Arres Capital Inc.
Follow- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)Part 9 of the Civil Enforcement Act (Alberta)
- Industry
- Financial services · Lending & mortgages
A claims procedure has been established — see the order for deadlines.
Per the Order (Graybriar Funds Claims Process Order) dated June 4, 2018 dated 4 June 2018.
Reasons for Decision of the Honourable Madam Justice B.E. Romaine (April 19, 2021) — Endorsement / reasons
SCC – Application for Leave to Appeal (Kenzie Investors) — Application / notice of application
Compendium of Materials re: Application set September 21, 2018 (part 1) — Application / notice of application
Application re: Graybriar and Court Funds (May 28, 2018) — Application / notice of application
Application re: Amending & Restating Receivership Order (October 20, 2017) — Receivership order
The court appointed Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc. as Receiver, on the application of Access Mortgage Corporation (2004) Limited.
SCC – Receiver’s Response To The Application For Leave to Appeal — Response / objection pleading
Undated filings11 — no date appears on the document · show
Civil Notice of Appeal - McKenzie Appeal of Discharge and Dismissal Order — Interim order granted
Order RE: Commercial List Application of Represented Investors — Interim order granted
Debtor
Arres Capital Inc.
Receiver
Alvarez & Marsal
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Romaine | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 5 orders, Oct 2017 – Apr 2021 | 91 cases on record |
| Justice Eidsvik | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 4 orders, Feb 2015 – Aug 2019 | 45 cases on record |
| Justice Jones | Court of King's Bench of Alberta | 4 orders, Dec 2018 – Apr 2019 | 93 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverAlvarez & Marsal | McCarthy Tétrault LLP | 1 Oct 2021 | Order · 1 Oct 2021 |
| CreditorTerrapin Mortgage Investment Corp | Bishop & McKenzie LLP | 26 Aug 2020 | Service list · 26 Aug 2020 |
Secured creditors: shortfall.EstimatedFifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020) · 26 Aug 2020
| Class | Creditor | Claims | Recovery | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | lender on the Receiver's Borrowing Charge | — | short by | Estimatedper the receiver | Fifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020) · 26 Aug 2020 |
Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.
1 blurred figure above
The claims and what each class or creditor recovers — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans4 engagements · 2 firms — latest: Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc., 1 Jul 2019 – 31 Jul 2020, in feesFifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020) · 26 Aug 2020
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 2 of 2 | 1 Jul 2019 – 31 Jul 2020 | — | not stated | Fifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020) · 26 Aug 2020 | |
| Alvarez & Marsal Canada Inc.Receiverperiod 1 of 2 | 23 Oct 2017 – 30 Jun 2019 | — | not stated | Fourth Report of the Receiver (August 8, 2019) · 8 Aug 2019 | |
| McCarthy Tétrault LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 2 | 1 Jul 2019 – 31 Jul 2020 | — | not stated | Fifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020) · 26 Aug 2020 | |
| McCarthy Tétrault LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 2 | 23 Oct 2017 – 30 Jun 2019 | — | not stated | Fourth Report of the Receiver (August 8, 2019) · 8 Aug 2019 |
4 blurred figures above
What each firm billed — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
| Assignment – section 38 of the BIA (March 10, 2023) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver's Discharge Certificate (June 2, 2022) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Leave for Appeal Dismissed (April 7, 2022) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Notice of Name | PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Certificate of Counsel | PDF · Subscribers | |
Court of Appeal Dismissal Order of McKenzie Appeal (October 1, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver’s Application to Dismiss McKenzie Appeal | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Sixth Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Extracts of Key Evidence re: McKenzie Application to of appeal | PDF · Subscribers | |
| McKenzie Factum | PDF · Subscribers | |
Reasons for Decision of the Honourable Madam Justice B.E. Romaine (April 19, 2021)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Application for Leave to Appeal (Kenzie Investors) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (Procedure Order re: Court Funds) (September 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (Receiver’s Discharge) (September 2, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fifth Report of the Receiver (August 26, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List (August 26, 2020)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of G. Saruwatari (sworn August 25, 2020) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Fee Conduct and Approval) (August 13, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application (filed August 8, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Brief of Law and Argument of Receiver (August 8, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Fourth Report of the Receiver (August 8, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Approval and Vesting Order - Trailer Park (April 29, 2019)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Service letter (dated April 29, 2019) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Dismissal of Related Parties Claim) (granted December 20, 2018)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Dismissal of Terrapin Claim) (granted December 20, 2018)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Reason for Judgment by Justice C.M. Jones (December 20, 2018)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Addendum to the Compendium on Materials (part 4) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of the Receiver re: Application set September 21, 2018 | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Compendium of Materials re: Application set September 21, 2018 (part 1) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Compendium of Materials re: Application set September 21, 2018 (part 2) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Compendium of Materials re: Application set September 21, 2018 (part 3) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of David Murphy (sworn August 17, 2018) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Third Report of the Receiver (August 17, 2018) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of the Receiver (additional information) Consumer Protection Act | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Proof of Claim Form with Instructions | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief of the Receiver (additional information) Payday Loans Regulation | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Order (Directing Release of the Funds, Interim Taxation) dated June 4, 2018 | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Graybriar Funds Claims Process Order) dated June 4, 2018
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bench Brief and Authorities (May 29, 2018) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Second Report of the Receiver (May 29, 2018) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application re: Graybriar and Court Funds (May 28, 2018) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Bankruptcy Appeal Dismissed (Court of Appeal) (December 18, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Amended and Restated Receivership Order (October 23, 2017)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Application re: Amending & Restating Receivership Order (October 20, 2017)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Letter to Justice Romaine (October 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| First Report of the Receiver (October 11, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Civil Notice of Appeal of Bankruptcy Order (August 4, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Statement of Receiver (August 4, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Bankruptcy Order (pronounced: July 26, 2017)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Application for a Bankruptcy Order (July 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice of Application (July 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Affidavit of David Murphy (sworn June 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Consent to Act as Receiver (June 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Consent to Act as Trustee (June 12, 2017) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order (Distribution of Graybriar Funds)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order (pronounced: February 13, 2015)
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Receiver’s Response To The Application For Leave to Appeal | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Appeal Dismissal Order (endorsed by LVH).pdf | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Appeal Record | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Certificate of Assignment | PDF · Subscribers | |
Civil Notice of Appeal - McKenzie Appeal of Discharge and Dismissal Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
McKenzie Application Dismissal Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Notice to Creditors | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order RE: Commercial List Application of Represented Investors
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver’s Discharge Order | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver’s Memorandum of Argument | PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Certificate of Appellants | PDF · Subscribers | |
| SCC – Notice of Name (Kenzie Investors) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Arres Capital Inc.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 4 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/arres-capital-inc