Proceedings.

2345762 Alberta Ltd.

Follow
Closed
Proceeding
Receivership (court-appointed)section 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, and sections 13(2) of the Judicature Act, 99(a) of the Business Corporations Act, and 65(7) of the Personal Property Security Act
File
2403 17994
Filings held28
Last activity6 Feb 2026
On the record608 days
Secured debt$3.72M
OverviewSummary updated

2345762 Alberta Ltd. has been under court-appointed receivership in Alberta since January 21, 2025, the date the receivership commenced. MNP Ltd. was appointed as receiver on that date, referred to in the record as the Receivership Date. The proceeding is before the Court of King's Bench of Alberta under Court File No. 2403 17994, brought under section 243 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and provincial Judicature Act authority. The receivership remains active. The only material on the record to date is a court officer report filed on the Receivership Date confirming MNP's appointment.

Proceedings AIAsk this case — answers cite the filings
Ask in plain language. The answer comes only from this case’s filings, each one cited.
Enter to send · Shift+Enter for a new line
Case updates28 dated entries
#Order

The court appointed MNP Ltd. as receiver and manager, on the application of Business Development Bank of Canada. Court file 2403 17994.

Source: Receivership Order

Parties

Debtor

2345762 Alberta Ltd.

Receiver

MNP

Bench and counselPer the orders and service lists on the record

Bench

JudgeCourtOn this docketCases on record
Justice LittleCourt of King's Bench of Alberta5 orders, Mar 2025 – Apr 202539 cases on record

Counsel of record

PartyCounselFirst seenSource
ReceiverMNPMiller Thomson LLP10 Jan 2025Service list · 10 Jan 2025
ApplicantBusiness Development Bank of CanadaMcLennan Ross LLP10 Jan 2025Service list · 10 Jan 2025
Debtor2345762 Alberta Ltd.Doherty Schuldhaus LLP10 Jan 2025Service list · 10 Jan 2025
Capital structureAs asserted in the filings
stated amounts, drawn to scale
Priority classCreditorAmountSource
SecuredBusiness Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · in 241 casesGeneral Security Agreement (Borrower GSA) over all present and after-acquired property; Mortgage dated July 30, 2021 registered as No. 212 269 115 on Plan 7821552, Block 10, Lots 1 & 2, securing registered principal sum of $3,730,000.00 plus interest; General Assignment of Rentals registered by Caveat No. 212 269 116 — Outstanding balance of the Loan as at September 14, 2024, exclusive of unbilled costs; demand for payment issued January 22, 2024; default declared. Guaranteed 100% by 255172 Alberta Ltd., 1611474 Alberta Ltd., 785791 Alberta Ltd. and Strathmore Bottle Depot Ltd. via their respe · as of 14 Sep 2024$3.72MAmended Statement of Claim
SecuredBusiness Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · in 241 casesGeneral Security Agreement (Strathmore GSA) dated July 30, 2021 over all present and after-acquired property of Strathmore Bottle Depot Ltd., registered in Alberta — Amount claimed pursuant to guarantee of 100% of outstanding Loan balance, secured by the Strathmore GSA; related-party corporate guarantor. — debtor: Strathmore Bottle Depot Ltd. · as of 14 Sep 2024$3.72MAmended Statement of Claim

This proceeding was commenced by a secured creditor. The record does not include the debtor’s own statement of assets and liabilities — that ceiling is the record’s, not this page’s.

RecoveriesAs declared or paid

Canada Revenue Agency: $55.8K.EstimatedFiled Application of MNP Ltd. · 7 Jul 2025

ClassCreditorClaimsRecoveryBasisSource
Deemed trustCanada Revenue Agency$55.8KEstimatedper the receiverFiled Application of MNP Ltd. · 7 Jul 2025
SecuredBDCBusiness Development Bank of Canadapaid in fullFinalper the receiverFiled Application of MNP Ltd. · 7 Jul 2025
UnsecuredShirin Mahal Sweets & Restaurant Ltd.$150Kconditionalper the receiverFiled Application of MNP Ltd. · 7 Jul 2025

Each row is one filing's statement, copied as it reads and never computed. "Estimated" is the officer's forecast; "Under the plan" is the plan's or proposal's own term; "Final" is a declared or paid distribution; a row with no chip states no footing. A range is the two numbers stated; "of proven claims" is the document's own denominator.

