Proceedings.

Black Knight Inn Black Knight Inn

ActiveFollow
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, and sections 13(2) of the Judicature Act, 99(a) of the Business Corporations Act, and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act
File
2003 11578
Filings held7
Last activity22 Sep 2021
On the record2,281 days
OverviewSummary updated

Black Knight Inn remains in court-appointed receivership in Alberta, with MNP Ltd. acting as Receiver over Black Knight Inn Ltd., Manwood Holdings Ltd. and BKI Holdings Ltd. Servus Credit Union Ltd. obtained the appointment on August 7, 2020 in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta, file 2003 11578, under section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act together with section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, section 99(a) of the Business Corporations Act and section 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act. The Receiver put combined assets at approximately $3,424,172, with real property valued from BKI Holdings Ltd.'s 2019 financial statements and realizable values for chattels, equipment and accounts receivable not then known. Secured claims of approximately $4,338,455 exceed that figure, led by Servus at roughly $2,722,171 and Ernie Mandrusiak at $1,500,000.

Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Open this case in Proceedings AI⁠Save your chats, keep long conversations going, and ask across every case.
Case updates7 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Second Report. The Receiver continued to monitor and insure the Hotel property, addressed maintenance needs, pursued a property tax appeal, and negotiated a sale of the Hotel and Surplus Lands to Akoa Investments Ltd., culminating in an unconditional Amended Asset Purchase Agreement pending Court approval.

Source: Receiver's Second Report

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. The Hotel ceased operations shortly after the Receiver's appointment due to minimal bookings, and the Receiver has since focused on preserving the property and running a sales process, with a prior deal terminated and a new letter of intent being negotiated.

Source: Receiver's First Report

#Order

Order granted appointing a receiver over Black Knight Inn, commencing the Alberta proceeding under court file 2003 11578.

Source: Receivership Order

#Report

The officer filed report no. First Report. The Hotel had ceased renting rooms after July 31, 2020 with amenities closed, staff reduced from eleven to five employees, and utilities (power and gas) approximately three months in arrears, though no disconnection notices had been received.

Source: Interim Receiver's First Report

Parties

Debtor

Black Knight Inn Black Knight Inn

Receiver

MNP

Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · for subscribers
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency · in 985 casesas of Receivership date (August 7, 2020) — Security interest in the property described — Estimated amount owed; approximation — debtor: Black Knight Inn Ltd., Manwood Holdings Ltd., and BKI Holdings Ltd.$12KNotice & Statement
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
4Secured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured
8Unsecured

60 more claims in 2 classes The stack holds Deemed trusts (CRA and other), Secured and Unsecured claims.

Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Parlee McLaws LLP, incl. GSTReceiver's First Report · 17 Jun 2021

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
MNP Ltd.Interim receiver—not stated4 peopleReceiver's First Report · 17 Jun 2021
4 people — MNP Ltd. · 10 blurred figures
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Joleen Collier——
Lane Congdon——
Megan Schafer——
Shannon M. Massa——
———
Parlee McLaws LLPCounsel to the receiver——not statedReceiver's First Report · 17 Jun 2021

13 blurred figures above

What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Estate financialsReported figures — never derived
Total assets at filing

As at ·

Cumulative receipts

$395K

As at 17 Jun 2021Receiver's First Report

Cumulative disbursements

As at

Cash on hand

As at

Professional fees

As at

3 more reported figures, and the total the debtor stated at filing

Each one as the filing states it, with its source.

Start 5-day trial

Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.

Already a subscriber? Sign in.

See all plans⁠
Documents7 filings
DateDocumentFile
Application September 22 2021
  • Applicant MNP LTD.
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Court COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF · Subscribers
Service Letter Re: September 22, 2021 HearingPDF · Subscribers
Receiver's Second Report
  • Operational summary The Receiver continued to monitor and insure the Hotel property, addressed maintenance needs, pursued a property tax appeal, and negotiated a sale of the Hotel and Surplus Lands to Akoa Investments Ltd., culminating in an unconditional Amended Asset Purchase Agreement pending Court approval.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Receiver's First Report
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Fee schedule · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 5 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Notice & Statement
  • Financial position · Secured creditors · Unsecured creditors Subscribers
PDF · Subscribers
Receivership Order
  • Applicant Servus Credit Union Ltd.
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role Receiver
  • Commencement date 7 August 2020
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers
Interim Receiver's First Report
  • Operational summary The Hotel had ceased renting rooms after July 31, 2020 with amenities closed, staff reduced from eleven to five employees, and utilities (power and gas) approximately three months in arrears, though no disconnection notices had been received.
  • Cash on hand · Disbursements · Financial position Subscribers
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF · Subscribers

Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.

CiteProceedings., “Black Knight Inn Black Knight Inn” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/black-knight-inn

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/black-knight-inn

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.