Proceedings.

Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.

Follow
Active
Proceeding
NOIBIA s. 50.4
File
31-2590450
Filings held12
Last activity21 Jan 2020
On the record2,488 days
Secured debt$3.74M
OverviewSummary updated

Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd. filed a notice of intention to make a proposal under s. 50.4 of the BIA on November 29, 2019, under court file 31-2590450 in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (in Bankruptcy & Insolvency) [Commercial List]. The NOI creditor list as at that date puts secured claims at $4,279,290.00 in aggregate. HSBC Bank Canada, the senior secured and operating lender, is owed approximately $3.744 million as at December 4, 2019, with the Business Development Bank of Canada owed $548,451.36 for principal and interest plus costs on security it postponed and subordinated to HSBC under an October 24, 2018 priority agreement. Unsecured exposure includes approximately $961,000 to trade creditors, $1,679,000 to the Sandra and Tom Callahan Family Trust, $300,000 in customer deposits for undelivered goods and $300,000 in Class A shareholder debentures.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates12 dated entries
Parties

Debtor

Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.

Proposal trustee

GlassRatner

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice HaineyOntario Superior Court of Justice1 order, Jan 2020196 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
Proposal trusteeGlassRatnerChaitons LLP21 Jan 2020Application · 21 Jan 2020
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale · 4 named without a figure
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
4SecuredHSBC Bank Canada · in 54 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — General security agreement dated October 24, 2018; demand operating revolving loan facility with maximum principal amount of $3,250,000 (HSBC Credit Facilities, several credit facilities) — Senior secured and operating lender; approximate amount stated as $3.744 million; NOI creditor list (as at Nov 29, 2019) states secured claims totalling $4,279,290.00 in aggregate across all secured creditors, not attributable solely to HSBC — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$3.74MFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
4SecuredBusiness Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · in 241 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — General security agreement dated November 1, 2017, over all of Barrymore's personal property (PPSA registration); BDC Credit Facilities with total principal amount of $541,060 — Amount stated is for principal and interest, plus costs; BDC postponed and subordinated its security interest to HSBC pursuant to Priority Agreement dated October 24, 2018 — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$548KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
4SecuredCBSC Capital Inc. (Canon) · in 22 casesPPSA registration in respect of a copier/cannon printer (lease agreement) — Proposal Trustee understands Barrymore is current with its obligations under the lease agreement — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.First Report of the Proposal Trustee
4SecuredExport Development Canada (EDC) · in 99 casesGuarantee of three HSBC credit facilities up to maximum principal amounts set out in Callahan Affidavit — Guarantor of certain HSBC facilities; specific amounts not stated in this document — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.First Report of the Proposal Trustee
4SecuredRyder Truck Rental Canada Ltd. · in 15 casesPPSA registration in respect of a truck (lease agreement) — Proposal Trustee understands Barrymore is current with its obligations under the lease agreement — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.First Report of the Proposal Trustee
4SecuredDell Financial Services Canada Limited · in 13 casesPPSA registration in respect of certain computer equipment (lease agreement) — Proposal Trustee understands Barrymore is current with its obligations under the lease agreement — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.First Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredSandra and Tom Callahan Family Trustas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — Related party - shareholder/family trust of Barrymore's controlling family (Callahan family) — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$1.68MFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredTrade Creditors (unsecured, aggregate) · in 11 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — Document does not name individual trade creditors in this summary; full itemized list of creditors with claims of $250+ is in NOI (Appendix A) — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$961KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredClass A Shareholders of Barrymore (debentures)as of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — Related party - Class A shareholder debentures — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$300KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredCustomers (deposits for undelivered goods) · in 2 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — List of specific customers with funds on deposit not yet received by Trustee as of Report date — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$300KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency (CRA) - HST · in 926 casesDeemed trust class (collected but unremitted HST); Barrymore otherwise current with government remittances — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd. · as of 2 Dec 2019$150KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredLandlord · in 12 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$150KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredCanada Revenue Agency (CRA) - corporate income tax · in 926 casesDeemed trust class; Barrymore otherwise current with government remittances — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd. · as of 2 Dec 2019$40KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee
8UnsecuredEmployees (benefit payment arrears) · in 185 casesas of date of this Report (December 4, 2019) — Company is current on payroll obligations as of date of Report; this figure is benefit arrears only — debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.$12KFirst Report of the Proposal Trustee

“not stated” means the record names the claim without a figure; “” means not in the extracted record.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

Bid deadline

23 December 2019

Teaser

AdvisorsA. Farber & Partners Inc. (sale agent)Teaser
RecoveriesAs stated in the filings

Unsecured creditors: no distribution. HSBC Bank Canada short.EstimatedMotion Record · 21 Jan 2020

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
SecuredHSBC Bank CanadashortfallEstimatedper the trusteeMotion Record · 21 Jan 2020
PreferredRevenue Canada and Revenue Ontariopaid in fullper the trusteeBook of Authorities · 15 Mar 1995
Unsecuredno distributionEstimatedper the trusteeMotion Record · 21 Jan 2020

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Documents
12 filings
DateDocumentFile
Book of Authorities (returnable January 21, 2020)
  • Appointee A. Farber & Partners Inc.
  • Appointee role trustee in bankruptcy
  • Counsel Chaitons LLP
  • Court SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Creditors Package – Notice of BankruptcyPDF
Factum (returnable January 21, 2020)PDF
Motion Record (returnable January 21, 2020)
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per estimated; per estimated · Table missing:
PDF
Order of Justice Hainey
  • Presiding officer Justice Hainey
PDF
Certificate of AppointmentPDF
Notice of Material Adverse ChangePDF
Motion Record (returnable December 9, 2019)
  • Applicant Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.
  • Commencement date 29 November 2019
  • Court ONTARIO SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE (IN BANKRUPTCY & INSOLVENCY) [COMMERCIAL LIST]
  • Court file no 31-2590450
PDF
Order of Justice McEwen (Extension Order)
  • Presiding officer Justice McEwen
PDF
First Report of the Proposal Trustee
  • Secured creditors Note: Guarantor of certain HSBC facilities; specific amounts not stated in this document · Page: 10 · Debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd. · Creditor: Export Development Canada (EDC) · Currency: CAD · Security: Guarantee of three HSBC credit facilities up to maximum principal amounts set out in Callahan Affidavit
  • Unsecured creditors $12K · Note: Company is current on payroll obligations as of date of Report; this figure is benefit arrears only · Page: 12 · As of: date of this Report (December 4, 2019) · Basis: Reported by Proposal Trustee as approximate employee benefit payment arrears · Debtor: Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd. · Creditor: Employees (benefit payment arrears)
PDF
Creditors Package – Notice of Intention to Make a ProposalPDF
Teaser
  • Bid deadline 23 December 2019
  • Sale advisor A. Farber & Partners Inc. (sale agent)
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “Barrymore Furniture Co. Ltd.” (NOI), Ontario Superior Court of Justice. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/barrymore-furniture-co-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 19 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/barrymore-furniture-co-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.