Fees and ratesAs stated in the filings

3 engagements · 2 firmslatest: MNP Ltd., to 31 May 2025, $123,274.00 in feesFiled Third Report of the Receiver · 7 Jul 2025

FirmPeriodHoursFeesRatesSource
MNP Ltd.Receiverperiod 2 of 2to 31 May 2025$123,274.00ex. taxcourtesy discountnot statedFiled Third Report of the Receiver · 7 Jul 2025
MNP Ltd.Receiverperiod 2 of 21 May – 31 May 2025$4502 peopleAffidavit of Vanessa Allen · 7 Jul 2025
2 peopleMNP Ltd., 1 May – 31 May 2025
NameTitleHoursRateFees
Andrew Pappel0.8$450$360.00
Andrew Pappel0.1$450$45.00
Miller Thomson LLPCounsel to the receiverto 31 May 2025$97,631.00ex. taxnot statedFiled Third Report of the Receiver · 7 Jul 2025

Top rate $450 · 0th percentile of receiver rates, 2025 · of 49

Documents
28 filings
DateDocumentFile
Final Report of the ReceiverPDF
Receiver's CertificatePDF
Order - Approving of Activities, Accounts, Final Distribution and Discharge of Receiver
  • Presiding officer Justice M.E. Burns
PDF
Affidavit of Clarice ScheckPDF
Affidavit of Vanessa Allen
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: invoice_listing · Rows: · Money: Tax: $6.76K · Label: GST · Quote: $6,761 · Fees: $123K · Quote: $ 123,274 · Total: $142K · Quote: $ 141,989 · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $12K · Quote: $ 11,953 · Period: End: 2025-05-31 · Kind: cumulative · Label: Billing Period · Quote: the period ended May 31, 2025 as well as an estimate to complete the administration of the receivership estate (the "Billing Period") · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: Tax: 2128 · Fees: 33498 · Quote: $ 33,498 · Total: 44686 · Period end: 2025-02-28 · Disbursements: 9061; Tax: 2073 · Date: 2025-04-23 · Fees: 41062 · Quote: 12365772* For the period ended March 31, 2025 · Total: 43527 · Period end: 2025-03-31 · Disbursements: 392; Tax: 783 · Date: 2025-05-14 · Fees: 13155 · Quote: 12453598* for the period ended April 1 - 30, 2025 · Total: 16438 · Period end: 2025-04-30 · Period start: 2025-04-01 · Disbursements: 2500; Tax: 528 · Date: 2025-06-10 · Fees: 10560 · Quote: 12520254 For the period ended May 31, 2025 · Total: 11088 · Period end: 2025-05-31 · Firm text: MNP Ltd. · Firm quote: Senior Vice President at MNP Ltd. ("MNP") · Context quote: MNP was appointed as receiver and manager (the "Receiver") of 2345762 Alberta Ltd.; Form: time_summary · Rows: Andrew Pappel; Andrew Pappel · Money: · Period: End: 2025-05-31 · Kind: invoice · Quote: For professional fees in the Receivership of 2345762 Alberta Ltd. for the period May 1 - 31, 2025. · Start: 2025-05-01 · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: · Firm text: MNP Ltd. · Firm quote: Senior Vice President at MNP Ltd. ("MNP") · Context quote: For professional fees in the Receivership of 2345762 Alberta Ltd. for the period May 1 - 31, 2025.
PDF
Filed Application of MNP Ltd.
  • Recovery outcome Entries: per actual; per unstated; per unstated · Stated on: 2025-07-07 · Table missing:
PDF
Filed Third Report of the Receiver
  • Commencement date 21 January 2025
  • Court COURT OF KING'S BENCH OF ALBERTA
  • Court file no 2403 17994
