Ability Society of Alberta
- Proceeding
- Receivership (court-appointed)BIA s. 243 / prov. Judicature Acts
- File
- KBG-SA-00755-2023
- Industry
- Health care · Seniors housing & long-term care
Ability Society of Alberta has been under court-appointed receivership since 6 July 2023, when the Court of King's Bench for Saskatchewan made a receivership order under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The proceeding is carried on court file KBG-SA-00755-2023 in Saskatchewan and remains active. The record before this page identifies no further steps since the commencement of the receivership.
Receivership order placed Ability Society of Alberta into court-appointed receivership, commencing the Saskatchewan proceeding under court file KBG-SA-00755-2023.
Source: Receivership Order
Debtor
Ability Society of Alberta
Receiver
MNP
Bench
| Judge | Court | On this docket | Cases on record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Meschishnick | Court of King's Bench for Saskatchewan | 1 order, Jun 2025 | 15 cases on record |
Counsel of record
| Party | Counsel | First seen | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReceiverMNP | McDougall Gauley LLP | 30 Jun 2023 | Service list · 30 Jun 2023 |
| ApplicantToronto-Dominion Bank | MLT Aikins LLP | 6 Jul 2023 | Application · 6 Jul 2023 |
| CreditorAdministrator, MNP Ltd | McDougall Gauley LLP | 31 Mar 2025 | Application · 31 Mar 2025 |
| CreditorJon Ouellette, director of the Ability Society of Alberta | Carbert Waite LLP | 30 Jun 2023 | Service list · 30 Jun 2023 |
| CreditorToronto-Dominion Bank | MLT Aikins LLP | 30 Jun 2023 | Service list · 30 Jun 2023 |
| Priority class | Creditor | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Secured | The Toronto-Dominion Bank · in 122 casesGeneral Security Agreement registered March 16, 2017 (PPR); Mortgage registered March 27, 2017 against the Mortgaged Lands (registered mortgage principal/value $3,979,000.00 CAD per Land Title); Assignment of Rents registered March 27, 2017 — Same balance figure also stated as 'estimated amount owed' in the Receiver's Notice and Statement dated July 6, 2023. TD is also identified as 'the secured creditor' advancing funds under the Receiver's Borrowing Certificates (total borrowed $215,000 as of March 17, 2025, under a court-authorized Receiver's Borrowing Charge, with an increase to a maximum · as of 26 Jun 2023 | $3.7M | Receiver's First Report to Court |
| Secured |
1 more claim in 1 class The stack holds Secured claims.
Every creditor and every amount, drawn to scale.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plansThis proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.
Closed · the record states no distribution outcome.
2 engagements · 2 firms — latest: MNP Ltd., to 4 Aug 2023, in feesReceiver's First Report to Court · 17 Mar 2025
| Firm | Period | Hours | Fees | Rates | Source | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MNP Ltd.capacity not stated | to 4 Aug 2023 | 7 people | Receiver's First Report to Court · 17 Mar 2025 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
7 people — MNP Ltd., to 4 Aug 2023 · 21 blurred figures
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| McDougall Gauley LLPCounsel to the receiver | — | — | not stated | Receiver's First Report to Court · 17 Mar 2025 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
25 blurred figures above
What each firm billed, and each person’s hours and rate — each as the filing states it, with its source.
Card required. Nothing charged for 5 days. Cancel anytime.
Already a subscriber? Sign in.
See all plans| Date | Document | File |
|---|---|---|
Sale Approval and Vesting Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Supplemental to the Second Report of the Receiver | PDF · Subscribers | |
| Receiver's Second Report to Court | PDF · Subscribers | |
Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
| Draft Order (Discharge of Administrator) | PDF · Subscribers | |
Order - Increase the Receiver's Borrowing Charge
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receiver's First Report to Court
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Originating Application
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Receivership Order
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Affidavit of David Quinn
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Service List
| PDF · Subscribers | |
Filing titles and dates are public, and so is each filing's own page. The figures read from them are for subscribers.
CiteProceedings., “Ability Society of Alberta” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench for Saskatchewan. Retrieved 6 November 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/ability-society-of-alberta