, 2021
Secured
Secured

2 more claims in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs declared or paid

City of Calgary: a distribution.FinalReceiver's Third Report · 30 May 2024

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredCity of Calgary—interimFinalper the receiverReceiver's Third Report · 30 May 2024

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

1 blurred figure above

The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Grant Thornton Limited, 1 May 2023 – 15 Jun 2026, soughtReceiver's Fourth Report to Court · 13 Jul 2026

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Field LLPCounsel to the receiver1 Apr 2021 – 30 Apr 2023—not statedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 5 Jun 2023
Grant Thornton LimitedReceiverperiod 2 of 21 May 2023 – 15 Jun 2026Sought—not statedReceiver's Fourth Report to Court · 13 Jul 2026
Grant Thornton LimitedReceiverperiod 1 of 21 Apr 2021 – 30 Apr 2023—not statedReceiver's Second Report to Court · 5 Jun 2023

3 blurred figures above

What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cumulative receipts

$5.95M

As at 13 Jul 2026Receiver's Fourth Report to Court dated July 13, 2026

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents
24 filings
DateDocumentFile
Supplement to the Receiver's Fourth Report - July 21, 2026
PDF · Subscribers
Application of the Receiver returnable July 22, 2026
  • Counsel Field LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Fourth Report to Court dated July 13, 2026
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Third Report dated May 30, 2024
  • Operational summary The Receiver continues to administer and wind down the Attainable Units process, handling sales, refinancings, and mortgage extensions for remaining unit owners, and reports on discrepancies with McPherson's figures and unresolved priority disputes between the City and McPherson's Third Mortgages.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
City of Calgary Letter dated May 24, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Letter dated May 23, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Brief of Law Supplemental filed May 22, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Second Supplemental Affidavit of Derek Dawson filed May 22, 2024PDF · Subscribers
Application filed June 8, 2023PDF · Subscribers
Draft OrderPDF · Subscribers
Application of the Receiver returnable June 16, 2023.pdf
  • Counsel Field LLP
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report to Court dated June 5, 2023
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Fequently Asked Questions re Bridge Attainable Housing Society - May 17, 2022PDF · Subscribers
Notice to Unit Owners re Bridge Attainable Housing Society dated May 17, 2022.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Bench Brief of the City of Calgary dated June 4, 2021PDF · Subscribers
Bench Brief of the Receiver dated June 4, 2021PDF · Subscribers
Bench Brief of McPherson Place Limited Partnership dated May 31, 2021PDF · Subscribers
Application of the Receiver returnable June 9, 2021PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report to Court dated May 12, 2021
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Frequently Asked Questions re Bridge Housing - March 3, 2020.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Notice to Mortgagors re Bridge Attainable Housing Society - March 3, 2020.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Application (Appointment of Receiver) returnable February 14, 2020.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Affidavit of S. Quayle sworn January 30, 2020.pdfPDF · Subscribers
Gerrow v. Dorais, 2010 ABQB 560 decision
  • Presiding officer How: operator-correction · Why: a reported decision in another action (Gerrow v. Dorais, 2010 ABQB 560), posted as an authority · Corrects: presiding · Rejected: Judge: justice-manderscheid-ab · Judge party id: 2b13c085-8656-40b7-ae11-c2a50856542c
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Bridge Attainable Housing Society” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/bridge-attainable-housing-society

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/bridge-attainable-housing-society

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.