  • Fee schedule Engagements: Form: invoice_listing · Rows: · Money: Tax: $6.76K · Label: GST · Quote: 6,761 $ · Fees: $123K · Quote: 123,274 $ · Total: $142K · Quote: 141,989 $ · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $12K · Quote: 11,953 $ · Period: End: 2025-05-31 · Kind: cumulative · Label: the period ended May 31, 2025 · Quote: Summary of Professional Fees and Disbursements for the period ended May 31, 2025, Including Estimates to Complete the Administration of the Receivership · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: Tax: 2128 · Date: 2025-02-28 · Fees: 33498 · Quote: February 28, 2025 | 12193514* | For the period ended February 15, 2025 | 33,498 $ | 9,061 $ | 42,558 $ | 2,128 $ | 44,686 $ · Total: 44686 · Period end: 2025-02-15 · Disbursements: 9061; Tax: 2073 · Date: 2025-04-23 · Fees: 41062 · Quote: April 23, 2025 | 12365772* | For the period ended March 31, 2025 | 41,062 | 392 | 41,454 | 2,073 | 43,527 · Total: 43527 · Period end: 2025-03-31 · Disbursements: 392; Tax: 783 · Date: 2025-05-14 · Fees: 13155 · Quote: May 14, 2025 | 12453598* | for the period ended April 1 - 30, 2025 | 13,155 | 2,500 | 15,655 | 783 | 16,438 · Total: 16438 · Period end: 2025-04-30 · Period start: 2025-04-01 · Disbursements: 2500; Tax: 528 · Date: 2025-06-10 · Fees: 10560 · Quote: June 10, 2025 | 12520254 | For the period ended May 31, 2025 | 10,560 | - | 10,560 | 528 | 11,088 · Total: 11088 · Period end: 2025-05-31 · Firm text: MNP Ltd. · Firm quote: MNP Ltd. · Context quote: MNP Ltd. (' MNP ') was appointed as the receiver (the ' Receiver ') · Discount note: Text: Invoices were discounted pursuant to an agreement with BDC such that partner time was billed at a senior manager rate and overall fees were discounted by 20 percent. · Quote: Invoices were discounted pursuant to an agreement with BDC such that partner time was billed at a senior manager rate and overall fees were discounted by 20 percent.; Form: invoice_listing · Rows: · Money: Tax: $4.92K · Label: GST · Quote: 4,921 $ · Fees: $97.6K · Quote: 97,631 $ · Total: $104K · Quote: 103,796 $ · includes tax · includes disbursements · Approximate: false · Disbursements: $1.24K · Quote: 1,244 $ · Period: End: 2025-05-31 · Kind: cumulative · Label: the period ended May 31, 2025 · Quote: Summary of Professional Fees and Disbursements for the period ended May 31, 2025, Including Estimates to Complete the Administration of the Receivership · Approval: State: unstated · Averages: · Currency: · Invoices: Tax: 569 · Date: 2025-01-31 · Fees: 10874 · Quote: January 31, 2025 | 4097003 | For the period ended January 31, 2025 | 10,874 $ | 700 $ | $ 11,574 | 569 $ | 12,143 $ · Total: 12143 · Period end: 2025-01-31 · Disbursements: 700; Tax: 602 · Date: 2025-02-28 · Fees: 12017 · Quote: February 28, 2025 | 4107815 | For the period ended February 28, 2025 | 12,017 | 32 | 12,048 | 602 | 12,650 · Total: 12650 · Period end: 2025-02-28 · Disbursements: 32; Tax: 1421 · Date: 2025-03-31 · Fees: 28382 · Quote: March 31, 2025 | 4117551 | For the period ended March 31, 2025 | 28,382 | 70 | 28,452 | 1,421 | 29,873 · Total: 29873 · Period end: 2025-03-31 · Disbursements: 70; Tax: 933 · Date: 2025-04-30 · Fees: 18557 · Quote: April 30, 2025 | 4126013 | For the period ended April 30, 2025 | 18,557 | 161 | 18,718 | 933 | 19,651 · Total: 19651 · Period end: 2025-04-30 · Disbursements: 161; Tax: 396 · Date: 2025-05-31 · Fees: 7802 · Quote: May 31, 2025 | 4134965 | For the period ended May 31, 2025 | 7,802 | 281 | 8,083 | 396 | 8,479 · Total: 8479 · Period end: 2025-05-31 · Disbursements: 281 · Firm text: Miller Thomson LLP · Firm quote: Miller Thomson LLP · Context quote: Miller Thomson's professional fees and disbursements of approximately $78,900 plus GST of approximately $3,900 for a total of approximately $82,800, also for the period ended May 31, 2025 (the ' Receiver's Legal Fees ').
