Proceedings.

5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. et al

Follow
Active
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, RSC 1985, c B-3, section 13(2) of the Judicature Act, RSA 2000, c J-2, section 49 of the Law of Property Act, RSA 2000, c L-7, and section 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act, RSA 2000, c P-7
File
2503 25728
Filings held44
Last activity1 Sep 2026
On the record193 days
Secured debt$2.09M
OverviewSummary updated

5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. and related debtors are the subject of bankruptcy proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta, commenced on July 8, 2026 under court file number 2503 25728. The record to date shows a single step: an interim order pronounced on the day the proceedings began. The matter remains active in Alberta. Nothing further — no subsequent orders, no reports, no scheduled appearances — has been entered on the record as read.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates44 dated entries
#Report

The officer filed report no. Supplement to the Receiver's First Report. The Receiver continues winding down 5 Star's affairs by disposing of remaining (including restricted) inventory, pursuing accounts receivable collection, addressing flood damage at the Lands ahead of the pending sale closing, and dealing with an uncooperative former principal.

Source: Supplement to The Receiver's First Report

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Dynamic Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions. Sealed: First Confidential Supplement to the Receiver's First Report.

Source: Application Approval and Vesting

#Sale

The court granted an approval and vesting order for the sale to Dynamic Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. Closing terms, as extracted: Vesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions.

Source: Sale Approval and Vesting Order - Granted

#Order

An interim order was pronounced on the same day the bankruptcy proceedings commenced, opening the matter in the Court of King's Bench of Alberta under file 2503 25728.

Source: Draft Temporary Sealing Order

Parties

Debtor

5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. et al

Receiver

EY

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice BurnsCourt of King's Bench of Alberta2 orders, Jan 202641 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverEYWitten LLP2 Mar 2026Service list · 2 Mar 2026
CreditorBank of MontrealDentons Canada LLP12 Jan 2026Factum · 12 Jan 2026
CreditorMichelle DerkOgilvie LLP13 Jan 2026Order · 13 Jan 2026
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
#Priority classCreditorAmountSource
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 926 casesDeemed trust claim (GST) — debtor: 5 Star Services and Products Inc.$47.4K01.First Receiver's Report
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Service Canada (Wage Earners' Protection Program - WEPP) · in 62 casesStatutory secured charge over current assets — Regulatory/statutory secured claim; ranks in priority to other secured creditors over current assets but is subordinate to CRA's deemed trust claims — debtor: 5 Star Services and Products Inc.$29.7K01.First Receiver's Report
3Deemed trusts (CRA and other)Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) · in 926 casesDeemed trust claim (GST) — debtor: 5 Star Operations Holding Ltd.$24.9K01.First Receiver's Report
4SecuredBank of Montreal (BMO) · in 279 casesRegistered mortgage against the Lands and general security interest (GSA) over all personal property — Balance stated 'plus interest and costs'; Receiver's counsel opinion confirms mortgage valid and enforceable — debtor: 5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. · as of 27 Feb 2026$2.09M01.First Receiver's Report
4SecuredBank of Montreal (BMO) · in 279 casesGeneral security interest (GSA) over all personal property — Balance stated 'plus interest and costs' — debtor: 5 Star Services and Products Inc. · as of 27 Feb 2026$722K01.First Receiver's Report

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

Sale processAs stated in the filings

5 transactions · 3 approved · 1 proposed · 1 not completedCourt approved sale of the Lands and auction sale of the Property; auction results preliminary and not finalizedSupplement to The Receiver's First Report · 10 Aug 2026

Parties solicited

89

01.First Receiver's Report

Bid deadline (round closed)

1 May 2026

Invitation for Offers and Proposals

PurchaserPriceStatusSource
Dynamic Heating and Air Conditioning Inc.the Lands · real propertySealedRevised Purchase Price after reduction sought by DHAC following diligence; amount in Confidential SupplementProposed01.First Receiver's Report
Dynamic Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · nominee/assignee: or its nominee · agreement 30 Apr 2026SealedPrice/terms are contained in the sealed First Confidential Supplement to the First Report; not disclosed in this order.Approved8 Jul 2026Application Approval and Vesting
McDougall Auctioneersassets and equipment on the Premises · auctionSealednet minimum guarantee under the Auction Sales Agreement; details in Confidential SupplementApprovedSupplement to The Receiver's First Report
purchaser of the Lands, unnamedsale of the Lands · real propertynot statedApprovedSupplement to The Receiver's First Report
unnamedthe Auctionnot statedNot completeddate not statedSupplement to The Receiver's First Report
AdvisorsErnst & Young Inc. (liquidator); McDougall Auctioneers Ltd. (auctioneer); McDougall Auctions (auctioneer)Application Approval and Vesting
Closing termsVesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditionsSale Approval and Vesting Order - Granted
Sealed materialsFirst Confidential Supplement to the Receiver's First ReportApplication Approval and Vesting
Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firmslatest: Witten LLP, to 24 Jul 2026Supplement to The Receiver's First Report · 10 Aug 2026