  • + 1 more extracted fact
PDF
Letter to Service List - July
  • Counsel McLennan Ross LLP
PDF
Filed Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Filed Order Approving Interim Distribution and Receiver's Activities
  • Presiding officer Justice J. S. Little
PDF
Filed Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice J. S. Little
PDF
Approval and Vesting OrderPDF
Order Approving Interim Distribution and Receiver's Activities
  • Presiding officer Justice J. S. Little
PDF
Sealing Order
  • Presiding officer Justice J. S. Little
PDF
Brief AuthoritiesPDF
Second Report of the ReceiverPDF
Order Approving Receiver's Activities, Sales Process and Sealing of Confidential Report
  • Presiding officer Justice J. S. Little
PDF
Application - Form 27PDF
First Report of the ReceiverPDF
Notice of ReceivershipPDF
Final Notice and Statement of Receiver
  • Secured creditors $52.5K · Note: Deemed trust class; described as a priority claim outside of a subsequent bankruptcy proceeding, approximate figure · Page: 2 · As of: Filing Date (January 21, 2025) · Debtor: 2345762 Alberta Ltd. · Creditor: Canada Revenue Agency (GST)
PDF
Receivership Order
  • Applicant Business Development Bank of Canada
  • Appointee MNP Ltd.
  • Appointee role receiver and manager
  • Commencement date 21 January 2025
  • + 4 more extracted facts
PDF
Affidavit of Hardeep Singh
  • Secured creditors $237K · Note: Regulatory/municipal tax arrears claim per City of Edmonton Property Tax Search dated November 19, 2024. · Page: 4 · As of: 2024-11-19 · Debtor: 2345762 Alberta Ltd. · Creditor: City of Edmonton · Security: Tax Notification registered against the Lands April 19, 2024 (Instrument No. 242 092 516); statutory municipal property tax lien
PDF
Application by BDC to Appoint a Receiver and ManagerPDF
Book of Authorities of the PlaintiffPDF
Brief of BDC for an Application to Appoint a Receiver and ManagerPDF
Service List
  • Counsel Doherty Schuldhaus LLP
PDF
Amended Statement of Claim
  • Secured creditors $3.72M · Note: Amount claimed pursuant to guarantee of 100% of outstanding Loan balance, secured by the 255 GSA; related-party corporate guarantor. · Page: 3 · As of: 2024-09-14 · Debtor: 255172 Alberta Ltd. · Creditor: Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) · Security: General Security Agreement (255 GSA) dated July 30, 2021 over all present and after-acquired property of 255172 Alberta Ltd., registered in Alberta
PDF

Filing titles, dates, and extracted key facts are public.

CiteProceedings., “2345762 Alberta Ltd.” (Receivership (court-appointed)), Court of King's Bench of Alberta. Retrieved 20 September 2026, https://proceedings.ca/case/2345762-alberta-ltd

Sources last checked · summary updated 8 August 2026 · Report a correction · Printed from proceedings.ca/case/2345762-alberta-ltd

Facts and summaries are extracted automatically from the court filings linked on each page; the filings remain the authoritative record. Suggested corrections are reviewed against the source filings.