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
Ernst & Young Inc.Receiver$250,594.00ex. taxcourtesy discount$200 – $8809 peopleSupplement to The Receiver's First Report · 10 Aug 2026
9 peopleErnst & Young Inc.,
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Matt McCullochPartner2.3$880$2,024.00
Dan McCullochSenior Director190.2$655$124,581.00
Evan MacKinnonSenior Director21.7$655$14,213.50
Evan MackinninSenior Director23.2$655$15,196.00
Karen ZahacyDirector168.6$525$87,937.50
Joe DodardConsultant16.7$420$7,014.00
Trina SorbaraParaprofessional17.2$420$7,224.00
Edith MeiStaff16.5$200$3,300.00
Nick DiVincenzoIntern21.5$200$4,300.00
Witten LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 2 of 2to 24 Jul 2026not statedSupplement to The Receiver's First Report · 10 Aug 2026
Witten LLPCounsel to the receiverperiod 1 of 2$20,737.50ex. tax$375 – $5002 people01.First Receiver's Report · 30 Jun 2026
2 peopleWitten LLP,
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Bren R. CargillLawyer32.1$500$16,813.13
Amanda E. ColemanLawyer12.6$375$4,961.25
Total44.7$21,774.38

Top rate $500 · 3rd percentile of counsel rates, 2026 · of 69

Estate financialsReported figures — never derived

Cash on hand

$7.17K

As at 10 Aug 2026Supplement to The Receiver's First Report

Professional fees to date

$270K

As at 10 Aug 2026Supplement to The Receiver's First Report

Documents
44 filings
DateDocumentFile
5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. - Notice of Bankruptcy - Creditor PackagePDF
5 Star Services & Products Inc. - Notice of Bankruptcy - Creditor PackagePDF
Bankruptcy Order (5 Star Operations Holding Ltd.)PDF
Bankruptcy Order (5 Star Services and Products Inc.)PDF
Order - GrantedPDF
Proposed Bankruptcy Order 1PDF
Proposed Bankruptcy Order 2PDF
Proposed Form of OrderPDF
Service LetterPDF
Service List
  • Counsel Ogilvie LLP
PDF
Supplement to The Receiver's First Report
  • Cash on hand $7.17K · Note: This is the balance of the RBC account (5 Star Product's pre-receivership operating account), not the Receiver's overall trust account cash position. · As at: 2026-07-31 · Qualifier: RBC pre-receivership operating account balance, not total estate cash
  • Closing confirmed Did not complete · date not stated
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: time_summary · Rows: Dan McCulloch; Edith Mei; Evan MacKinnon; Joe Dodard; Karen Zahacy; Matt McCulloch; Nick DiVincenzo; Trina Sorbara · Money: Tax: $11.4K · Label: GST · Quote: GST | 11,360.73 · Fees: $251K · Quote: Total | 250,594.00 · Total: $239K · Quote: Total Including Expenses and GST | Total Including Expenses and GST | | | 238,575.42 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $3.85K · Quote: Expenses | 3,849.54 · Period: Kind: unstated · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc · Context quote: I am a Licensed Insolvency Trustee and Senior Director of Ernst & Young Inc. ("EY"). · Discount note: Text: Courtesy Discount · Quote: Courtesy Discount | 27,228.85; Form: prose · Rows: · Money: · Period: End: 2026-07-24 · Kind: cumulative · Quote: I have reviewed the invoices of Witten rendered from the inception of these Receivership Proceedings to July 24, 2026 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Witten LLP · Firm quote: WITTEN LLP Suite 2500, 10303 Jasper Avenue Edmonton, AB TSJ 1 YS · Context quote: I have reviewed the invoices of Witten rendered from the inception of these Receivership Proceedings to July 24, 2026, and I am satisfied that the services have been undertaken by Witten at the request of the Receiver and that the fees and disbursements of Witten are reasonable.
  • Operational summary The Receiver continues winding down 5 Star's affairs by disposing of remaining (including restricted) inventory, pursuing accounts receivable collection, addressing flood damage at the Lands ahead of the pending sale closing, and dealing with an uncooperative former principal.
  • + 6 more extracted facts
PDF
Supplemental AffidavitPDF
Letter to Service List - 20 Jul 2026PDF
Adjournment OrderPDF
Sale Approval and Vesting Order - Granted
  • Closing terms Vesting effective upon delivery of the Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions
  • Order date 8 July 2026
  • Purchaser Dynamic Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. · nominee/assignee or its nominee · the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · approved
PDF
Temporary Sealing Order (Filed)
  • Presiding officer Justice M.A. Marion
PDF
Draft Amending OrderPDF
Draft Sale and Vesting OrderPDF
Draft Temporary Sealing Order
  • Commencement date 8 July 2026
  • Court COURT OF KING’S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • Court file no 2503 25728
PDF
Proposed Bankruptcy Order - 5 Star Operations Holdings LtdPDF
Proposed Bankruptcy Order - 5 Star Services and Products IncPDF
01.First Receiver's Report
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: time_summary · Rows: Dan McCulloch; Edith Mei; Evan Mackinnin; Joe Dodard; Karen Zahacy; Matt McCulloch; Nick DiVincenzo; Trina Sorbara · Money: Fees: $231K · Quote: Total | | | | 230,963.50 · Total: $208K · Quote: Total Including Expenses | | | | 207,522.95 · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $3.79K · Quote: Expenses | | | | 3,788.30 · Period: Kind: unstated · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Ernst & Young Inc. · Firm quote: Ernst & Young Inc. (hereinafter referred to as "EY" or the "Receiver") · Context quote: appointing Ernst & Young Inc. (hereinafter referred to as "EY" or the "Receiver") as Receiver and manager · Discount note: Text: Courtesy Discount · Quote: Courtesy Discount | | | | 27,228.85; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: Bren R. Cargill; Amanda E. Coleman; Fees: 21774.38 · Hours: 44.7 · Quote: Total | 44.70 | | $21,774.38 · Row kind: subtotal · Rate kind: standard · Name as stated: Total · Money: Tax: $1.05K · Label: GST · Quote: Total GST | 1,049.69 · Fees: $20.7K · Quote: OUR FEES | $20,737.50 · Total: $22.1K · Quote: INVOICE TOTAL | $22,091.42 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Period: Kind: invoice · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: Witten LLP · Firm quote: WITTEN LLP · Context quote: COUNSEL WITTEN LLP
  • Process results 89 solicited · 3 bids
  • Purchaser McDougall Auctioneers · assets and equipment on the Premises · auction · price sealed · proposed; Dynamic Heating and Air Conditioning Inc. · the Lands · real property · price sealed · proposed
  • Sale advisor McDougall Auctioneers (auctioneer)
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Application Approval and Vesting
  • Closing terms Vesting occurs upon delivery of a Receiver's Closing Certificate confirming payment of the Purchase Price and satisfaction of closing conditions.
  • Order date 8 July 2026
  • Purchaser Dynamic Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. · nominee/assignee its nominee · the Debtor's right, title and interest in and to the assets described in the Sale Agreement (the 'Purchased Assets') · asset sale · price sealed · approved
  • Sale advisor McDougall Auctions (auctioneer)
  • + 2 more extracted facts
PDF
Brief of LawPDF
Affidavit of John HermannPDF
Application for Bankruptcy OrderPDF
Bench Brief
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF
Bench Brief (with Authorities)
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF
Affidavit of John Hermann SwornPDF
Invitation for Offers and Proposals
  • Bid deadline 1 May 2026
  • Sale advisor Ernst & Young Inc. (liquidator)
  • Sale outcome Marketed — Invitation for Offers to Purchase Assets or Proposals to Liquidate Assets
PDF
24-116517 5 Star Services Receivership CertificatePDF
Notice and Statement of ReceiverPDF
Consent Receivership Order (Filed)
  • Applicant Bank of Montreal
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 12 March 2026
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Affidavit of Service of Sandra Gmeiner (Dentons) Sworn March 6, 2026 (Filed)PDF
Letter to Service List
  • Counsel Dentons (Canada) LLP
PDF
Supplement Brief of Law of Bank of Montreal (Filed)PDF
Supplemental Affidavit of John Hermann (BMO) Sworn March 2, 2026 (Filed)PDF
Adjournment Order (Filed)
  • Counsel Ogilvie LLP
  • Presiding officer Justice M.E. Burns
PDF
Sealing Order (Filed)
  • Presiding officer Justice M.E. Burns
PDF
Supplement Affidavit of John Hermann (BMO) Sworn January 12, 2026 (Filed)PDF
Supplement Brief of Law for Sealing Order (Filed)
  • Counsel Dentons Canada LLP
PDF
Affidavit of Michelle Derk, Sworn January 8, 2026 (Filed)PDF
Application - Form 27 (Filed)
  • Applicant BANK OF MONTREAL
  • Appointee Ernst & Young Inc.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Court COURT OF KING'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • + 3 more extracted facts
PDF
Affidavit of John Hermann (BMO) Sworn January 2, 2026 (Filed)
  • Secured creditors Note: Deemed trust class claim. Per affiant's review of BMO's records and Services' financial statements, Services 'remains indebted to Canada Revenue Agency for at least $1,050,000.00 of source deduction arrears and $250,000.00 of unpaid GST' (components stated separately, not summed). A prior Enhanced Requirement to Pay for $1,062,767.09 (issued Aug 22, 2025) was cancelled by CRA on or about Sept 12, 2025. · Page: 7 · Debtor: 5 Star Services and Products Inc. ("Services") · Creditor: Canada Revenue Agency · Currency: CAD
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “5 Star Operations Holding Ltd. et al” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/5-star-operations-holding-ltd-et-al

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/5-star-operations-holding-ltd-et-al

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.